Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I'm getting circumcised!

• 06-03-2008 8:46am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I have for as long as ive known not been able to retract my foreskin over the head of my penis,now in my early 20s ive decided to do something about it.After searching long and hard on the net and feeling that i didnt really want circumcision(last resort in my eyes) i was hoping that i would get a treatment of topical steroid cream to effectively stretch the skin,and everything would be OK.
    After visiting my doctor,he told me i needed to get circumcised,he didnt want to hear about steroid creams or anything just kind of brushed it off.Referrred me to a consultant urologist.
    Urologist tells me i need a circumcision,again i discuss with him the steroid cream but again he says thay would only use it on babies and very young people.
    I have heard of it being used effectively on people my age but he doesnt seem to be convinced.
    I was really hoping i wouldnt have to get circumcised as im unsure how it will affect me.To be blunt i like the skin there and would like to keep it but this doesnt seem to be an option.
    So:-Should i request the steroid cream?Give it a go,see how it works?
    -Is there many people here circumcised,how does it affect
    you,sex,masturbation,sensitivity etc.

Thanks in advance
    L

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,468 ✭✭✭ojewriej

Unreggied wrote: »
    I have for as long as ive known not been able to retract my foreskin over the head of my penis,now in my early 20s ive decided to do something about it.After searching long and hard on the net and feeling that i didnt really want circumcision(last resort in my eyes) i was hoping that i would get a treatment of topical steroid cream to effectively stretch the skin,and everything would be OK.
    After visiting my doctor,he told me i needed to get circumcised,he didnt want to hear about steroid creams or anything just kind of brushed it off.Referrred me to a consultant urologist.
    Urologist tells me i need a circumcision,again i discuss with him the steroid cream but again he says thay would only use it on babies and very young people.
    I have heard of it being used effectively on people my age but he doesnt seem to be convinced.
    I was really hoping i wouldnt have to get circumcised as im unsure how it will affect me.To be blunt i like the skin there and would like to keep it but this doesnt seem to be an option.
    -Is there many people here circumcised,how does it affect
    you,sex,masturbation,sensitivity etc.

Thanks in advance
    L

I am. Didn't even know I was for ages, parents did it to me when I was a baby, for ages thought everything was normal.

Anyway, circumsision is good, i'd probably get circumsized if I wasn't already. Sexwise - you will be able to last longer. It's a fact. You see, the penis which is not protected by skin becomes less sensitive. It doesn't lessen your pleasure in any way mind you. Also, you have much lesser chance of contracting STDs - that's because harmfull stuff doesn't get caught in your foreskin. There are actually plans for mass circumsision programs in Africa, to stop spreading of AIDS> If i remember correctly, circumsized people have about 60% less chance of contracting STDs.

And apart from sex and hygienic reasons, can't think of any way it affects me.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 42,362 Mod ✭✭✭✭Beruthiel

Unreggied wrote: »

We cannot answer that question.
    You're asking for medical advice which is a question best left to your doctor. This is not a medical forum and it is against the charter to ask such a question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭microgirl

My ex had the same problem as you - phimosis - and ended up getting circumcised and I've never heard any complaints from him. Now, we'd broken up by then (it was only me who finally pointed out to him that his condition was not normal and he really needed to getit looked at) so I've no personal experience of how it affected him, but we're good friends, and we do talk about such things, and I believe he'd be honest with me. Certainly his sex life has massively increased ;)

He was really freaked out by the idea initially (he's very squeamish) but as I said, all is good now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Kaldorn

hello,
    I was 24 when i got it done..skin wouldnt go over my purple headed warrior no matter how far i stretched..sex was grand with jonnys but really sore otherwise.. i never suffered from dick cheese untill i started to have regular sex in my early twenties and man the stink of it was rotten..i actually thought i had an sti but it was just cheesy...soo anyway when i got back from oz and thailand...lots of sex..i went for the mandatory sti tests which came back clear..i was reffered to a urologist cause i was thinking of getting it done..he said i defo needed it..got the op done..oooouch sensitive wear lots of tissue in y fronts for a week...like when you get a burn and your skin is major sensitive underneath ..anyway..no sex for 6 weeks for me..which was grand..so a month later i get this girl back to the gaff and i was drunk and horny and i was like a fook it...and it was grand thank god in fact it was great and now my lad looks bigger than it did in the first place..sooo i would recomend it..its so clean..sex is great..and its bigger..trim the pubs around the base of the shaft and youll look like a porn star FACT..GO get it done mate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 279 ✭✭john_aero

i am, had doen since was born. it will look bit rougher than before and you can get slight bumps that may worry you at the start but its just the flesh and not warts or anything else, know few lads in college who had them and taught they were STD.

as far as sex i can compare foreskin to none as never had one. mine is great and from past experience the females prefer it as it is cleaner

ya i agree it is heck of a lot cleancer for women, specialy if you are with a partner on pill or doing oral. as for the cheese, i know few women who said they dont perform oral on lads who have foreskin as they think its disgusting.

agree also that trim the area and it looks and feels way better.

one warning, it is a lot more sensitive now with out foreskin so orgasm can be more intense and sometimes quicker and if your prtner har stubble below it can burn a lil bit but over all its a good idea.

any way most place such as uk and america reccomend it be done at birth anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

I had it done as an adult as my foreskin was having an allergic reaction to various types of condoms and spermicides. The operation took a few hours and I was in for two days. No pain really, just a little discomfort. The stitches dissolve themselves after about three weeks or so. You can't really have sex for a while as it feels extremely uncomfortable but otherwise you'll forget quite quickly it was ever there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 757 ✭✭✭milod

I had it done last year and for the same reasons OP. Put up with it for years, tried the steroid creams too - they only work temporarily and then have a sort of snap back effect if you subsequently hurt the skin (the cream thins the skin and makes it more susceptible to scarring which tightens things even more)

My advice, gather up the courage, and just get it done - It's improved things dramatically for me. I had it done under local anaesthetic (Grrr... manly etc) and recommend that approach - just don't look!!

By the way, there's more than one type of circumcision! I had a conservative cut, in that they removed the least amount of skin necessary. This means that while the beast (:rolleyes:) lies in repose, the skin still almost covers the head which does help to retain the sensitivity many worry about...

i will say i i have always been circumsized, as for sensitive times, you cant get much more sensitive than circum. you feel everything and i will realy heighten the pleaseure

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

ojewriej wrote: »
    I am. Didn't even know I was for ages, parents did it to me when I was a baby, for ages thought everything was normal.

Anyway, circumsision is good, i'd probably get circumsized if I wasn't already. Sexwise - you will be able to last longer. It's a fact. You see, the penis which is not protected by skin becomes less sensitive. It doesn't lessen your pleasure in any way mind you. Also, you have much lesser chance of contracting STDs - that's because harmfull stuff doesn't get caught in your foreskin. There are actually plans for mass circumsision programs in Africa, to stop spreading of AIDS> If i remember correctly, circumsized people have about 60% less chance of contracting STDs.

And apart from sex and hygienic reasons, can't think of any way it affects me.

ditto. do i even want to know what dick cheese is? gross. Go wash yourselves >_>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,914 ✭✭✭✭tbh

Overheal wrote: »
    ditto. do i even want to know what dick cheese is? gross. Go wash yourselves >_>

It's just one of those things. You can't wash properly because the foreskin can't be retracted. It makes you very self-concious and comments like that don't really help, although I realise you were saying it in a flippant manner - it reinforces the image that people who have this condition have something to be ashamed of. It's just something that needs to be sorted out, and thankfully, it can be.

Op, I got my op done about two years ago. I had tried creams on prescription before that, but they had no effect. Since I've got the op done, I've not given it a second thought. I've never wished that I didn't have it done, not for a second.

john_aero wrote: »
    i will say i i have always been circumsized, as for sensitive times, you cant get much more sensitive than circum. you feel everything and i will realy heighten the pleaseure

How would you know if the pleasure is heightened if you've never experienced sex without circumcision?

Thanks guys and girls,i think ill skip the steroidal cream request and go for it,ye really gave me confidence in it now,just hearing a few stories from ye really helped.Thanks.