Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Coleraine

• 09-03-2008 3:54pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭

Hi all

Heading to Coleraine next September, looking to get a room in a house with a double bed & space for a desk.

I've heard Portrush & Portstewart are good to say but I'd like to be as close as possible so was thinking maybe staying in Coleraine would suit me better.

Anyone any expreience stayig up there, how much should I expect to pay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18 H-esperanza

Hi this is my first post here on boards.ie..

But i am also hoping to go to colraine next year and would love to here any information anyone else would have on accomadation etc.

What will you be studying?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭regob

i would recommend to stay in halls our university accomadation for first year

Thanks! Just found out on friday that i got a conditional offer!! Now i need to seriously think about moving away from home!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Human Nutrition, what you going for yourself?

Regob why would you recommend halls?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭thegloriousend

You simply have to stay in halls for first year. Lets you get to know the ropes with other 'foreign' people. Make friends, connections, get to know the city together and then pick the finest selection to move in with a year later..

just to let you no im a first year student in uuj and im currently living in halls, and the reason i would say definetly live in halls is for all the reasons above and my god it is just alot of brilliant crack

Oh thank you for the advice! Need to really start planning all this, its all so real sundenly!

Oh wow human nutrition, i got an offer for dietetics!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14 -umbrella-ella-

I've got friends going to Coleraine in Sept and all of them hope to stay in the halls, i've heard good things about the halls at Coleraine too!

http://www.accommodation.ulster.ac.uk/prostucoloc.html
    Hope the link is of use to yis

• Registered Users Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Johnny_the_fox

most of the students would stay in portstewart (which is about 4 miles from coleraine), as it has the better night life.

there is new halls at the university (new as in 4 years old)... if you are going yourself, its better to stay in the halls.. as you will get to meet alot more people in the same position.

buses run every half hour between coleraine university and portstewart.

i stayed 3 years in coleraine uni, but was lucky enough to know alot of people up there to have 3 years in portstewart... and share a house.

good luck!! :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,770 ✭✭✭Bottle_of_Smoke

Decided to go with the college accommodation, staying in Maple Lodge, locations seems good anyway

Anyone else staying there/stayed before?

Decided to go with the college accommodation, staying in Maple Lodge, locations seems good anyway

Anyone else staying there/stayed before?

yeah you made the right decision, going wit college accomadation

• Registered Users Posts: 15 Miss Spelt

Halls are the best for first year - that's what I did and I definitely didn't miss out on ANY night life!!! Ah the days, I mean nights of drinking in the students union for next to nothing....

You get to meet more people and gives you a chance to scope out where and who to share a house with in your next years.

Good luck and enjoy!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Daniela_B

I'll be in Maple Lodge as well ... glad to hear it's not getting bad reviews!

I am a little concerned about the 4- and 5-person living situation. I've only lived in a 3-person situation previously, and those were close friends. Anyone have any advice or insight about living with (possibly) 4 strangers?

Thanks--

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Daniela_B wrote: »
    I'll be in Maple Lodge as well ... glad to hear it's not getting bad reviews!

I am a little concerned about the 4- and 5-person living situation. I've only lived in a 3-person situation previously, and those were close friends. Anyone have any advice or insight about living with (possibly) 4 strangers?

Thanks--

Best piece of advice is not to worry about it - a couple will probably end up as very good friends, if not all of them. They'll most likely be in the same situation as you....so go in with an open mind (and the ability to overlook some food stealing and late night parties :D)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,370 ✭✭✭GAAman

I would def go with halls for the first year you might (like i) find it restrictive but you get settled and know your way around and meet alot of very cool people

Oh congrats ellscurr didnt know you were made a mod till now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 mac67gaeilge

Your best bet is to contact <snip>local estate agents in Portstewart and get shared digs. Halls will cost u an extra 30 bills a week, and the rooms aren't great. Millstone and Old mill are much more luxurious, and far better craic!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Urbanrose

Stayin in Agherton student accommodation in portstewart, 3miles from the uni with a tesco right next to it and a frequent bus stop outside, not a bad place to check out

nice job. agherton is a handy oul spot. texaco garage next door and walking distance from "the anchor." wont take you too long to know where that is! just make sure and don't steal any fire extinguishers when you're drunk in agherton. someone who looks alot like me had to cough up 40 bux twice in first year..lol. glad to hear it anyway...you'll have a ball up in the north east

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 honey_mauve

I'm coming to UU Coleraine - if anyone knows about Cromore campus accommodation, is it any good?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 honey_mauve

Is there anyone who has stayed at Cromore or knows about it? Which is a better campus amongst all the university campuses?

honey_mauve please ease off on the caps and text speak, it makes your posts difficult to read for everyone else and breaches the Forum Charter.

You might want to take a peek at the Charter before posting.

As regards Coleraine, it's better than Magee by miles as regards the social side and people tend to spend a lot more time on campus socialising. I don't know about Jordanstown though, I think that's pretty good too.

Is there anyone who has stayed at Cromore or knows about it? Which is a better campus amongst all the university campuses?

i don't remember which one exactly is cromore, but i've definetly been there. the set up for accom in UUC is second to none really, so even the worst rooms are better than anywhere in belfast, magee etc.
    p.s. don't pay for parking....just drive behind the car in front, the barrier has a sensor and goes back up again!! ;) every penny counts

i don't remember which one exactly is cromore, but i've definetly been there. the set up for accom in UUC is second to none really, so even the worst rooms are better than anywhere in belfast, magee etc.
    p.s. don't pay for parking....just drive behind the car in front, the barrier has a sensor and goes back up again!! ;) every penny counts

if ure caught at that though ure screwed.

regob wrote: »
    if ure caught at that though ure screwed.

not really, the fact that students, teachers and staff are being stung for parking every day doesn't sit well with anyone. there wouldn't be too many chasing after you!

Perhaps regob was referring to the barrier slamming down on you while you're tailgating? The annual parking passes are pretty reasonable...much cheaper than paying daily anyway.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 426 ✭✭pokerkingsni

whatever you reckon....i don't think any student should be charged for parking, so 00.1p is unreasonable to me. but hey if you're rich or wouldn't miss it fair play to ya

wat i meant is that their is survellance at the entrances exits of each campus at certain parts of the day, watching out for this, and if they catch you there is consequences. in order to do this as well ya have to be quite literally up the cars ass and fly through.

no all they do is take ure number plate number, and they do watch out for ya?

whatever you reckon....i don't think any student should be charged for parking, so 00.1p is unreasonable to me. but hey if you're rich or wouldn't miss it fair play to ya

How is it unreasonable? They're providing a service, they're entitled to charge for it. I'm not rolling about in cash by any means but I didn't begrudge paying it to be able to park outside class every day.

people yas need to realise universitys are out there to make money, thats were there charging for parking, its roughly 75 quid for a years parking ticket, in comparison to some universitys in america that charge 100s to 1000s of dollars a year, its not that bad.