Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Martinez tonight

• 07-03-2008 10:45am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭

Just a reminder for the board!
    Martinez in his first bout since knocking out Dunne, Sky sports 2 at 9.30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭delrun

Hopefully Kiko puts a good show on tonight holds onto the title and then gives Bernard a rematch,Would love to see this fight happen again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Maybe in this bout we will get to see if Kiko really is good....
    Too little to judge him on from his fight
    with Dunne. I'm looking forward to it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,001 ✭✭✭Big Ears

Munroe by close UD , he seems to me to be the best European Super-Bantamweight since Monshipour .

I think he's classier than Martinez(from what I've seen of him) but Munroe won't be afraid to bang with Martinez at times either .

We're in for a great fight .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

can't wait to see this! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

looking forward to this, be nice to see if martinez is as good as dunne made him look.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,621 ✭✭✭yomchi

1 round to go... Martinez is a bum;

you heard it here first lads, i'd say Dunne is kicking himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 790 ✭✭✭alanceltic

dunne kickin himself????? are u 4 real, id say hes bleedin chuffed, confirms what he suspected that martinez got lucky....roll on Munroe-Dunne......

No surprise to me that munroe won here, i knew martinez was sh*te and said as much months ago, I had munroe winning this at 9.3 on betfair, comeeee on

Yes Dunne is kicking himself, he fought the wrong fight. He could easily have out boxed Martinez if he had a good game plan and not decided to go toe to toe with martinez, Dunne made a mistake.. so I'm sure he's kicking himself. Why wouldn't he? he lost his title to a guy that can't box.

and Martinez didn't get lucky with Dunne, he knocked him down 3 times and then banjo'd him to an 86 second stoppage. He didn't get lucky, Dunne handed it to him.

U have me all wrong lads, when I said Martinez got lucky......wot i meant was he caught dunne cold and to be fair to him he took his chance with both hands and didnt have to be asked twice and finished the job BUT the munroe fight was another Boxer V Brawler and if Dunne wasnt tagged he would have done a similar job to what Munroe did, its unfair to say dunne fought the wrong fight when he was tagged with the first/decond punch thrown and yes he was lured into a toe2toe which was his ultimate undoing, has he learned from it,,,,,sure hope so.

Roll on munroe-dunne, and munroe is MADE for dunne, it has pickering V dunne written all over it and the fact that munroe doesnt bang means dunne can dictate the tactics of the fight and impose his style on munroe without any real concerns, the belt is coming back to dublin boys:):)

He wasn't tagged, he stood toe to toe and traded heavy shots, the type he couldn't handle. Wrong game plan, wrong fight, wrong ending - looking at Munroe tonight its obvious martinez could be easliy out boxed by someone who is far from world class. Dunne is a better mover than Munroe - therefore i'm sure he's sick he threw it away.

Not to take anything away from Munroe, he was superfit throughout and boxed well, wasn't intimidated. I don't think he'll stay long in that title.
    Looking at the level at EBU Wayne McCullough would silly not to contemplate having a go at it. He would have turned Martinez upside down.
    Thats for another night though ;)

Dunne was tagged with the first punch martinez threw, was counted (he didnt take the full count) THEN he tried to trade when he shud have seen the round out, but he was deffo tagged b4 he started to trade toe2toe.

Nobody in their right mind would want to see McCullough near a ring again, disaster waiting to happen IMO, and i mean medically of course.

Dunne easily beats munroe if u ask me, and martinez for that matter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

Ah , good to see a bit of support for dunne here again.
    Couldnt help but notice the amount of slaters that came out after Kiko beat him....
    personally I dont think tonight made any difference to the way i see B.Dunne.
    He's still a pretty good boxer with a weak build and weak chin.
    Monroe looked like he was BIG tonight, i'd say he would be much better built and stronger if standing along-side Dunne.

awh , I get a 10-1 prediction right and no one offers praise :(

Seriously though I had a feeling this would happen , although I expected Munroe to exchange a little more early on .

Martinez looks like he struggles badly at the weight , his stamina was very poor , his workrate was atrocious , his in-ability to put combinations together was very bad for a European champion . He can't fight on the back foot , and he can be slow and plodding at times , stalking without really doing anything . He was also outmuscled by Munroe tonight , but I thought that would happen despite Kiko's build because Munroe is a very big(and built) Super-Bantamweight and has always looked strong .

Those are Martinez's weakness' , his strenght are his hand speed is okay(although not great) and I am now more than convinced about his power . To me he looks possibly the hardest hitter out there in terms of Super-Bantamweights , as he seemed to trouble(although not hurt) Munroe early on with blows that didn't have anything near his full whack behind him and Munroe has a good chin . The problem Martinez has is he won't be able to use that power against top European or World Class fighters as they will be too slick for him .

I have a feeling Martinez will move up to Featherweight very soon , and although that may help solve his stamina and low workrate problem(he probably only has a low workrate because of his stamina) , I feel he will really struggle against the bigger men .

Dunne is capable of getting revenge on Martinez but equally capable of getting caught(and then finished) again . With Martinez you either have to fight him all the way in or all the way out , it's standing in that middle-ground that will get you caught against him . Unfortunately it's that middle-ground where Dunne loves to fight and although he can fight rangier he isn't effective at all , when all the way in . The best way to beat Martinez(imo) is to be all the way in , back him up and bully him onto the ropes where he is very ineffective and can't get leverage into his shots........but Dunne can't fight like that . He'd have to beat him by getting in quickly , landing a shot or two and getting back out .

Munroe v Dunne would also be interesting , not really sure how that would go .

Good analysis big ears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭sligobhoy67

Big Ears wrote: »

Seriously though I had a feeling this would happen , although I expected Munroe to exchange a little more early on .

Martinez looks like he struggles badly at the weight , his stamina was very poor , his workrate was atrocious , his in-ability to put combinations together was very bad for a European champion . He can't fight on the back foot , and he can be slow and plodding at times , stalking without really doing anything . He was also outmuscled by Munroe tonight , but I thought that would happen despite Kiko's build because Munroe is a very big(and built) Super-Bantamweight and has always looked strong .

Those are Martinez's weakness' , his strenght are his hand speed is okay(although not great) and I am now more than convinced about his power . To me he looks possibly the hardest hitter out there in terms of Super-Bantamweights , as he seemed to trouble(although not hurt) Munroe early on with blows that didn't have anything near his full whack behind him and Munroe has a good chin . The problem Martinez has is he won't be able to use that power against top European or World Class fighters as they will be too slick for him .

I have a feeling Martinez will move up to Featherweight very soon , and although that may help solve his stamina and low workrate problem(he probably only has a low workrate because of his stamina) , I feel he will really struggle against the bigger men .

Dunne is capable of getting revenge on Martinez but equally capable of getting caught(and then finished) again . With Martinez you either have to fight him all the way in or all the way out , it's standing in that middle-ground that will get you caught against him . Unfortunately it's that middle-ground where Dunne loves to fight and although he can fight rangier he isn't effective at all , when all the way in . The best way to beat Martinez(imo) is to be all the way in , back him up and bully him onto the ropes where he is very ineffective and can't get leverage into his shots........but Dunne can't fight like that . He'd have to beat him by getting in quickly , landing a shot or two and getting back out .

Munroe v Dunne would also be interesting , not really sure how that would go .

Would you chill out ya impatient wee biatch :D I came on here to say good call to you but find out yer whingin about not gettin yer props!!!

Good call Big Ears. After seeing the fight last night I just kept thinking to myself - hadnt Dunne done any homework on Kiko. Kiko has no Plan B and if he does he is too lazy to implement it. Dunne could have and probably would have won his fight against Kiko if he fought Murnoes fight.

Dunne and Munroe would be an interesting fight - for a strong man Munroe surprisingly doesnt appear to carry much power - possibly even less than Dunne. I think it would be a good 12 round battle between the two.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

Munroe slaps like Joe Calzaghe,.... the judges scorecards had it very close.
    they obviously didnt like the tip-tap pattering that much.
    But Kiko has no jab .
    and that means ZERO in block capitals . Kiko showed he is dependant on one style alone , which is getting that one big shot to land.
    He did land it , a good few times , and i was surprised the binman didnt even wobble a bit.
    That fight was all about keeping the boxing range correct ,...as cowzerp pointed out in the topic on boxing stance.

Big ears ,... well done on the 5/1 shot .... hope you had a yuel brenner (10'er) on it down in betfred's.

Here cowzerp ..... why isnt there a comp poll double for the KMitchell CJohanson fight too ? I know its a bit o' hassle to tot up all the results etc.

Carl J looks good @ 7/2 ,.. might stick a bit o last night's winnings on him to win on points.

Cant believe you are stealing MY THUNDER ;) at least give me some credit man,,,, i gave u a heads up on what martinez was all about a few months ago, the only difference was I put my euros behind it and had munroe at 9's on betfair yippee. What i was surprised about was how ineffective martinez really was, his workrate was astonishingly bad and i dont put that down to stamina, he just didnt know what to do....brain dead in fact. Not to discredit munroe in any way but martinez made him look better than he actually is, if he had any sort of technique with his build he would be a serious serious contender but he doesnt!!!!! he grew in confidence as the fight went on but didnt manage to do anything special. Dunne beats munroe every day of the week, i wonder if he takes dunne next or goes for a handier fight against pickering. I notice the EBU have bouita as the mandatory, how the f88k did he squeeze in there?????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

I missed the fight, does anyone have a video?

alanceltic wrote: »

Cant believe you are stealing MY THUNDER ;) at least give me some credit man,,,, i gave u a heads up on what martinez was all about a few months ago I notice the EBU have bouita as the mandatory, how the f88k did he squeeze in there?????

Quiet , your ruining the illusion . Munroe is better than you give him credit for , he was more cautious than usual last night for obvious reasons .

Bouaita won the EU title and made some defences of it , that's why he's there .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Munroes defence looked very solid last night and he constantly kept Kiko on the end of his jab.

Not sure Dunne could do that.

Bottom line, Kiko's not much of a boxer but in a 12 round fight I would expect him to land at least one decent shot on Dunne and personally I really dont think Dunne could take it.

seen the Bouaita-Martinez fight and he is sh*te, there are 5 or 6 others who are worthy of the mandatory slot ahead of him!!!

As for munroe keeping kiko on the end of his jab all night, that was a flap not a jab and obviously the judges werent that impressed with it as the score was a lot tighter than it should have been.

I wonder how long until the binman gets fed up with the day job, it just doesnt seem right when u win a european title and then turn in for work on a bin lorry at 6am on a monday morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

i was thinking the scores were closer than they should have been, but as a few of ye have said, probably due to munroes technique while fighting a champion.

So if there is already a mandatory, and if he decides to make a voluntary defence in the mean time, what situation does this leave dunne in should he win in April:

would he be willing to fight kiko if there is no belt? plus he's been beaten now so in a way its far riskier with a less reward. be nice to see him evening the score though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

alanceltic wrote: »
    seen the Bouaita-Martinez fight and he is sh*te, there are 5 or 6 others who are worthy of the mandatory slot ahead of him!!!

As for munroe keeping kiko on the end of his jab all night, that was a flap not a jab and obviously the judges werent that impressed with it as the score was a lot tighter than it should have been.

I wonder how long until the binman gets fed up with the day job, it just doesnt seem right when u win a european title and then turn in for work on a bin lorry at 6am on a monday morning.

That it was but it did the job of keeping Martinez at bay and frustrating him even if it wasnt scoring with the judges.

I must say though I was actually amazed at how weak Munroes punches were. There were times when they were infighting and it looked like Munroe was taking the piss, it looked like a little girl slapping someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,358 ✭✭✭✭walshb

I didn't see the fight but heard it was pretty lame?

walshb wrote: »
    I didn't see the fight but heard it was pretty lame?

For 7 rounds Munroe was very cautious due to Martinez's power and stuck to a game plan . When he felt Martinez weakening the fight got a good bit better as Munroe came on stronger(but still refused to properly exchange) from the 8th .

Munroe hits a lot harder than it looked last Friday night , he was just throwing those sort of punches as he was afraid of being countered with big shots .