Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pure rage

• 14-03-2008 4:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Hey lads, just home after a night out. was home already but my housemate got a call to say that one of my mates was in a fight out side the housing estate. When i rushed out to it, i found three of my mates with a girl that is good friends with my mate who left the house with me and all 4 were in a bad state. I don't usually but then i went into a rage. i stormed down the direction the TEN lads that jumped my friends went, uncaring what happened to me, and when we found them, all that happened was a quick shouting match and a couple of punches aimed at me.

I can't help feeling so angry, i haven't been like this in years. I teach martial arts in the local college and i can't help wishing i'd passed on a couple of techniques to my mates who had an unprovoked attack and as a result, a severe beating. I don't mind the fact i got a few slaps but i just want to let it go but i've such anger that i'm worried. I caught myself making an oath to get strong enough to fell anyone after first strike but i'm generally a happy person. how do i get rid of this rage??!!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

You really should speak to a counsellor. This forum can not tell you what to do but give you an idea of who to see now. Please check the stickys at the top of the forum, they have some useful links and info that may be of help to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

i stormed down the direction the TEN lads that jumped my friends went, uncaring what happened to me,
    Bravo....................I can understand anger & retaliation..............but what superhero would be complete without reckless disregard for himself. BRAVO!.........
    all that happened was a quick shouting match and a couple of punches aimed at me
    ooops......................blind with rage and an uncontrollable fury, you did what exactly...........?

Did you just stand there shouting : "Abuse", "Abuse", "Abuse"..........or maybe "don't bully my friends again you horrible men"...........
    I teach martial arts in the local college and i can't help wishing i'd passed on a couple of techniques to my mates
    Oh gawdm the thoughts of some knob-head offering to teach me Chuck Norris moves ........"For my own safety" would make me physically sick!
    I don't mind the fact i got a few slaps
    Sure a few slaps wouldnt even register on Chuck Norris.
    but i just want to let it go but i've such anger that i'm worried
    No ya don't . Yer just some martial arts enthuasist with access to a pc.
    Otherwise you'd of got in a few digs of yer own,
    If you really were a proper superhere you'd be out there fighting crime right now.
    I caught myself making an oath
    So one personality starting talking to the other,
    I caught myself making an oath to get strong enough to fell anyone after first strike
    Superb, beautiful & crazy...............I'd be tempted to use it as my signature!

You really sound like a cartoon character!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

While I take Mighty_Mouse's take on board, the OP sees his problem and is looking for help which is a bloody good start. Hard one though. I suppose looking back into your life to see where some of this springs from would be useful. Was it bullying when younger and that's why you took up the oul self defence. I've known some who have done just that and it helped them with their confidence and they wouldn't dream of letting fly at someone. That's just one thing though, may not apply to yourself Some sort of therapy would help to find out the cause, the triggers and ways of helping overcome it. The stickies as gordon says could be a good start.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Shyte happens. You lost your rag. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,016 ✭✭✭✭vibe666

i totally lost control of myself and did something very stupid because of it when I was 20 and got to spend 3 weeks in prison (inc. my 20th b/day on the 3rd day I was there) thinking about what happened for my trouble, not to mention a big court case and a hell of a lot of trouble for my family and friends who thankfully saw how sorry I was and chose to stand by me.

touch wood, it's now 11 years later I still remember the lesson and I've never seen the inside of a prison cell since.

just something to think about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Hey lads, just home after a night out.
    ...... i've such anger that i'm worried. ........ how do i get rid of this rage??!!?

are you still equally angry this morning? Afternoon? Evening? ok you had a normal surge of anger that something so unjust and unfair happened. You got into a bit of an argy-bargy where insults wrer traded and a couple of blows. So far, so normal. So?

So, it could have been a lot worse. You let your anger lead you into a potentially very threatening situation. Don't do it again. Keep the head. This'll be a lesson to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

You where so angry that you went up to the lads and got slapped about without doing anything about it? thats ridiculus, if your going to approach eejits like this you better be ready to use your martial arts, you either bottled it or where not that angry! learn self restraint so you dont get bashed again in future when trying to play superduperman. :eek:

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 830 ✭✭✭Judomad

agree with the above or bring something with you next time that may make others hesitant to slap you..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,012 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

cowzerp wrote: »
    You where so angry that you went up to the lads and got slapped about without doing anything about it? thats ridiculous, if your going to approach eejits like this you better be ready to use your martial arts, you either bottled it or where not that angry! learn self restraint so you don't get bashed again in future when trying to play superman. :eek:

My understanding at the op's post is that he did go up and give them a few slaps, something he regrets and he wants to understand why he did it. Most people with a strong martial arts background are taught specifically to never get into a fight, for a number of strong reasons. Mainly because judges tend not to look well at the situation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,549 ✭✭✭✭cowzerp

and when we found them, all that happened was a quick shouting match and a couple of punches aimed at me.

Slaps thrown at him, he shouted!!!

Rush Boxing club and Rush Martial Arts head coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

He was angry. End of.

It's an emotion and sometimes it will surface. If anything never feeling anger would be a bigger worry.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,493 ✭✭✭RedXIV

Chillax, like joejoe said, you're probably grand this morning. might just have been the blood boiling. Running after lads is never a good idea though, martial arts generally teaches walking away as being the best tactic of all. not saying that every martial artist follows that of course, and every one loses the rag now and again but at least if you have some small pang of regret, you're obviously after copping on that it was a bad idea

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 699 ✭✭✭DinoBot

OP,

I think its important to ask yourself what has you so angry.

Is it that your friends got attacked ?
    You got slapped ?
    You failed your friends ?
    Your failed yourself because you got slapped ?

A bit of thinking it out would help IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 61 ✭✭Blk150

Shyte happens. You lost your rag. Move on.

+1.Thats life