Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who's just left their job and had nothing to go to? - Depressed person

• 12-03-2008 05:19PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭

I have been depressed for the last few years. I never really like my job that much but always was in a state of trying to get into it. I would get into it for a few days and then fade out again. A really annoying process.

I have started an energy therapy and am finally coming out of my depression. I was finally able to think to myself and have a bit of courage to think "I hate my job and I don't really want to do it anymore". This happened for the first time this week. I am also now making alot more decisions for myself aswell.

Should I just leave and go on the dole or something while I think about what I want to do?? My job is IT and is soul destroyingly boring for me. I just have absolutely no enthusiasm for IT anymore.

There is one thing I would really like to do. Become a member of the Garda Siochana but I am really skinny and would not look right in a uniform. I am working on this since the beginning of the year...doing weights and bulking up (eating lots of food). This is really putting me off and I don't think I would apply until I have this problem resolved.

I really am finding the current job really tough and don't know if i can keep doing it until i'm ready to apply for the guards. I also would not mind being a paramedic.

I definitely don't want anything to do with business (how boring. yaaaaaawwwwn!) or IT. Anybody got any other suggestions?

I don't even know about a third level course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭Xcellor

junii wrote: »
    There is one thing I would really like to do. Become a member of the Garda Siochana but I am really skinny and would not look right in a uniform. I am working on this since the beginning of the year...doing weights and bulking up (eating lots of food). This is really putting me off and I don't think I would apply until I have this problem resolved.

I know some pretty scrawny gardai... I don't think they care too much about you being skinny... I wouldn't let that stop you from applying.

What do you do in IT that could possibly be so soul destroyingly boring?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,382 ✭✭✭✭AARRRGH

If you suffer from depression, are you sure doing a highly depressing job like a Garda is a good idea?

Have you considered talking to a doctor about trying anti-depressants for a while?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,968 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I doubt the Gardai will take your application too seriously at the moment, if you are getting better through therepy then keep at that until given the "all clear". Stay in your current job - its an income after all, easy to rush into a descision and regret it later.

One step at a time.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭junii

Xcellor wrote: »
    I know some pretty scrawny gardai... I don't think they care too much about you being skinny... I wouldn't let that stop you from applying.

What do you do in IT that could possibly be so soul destroyingly boring?

Ah everything in IT bores me now. I just don't find computers all that interesting at all anymore.
    The skinny thing kind of affects my confidence.
    dublindude wrote: »
    If you suffer from depression, are you sure doing a highly depressing job like a Garda is a good idea?

Have you considered talking to a doctor about trying anti-depressants for a while?

I was thinking it would be exciting rather than depressing.
    I have been on anti-d's and am just coming off them now.
    mike65 wrote: »
    I doubt the Gardai will take your application too seriously at the moment, if you are getting better through therepy then keep at that until given the "all clear". Stay in your current job - its an income after all, easy to rush into a descision and regret it later.

One step at a time.

Mike.

Great advice...seriously.
    I am just of the opinion though that leaving the job will aid my recovery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,315 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

OP: the grass is always greener on the other side.

You want fun, go work in a cinema. The pay is usually sh|t, though, as are the hours :/

What area in IT were you? I ask, as someone sitting at a desk typing stuff on a PC is considered "IT" these days:rolleyes:

Also, there are fun areas in IT, and non-fun boring jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 600 ✭✭✭junii

the_syco wrote: »
    OP: the grass is always greener on the other side.

You want fun, go work in a cinema. The pay is usually sh|t, though, as are the hours :/

What area in IT were you? I ask, as someone sitting at a desk typing stuff on a PC is considered "IT" these days:rolleyes:

Also, there are fun areas in IT, and non-fun boring jobs.

Well it's actually tech support on an ERP system so the work is challenging and there is alot to learn. I'm on ok money aswell and probably in for a pay rise shortly. I just can't get enthusastic about the system and the processes it provides solutions for. I am yawning and glazing over the screen alot on bad days. Sometimes I can really get into it and enjoy doing a good job etc. etc.

My therapist actually thinks that I am maybe making a drama (on these days that I really get into it) to get interested in the work. She thinks this because I explained to her that I only really get interested in doing the work when it all builds up. I am then working really hard to reduce the amount of calls and work to do like I'm on some sort of mission or something. Then when I finally get down to a manageable amount of work I just go back to limbo land. I'm in this limbo land for 75% of the time.

Should it really be this hard and this much work to stay interested in your job?

I am just thinking that maybe the office environment and everything is not for me. I was always finding it hard to concentrate in school and stuff and I think that this type of work is just not holding my interest that much. Because I could not get interested in my subjects at school like english, irish and maths I ended up failing my leaving cert. --- I just could not get interested in them; even to pass the leaving cert.

I could honestly say that computers were a great source of interest for me when I was younger but I am not really all that interested in learning the endless list of problems that goes on with them and the often illogical nature of them anymore.

I know if I had time to breathe and not have endless computer problems in my face then I would get interested in computers a little again. That technical sense of wanting to know how stuff works will never leave me.

OP: Apart from boredom, what actual problems do you have?

Are you at risk of death, maybe by disease or war?
    Are you being forced to do things against your will?
    Are there no jobs where you live?

I think you've lost perspective on things. 99.9% of the people on earth would probably love your life. You have a job which pays OK and you are getting a raise shortly. You probably have no actual problems, apart from petty things like being bored.

Your job is boring. BIG DEAL. Most people's jobs are boring. You need to get a grip on reality and realise life isn't what you see on MTV Cribs.

If you don't like your job, make plans to leave it. DO NOT go on the dole. That will depress you even further.

Life is what you make of it. All the emotions you feel, they are coming from inside you. You are choosing how you feel.

What would make you happier in your job?

Off the top of my head...

1. More friends in work so you can have a laugh during the day
    2. Being really good at your job so you're on top of things
    3. Doing a good job so you feel proud of yourself and the work you do

If you really want to quit your job and "find yourself", I suggest you do something which involves helping others. Work in a charity shop, work in Africa, anything which stops you from being so focussed on yourself all the time.

Really it sounds like you are your own worst enemy, and you need a slap to snap out of it (no offence).

Why do people post crap like this?

Mike.

Taking my quote out of context is unfair.

Sorry but its a bit like telling someone to mend thier broken leg. Maybe you think if its in the head its not real.

Mike.

I am saying the OP needs a bit of perspective. Most jobs are boring, most jobs are crap. Most of us only do our jobs because we need money.

The OP seems to be taking the boredom personally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

You're right. I don't particularly love my job, but I can have a laugh about it with my collegues. I'd have left long ago were it not for same. If you can't laugh about it then perhaps it's not for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 643 ✭✭✭board om

i have to say i understand what dulbudude is saying and i dont think it is meant in a negative way at all.

when you are in rut and on a downer about life, work, etc, the only person who can snap you out of it is you. it can be difficult to realise that and even more difficult to sort it out but at the end of the day you are the only one who can do it. all the tablets in the world cant help you if you can help yourself.

stop beating yourself up. you seem like a nice person, you have a good sense of humour, you are starting to get some direction in your career (you might not know exactly what you are going to do yet but you are on the right track by putting the wheels in motion for a career change).

all round things arent as bad as you keep tellng yourself they are. you have probably heard this a million times befoe but there are people out there with a lot worse problems.

good luck with the search for a new career.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭monkey24

Hey Juniii,

No offense to Dublindude but his advise is terrible. Why should you do a job that bores you to the point it is causing you to be depressed?. Why should a person spend 37 hours a week in a job they hate because it pays ok?.

Yes most people do this, it doesn't make it right. Telling someone who suffers from depression, they need a slap is DAMN right offensive. Perhaps you are an advocate of living your life at the weekend, away from your job but that's not what life should be about.

Junii, do not listen to people who tell you to stay in a job you don't like because its pays the bills. You get one shot at life, you should make an effort to make it has enjoyable as possible. Get focused on what you really want and do not be put off if it seems like an impossible dream. Really have a think about it and then write it as a big question "How can I get my dream job as a <blank>". Scribble down 20 answers, don't think about how far fetched they sound. Circle the best ones and get cracking with them.

Life is what you make it. You have the ability to change any aspect of it if you so desire. Just work hard and be as resourceful as possible. Its your god given right to be happy and don't let anyone tell you, you should stay in a job just to pay the bills.

I wouldn't advise going on the dole just yet. But maybe changing to a role outside of IT that you will be happy in whilst you get your goals together could help.

Depression is a hard thing to deal with and anyone who says you need a slap because of it is a total idiot.

Best of luck with it, feel free to PM me if you want. I have began training in a lot of areas that may help you and I would be happy to pass on any advise i could.

Cheers
    m

Monkey, here are some random quotes from the OP:
    I have been depressed for the last few years

The skinny thing kind of affects my confidence

I have started an energy therapy and am finally coming out of my depression

I could not get interested in my subjects at school like english, irish and maths I ended up failing my leaving cert. --- I just could not get interested in them; even to pass the leaving cert

I am just of the opinion though that leaving the job will aid my recovery

Does it really sound like the job is what's causing the OP's problem?

It sounds like the OP has had no interest in anything for a long time. And blames everything except herself for this.

She thinks energy therapy will help her...?

No, IMO outside factors have nothing to do the OP's problem.

So far:

She can't do education, she can't do work, she can't do decisions. This is not her jobs fault.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭monkey24

Dublindude, I am not going to spend any of my energy arguing about an individuals situation, which neither of us know much about. When someone has suffered from depression they can often feel disinterested in many things and find it hard to motivate themselves. Its extremely unhelpful for someone to speak they way you did. Using the term "finding yourself" or going to Africa will make you see how fortunate you are, would be opinions I would of expected towards depression back in the 80's.

I don't feel your post was in anyway helpful to the OP. I also found it quite offensive. I am not for one moment passing judgment on you as a person just that particular post.

I will end on the fact Ireland has one of the highest suicide and depression rates in Europe. We should be more open to discussing these problems and helping others rather than suggesting they cope themselves on. Everyone is entitled to live a happy and fulfilling life, more importantly everyone has the power within themselves to achieve this. But a little help from others would go a long way.

I accept what you are saying, however...

IMO, considering the OP thinks going on the dole will help solve her problem, she doesn't need people agreeing with her. If she quits her job and goes on the dole, I cannot see any other outcome other than a deeper depression. Even I find being unemployed seriously depressing, and I'm no where near depressed or unhappy.

The OP needs to open her eyes and take count of what she has. As I stated earlier, nearly everyone on earth would swap their ****ty job to be in her comfortable situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 402 ✭✭newestUser

Dublindude is right when he says that the job is not the OPs problem. The OPs feelings about their job stem from issues that go much further back. Dublindude is not right to tell the person to cop themselves on and "snap out of it". Easier said than done.

If the OP feels like stepping out of their job to explore other options, gain perspective, just live a little, go right ahead. I concur with Dublindude to a certain extent however: the OP comes across as apathetic and passive. They need to look into sorting that out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭cronos

Junii by the sounds of things you have alot of spare time in your job. Perhaps you could do a part time course and study for it durring the times in work where you dont have anything to do.