Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Toyota Altezza

• 12-03-2008 8:20pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭

What are peoples opinion on the above.

I had a drive off a friends car the other nite and its was some sweet ride through a 6 speed gearbox.

They seem to be hugely popular all of a sudden even though their quite pricey !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 Nuttzyy

I like them, in the blue colour they come in. I was in a beams one and it was nice driving and that, was white with a kit and looked good but some of the kits you see on them can be dodgey. Dont get a white standard one, they have nice colours in them, dark greys and stuff, get something like that or the blue.

The beams one i was in had class seats, and the dash is cool with little battery, oil gauges built into it around the speedometer/revs. Nice steering wheel too, im not sure if the non-beams models have that dash and seats but they probably do.

Overall, i like them, and they're toyotas so decent build. I'd try for a bems if possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Barr wrote: »
    What are peoples opinion on the above.

I had a drive off a friends car the other nite and its was some sweet ride through a 6 speed gearbox.

They seem to be hugely popular all of a sudden even though their quite pricey !.

Repeat after me;

Sttaaarrrryyyy buuuuuud, ya see yer wan shardin' is she up teh ballyer again wha?

If you said;

Hello my friend, have you seen Sharon lately? I've heard she's is bearing a child again.

^
    if you said this then an Altezza wouldnt suit you!!

Seriously tho they are a nice car, my cocaine dealer drives one*

*stay in school

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Volvoboy wrote: »
    Repeat after me;

Sttaaarrrryyyy buuuuuud, ya see yer wan shardin' is she up teh ballyer again wha?

If you said;

Hello my friend, have you seen Sharon lately? I've heard she's is bearing a child again.

^

*stay in school

lmao :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,023 ✭✭✭Barr

Nuttzyy wrote: »
    I like them, in the blue colour they come in. I was in a beams one and it was nice driving and that, was white with a kit and looked good but some of the kits you see on them can be dodgey. Dont get a white standard one, they have nice colours in them, dark greys and stuff, get something like that or the blue.

The beams one i was in had class seats, and the dash is cool with little battery, oil gauges built into it around the speedometer/revs. Nice steering wheel too, im not sure if the non-beams models have that dash and seats but they probably do.

Overall, i like them, and they're toyotas so decent build. I'd try for a bems if possible.

I think they look class in white with a nice TRD kit..each to their own I guess

Is there any exterior clues that differientiate the beams from the non beams model?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

http://www.carzone.ie/used-cars/Toyota/Altezza/Must-Sell/948287/

If possible go for the RS kit, six speed and subtle body kit.
    The Beams engine was tuned by Yammaha a follow on from the 3S-GE that was used in the Celica.

-VB-

The Beams engine was tuned by Yammaha a follow on from the 3S-GE that was used in the Celica.

-VB-

mmm NICE , but 9.5k for a 1998 is abit steep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Repeat after me;

If you said;

^

*stay in school

Couldnt have put it better if I tried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,272 ✭✭✭✭Atomic Pineapple

tut tut such stereotyping volvoboy! :rolleyes: :D

They were one of the cars I test drove when I was looking for my first performance car, there very nice, very comfortable and have decent power but there not especially fast, 0 - 60 in 7.2 seconds is only a shade faster than a Civic Sir.

i agree with nuttzy in that the white with trd kit is common as muck and isn't particulary appealing to me, the blue colour is stunning looking, but as you say different people have different opinions

for the Rs200 version (the one with the beams eninge) you'll have to look under the hood and see the beams logo on the top of the engine and the engine code should be 3s-ge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,651 ✭✭✭Captain Slow IRL

draffodx wrote: »
    for the Rs200 version (the one with the beams eninge) you'll have to look under the hood and see the beams logo on the top of the engine and the engine code should be 3s-ge

Do the lexus (lexii?!) get the same engines as the altezza's?

Or are they a different kettle of fish?!

the lexus variant gets the 6cylinder non beams engine which has only 160bhp and drinks the same amont of petrol, its considered to be a poor engine compared to the beams, the 6 cylinder engine is also in the As200 version of the altezza so you really need to be getting the rs200 version

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

Repeat after me;

If you said;

^

*stay in school

:D:D:D

Funniest thing ive read in a while but you forget the obligatory tracky pants, celtic jersey and peaked hat tilted at a dangerous angle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,686 ✭✭✭JHMEG

I think this guy drives an Altezza, tho not 100% sure.
    (Jeez, his gf is lovely,puke.gif)

chav.jpg
    Grand car tho.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭eddiehead

I have one and strangely enough i dont wear tracky pants, tilted peak caps, or hav a burd named shardin whos up the ballyer.....:rolleyes:
    Not as many chavs out here in culchie-land:D

If you like what you see then id recommend one(an RS200beams), there very reliable and comfortable to drive, though they can be a bit hard on the road at times too. They arent awfully quick if thats what your after,theyre quicker than a standard IS200 or AS200 however. There a very nice car to drive, the 6speed close-shift gearbox is brilliant.

By the way, that '98 for 9.5k, thats a verrry cheap one:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,525 ✭✭✭kona

save yourself 3 grand and import one yerself:D

all the altezzas in ireland are mad money because the dumbass boyracers are going mad for them:D

they want them not becausse the y are fast, but because they are RWD and can drift them....usually into a kerb and write them off, the amount ive seen killed at the darndale roundbout on saturday morn:D

must be a thing that altezzas are driven by the stereo typical scum bag in dublin?? never seen anyone like that driving them around here.

there in high demand because people think there fast, there rwd and there relatively easy to insure

must be a thing that altezzas are driven by the stereo typical scum bag in dublin?? never seen anyone like that driving them around here.

there in high demand because people think there fast, there rwd and there relatively easy to insure

Its usually scumbag boyracers or mad culchie boyracers that drive them. The same that drive the old corolla twin cams, the ****ty starlets with the ghastly dump valves and the likes...diffin in the farm, yup outa that:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

ronnie3585 wrote: »
    Its usually scumbag boyracers or mad culchie boyracers that drive them. The same that drive the old corolla twin cams, the ****ty starlets with the ghastly dump valves and the likes...diffin in the farm, yup outa that:D

You'll find most of the people driving Twin cams now are older and car enthusiasts more than boy racers.
    There's usually about 40 of them come up to the Donegal rally and bar maybe one, they're there just to enjoy themselves and not drive like dicks.

-VB-
    I'm looking for an Altezza at the moment, but i wouldn't touch that one with a barge poll, its not been out of NCT for the last 3 months for no reason and there is no reason to lower a car like that.

Go for a standard car just off the boat, maybe a TRD kit but nothing that might mean it had a hard life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Fredrick

Yeah seems theres a lot of these around these days seen a mixture of people driving them scangers included but i think its the case with nearly all jap performance cars these days also guys and girls in there very early 20's driving evos, scoobys & GTS Skylines :eek: 210bhp @ the flywheels i thinks not bad for an N/A 3SGE, kinda heavy are they though?

Senna wrote: »
    I'm looking for an Altezza at the moment, but i wouldn't touch that one with a barge poll, its not been out of NCT for the last 3 months for no reason and there is no reason to lower a car like that.

Go for a standard car just off the boat, maybe a TRD kit but nothing that might mean it had a hard life.

I didnt import mine myself, but it was fresh off the boat when i got it, unregged n all.It was absolutely mint 35k miles and not a mark on it, the inside was like new. I doubt you'd save yourself as much as 3k(mentioned somewhere above) by importing one, the charges on importing a car from japan can rack up pretty high(shipping / VRT / and VAT), but you would certanly save money.

As for the whole chav thing, some people need to realise there is life outside dublin, just because they tend to be driven by drug dealers up there does not mean that is the case in the rest of the country. Theyre no good for drifting either, so they dont get the same hardship as a twin cam's, silvia's or 180sx'.

there a family saloon with a decent engine in them, they are heavy and there not as fast as there 210bhp sounds, same as the celica ssIII they have a high horse power rating but there more touring type cars.

@draffodx: do the decent thing and get an original backbox!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Altezza is a bit of a knackers car in these parts too. Not just a Dublin thing it seems:D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,034 ✭✭✭astraboy

Its the new twin cam. Overpriced RWD Toyota! I like them, but they have become too popular. A good car if you want a RWD saloon, just make sure it does not have an excessive bodykit on it. Subtle is the way to go on saloons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Knackers car in mayo too. Wouldnt touch one.

In fairness the car's not the problem. Its the chavs driving them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Rags

Must be a dublin thing, I have one myself and I wear a suit into work. You wont save anything importing atm the vrt and taxes are very expensive on them.

Besides isnt anything imported and regged after july due the new tax/vrt changes which would make it even more expensive.

I'm selling mine atm, all the mileage I do makes it a costly car to drive for me.

i have to laugh at some of the opinions about altezza's, solely based on someone they seen driving them.
    Just cause nackers have more money now and are able to buy nicer cars, does that mean that car is off limits to normal people:rolleyes:
    What if they start buying your make of car, will you sell it?

I'm sure most are bought because of the specs, 210bhp, RWD, LSD and easy to get insurance on them, but hopefully they'll all realise that a vti civic would give an Altezza a run for its money.
    A comfortable big car, with a different driver feeling to the usual 3 or 5 series BMW's, without reliability issues, is why i'm think of getting one.
    (plus my last 3 cars have been 3SGE, so the beams version will be a nice change.)

my buddy's an accountant and owns one ... I dont think they have as bad an image in Cork has Dublin.

But I'm assuming post July with the VRT changes ,this will wipe out alot of the Altezza's

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

Altezza Poor mans IS 200 every knacker around my area has one seems to be as popular as civics

JHMEG wrote: »
    @draffodx: do the decent thing and get an original backbox!

thats the plan JHMEG just cant get one until next wednesday, not sure if the gun gum will hold until then :D
    Senna wrote: »
    i have to laugh at some of the opinions about altezza's, solely based on someone they seen driving them.

just gotta buy a car for yourself and not pass any remarks of people stereotyping them

Does that also apply to Glanzas?;)

Altezza Poor mans IS 200 every knacker around my area has one seems to be as popular as civics

lol, considering they are a superior car and generally more expensive. This is quite simply another opinion derived from the fact that they are driven by dodgy characters in some parts of the country.

Yeah and the BMW M3 is the poor mans BMW 320 :rolleyes:

JHMEG wrote: »
    Does that also apply to Glanzas?;)

haha glanza's have to be 99% driven by scum and 1% driven by proper car enthusiasts thanks to the 1.3 logbook scam, its a joke coupled with the fact that i hate them, there ugly little cars that should be nippy and go kart like but there not so theres no plus(es) to them at all. :D;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

E92 wrote: »
    Altezza is a bit of a knackers car in these parts too. Not just a Dublin thing it seems:D.
    or maybe driven by an apprentice on 2 euro an hour and cant put a sentence together..:)

haha glanza's have to be 99% driven by scum
    That's a fact, and not a stereotype!?! LOL! Not that I'm defending them or anything...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

lol. :rolleyes:

Driven one a few times, I liked it. Plenty of tinkers driving them but it didnt take away from my enjoyment of the car. Thirsty though.

G Luxel wrote: »
    or maybe driven by an apprentice on 2 euro an hour and cant put a sentence together..:)

Ha ha, falling off my seat laughing!!! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 75 ✭✭buddyboy

I used to have one and they are great cars. the rs200 L edition is the one i would recommend, try get one with the half leather/suede interior and sunroof. 207bhp on japanese fuel and about 195-200 running on Maxol E5.

As for them being the poor mans Lexus? They would cost more than an Is200 of an equivalent year and mileage. Is200 would be considered a luxury saloon and the Altezza would be the tuned up sports saloon version. They are not the quickest car in the world but good fun and plenty of poke for its size. most of the power/torque in the Dual VVTI 3SGE engine is higher up in the rev range similar to the VTEC engine in the Hondas.

What would people recommend to this guy thats in the similar class/size/price range/year?

And you will save money over the dealer prices if you bring it in yourself. not as much since the VRT change but still a few quid .

I wouldn't buy this car for its fuel consumption since its a rev happy engine it is heavy enough on juice. Just my 2 cents on the car. And no im not a knacker or scumbag and don't own any tracksuits!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Richie_c

The views expressed in this thread are all bullsh1t coming from people who are idiots.

Explain to me how its a "knackers" car. I wear tracksuit bottoms alright and dont see a problem with that, I wear them going/coming from training and football matches, does that mean I'm a sham? No I think not!!!!

For the record I OWN an Insurance Brokerage and generally anyone that I know that owns one isnt a sham/scumbag. I know of gardai, IT Tech's, sound techs, teachers, mechanics, people who own/run consturction businesses and work in the construction industry and an accountant/tax consultant. Should I keep going or are all these people knackers??

Its a comfortable car with quite a bit of power to back it up compared to its lesser cousin, the IS200. They only real differences between the two are that the IS200 was designed for the European Market whereas the Altezza is for the Japanese Market. The IS is less powerful and just as heavy on juice.

Now someone please explain to me how the Altezza is a poor mans Lexus.

Take your heads outta your a$$es and STFU, there are shams driving every car on the market

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Richie_c wrote: »
    The views expressed in this thread are all bullsh1t coming from people who are idiots.

and now that you've just insulted all posters in this (ancient btw :D) thread, you can take a weeks break and enjoy your car in peace

Thread closed