Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

20 Second response time!

• 09-03-2008 12:07am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭

Wow, I just had to call the guards about 30 mins ago, because of an incident here in Blackrock, Dublin. Was just browsing boards.ie when I heard commotion outside - pretty serious stuff.. glass breaking, relentless screaming. Looked outside and saw a big bunch of undesirables running riot around and abandoned building. I thought I saw one holding a lighter up to the building too.

Anyway, after failing to find the number of the local station, I had to call 999, as it sounded like things were escalating. I told them what was going on, and put down the phone.

20 seconds later (I kid you not), I heard sirens in the distance. I looked out the door and saw 3 squad cars whiz by, 2 ambulances and a fire engine. Wow. They were later followed by 2 unmarked cars and 1 more ambulance.

I couldn't help but step out to see what was going on. Saw some guy dancing around with a bottle, which he then smashed on the wall. The guards had torches and batons out (was dark, but I'm pretty sure they had their batons).

Must take balls of steel to do that job, I tell ya. Fair play to everyone in the emergency services.

Anyway, just felt like sharing!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

They must have been in the area or someone may have already reported it ... nice to see them out and about :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,013 ✭✭✭yayamark

It can lucky/good when you get a call like that and realise your just around the corner.

Take them at their surprise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,856 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

hope all went well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

nice to see it happen in such numbers, a 3 ambulance response at half 12 the night after a rugby match in Dublin, you have been blessed!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 144 ✭✭jim2008

They would not have been so quick if it had be dublin northside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,528 ✭✭✭OK-Cancel-Apply

Crikey, I just passed by the scene today and saw that someone had left flowers there. I wonder what the hell went on. This is normally such a quiet area, but that disused building has been attracting rowdy kids, squatters and Jeebus knows who else lately...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,933 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

jim2008 wrote: »
    They would not have been so quick if it had be dublin northside.

Thats because there are so many criminals in the northside comapred to blackrock that all the gardai are permanently tied up arresting them and dealing with all the sh1t they do everyday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37 MrDylan

In fairness there´s a certain amount of luck that at certain times you´ll have more guards around an area available than other times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Eru

Chief--- wrote: »
    Thats because there are so many criminals in the northside comapred to blackrock that all the gardai are permanently tied up arresting them and dealing with all the sh1t they do everyday.

Hey! Some Gardai are from the northside you know. :D