Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

sig p226

• 07-03-2008 10:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭

hello all,
    i recently sold my glock 9mm, and im now looking at a sigsauer p-226 9mm, double action. anyone have experience with them? how do ye rate them

cheers!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 H!ghveloc!ty

Very reliable, very accurate, good sights, lovely trigger, great de-cocking lever, a breeze to strip and clean........................Nicest gun I ever shot with, until I bought an X-Five :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 719 ✭✭✭V Bull

Very reliable, very accurate, good sights, lovely trigger :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭meathshooter

very good 226 x5 top of the pops , many variants

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Tac

thanks guys,

ill probably go ahead and get it. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭fishdog

now looking at a sigsauer p-226 9mm, double action. anyone have experience with them? how do ye rate them
    Fantastic gun!!I have shot both the double action only and the single/double action versions. I would not go for the double action only version. The trigger pull is far too heavy.

I think they are quite pricey though!! You get what you pay for. What sort of shooting do you plan to do??

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,813 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

If I didn't already own a SIG, I'd buy one. It's an excellent pistol.

NTM

thanks fishdog, i intend to do just straight forward target shooting with it. maybe a bit of IPSC at a later stage...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 IrishArmy1

If you can try and get the Sig P226 Elite version, Beavertail, SRT Trigger, rails and rosewood grips.

Worth the extra money for the SRT trigger alone. I have a P226 myself and i am thinking of changing to the Elite after i had a chance once to handle it.

Hi Tac,

Be carefull with all the different versions of the Sig and others if you intend to go into IPSC shooting with your 226. I'm not sure, but some versions may put you into "OPEN" division, I'm open to correction on this, check out the IPSC website.............:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭packas

Tac wrote: »
    thanks fishdog, i intend to do just straight forward target shooting with it. maybe a bit of IPSC at a later stage...

Hi tac,

please check this link regarding getting started in IPSC. There's a link to the approved production gun list. Production division is very specific regarding what you can/cannot use

http://www.ipscireland.org/getting_started.html

Have you considered the P226 X-5 all round. Maurice Drummen has them advertised for 1650 yo-yo

http://www.mauricedrummen.nl/

alternative:-

If you're looking for a cheaper IPSC gun take a look at the CZ SP-01 shadow. probably not as accurate as the Sig though (only basing this on the price difference)

regards,
    Pat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,234 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

V Bull wrote: »
    Hi Tac,

Be carefull with all the different versions of the Sig and others if you intend to go into IPSC shooting with your 226. I'm not sure, but some versions may put you into "OPEN" division, I'm open to correction on this, check out the IPSC website.............:cool:
    Yeah your are right, I remember looking into it out of interest, when that court case on the guard that wanted a 9m sig was in the papers. Its thing like the special edition P226s and models with laser sights

The following are not permitted in the production category:
    P226 HSP, P226 Sport, P226 Sport II SL mit Schiene, P226 X-Five, P226 X-Five Competition, P226 X-Six, P226R Crimson Trace

Mellor wrote: »
    Its thing like the special edition P226s and models with laser sights

Don't forget guys, we are here for target & clay shooting including hunting, not for John Rambo types. We dont need lasers and rails and sh 1 t to shoot targets.

Anyway, back to the post topic, any sig is a very good buy, if you have the money..............Best of luck to you Tac............ Enjoy..........:cool:

V Bull wrote: »
    Don't forget guys, we are here for target & clay shooting including hunting, not for John Rambo types. We dont need lasers and rails and sh 1 t to shoot targets.

Anyway, back to the post topic, any sig is a very good buy, if you have the money..............Best of luck to you Tac............ Enjoy..........:cool:
    Nobody said we did, I was just pointing out that those models are not allowed in production categories, they are allowed in open sections and others

thanks for all the advice guys,,,,i bought yesterday. its basically a standard SigSauer 9mm, single action......its not the x-five, sport or any of them other models. it came from beechwood sports in england. the gun was originally handed out as a test model to the Police over there, but has very little use.....it has "trijicon" sights on it. otherwise, its just a standard 9mm single action. cant wait to get it :cool:...gave 1000 yoyo's for it.

would i be able to use this for IPSC..?

Sorry Mellor, I didnt mean to upset you or anyone else, I was just trying to make a point to other types.........again sorry..

Well done Tac, check your Sig model type with the list / link as mentioned by Packas in post #11 above http://www.ipscireland.org/getting_started.html. This should guide you regarding IPSC shooting.

Also get in touch with the NGB of IPSC shooting in Ireland, the IPSA at http://www.ipscireland.org, regarding competing in sanctioned IPSA /IPSC competitions in Ireland etc. Good guys, they'll set you right.............:cool:

cheers vbull, and to the rest of you guys, advice very good all round!! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭cantona

If the Sig you bought is single action it does not conform for production division, first shot must be double action. It will be good for standard division if it fits in the box 225mm x 150mm x50mm (which it should do with ease)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 411 ✭✭packas

If it's a "standard" Sig P226 then I think it can be fired from the decocked position & therefore would be production legal. But if it's single action only as Cantona said you're in Standard division.

Tac, there are about a dozen variations of the P226, mostly cosmetic changes, ie wooden grips, colour, finish, two-tone, stainless steel etc. All are Double/Single action trigger as far as I am aware, except for the P226 DAK which is Double action only. This was developed for Law Enforcement and offered a silky smooth constant trigger pull. if your gun has a de-cocking lever, its almost certainly a DA/SA, but most of all, It's a SIG :D

I'm not sure that is correct HV, i'm almost certain that they come in a SO version too. The x-five does at least.

Mellor wrote: »
    I'm not sure that is correct HV, i'm almost certain that they come in a SO version too. The x-five does at least.

Hi Mellor, Tac said his was a standard P226. The X-five L1, X-five Competition and X-five tactical are all SA only , but these are all miles away from the standard P226 both internally and externally. Check out Sigarms.com and look under pistols. (I don't like looking myself coz I want em all !!! :( )

Well thats my point, you said all were SA/DA except for DAK, I was saying there are SO models too that are not allowed in production class, Most are SA/DA, but always check obviously. Also the homeland security model is disallowed, but not sure of the details of that one. I looked into a sig a while ago, but I think its a non runner for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,385 ✭✭✭murph226

hi Tac, how are you getting on with your sig? just ordered a sa/da p226 the other day, waiting for serial number at the moment. did you do any competition license course yet for practical comps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Bananaman

A few guys in our club shoot x-five and x-six.

In IPSC they shoot in standard and open division
    (if you have seen RoboDoc in action you know what I mean)

The guys in the club who shoot production have gone for either CZs or Glocks.

A good few of the guys who went to the Nuremburg show this year came back with p226 serial numbers (and lots of drool stains but that's for another thread)

B'Man

Hey B'man, prefer production style pistols myself, did'nt fancy a Glock, never fired a CZ or Beretta, would'nt touch a Walther, get to fire a H&K at work so I ordered a sa/da P226.
    Bit of a millohead, so I have a weak spot for service pistols, quite fancy 1911's aswell but never fired one.

Do you shoot ISPC yourself? If so whats your current rig?

I do - will be competing in a good few formally sanctioned matches this summer: The Level II match in Harbour Hill shortly, the UK Open (Level III) at the end of the Month and the Lithuanian Open (Level III) next month. The first selection shoot (Level II) for the Irish team for the 2010 European Chamionships (Level IV) will be in September aswell.

I do a fair bit of informal inter-club practical aswell.

Right now, I drive a Glock 34, in it's birthday suit - haven't done anything to it bar use it and abuse it.

I have a hankering on me for a CZ Tactical Sport in .40 aswell which I may start negotiations with herself on shortly - I'll have to start talking about far more expensive guns and when I get bollicked I'll go " oh alright I'll spend half as much on THIS...."

I also want a 6" .38/.357 Revolver - have seen nothing that can take one for precision fullbore. SidneyReilly who you may see sneaking around here has a sweet Taurus Chrome one.
    Much negotaions to come before I'll get clearance from ground control for that.

Gotta love the Glock though - never had any trouble with it.

B'Man

Looks like you've got a busy summer ahead of you, good luck with all your matches!

Fired a Glock 34 and couldn't get used to the longer barrel.
    I'd like to fire a Glock 17 or 22 though.

Hope to apply for a license for the P226 next week when I get the serial numbers, can't wait to see how I get on:confused:

If all goes well I hope to join the IPSA and complete a competition license course. Any advice?

Any plans for any mods to your Glock or are you gonna change to the CZ?

hope to join the IPSA and complete a competition license course. Any advice?

[1] Confidence

You need to be confident in your handling and shooting before signing up for IPSA training.
    If you feel that you still need work on how to do anything, you are not yet ready.
    Make sure an get plenty of advice from other club members.
    DO NOT RUSH INTO THIS. Holstering a loaded firearm is a VERY advanced aspect of shooting - you need to be very confident in all aspects of static shooting before trying dynamic shooting.

[2] Accuracy practice.

On a competition license course you are taught how to do everything,
    except shoot.
    You will be taught range rules, how to load, holster, draw, move, change shooting positions, etc. You will then be tested on all of these.
    You will also have to undergo an accuracy test where you will be required to get 80% of your hits in the highest scoring zone. There is no time limit on that.
    You need to be consistently able to hit an area the size of the cigarette box from anything out to ~25 metres.
    Get plenty of actual shooting practice on the static range.

[3] Kit

You will need a good belt, holster and magazine pouches. Try before you buy.
    If other members of your club shoot IPSC then get their views on their rigs.
    Try to get to a shop that stocks lots of this stuff so you can try a range of stuff and build the rig you want. I know that Hilltop (www.pcquad.com) have a huge range of IPSC gear. Call Pat and organise to go and have a nosey in the shop.

Any plans for any mods to your Glock or are you gonna change to the CZ?

I'm just going to add an extended magazine release. I still have the factory sights which I will probably change but it is not a problem for me right now.

If I do get the CZ I'll probably keep the Glock.

B'Man

well murph226, hope you like your sig. im really happy with mine. i havnt done any courses yet with it, though i cant wait to get using it properly. sorry for not getting back to you sooner,,,weather has been too good for in doors!! best of luck again with your new purchase. give us a bell when you get it, would be interested to see what you think of it..

Cheers Tac, will do!

Applied for the license today, the Firearms Officer was very helpful and he said he didn't foresee any problems.
    Can't wait to see how long it takes for a reply???

Hi lads, Still waiting :(

called into the local station today, the FAO was on leave.

I was talking to the Guard that was standing in for him.

He said that the application had been through his office and is now in Dublin:confused:

Is this the norm, I thought it didnt go any further than the Super?

He informed me that there shouldnt be a problem and I should have it in a couple of weeks:) fingers crossed

Anyone else out there after applying for a pistol cert lately???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Perhaps he means it's gone to the Phoenix Park to be printed?

Hi IWM, sorry but its the first cert that I applied for and I'm new to this, is that where they go to be printed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Yeah, computer firearms section is based there, so everything goes through there before you get it. However, if it's there, it's only a matter of (very little) time before you have it.

Cheers lad, thanks for the info! Thats good news, I'll keep ye posted