Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

All Ireland Club Championship Finals

• 15-03-2008 10:33am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭

Taking place in Croker on Monday.

Hurling
    2:00 Portumna V Birr
    Verdict: Portumna

Football
    3:45 St Vincents V Nemo Rangers
    Verdict: St Vincents

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I'll be there to see Joe Canning do what he does best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

I'd fancy Portumna to beat Birr but there won't be much in it and odds of 3/1 for a Birr victory is pretty generous. Portumna by about 3 to 4 points I think. But the likes of Damien Hayes will need to do a bit more damage on the scoreboard, they seem to be relying too much on Joe Canning this year. Though in the end Joe is likely to be the difference between the teams.

I've a feeling Vincents will beat Nemo. They've been on a roll and have better forwards than Nemo which should be enough to swing it in their favour. Nemo rely heavily on Masters for scores. Vincents can spread the scoring load a bit more with Quinn and Connolly both on form and Maloney, Kelly and Golden all chipping in with a few scores aswell. Nemo, like the Cork county team are a dour defensive team who are not good to watch with their short handpassing and posession football so I hope Vincents do beat them. It would be victory for a more attractive style.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27 REBEL CORK

aidan24326 wrote: »
    I'd fancy Portumna to beat Birr but there won't be much in it and odds of 3/1 for a Birr victory is pretty generous. Portumna by about 3 to 4 points I think. But the likes of Damien Hayes will need to do a bit more damage on the scoreboard, they seem to be relying too much on Joe Canning this year. Though in the end Joe is likely to be the difference between the teams.

I've a feeling Vincents will beat Nemo. They've been on a roll and have better forwards than Nemo which should be enough to swing it in their favour. Nemo rely heavily on Masters for scores. Vincents can spread the scoring load a bit more with Quinn and Connolly both on form and Maloney, Kelly and Golden all chipping in with a few scores aswell. Nemo, like the Cork county team are a dour defensive team who are not good to watch with their short handpassing and posession football so I hope Vincents do beat them. It would be victory for a more attractive style.

What ever about Nemos dour defensive style I would rather win 7 All-Irelands like they did like that than lets say one playing attractive football.Wouldn't you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 941 ✭✭✭CyberDave

I'll be there too. Have the most interest in the hurling final. I think Portumna will do it. Birr have been around the block a few times and Portumna should be a little more hungry neither team lack the experience of the occasion. However, This could be Brian Whelehans last crack at an All-Ireland medal and there will be a felling of wanting to 'Win it for Brian' in the Birr team. Whatever the outcome it looks like it will be a cracking contest. Looking forward to it. A real local derby as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭abakan

im on Portumna and Nemo,

Why are Nemo not favourites??

It was a good decision by the GAA not to have any tickets for Croker, paying at the gate makes more sence

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭Erin Go Brath

2 goals for Birr in the frist 10 mins. :eek:
    This is going to be a cracker of a game!

looks like Portumna have it in the bag now

Not the classic i hoped for. :o

Portumna are indeed tearing Birr a new one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,193 ✭✭✭pd101

3-19 to 3-09 final score

what about the football?

Neno to tear Vincents a new one!!!!!!!!!!

The football was a much better game. Vincents deserved the win i thought, very good stuff especially in the first half from them. Nemo should've went for a goal as time was running out. Great year for Vincents. I'm glad to see them win it. :)

yes good game, I was up for Nemo, Masters missed a couple at the start and Vincents took the lead, they desered it

30000 at croker, that was brilliant......just as well it wasnt raining

abakan wrote: »
    im on Portumna and Nemo,

Why are Nemo not favourites??

It was a good decision by the GAA not to have any tickets for Croker, paying at the gate makes more sence

Nemo were favourites, which is why I went with Vincents. :)

Great day in Croker, lovely weather, some nice scores and a big crowd. The football was probably a better contest but was littered with mistakes and stupid decisions.

Canning and Andrew Smith were the difference in the hurling, Mossy Quinn in the football.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

T'is a great day for our little parish :pac:

Seriously, great display from Portumna. Showed huge character after going 2 goals down. Andy Smith had a great game, so had Eoin Lynch. A lot of food for thought for Loughnane right there. He should also try his best to persuade Ollie Canning back. He was immense today, I remember watching a scrum down my side of the pitch and who came out with it but Ollie. :)

No need to mention Joe. I thought he'd scored feck all, got a shock when I heard he hit 0-10. Just goes to show you. Showed immense talent today too, the highlights being a sideline cut pointed and a huge point from well inside his own half that was still rising as it went over the bar :eek:

On a side note, it was sad to see Brian Whelehan sent off at the end. It was a undignified end for one of the greatest hurlers this country has seen. A yellow and a bit of sense would have produced a better end to the match.

Right, I'm off to get twisted. Theres gonna be some craic in town tonight. :p

cson wrote: »
    T'is a great day for our little parish :pac:

Seriously, great display from Portumna. Showed huge character after going 2 goals down. Andy Smith had a great game, so had Eoin Lynch. A lot of food for thought for Loughnane right there. He should also try his best to persuade Ollie Canning back. He was immense today, I remember watching a scrum down my side of the pitch and who came out with it but Ollie. :)

No need to mention Joe. I thought he'd scored feck all, got a shock when I heard he hit 0-10. Just goes to show you. Showed immense talent today too, the highlights being a sideline cut pointed and a huge point from well inside his own half that was still rising as it went over the bar :eek:

On a side note, it was sad to see Brian Whelehan sent off at the end. It was a undignified end for one of the greatest hurlers this country has seen. A yellow and a bit of sense would have produced a better end to the match.

Right, I'm off to get twisted. Theres gonna be some craic in town tonight. :p

Got it in a nutshell right there. I'm just back from the game myself. Being a Galwayman, I was delighted to see Portumna win. I reckon there is at least 6 Portumna players that can make the Galway team this year. McEntee is the solution to the full back problem, but he probably won't get the chance, Ollie Canning, Eoin Lynch who was excellent today, Damien Hayes, Joe Canning and Kevin Hayes. Joe Canning didn't seem to have had one of his best days but still scored 0-10, I think that pretty sums up the player, even when he isn't at full tilt he clocks up a score like that. Pity about Whelehan alright, but there was another senicle tackle on Joe Canning just in front of where I was sitting on the sideline abot 21 yards out from the Canal end goal on the Hogan Stand side which deserved to be red carded more than Whelehans. Enjoy the celebrations. I think this Portumna team can win a couple of more titles too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,376 ✭✭✭gaeilgegrinds

Damien all the way, what a legend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,729 ✭✭✭Pride Fighter

Congrats to St. Vincents. I should have went to the game, shame on me.

Last time a Dublin club won the football (Kilmacud Crokes, 1995) Dublin went on to win the all-ireland the following September. Is the drought about to end.

CyberDave wrote: »
    Last time a Dublin club won the football (Kilmacud Crokes, 1995) Dublin went on to win the all-ireland the following September. Is the drought about to end.

YES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Yes, you should have been their Pride Fighter. You'll be glad to know though, that this forum was well represented at the matches there yesterday.

Flukey wrote: »
    Yes, you should have been their Pride Fighter. You'll be glad to know though, that this forum was well represented at the matches there yesterday.

My bad, 10euro in is good value as well. I am being a lazy SOB of late as I am on my easter holidays from college.

YES

I don't know. I think this could be Meaths year. They are the dark horses. Everybody has forgotten about them since the semi last year. That was only experience for a young team. They will go one better this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

Ok, it's taken me long enough to respond but I was extremely hungover yesterday and busy today!:p

Absolutely brilliant day for the club, it's just impossible to describe the feeling. Tbh, this means far more to me than an AI for Dublin ever could. Vincents was packed to the rafters and a great time was had by all. After a certain point it gets a bit hazy but I made it home in one piece, so it's all good!:D

As for the match itself, it was like Crossmaglen part 2. We blew them away in the opening 20 minutes and should have been further ahead, but for some bad wides. Goal came from another high ball from Tiernan Diamond (I've lost count how many goals we've got from this throughout the championship), broken down by Mossy and brilliantly finished by Dermo. Mossy's knock-down into the arms of the on-rushing Connolly was no accident and it just confirmed to me that Mossy Quinn is the most intelligent footballer that Dublin have.

Nemo took over in the second half and Masters kicked some great scores but Vins defended well and didn't give them a sniff at goal. Savo in goal for Vins was superb when called upon, making a very good save in the first half and plucking dangerous balls out of the air in the second. The rest of the defence worked their socks off and a special mention has to be given to Pat Kelly, who was outstanding, despite losing his father during the week.

At midfield, Coghlan and O'Sé dominated in the first half and battled their way through the second. Hugh Coghlan left nothing on the field, except for maybe a couple of teeth!:D See the attached photo.

It was the forwards though that really won the game for Vins, particularly Mossy Quinn, Dermot Connolly and Tiernan Diamond. Tiernan, for me anyway, deserved the man of the match award for the trojan work he did and some of his sublime Ciaran MacDonald style passing with the outside of the foot. He should have scored at least another 0-2 on top of his 0-1 but that's just me being fussy. Dermot actually got the MOTM award but it was so close that it could have gone to either of them and if Masters had slotted over that free to level the game with 10 minutes to go, I'm pretty sure Nemo would have gone on to win and he would have gotten it. I've played with Connolly since I was 6 years old and I really can't speak highly enough of him. The lad is absolute class and will only get better. And what can I say about Mossy?! When we needed a score in the second half and a bit of leadership to steady the ship, up he popped with a beautiful point (after a sublime pass from Tiernan with the outside of his right boot). Absolute legend!:)

The management and panel of players has put in some trojan work this year and played a lovely brand of football along the way. They were well deserving of the AI title and hopefully we wont have to wait another 30 years for the next one. I'm not greedy though, I'd settle for another Dublin SFC!;)

Nice post Citeog.

Compilation of Joe Canning from Monday:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2t3dLWqbL4U

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,096 ✭✭✭An Citeog

I hadn't heard a thing about it but Hugh Coghlan had to be rushed to hospital on Monday night. I saw him in the club after the match and he looked a lot better than he did at the end of the game.

From the independent,
    Vins' star Coghlan 'had fit' after final

By Jackie Cahill
    Thursday March 20 2008

ST Vincent's midfielder Hugh Coghlan was rushed to hospital following last Monday's All-Ireland club football final after falling dangerously ill in the players' lounge after the game.

The 24-year-old Tipperary native has revealed that he vomited twice and had a fit before being arriving at Dublin's Mater Hospital.

During the first half of the dramatic victory over Nemo Rangers at Croke Park, Coghlan was involved in a nasty clash of heads with opponent Peter Morgan, who failed to appear for the second half.

Coghlan battled on until he was taken off midway through the second half, but his health deteriorated considerably after the match.

Coghlan has been unable to celebrate the St Vincent's victory as he has been detained in hospital ever since.

The Clontarf-based Garda was hoping to be released last night, but his right eye remains completely closed and swollen following the clash of heads with Morgan.

Coghlan said: "During the second half I could feel the eye closing and I remember going for one ball and missing it completely. At the after- match meal I went downhill, I got sick twice in the players' lounge and had some sort of a fit in the ambulance."

"I've been in hospital since Monday evening, without a drop of beer yet!

"They have been doing all sorts of x-rays and CAT scans but although the eye is fully closed, everything is grand.

"They have double-checked and I think they're just waiting for the swelling to go down before I am released."

Coghlan described the St Vincent's victory as 'sweet' and was delighted that the Dublin and Leinster kingpins overcame both Crossmaglen Rangers and Nemo Rangers en route to national glory.

Coghlan is expected to link up with the Tipperary senior footballers when he recovers.

- Jackie Cahill

The bolded line above is brilliant!:D

Hope he gets well soon anyway. He was absolutely brilliant for us this year.