Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Never text an ex'

• 06-03-2008 5:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Yeah i did it,

But it was not one of those boozy how are you, i miss you type crap. I was browsing around a certain social networking site and came across her page the profile pic had her doing one of those skydives and i thought woh she did it fair balls to her. So i dropped her a text to say well done and that id never do it it must have been amazing. She didnt text back so i was like cool whatever. Now i find out that she is telling everyone im stalking her and stalking her site and wont leave her alone. She says even though we broke up a year and a half ago im not over her and she even made a complaint to the site.
    Lesson learned she crazy and im staying the hell away. Anyone any similar situations? Glad i jumped ship on that one. Loon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

I passed an ex in Dunnes once and said hello and the next thing I got a call from the Guards saying I was stalking her!

I ate the guard alive and told her that's it's Irelan, people are going to pass each other in the street.

Loopers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 242 ✭✭Raspberry

Thankfully there are very few words with "x" in them. I'd imagine excluding 'x' from your text messages would get a bit tedious after a while though. But over all, you're probably right. It will help you cut down on the number of characters in your text message and in some situations it may even save you from sending two text messages to get your message across.

I also recommend excluding "z" from your text messages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,581 ✭✭✭dodgyme

girl in college years back, noted for same behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

Raspberry wrote: »
    Thankfully there are very few words with "x" in them. I'd imagine excluding 'x' from your text messages would get a bit tedious after a while though. But over all, you're probably right. It will help you cut down on the number of characters in your text message and in some situations it may even save you from sending two text messages to get your message across.

I also recommend excluding "z" from your text messages.

Fail.

He spelt it ex.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,692 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Bumped into an ex on day on the train, we had ended badly and hadnt spoken in a year. We sat facing each other without speaking for a good 30 mins. So i got off the train and txt "you could have said hello :)" The reply was like an ice age! Havent spoken to her since despite her sending a few txts my way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Thank you for your interesting, yet thoughtful insight into my grasp of the english language. Much appreciated.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 448 ✭✭ve

I wouldn't worry about it man. Based on the information you presented us with here, I think she went OTT. Yeah I can perhaps understand no reply via text, but from a single message on your behalf to infer stalking and a subsequent responsive action to that attempt, I don't think so.

It would take a lot to convince me that she's not using your message simply as a means to get something (attention, or other).

If you get a text from someone you don't want to communicate with, it's easy to ignore it. If it keeps happening, then perhaps you have a case to do something about it.

I suppose she might have taken the break up badly and still had alot of pent up anger in my direction. Live and you learn:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,191 ✭✭✭✭Latchy

I somtimes think looking and reading the posts that half of ireland is stalking the other half :D although not so funny if sombody is stalking you /texting you continually against your wish's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Cunny-Funt

We sat facing each other without speaking for a good 30 mins. So i got off the train and txt "you could have said hello :)"

Well you didn't say hello either. lol

The reply was like an ice age!

More info? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,487 ✭✭✭Mountjoy Mugger

Rule 1.

Delete his/her number.

Rule 2.

Delete his/her number...

Don't believe "we can still be friends" ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,139 ✭✭✭Wreck

You should post up her number so we can all text her and tell her you're not a stalker.

Wreck wrote: »
    You should post up her number so we can all text her and tell her you're not a stalker.
    :D Sure fire way to the garda station, but love it none the less, im leaving that girl well alone as said the "friends" thing just does'nt happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭unit88

Rule 1.

Delete his/her number.

Rule 2.

Delete his/her number...

almost trough broke up with my first girl friend two years ago were still friends to this day. broke up with my second a month ago worst thing i ever did was let her think we were still friends

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Rule 1.

Delete his/her number.

Rule 2.

Delete his/her number...

+1 I've got an unwritten rule of never speaking to or texting an ex. It has worked good so far, although I've gotten a few pissed off looks when I past them in the street or a bar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,368 ✭✭✭thelordofcheese

Wreck wrote: »

Aye, do that, but only if she's hot.... erm... I mean.......because ugly girls don't get stalked, right?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 950 ✭✭✭EamonnKeane

The reply was like an ice age!
    did it end on july 19th?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭cathald

List of things you should NEVER text:

Breaking bad news
    Breaking up!
    Anything in a fight
    Asking someone out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,312 ✭✭✭Kooli

Bumped into an ex on day on the train, we had ended badly and hadnt spoken in a year. We sat facing each other without speaking for a good 30 mins. So i got off the train and txt "you could have said hello :)" The reply was like an ice age! Havent spoken to her since despite her sending a few txts my way

Why was it up to her to say hello and not you? And then the passive-aggressive text afterwards? Pretty pathetic really.

I'm friends with a couple of mine, though we rarely meet up/talk

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,492 ✭✭✭Sir Oxman

I'm good friends with one and frequently meet up - so YMMV. Nothing is ever black and white.
    To The OP - she's obviously a nut going on what you have said.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

I don't need to text my ex. Bitch is always in my god damned house, she is friends with my sister. Hideous looking creature. Every time I see her that thought runs though my head "I've seen you naked... >_<!"

She was psychotic, too. So, OP, I can see where you're coming from. Women be just crazy hos!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

Well OP if she thought you were a stalker when all you did was text her, starting a thread on an internet site about her is really gonna help ;):D

PlayGirl wrote: »
    Well OP if she thought you were a stalker when all you did was text her, starting a thread on an internet site about her is really gonna help ;):D

Fair cop :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,400 ✭✭✭PlayGirl

mang87 wrote: »
    Fair cop :D

ha, am just surprised no one said it earlier.. you people are slacking :rolleyes:

no u

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Mister Fister

From here on she shall not be referrred to as your ex, but rather your Y

delete delete delete her number, that saves you the embarrassment of ringing her at 2:50am when your attempts to pull the fat chick have failed

will you stalkers ever stop?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

OP: If your ex got freaked out and claimed you've been stalking cause you commented on a picture of her that she put up on a publically viewable social networking site then you're lucky to be rid of her tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

OP one and a half years after breaking up you send her a text message? OK stalker is OTT but i wouldn't be surprised if she now reckons your a bit of a fruitcake :o.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

padi89 wrote: »
    OP one and a half years after breaking up you send her a text message? OK stalker is OTT but i wouldn't be surprised if she now reckons your a bit of a fruitcake :o.

Why? It was a nice thing to do. I haven't spoken to a friend of mine in nearly 4 years after a fight and I mailed her the other day to congratulate her on something. Doesn't mean I want to be friends, just means I have a heart!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭padi89

janeybabe wrote: »
    Why? It was a nice thing to do. I haven't spoken to a friend of mine in nearly 4 years after a fight and I mailed her the other day to congratulate her on something. Doesn't mean I want to be friends, just means I have a heart!
    Yes but that's coming from you the sender,you've thought about it and are prepared for a response.Out of the blue she gets a text from a guy she broke up with long time ago saying he saw her on the web.Now we don't know their circumstances of why they broke up or how she may even feel about the guy but i would presume from her reaction she can't stand him or could just be a bit of a bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

padi89 wrote: »
    Yes but that's coming from you the sender,you've thought about it and are prepared for a response.Out of the blue she gets a text from a guy she broke up with long time ago saying he saw her on the web.Now we don't know their circumstances of why they broke up or how she may even feel about the guy but i would presume from her reaction she can't stand him or could just be a bit of a bitch.

I suppose if she knew he texted based on seeing her on bebo after so long or whatever it was she might get the wrong idea.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

I remember i got an out of the blue text from an ex on valentines day. She asked for my email. Then started emailing me before my birthday, which is a week after valentines day. I thought it was a bit strange as she was a complete cow to me after we broke up (I was a bit of bastard to her... even before break up :p). I asked her what she was up to cause it seemed like she was trying to do some annoying moody mind games girls love. Maybe trying to piss me off or make me a sad panda.

She got all pissed off and told me i was a weirdo. That i was looking into things too much. I told her to f*ck off and blocked her emails. I asked the lads what they thought of her out of the blue texts and emails, they found it a bit strange as well.

Point of story: When you break up, delete his/her number and change your own :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,397 ✭✭✭✭azezil

Or maybe she was just horny..? (I used to get those from an ex and unfortunately sent one once ugh :o)

Depending on the nature of the break up I may or may not delete their number, if I'd felt something for the person I will delete their number from my main phone, knowing full well I have a backup just in case :p, but if its not in the phone in my pocket, I know I'm not going to send a drunken txt and look pathetic in the process ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Solarball10

Why didn't YOU say hello? ;)

PlayGirl wrote: »

I suppose i was venting at the cheek of her, i was just being friendly and i have texted her over the course of the year irregularly and she has done the same just friendly, both not wanting the "oh i miss you so much type of sh*te".
    Thats why i was pissed at her slander, im happy now as her number is gone. now i just have to de-attach the number from my mind. Thats gonna be a challenge:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

azezil wrote: »
    Or maybe she was just horny..?

I doubt it tbh.

Sex life went out of the relationship before the end and she views on sex changed like the weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

listermint wrote: »
    I suppose i was venting at the cheek of her, i was just being friendly and i have texted her over the course of the year irregularly and she has done the same just friendly, both not wanting the "oh i miss you so much type of sh*te".
    Thats why i was pissed at her slander, im happy now as her number is gone. now i just have to de-attach the number from my mind. Thats gonna be a challenge:D
    Forgetting the number is the tough part.
    I'm currently trying to do that after last night.

e-mails blocked and all, but the number is still in my memory.
    Sometimes having the ability to remember numbers sucks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

OP you should stop stalking your ex. I think you should talk about it at the PI forum. Good luck.