Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are toilets in cbathrooms ?

• 14-03-2008 10:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭

Does anyone agree that it is barbaric to have toilets in bathrooms, as is the case with most modern houses ?

Older houses had separate toilets and bathrooms, which was much more practical -family members could use both rooms simultaneously at rush hours - and bathroom users didn't have to suffer the inevitable loo pong while they washed !

I think this bath/toilet combi was dreamt up by builders simply because it is more convenient for them, with no consideration given to preferences of the house-buying public.

Bring back separate bathrooms and toilets ! ! ! !

Maryxyz

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,047 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

You don't happen to be the lady who spent two years on one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

I prefer an outhouse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Barbaric? lol

It is barbaric to have to leave a room (touching a few different door handles etc) to wash your hands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

I don't think barbarians had indoor plumbing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭iFight

Only noticing,

Sort of an odd reason to join a forum: starting a Bring Bathrooms Back petition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

Ruu wrote: »
    I prefer an outhouse.

In my day we'd squat off a cliff and be glad of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

All French houses have seperate sh*tters and showers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭flanum

i think a great idea would be to have a second larger waste hole in the shower cubicle, so you wouldnt even need to leave the shower to have a number 2! proper order!

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Huggies pull-ups ftw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭Peared

Everybody should just have wet rooms with extra large plugholes and be done with it.

Empty room with a hole in the ground and water from above.

What you do in there is between you and your god.

flanum wrote: »
    i think a great idea would be to have a second larger waste hole in the shower cubicle, so you wouldnt even need to leave the shower to have a number 2! proper order!

:eek: imagine 2 people thinking this thought at the same time. We have problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 525 ✭✭✭Tinytony

They should just have a bathroom with a slatted unit style floor

Peared wrote: »
    What you do in there is between you and your god.

Off topic, but did you ever have a "**** seance"?

when yer havin a **** and ye get this weird feeling all of a sudden that all your dead relatives are watching you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,561 ✭✭✭Rhyme

when yer havin a **** and ye get this weird feeling all of a sudden that all your dead relatives are watching you?
    Could you class masturbating in a graveyard as indecent exposure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

We've spent the last few weeks looking for a new house, and not one of these house (built in the last 5 years anyway) have only one toilet.
    so they have heard your complain.
    close thread please

No.

Im a girl btw.

We dont do that type of thing.

*sniffs*

Rhyme wrote: »
    Could you class masturbating in a graveyard as indecent exposure?

dunno, ask the stiffs! hahahahahah a

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

maryxyz wrote: »
    Does anyone agree that it is barbaric to have toilets in bathrooms, as is the case with most modern houses ?
    No. Pooing in the bath, that's going too far.

Baths full stop! stewing in your own crud???

Im a girl btw.

Pics or you're a liar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,062 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Senna wrote: »
    We've spent the last few weeks looking for a new house, and not one of these house (built in the last 5 years anyway) have only one toilet.
    so they have heard your complain.
    close thread please
    Thats because of the building regs, and common sense

BTW whats a "cbathroom?"?

Kold wrote: »
    Pics or you're a liar.

Ok, hang on and I strip off and get the camera out.

BTW whats a "cbathroom?"?

can't be arthed room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I wouldn't recommend dumping a load in the shower.

Pipes are not constructed to take that kind of load and even if you get the lot down the plughole it will back up eventually.
    if you really must do it , then use a shower cap or a plastic bag and leave the load outside for disposal later.

People can be verrrrry lazy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Well.............? Surely it doesnt take 8 hours to take a few (tastefull:D) pics?:)

Anywhoo, the seperate toilet rooms were always small and cramped, I like a bt of air around me when doing my business. Plus where do you put the paper/magazine your reading if theres no bath?

:pac: Just put one of these in the shower cubicle instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

iFight wrote: »
    Only noticing,

Sort of an odd reason to join a forum: starting a Bring Bathrooms Back petition

LMAO I was thinking exactly the same thing! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,062 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Pipes are not constructed to take that kind of load and even if you get the lot down the plughole it will back up eventually.
    if you really must do it , then use a shower cap or a plastic bag and leave the load outside for disposal later.

Well if you were installing a large plughole to fit it down, then obviously you would size the pipes to take it, come on,
    who exactly is the lazy one, not arsed with a few extra pipes

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 35,137 Mod ✭✭✭✭AlmightyCushion

Just crap into a blender and pour it down the hole, problem solved. Make sure you put the lid on the blender, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

I find if you squish it up with your foot it dissolves nicely and goes down no problem, though the plumber did once have to come out after a sweetcorn incident.
    Careful now, the dead are watching, lads in hand.

Mellor wrote: »
    Well if you were installing a large plughole to fit it down, then obviously you would size the pipes to take it, come on,
    who exactly is the lazy one, not arsed with a few extra pipes
    Surely if you're combining a shower with a shitter you're going to need one less pipe (two if you include the cistern ) ;) & a high pressure shower to clean away the klingons! :eek:

By all rights you should be able to have a shower whilst taking a sh1t. Would save time TBH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,607 ✭✭✭✭muffler

Why have users in the Construction & Planning forum taken an interest in this thread? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

I dont understand why this thread was moved from the Construction & Planning forum :confused:

I agree with the OP, nothing worse of a morning than having your shower in a room that smells like your housemates sh1t.

nothing worse of a morning than having your shower in a room that smells like your housemates sh1t.

You know that handle on the toilet? That gets rid of all the poo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

We have a bathroom (bath/shower, toilet and wash hand basin) and a separate toilet (with washhand basin) as we needed a second toilet (as there are 6 of us in the house). Best idea.

I say no to pooping in the shower - that's just skanky. However if you really need to go, then the toilet being in the same room helps, hop out of shower, onto loo and back into shower again. Running into another room wouldn't be good.... random streaking.
    Plus - (if there's no young children) - a struck match rids smells in the bathroom.

In cambodia - they had an outhouse, with a porcelain hole in the ground for toilet and then a large area with a drain for showering, not seperate rooms. Granted shower was a large barrell of water with pans for throwing water over oneself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

Just crap into a blender and pour it down the hole, problem solved. Make sure you put the lid on the blender, though.

Why go to the bother of using a blender, just get a "garbage" disposal unit
    as the Septics call it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 634 ✭✭✭nomorebadtown

You know that handle on the toilet? That gets rid of all the poo.

Thats quite amusing but I think you'll find that the Humour forum is here: Link

So the instant you flush, all traces of that sh!te smell disappears? Even after all your housemates have had a feed of guinness and curry the night before?

Why go to the bother of using a blender, just get a "garbage" disposal unit
    as the Septics call it.
    Like those things the americans have in their sink? You could poo and wash your hands at the same time. Good time saving idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,094 ✭✭✭✭javaboy

Laxatives ftw! No blending/chopping/slicing/dicing needed :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Glitteronsnow

off topic, but was over in Liverpool recently and some girls I was chatting to told me that in some of the clubs now, the cubicles have two toilets, to cut down on the amount of time girls take to pee when they go together. Madness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 204 ✭✭Mr NoTV

ash closet in the yard, slats for seats, Victorian values.
    God bless maggie thatcher for her inspirational ideas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭maryxyz

Just to reassure you, IFight, many separate loos actually had tiny handbasins so you could wash your hands before leaving.

I'm abandoning this thread as most respondents seem too juvenile for this topic which actually merits serious discussion.

Maryxyz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭RuailleBuaille

Oh FFS it's called toilet humour, get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭JohnnyChimpo

maryxyz wrote: »
    I'm abandoning this thread as most respondents seem too juvenile for this topic which actually merits serious discussion.

Maryxyz

lul

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

but, if we had bathrooms with no toilets, it would confuse all our American friends.:eek:

It confuses them anyway. I was in a hotel in New York and bursting for a piss, but had no idea where to go. So I find someone and ask someone that works there where the toilet is. She had no idea what the hell I was talking about. Eventually she goes, "ohh.. the Rest Room".

No, it's not an effin rest room. A bathroom makes sense as theres a bath. A toilet makes sense as theres a toilet. But rest room does not. There's no bed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,567 ✭✭✭✭Fratton Fred

It confuses them anyway. I was in a hotel in New York and bursting for a piss, but had no idea where to go. So I find someone and ask someone that works there where the toilet is. She had no idea what the hell I was talking about. Eventually she goes, "ohh.. the Rest Room".

No, it's not an effin rest room. A bathroom makes sense as theres a bath. A toilet makes sense as theres a toilet. But rest room does not. There's no bed!

One of the big New York stores calls the jacks a Mens Lounge.

Lounge my arse, not one settee in the place:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Im a girl btw.

We dont do that type of thing.

Yeah - girls don't do that type of thing... I believe you;)