Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Grand National

• 20-03-2008 9:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭

Anybody got any tips for this race on Monday????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 We Are Leeds

Pomme Tiepy looks a good shout.

Also keep an eye on Nicky Hendersons English ra ider Juveigner

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Cailin Alainn has a great chance if Byrnes decides to run her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

PMSL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,588 ✭✭✭Bluetonic

PMSL
    Great contribution as always.

Cailin Alainn has a great chance if Byrnes decides to run her
    Why? Come on lads expand the views.

142 looks a very fair mark for one of ireland's best novice chasers of last season (Cailin Alainn). Form with Schindlers Hunt and Patsy Hall and 2 Grade 1 wins make her look attractively weighted. Seeing as beef or salmon looks likely to run she's set to carry only 10-10. Don't forget she was still travelling well when falling at last year's pillar meeting and was very well backed in the RSA at the festival, don't think she'd have beaten Denman but I have no doubt she'd have finished in the 1st 4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

142 looks a very fair mark for one of ireland's best novice chasers of last season (Cailin Alainn). Form with Schindlers Hunt and Patsy Hall and 2 Grade 1 wins make her look attractively weighted. Seeing as beef or salmon looks likely to run she's set to carry only 10-10. Don't forget she was still travelling well when falling at last year's pillar meeting and was very well backed in the RSA at the festival, don't think she'd have beaten Denman but I have no doubt she'd have finished in the 1st 4

Should he be running her in a Grand National?
    Id like to see her kept for the better races next season, that risk being emptied in a race such as the GN.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Beef or Salmon ;)

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 375 ✭✭Cantoris

Does Ballycullen Boy have a chance? Novices have a decent record in this race and his form is on decent ground. Not sure what the ground will be like (anyone know?) but looks like he has been aimed at this with a recent spin over hurdles. Some of his form from last summer was ok and could be one at a big price to improve for the trip.

meriwether wrote: »
    Should he be running her in a Grand National?
    Id like to see her kept for the better races next season, that risk being emptied in a race such as the GN.

I see where you're coming from and there is surely a temptation to wait for something like the guinness gold cup at punchestown but if I owned her it'd be hard to resist running her off that mark. Beef running keeps one or 2 of the sneaky ones out of the handicap too (Well Run being one example)

Pomme Tiepy runs off 10-0 and is just about in the handicap proper. I'd never run a 5yo in a race like this tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭conZ

Cantoris wrote: »
    Does Ballycullen Boy have a chance? Novices have a decent record in this race and his form is on decent ground. Not sure what the ground will be like (anyone know?) but looks like he has been aimed at this with a recent spin over hurdles. Some of his form from last summer was ok and could be one at a big price to improve for the trip.

Connections are confident he'll run a big race. I'm on at 25s in Ladbrokes (no run no bet).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Barbaro

Anyone fancy Barrow Drive at big prices. For a 12yo 3m chaser, this horse ran a cracker finishing 2nd in a 2 mile hurdle race last time out, had Silver Jaro behind him. Decent bits of form without winning for a few years, this trip can only suit him, 6lbs out of the handicap tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 225 ✭✭00dyel

my picks for this race are as follows

Pomme Tiepy to win as he was in the Royal and Sunalliance Chase and was really fancied for it, therefore probably is a veery good horse and with Beef or Salmon in this race will only be carrying 10-0 (i think)

My each way tip would be Vic Venturi, last time out ran against high class opposition was giving weight away and was not disgraced, this is a weaker race and is only carrying 10-3 which is much lower than what he normally carries.

well Pomme Tiepy is a non runner so my win bet will have to change, currently still looking, can anyone point me in the right direction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Religious holliday + Priests Leap = win!

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,416 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

mike65 wrote: »
    Religious holliday + Priests Leap = win!

Mike.

Haha, that's some good form studying there. ;)

Although worth a shout. I missed Father Chris winning yesterday at 8/1 - the name of my recently departed Dad. Sometimes you pick winners for the strangest reason.

Remember backing Papillon to win the Aintree National a few years ago solely because I'd met this guy in a club with a butterfly tattoo and funny glasses - if you've seen the film you'lll know the reference

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,777 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Haven't looked at the card yet but I'd be very inclined to go for one of the Carbury boys or girl.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 573 ✭✭✭The jock

Hear the Echo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,612 ✭✭✭bassy

homer wells;)

Vic Venturi and Well Run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭ROCKMAN

WELL RUN and NEWBAY PROP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭BobbyD10

The jock wrote: »
    Hear the Echo.

Nice one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Hear the Echo.

Good call Jock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Borderfox wrote: »
    Good call Jock

Very nice indeed.

Thanks.Yeah I won a nice bit off it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 909 ✭✭✭Gareth37

Thanks.Yeah I won a nice bit off it.

Nice one Jock!!!! :)

Where did you get the information from and have you any more info coming our way? :cool:

Gareth37 wrote: »
    Nice one Jock!!!! :)

Where did you get the information from and have you any more info coming our way? :cool:

I saw it win a race really impressively at my local track clonmel last year and have followed it since.It didnt run since it was 7th of 28 runners in the paddy power chase at christmas.It got injured and they were trying to get it back in time for cheltenham but deceided to keep it from Irish National.I really like Slim Pickings for the Aintree National.I think it will take some beating.Is proven over the course and was placed in the race last year.Better off in the weights with those who finished in front of it last year.Ran a nice prep run over a trip too short last time out on its only run this season.Barry Gearathy should be on it in the national.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 89 ✭✭Yosserh

Thanks Jock - based on your tip I put a few quid on it as well! Happy days!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 Amonsol

Winner did it very well, looks a real contender for next year's Aintree National.