Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gardai - out of the blue

• 07-03-2008 3:12am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭

have you ever run into a gard off the street that youve had to deal with 'professionaly'?

Ive just gone and had a surreal moment when i saw your lad boppin away on the dance floor.... it was ..... eh.... surreal. Did I say that already? ****.

Go on tell us your mad stories.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

OMG...
    They have personal lives :eek

huh? have you hired a garda as a prossie?

Yours,
    Very confused,
    Wicklow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Yeah, a friend of mine that is in the Gardai is the DJ the odd weekend at the local dishco. He is a great laugh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Overheal wrote: »
    have you ever run into a gard off the street that youve had to deal with 'professionaly'?

Ive just gone and had a surreal moment when i saw your lad boppin away on the dance floor.... it was ..... eh.... surreal. Did I say that already? ****.

Go on tell us your mad stories.

I bet he flashed his badge and got free stuff too. The bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

never thought about that... nah when i had to speak with him he was dead sound but it was just... weird.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,658 ✭✭✭✭Peyton Manning

I'll have 4 pints please......err....as evidence...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,201 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Off-duty Guard: Have another one.

Me: No, I'm driving.

ODG: Go on, it's no problem, I guarantee there won't be a checkpoint on the way home. :eek:
    Me: Go on, then!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

So what? I have no mad stories about gards on the lock. One guy i went to school with is a cop now and the town drunk aswell. One other friend is also a cop and he is sound and doesn't drink.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I'm not surprised tbh, a lot of the 'dancing' you'll see here is a crime. /taxi for 1

Did you have to deal with him 'professionaly' OP? If so what about?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,700 ✭✭✭brayblue24

Xavi6 wrote: »
    I bet he flashed his badge and got free stuff too. The bastard.

How long more are you going to be on this rant?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

brayblue24 wrote: »

I know it's sometimes hard to see in the internet if someone is messing or not, but come on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Shelli

"Country" cousins of mine who I visit quite often drink in a certain pub which will remain nameless.....up to a few years ago when this particular Garda retired he would have a few pints with them in the local (the only pub for miles around), about 15 mins before closing every night he would get up and leave and drive home, this was the signal that you had about 45mins to get out and get your cars home, he'd then arrive back in uniform and check the pub.......although this is going back a good few years come to think of it, things weren't nearly as strict regarding drink driving.

We found our first garda :) The plan is working!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

I know one who used to play in a friends band. Jaysus, he was a big p!sshead! :p

Sherifu wrote: »
    We found our first garda :) The plan is working!

Nah, sorry to disappoint but this is what I meant..

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055197141&highlight=cowboy+gardai

Ah I see, well I still think he was just joking in this thread. If you have problems with that thread reply to it or report posts you think are out of order. We're not mind readers, it seemed like you were being a bit grumpy here without seeing the other thread.

And that thread is from 3 months ago...

My point exactly...

Anyway I'm not grumpy about it and TBH I don't wish to stray off topic so apologies to all if I have! Please continue...

My point exactly...

Anyway I'm not grumpy about it and TBH I don't wish to stray off topic so apologies to all if I have! Please continue...
    Much?

I think you're reading too much into it, anyway. Back on topic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

I used to work in a club and the gardai would get in for free.
    So would some of the security guys from a nearby pub

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

Ruu wrote: »
    Yeah, a friend of mine that is in the Gardai is the DJ the odd weekend at the local dishco. He is a great laugh.
    I know a cop who got busted for doing that, their not supposed to have other jobs aparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭kittenkiller

Archimedes wrote: »
    I'll have 4 pints please......err....as evidence...
    LOL!
    Gonna try that later!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Ah I see, well I still think he was just joking in this thread. If you have problems with that thread reply to it or report posts you think are out of order. We're not mind readers, it seemed like you were being a bit grumpy here without seeing the other thread.

I would just like to confirm that my post was in fact in jest. Apologies to any gardai who were insulted.

I'm not surprised tbh, a lot of the 'dancing' you'll see here is a crime. /taxi for 1

Did you have to deal with him 'professionaly' OP? If so what about?

someone cried wolf on me but your man still had to come out and deal with it. So he was dead sound about it anyway but its just a bitch to have that done to you. And embarrassing.

Any guard i've met has been grand. Not a nice thing to have done to you though.

You've never met an immigration officer then. I'm convinced they're all racist pricks. The boys in blue out on the street however: I totally agree, theyve all been dead on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,142 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Regularly meet one in my local

But I did go to school with them and the meetings are fairly pre-arranged, so I doubt that counts...

But yes, police *are* allowed private lives, shocking as it may seem!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭longshanks

i knew a couple of fellas a few years back who were renting a house from a garda. one of them was fitting a car stereo one time when the gard called around for the rent. after finding out how much he paid for the stereo the garda started laughing. 'you should've fcuking said it to me first, we always have a few lying around the station. i could've giving it to you for cutting the grass or something'
    apparently the cops would raid fellas they knew would have a few items any time they were looking those particular items. the fellas i knew ended up getting a couple of televisions and discman (it was a while ago) and various things.
    the mad part of it was the garda chap told them that some times, if one of them was having a party or something, they'd raid a couple of fellas who they knew would have a bit of smoke or whatever, and take that too. who is going to complain if their court date, for getting nabbed with a bag of weed, never materialises??

longshanks wrote: »
    i knew a couple of fellas a few years back who were renting a house from a garda. one of them was fitting a car stereo one time when the gard called around for the rent. after finding out how much he paid for the stereo the garda started laughing. 'you should've fcuking said it to me first, we always have a few lying around the station. i could've giving it to you for cutting the grass or something'
    apparently the cops would raid fellas they knew would have a few items any time they were looking those particular items. the fellas i knew ended up getting a couple of televisions and discman (it was a while ago) and various things.
    the mad part of it was the garda chap told them that some times, if one of them was having a party or something, they'd raid a couple of fellas who they knew would have a bit of smoke or whatever, and take that too. who is going to complain if their court date, for getting nabbed with a bag of weed, never materialises??

o_0

crooked cops make me sick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,084 ✭✭✭eroo

o_0

crooked cops make me sick.

X2 mate

It's a shame too,because degenerates like that give the vast majority good people a bad name!

How many years ago was this Longshanks?I just find it hard to believe a crooked cop would let young fellas know what he is doing!