Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

dublin is 10th most violent city in europe

• 20-03-2008 2:20am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=58272-qqqx=1.asp

interesting article based on figures from 2004-2006 places dublin as the 10th highest homicde rate in europe with a figure of 2.4 killings per 100,000. considering the garda figures released for 2007 said dublin had a murder rate of 5 per 100,000 i would imagine we are at worse than number 10 now.

i think the days where when a shoking murder occurs and people say ' well dublin is still one of the safest cities in europe' are gone

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Well yeah. Its a horrible skanger infested hole... I thought we'd been over this!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Pffft, tyvm Finglas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

It beats Limerick :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 562 ✭✭✭utick

It beats Limerick :D

yeah i think limerick was 7 per 100,000 if i remember correctly, but it has gone from one of the safest places to a lot less safe thanks to appeasement of the scumbags in my opinion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

utick wrote: »
    yeah i think limerick was 7 per 100,000 if i remember correctly, but it has gone from one of the safest places to a lot less safe thanks to appeasement of the scumbags in my opinion

Is it 7? That would make Limerick even worse than Dublin. Not good for them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭ironictoaster

Will someone give me some positive news instead of all this negative crap :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

creggy wrote: »

tedfest was great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

10/25 = pretty much average. meh.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,946 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

creggy wrote: »

The STD clinic may call with some positive news!:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭Muff_Daddy

http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=58272-qqqx=1.asp

interesting article based on figures from 2004-2006 places dublin as the 10th highest homicde rate in europe with a figure of 2.4 killings per 100,000. considering the garda figures released for 2007 said dublin had a murder rate of 5 per 100,000 i would imagine we are at worse than number 10 now.

i think the days where when a shoking murder occurs and people say ' well dublin is still one of the safest cities in europe' are gone

Were the 15th safest city in Europe? Let the good times roll I say.
    Hey, it could be worse.....at least were not Tallinn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,969 ✭✭✭robby^5

10th isn't that bad really, personally I'd like to know the top 10 and never go to those cities, ever :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Dublin is the 37th most dangerous city on the planet.
    I, like the Irish Examiner article, don't have any facts to back this up though..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,085 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Negative article about Dublin coming from a paper that used to be called The Cork Examiner shocker!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭Mizu_Ger

If the government actually put some time, money and resources into this we could eventually be no.1!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

Spotted two kids sniffing what appeared to be nail varnish on Abbey Street last week. Passed an hour later and they were still in the same spot.

Had that happened in Limerick they would both have been lifted in a matter of minutes.

Taxi driver stabbed yesterday i believe. Had it happened in Limerick the Dublin based media would have had a field day with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I'm going to Dublin in about an hour.
    I'm shítting myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭LimerickCity

Terry wrote: »
    I'm going to Dublin in about an hour.
    I'm shítting myself.

heh heh heh

Stay away for taxi's

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,555 ✭✭✭Wook

Mizu_Ger wrote: »
    If the government actually put some time, money and resources into this we could eventually be no.1!

hihi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,287 ✭✭✭joe_chicken

Spotted two kids sniffing what appeared to be nail varnish on Abbey Street last week. Passed an hour later and they were still in the same spot.

How violent of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,050 ✭✭✭gazzer

Taxi driver stabbed yesterday i believe. Had it happened in Limerick the Dublin based media would have had a field day with it.

The media did have a field day with this story... It was the top headline on all the news reports yesterday and a lot of people they interviewed from the estate stated how bad the area had become.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Dammit was just about to point this out!
    I say get behind the goverment on this one, get us to number one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,428 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Statistics can proive anything. It says that Dublin has the 13th highest homicide rate out of 25 cities. Doesn't this also mean that we're the 13th safest city too?

Usual sensationalist ****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭BigEejit

Just to stir it a bit; how many of the murdered people were Irish nationals?

oh and Dublin is now and always has been a cesspit.

BigEejit wrote: »
    Just to stir it a bit; how many of the murdered people were Irish nationals?

oh and Dublin is now and always has been a cesspit.

Nice to see you live up to your name. Troll

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭RastaRed

Dublins has gone to ****e for the past couple of years and is now out of control, coke, drink, joke of a justice system, parents that dont give a fcuk all the major reasons why. I had to move 2 years ago, used to live around the corner from where those 2 poor polish guys were murdered, I could see how bad Drimnagh and Crumlin was getting and couldnt bear the thought of my kids growing up around there and worrying about them going to town when they were older.
    Down in Gorey now, never going back, hate the thought of going back up to Dublin now when I go out with lads and work meetings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,136 ✭✭✭✭is_that_so

Dublin is a port city and has always been rough. I've been told stories of Dun Laoghaire in the 50s that are on par. These things tend to go in cycles. Heard a guy on the radio talking about the English kid who lost his finger -"that it could have happened anywhere, in any modern city".

This type of writing is lazy tabloid trough-feeding that merely serves to fill Whineline and the even more-hysterical late night excrescences.

Of interest to me was a piece on John Fitzgerald - formerly of Dublin now in Limerick in which he talks about what to do to tackle it. Also surprisingly from the Examiner. :p
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/irishexaminer/pages/story.aspx-qqqg=ireland-qqqm=ireland-qqqa=ireland-qqqid=58268-qqqx=1.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

wait, how do you commit .4 of a murder? Give someone two dead legs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭emeraldstar

10th most violent CAPITAL city in Europe - that's a big difference to being 10th most violent CITY in Europe.

10th most violent CAPITAL city in Europe - that's a big difference from being 10th most violent CITY in Europe

QFT - but 10th out of 25 doesn't have the same effect

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Had that happened in Limerick they would both have been lifted in a matter of minutes.

Not a chance. Bedford Row has kids sniffing on a regular basis every Saturday and they are there for hours on end.

The whole Limerick gets it's bad news shown in a media frenzy is rubbish. Crime is bad in Limerick, certain areas resemble warzones. Crime is also bad in lot's of other areas in Ireland too, but being from Limerick, the news about those places does not register as much with me as when I hear Limerick's name mentioned. We notice bad things being said about where we are from more than other places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

Sometimes I think these areas where crime is out of control would benefit from a show of strength from the State.

Like roll in a load of tanks and level the houses of the more well-known scumbags. They don't seem to realise that their "gangsta" bull**** is merely being tolerated - that under another less indulgent regime they would be dealt with in short order.

Just fantasising - but it helps with my anger management.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Reading all the posts here and listening to irish radio i suppose i had better cancel my flight to Dublin in april *sigh * .

Perhaps i might spend my 5 days over in a safer city ,somewere like .......Johannesburg.:cool:

Just as well i'm a dub :)

Did I just get deja vu or did you write that earlier? :confused::confused:

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

From the looks of things though things seem to be getting rather than worse.

If anyone is interested in facts then this 2004 report names Ireland as the most 'dangeerous' i.e. the country where the most people replied 'Yes' to having been a victim of crime in the 12 months previously.

BTW, it's a very good article IMHO and mentions items such as :

In the EU, crime increase with urbanisation in all 18 countries in the report except for...Ireland.
    There doesn't see to be a correlation between the amount of young people in the country and crime levels.

We're #4 in Europe for vehicle-related crimes.

We have one of the highest recovery-rates of cars taken for joyriding.

We're #3 in Europe for motorbike-theft but only #10 for bike theft :D

We're #1 in Europe for personal theft (pickpocketing)

We're #1 in Europe for contact-crimes (robbery/sexual assualt)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

Collie D wrote: »
    Did I just get deja vu or did you write that earlier? :confused::confused:

Yeah i'm iimmpressed Sombody noticed :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭IanCurtis

Look at this junkie:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,458 ✭✭✭weemcd

id like to know where belfast is on this list now, traditionally considered a more "dangerous" city with all the troubles and sectarianism and the like, from living there now id say its a fúckin playground compared to Dublin.

anyone got any thoughts on this?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭An Fear Aniar

is_that_so wrote: »
    Dublin is a port city and has always been rough. I've been told stories of Dun Laoghaire in the 50s that are on par. These things tend to go in cycles.....

This type of writing is lazy tabloid trough-feeding that merely serves to fill Whineline and the even more-hysterical late night excrescences.

And this attitude is exactly why things Irish society is falling to pieces....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,400 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

God, didn't realise there were that many pedos in Limerick!! :eek:
    Must be a shockin' awful place to live :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,535 ✭✭✭Raekwon

What is the top 10 out of interest? Something like this: 1 Tallin, 2 Bratislava, 3 Amsterdam, 4 Riga, 5 Sofia, 6 Warsaw, 7 Vilnius, 8 Prague, 9 Brussels & 10 Dublin? (Nothing was mentioned about London, Glasgow & Belfast and why is boring Brussels on the most dangerous lists?)

Also I cannot believe that they put Bucharest as one of the safest cities in the EU. That place is a sh*t hole, I didn't feel safe at all when I was there. Plus last year my cousin and his girlfriend got held-up by a taxi man with a knife a few hours after they had arrived. Not to mention an AH's favourite topic...........Roma gypsies :rolleyes: The place is teeming with them.

In other words, that report is just sensationalised crap. This place is getting like the US with all the factless paranoia that the media are peddling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

IanCurtis wrote: »
    Look at this junkie:

haha, funniest post ive seen today!

out of curiousity what is the most dangerous city in europe??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

Belfast, no. 3? i'm actually really surprised at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 LittleTimmae

Raekwon wrote: »
    What is the top 10 out of interest? Something like this: 1 Tallin, 2 Bratislava, 3 Amsterdam, 4 Riga, 5 Sofia, 6 Warsaw, 7 Vilnius, 8 Prague, 9 Brussels & 10 Dublin? (Nothing was mentioned about London, Glasgow & Belfast and why is boring Brussels on the most dangerous lists?)

Also I cannot believe that they put Bucharest as one of the safest cities in the EU. That place is a sh*t hole, I didn't feel safe at all when I was there. Plus last year my cousin and his girlfriend got held-up by a taxi man with a knife a few hours after they had arrived. Not to mention an AH's favourite topic...........Roma gypsies :rolleyes: The place is teeming with them.

In other words, that report is just sensationalised crap. This place is getting like the US with all the factless paranoia that the media are peddling.

I think you got it wrong mate. Its Tallaght, Finglas, Finglas,Tallaght, Tallaght, Tallaght, Finglas,Tallaght, Tallaght, Finglas,Finglas,Finglas,Finglas,Finglas. oops, i can't count and eh! ignore the Tallaght entry... :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,538 ✭✭✭✭dsmythy

Raekwon wrote: »

The figures are from Eurostat but i cant find the publication.

Not sure if they include Belfast as a capital.

Brussels may be boring but i guess they like to kill each other there. Bucharest may seem dangerous but they don't kill each other as much. The only reading i can have of that.

There's nothing sensationalist here. It's all cold hard stats if it's Eurostat who compiled it. Maybe there is more crime in Bucharest but less murders.

Valetta was the best capital with a murder rate of 0. Of course only 7,000 people live there...