Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Transport 21 - Second Annual Progress Report to the Government - 2007

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭mysterious

Oh that's great we will now get to here all the old stuff and stuff they are for ever talking about in new shining files.. Monthly just great stuff. GREAT:D

I think I know this all off by heart at this stage.

Anywho when are they starting the actual projects such as
    Castletown Nenagh 2008, when
    Two remaining sections of N9
    And the Lucan line which says only finished in 2013

Btw The Government have tirelessly, repeatedely stated that they finished the first MIU in time and in budget. Wahey to them!

This road started way back in the 90s.
    Some sections such as the Dunleer and Balbriggan motorways already completed back then.

It was financed heavily by EU funding.

I'm just saying like...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭jkgvfg

By Treacy Hogan Environment Correspondent
    Thursday March 06 2008

NOT one of the flagship public transport projects supposed to be finished this year under the Government's Transport 21 plan will be completed on time.

The huge programme, costing taxpayers a total of €34bn over its lifetime, will instead be delayed for years -- one project, the Luas Dublin city centre link-up due to be up and running within months, has not even started.

The Metro is also among the 13 major public transport projects which have been delayed, it was revealed yesterday.

The plan, which includes other minor schemes, was launched with much fanfare by Taoiseach Bertie Ahern two years ago.

The projects given an official completion date of 2008 which will not now be met are the joining up of the Tallaght and Sandyford Luas Lines in Dublin city centre; the Luas extensions from Connolly station to the docklands and from Tallaght to Citywest; the Cork commuter rail service to Midleton and the Western Rail Corridor from Ennis to Athenry.

Work has not even started on the Luas link-up in Dublin city centre. These projects have now been given revised completion dates, it was revealed yesterday in the Transport 21 Update report published by Transport Minister Noel Dempsey. He said that:

> No new date has been given for the Dublin city centre Luas join-up.

> The Luas extension to the docklands is delayed from 2008 until 2009.

> The Luas to Citywest is delayed until from 2008 to 2010.

> The Midleton rail line is delayed from 2008 until 2009.

> The Ennis to Athenry line has no finish date.

Completion

Other major projects which have had their completion dates put back, some by several years, include:

> The Metro from the city centre to Dublin Airport ( put back from the stated completion date of 2012 to 2013).

> Phase one of the Navan rail line (back from 2009 to 2010).

> M3 motorway (back from 2009 to 2010).

> Dublin city centre rail resignalling (back from 2009 to 2011).

> Limerick Southern Ring Road (back from 2009 to 2010).

The report also reveals that last year €43.2m was transferred out of the public transport and regional airports cash allocations to the roads budget.

This was due to some land acquisition not proceeding at the anticipated rate, non-completion of agreed works at Derry Airport and slower than anticipated progress on regional airports. The report says this money will be put back into public transport later in the lifetime of the project.

Mr Dempsey, who revealed he spends two hours stuck in traffic every morning getting from his home in Trim, Co Meath, to the city centre, said he was not concerned about the slippage on the project timelines.

Although he said the completion dates handed out at the launch of Transport 21 were "indicative", the document clearly states these are "completion dates for selected major projects".

He said what concerned him was getting all of the projects in Transport 21 delivered by 2015, when the programme is due to wind up.

He said that 600km of the planned 738km of major inter-urban routes were now either open to traffic or under construction. They would all be completed by 2010.

Asked about concerns raised by several motorists who ended up going down the wrong side of the road after being confused by signage at roundabouts and major junctions, the minister said he did not accept there was inadequate signage on the main national roads.

However, he admitted that there were problems with signage on local county and regional roads.

"When I drive around my own county [Meath] I wouldn't know where I was going if I didn't know the roads," he said.

Mr Dempsey said that all of the major road projects were being delivered on time and within budget and there had been an 82pc increase on public transport projects last year.

- Treacy Hogan Environment Correspondent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,858 ✭✭✭paulm17781

Good ol' Dempsey. If he doesn't acknowledge a problem, then there is no problem. Just look at how successfully he did nothing with our broadband issues.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

I will partially disagree on this ->

[quote

> Limerick Southern Ring Road (back from 2009 to 2010). [/quote]

Never was it 2009, not since Phase II (the tunnel) started. Its ALWAYS been 2010. Now maybe 5 or 6 years ago it was supposed to be 2009, I dont know.

Lets not mention that the interurbans though were all supposed to be done in 2006.

The 2 N9 schemes that havent started should start around Easter. No idea on the remaining N7 though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭Chris_533976

Just noticed that that report is a lie.

[quoteWork also commenced on the Kildare rail upgrade
    project, the Cork-Midleton railway line[/quote]

No it didnt. Cork - Midleton did NOT start in 2007, it started in Feb 2008.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

Just noticed that that report is a lie.
    Work also commenced on the Kildare rail upgrade
    project, the Cork-Midleton railway line

No it didnt. Cork - Midleton did NOT start in 2007, it started in Feb 2008.

While the main works did not start until February 2008, there was actually some enabling work done in late 2007 including some cabling work at Glounthaune.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 777 ✭✭✭dRNk SAnTA

What is the story with the DTA? How long before they take over? Looking at all these T21 projects still in planning - surely this is the time we most need the DTA?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,316 ✭✭✭KC61

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »
    What is the story with the DTA? How long before they take over? Looking at all these T21 projects still in planning - surely this is the time we most need the DTA?

The Bill is now promised for immediately after Easter, but I am not holding my breath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

dRNk SAnTA wrote: »

:D:D:Dcough:D:Dchoke:D:Dspit:D:D:D:Ddeep breath:D:D:D:Dphew!

At this stage I doubt a DTA will improve much in the short to medium term as all the damage in terms of poor planning and development of public transport has been done. In all fairness, it should have been set up before we even mentioned T21. Its first role should've been to evaluate all projects in terms of benefit, priority and actual need. Then draft a grand plan for Dublin, based on definitive research and study. Dempseys current call to arms and the DTO's beyond 2015/T21 research really should've been done before a single mound of earth was moved anywhere. Cart before horse and all that. It's so comedic, its nearly serious. Billions on projects and then ask what people think is the solution. You can't blame me for laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

The 2 N9 schemes that havent started should start around Easter.

The more southern of the two (south Carlow to Knocktopher) appears to have begun in the past week or two. Big stretches of field just south of Danesfort on the N10 in KK have been fenced off, huts have been erected and I've begun to see lots of 4x4s driven by lads in safety jackets.

Finally... this will put an end to a national road running through the extremely narrow streets of Thomastown - easily one of the most embarrassing sections of national road in the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

DWCommuter wrote: »

thats it - boast that you have a sex life...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭marmajam

DWCommuter wrote: »

At this stage I doubt a DTA will improve much in the short to medium term as all the damage in terms of poor planning and development of public transport has been done. In all fairness, it should have been set up before we even mentioned T21. Its first role should've been to evaluate all projects in terms of benefit, priority and actual need. Then draft a grand plan for Dublin, based on definitive research and study. Dempseys current call to arms and the DTO's beyond 2015/T21 research really should've been done before a single mound of earth was moved anywhere. Cart before horse and all that. It's so comedic, its nearly serious. Billions on projects and then ask what people think is the solution. You can't blame me for laughing.

According to you.
    Where WOULD we be, if we did'nt have the likes of you, after a few pints in the pub, to spot that the world is full of ludramauns...............?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,219 ✭✭✭Calina

marmajam/popebenny16

do me a favour and contribute meaningfully to the subject.

otherwise...

Calina wrote: »
    popebenny16

do me a favour and contribute meaningfully to the subject.

otherwise...

Well, I will for you, not that other Mod :D

As you can see from even the posts on this thread, T21 is a magician's trick. It isnt actually anything, there is no link. There is no cohesion. It is simple a rag tag collection of everything and anything which looks like it'll finish before 2015 (ah, why not go the whole hog and say 2100!!!) and lets lump it all together.

If it was a proper programme from the start it would have had a start, middle, finish and a budget. As it is, the constand massaging of the delivery dates and the lies spun out from it just show it to be a pure Toor McAdoo sideshow stright from the 50's. It is an impressive illusion though, an accomplished one. At one and the same time it is parish pump and national - a cunning trick and one which deserves kudos for being all it is, a trick.

As for the presence/absense of a DTA - the hopelessly virile DWCommuter has said it spot on. What he hasnt said, but I belive he'll agree with me, is that a DTA hasn't got a rats arse of happening because it removes the only currency that local polititians possess - the power to grant you a favour. Remove one bit of power from the GDA local authorities (of which there are too much of anyway)? Turkeys do not vote for Christmass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,610 ✭✭✭✭Victor

What he hasnt said, but I belive he'll agree with me, is that a DTA hasn't got a rats arse of happening because it removes the only currency that local polititians possess - the power to grant you a favour. Remove one bit of power from the GDA local authorities (of which there are too much of anyway)? Turkeys do not vote for Christmass.
    What if .... if the DTA had an (part) elected board? I think it would actually be a mistake to merge the DTA and RPA as it currently stands - too much money and power in one place and so much work that nothing will get the attention it deserves.

Victor wrote: »
    What if .... if the DTA had an (part) elected board? I think it would actually be a mistake to merge the DTA and RPA as it currently stands - too much money and power in one place and so much work that nothing will get the attention it deserves.

Well, not a bad idea at all. In the US quite a lot of local quango's, not to mention the public prosecutor, gets elected by popular vote.

This is not to overlook that Dublin needs a proper mayor, with real powers and directly elected.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,032 ✭✭✭DWCommuter

marmajam wrote: »
    According to you.
    Where WOULD we be, if we did'nt have the likes of you, after a few pints in the pub, to spot that the world is full of ludramauns...............?

You must be mixing me up with someone else. I actually do know what I'm talking about in relation to this matter and have been involved in some capacity with various proposed projects under T21. Furthermore I made a proposal to the DOT in relation to the DTA outlining the need for public transport user representation within its structure. I have studied fully the DTA debacle successive Governments have rolled out dating back to the early 1980s. I could go on but I won't. I don't post for the sake of it or indeed "after a few pints in the pub". Any opinion I offer is at least based on a working knowledge of current events, historic events and political processes. This is the second time Ive had to tell you this so please let it be the last. Save your less that welcoming comments for those who you know for a fact have never lifted a finger to promote decent public transport in this country.