Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Oktoberfest

• 18-03-2008 2:05am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,123 ✭✭✭

Looking at heading over this year ,what date does it actually start this year and good tips on where to stay do etc

gob

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭Femelade

I think its starts on Sept 20th. My boyfriend is heading over..

http://www.oktoberfest.de/en/02/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

20 Sep to 04 Oct.

get booking your accomadation now, it's a nightmare trying to find somewhere nearer the time!

What to do there? Go drink beer! (also maybe a trip out to Dachu Concentration Camp one of the days if you have time, and a trip to the Hofbrauhaus)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

I'll be heading out as well myself with a few friends. We got the flights (to frankfurt hahn) for 20 quid with ryanair so it was hard to say no. ALthough there'll be a bus fare to Frankfurt and then a train fare to munich on top of that.

We'll hopefully be camping, should cost about 7/8 quid a night apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Does anyone know about tickets for the beer tents? I asked a friend who is stationed in Germany and apparently it's a nightmare to get tickets for the tents....I haven't seen anywhere that does them online tho?!

ellscurr wrote: »
    Does anyone know about tickets for the beer tents? I asked a friend who is stationed in Germany and apparently it's a nightmare to get tickets for the tents....I haven't seen anywhere that does them online tho?!
    Assuming nothing has changed since last year ..

There are some reserved seats in some of the tents. Basically someone books them from time a to time b. Was very simple, we just moved when the time came and gave them their seats. This only happened us once in 4 days so you'll be grand.

There's so many tents and so many seats we had no problems whatsoever. Don't worry about reserving seats, you'll be moving around so much (around the tent, to different tents, etc) and there's so much "free seating" that it makes no difference!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Didn't come across anywhere that you needed a ticket for the tents when I was there last year. Just walk into the "tent" and wander around until you find a spare bit of a seat to park yourself on, then wait for someone to bring you some alcohol.

Tent is not a particularly good description of the places though to be honest.

Dinnertime in the Haupbrauhaus ..
    1210707959.jpg

My first view of the area .. wow!
    1210707983.jpg

inside a "tent"
    1210707997.jpg

funfair outside - waste of drinking time if you ask me
    1210708009.jpg

outside one of the best tents... great beer!
    1210708028.jpg

how?
    1210708039.jpg

another tent internals .. they're all sweet!
    1210708051.jpg

last orders ..
    1210708062.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

Beer+Food+Rollercoaster=????:p

Sean_K wrote: »
    Beer+Food+Rollercoaster=????:p

And the women!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,283 ✭✭✭mackerski

robinph wrote: »
    Didn't come across anywhere that you needed a ticket for the tents when I was there last year. Just walk into the "tent" and wander around until you find a spare bit of a seat to park yourself on, then wait for someone to bring you some alcohol.

This is the idyllic case, and sometimes it can actually happen too. Daytime, midweek with good weather outdoors (encouraging more people to sit outside).

But when tents fill up, as they frequently do, they lock the doors and you aren't getting in without reserved seats.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭robinph

Was over a weekend that we were there last year and never encountered any locked doors during the daytime or evening. It was pretty good weather as well if I remember rightly but I think the only place we found with a significant number of seats outside was the Lowenbrau tent, could have just not been paying proper attention fo course though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭ciaranmul

Never been to Oktoberfest, lucky enough to get VIP tickets to it this year, heading over for final weekend with few of the lads, any tips on what to expect/make sure to do?

ciaranmul wrote: »
    Never been to Oktoberfest, lucky enough to get VIP tickets to it this year, heading over for final weekend with few of the lads, any tips on what to expect/make sure to do?

VIP tickets? I'm assuming this just gives you a spot at a table near the centre of a busy tent? Or is there more to it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 wheresdbeef

I’m trying to find some where to camp in Munich for the beer fest. Looking for some thing that isn't a million miles away and has decent facilities. If anyone has some personal recommendations of good spots they've stayed in please send them on. I'm traveling out on the 27th of Sept. for three nights. Any help would be greatly appreciated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 368 ✭✭backboiler

The state-run Campingplatz Thalkirchen.
    It's clean, well run, full of like-minded Oktoberfesters and has hot showers (for an extra euro)! It's cheap too at €7.20 a night if you're on your own, less per person if you're sharing a tent). Website is at http://www.munich-info.de/travel/camping_en.html

It's only a shortish walk (occasional bus too) away from the U-bahn (U3 Thalkirchen-Tierpark) and if it comes to it you'll walk to it in well under an hour from Theresienwiese.

I've also stayed at the temporary facility at the Olympic riding stadium in Riem. I don't know if it's still going but I would not recommend it. Hard to get to and poor facilities.

Regarding tickets, you don't need any for any of the beer tents I've visited since 2000 but if it's full you're not getting in until someone else leaves. They keep a tight eye on capacities and the security guards are not eager to negotiate on any point. If you cause trouble inside you'll be swarmed on and carried out the door by six lads in bomber jackets in less than 10 seconds. No doubt the "treatment" doesn't end at that.

Don't expect your mobile to work all the time. With a million-odd people in such a small area the networks will get swamped every so often. It's like a dozen Croke parks at the same time.

Of all the tents, only one that I know of has a standing area: Hofbräu. The beer isn't the best but that's by Munich standards. Even their worst (Ayinger/Erdinger) is better than most of the muck you can buy here. For seated areas in this and all other tents, you can go early (before noon) and get a seat until the reservation crowds (mostly groups of locals) start arriving but it can be fairly dead at that stage. You'll almost certainly need to move about but often those with the reservation will be receptive to making new friends. A bit of German beyond "drei bier, más é do thoil é" will prove very useful in this cause. I've actually gone as far as mentioning the war :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Dee369369

I'm heading out there too can't wait.
    used this website http://www.festivaladventures.com/octoberfest_tours.html
    bout a month ago don't know if they have any left but i got the 3day camping package with a free big fry every morning,buses back and from the festival,tent and a tshirt :D
    can't wait for it though, a great finish to my interrailing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 mantas_jok

im going there on 21st of september for 3 nights with my two friend ,cant wait we where booking our hotel 5 months ago and it was already hard to find one that wud be close to the center of the city...

mantas_jok wrote: »
    im going there on 21st of september for 3 nights with my two friend ,cant wait we where booking our hotel 5 months ago and it was already hard to find one that wud be close to the center of the city...
    Mind if I ask where you're staying? We tried to find a hotel back in April and found it impossible to get anywhere central or close to transport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 mantas_jok

motel one-munchen city west thats the best deal we cud get(by price and location...) And whats your story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Living in Ober-Sendling myself just a stones throw from the Theresien Wiese (site for the Oktoberfest).

I arrived in Munich a year ago but missed it because of bad food poisoning. I'm going to make an attempt this year though.

I'd love to meet up with some Boardsie's this year if anyones coming.

And before you ask I don't have a garden to camp in or a spare room. But I will try and help out if anyones really stuck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 wheresdbeef

hey KTRIC well if there's no way of staying with yourself;) Mybe you could have a look around the area and use some of that local knowledge to see if theres any were to stay or camp. would really appreciate any help cause its looking like i'll be sleeping rough with the way things are going:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

You can camp along the banks of the Isar river which runs through the city. You just need to find a part that isn't too close to civilisation and you should be fine. A lot of people do this and as far as I know its completely legal.