Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Golf Day - Provisional Plan

• 04-03-2008 5:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭

Saturday 12th April, 2008 - St Margaret's Golf Club, Co Dublin

http://www.stmargaretsgolf.com/smg/

Between 16-20 players will work out at €50 each (no food included).

Tee-times would be between 11am and 11.45am.

My idea would be - €55 euro per head - this would allow me to buy a few prizes also. Nothing big, but something to play for. Perhaps small trophies and or / golf stuff.

I've not booked this yet, but would no doubt need to pay some form of deposit or perhaps even all of it up front. I don't want to get stung here so i'd appreciate if you only say you'll play if you can definitely play. If they require a large sum up front, it may be that i'll need to get the money off those playing before the event. Would players be happy with this?

I've not booked anything yet, but if this idea gets a positive response i'll look to get something sorted in the next day or two.

Grateful for everyone's thoughts on this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

I won't be able to attend this one myself but I really hope everyone that can make it, makes it as I think once the first one is done and over with, this will become a regular thing and the numbers will swell quite rapidly...

Best of Luck and let's hear plenty of tall tales of long drives and lipped-out eagle putts the Monday after the event!

Fair Play Graemer for getting the ball rolling. I would have chipped in myself but that may have gotten in the way of my 'lying around' time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Graeme,
    Fair play to ye for doing this. I took a quick look at the calender and notice that the Saturday in question is the Saturday of the Masters. Golf will be paramount that weekend and I can guarantee that I will be along. I would say that I probably will not be alone so that is two that you can certainly be assured of if not three!
    If you need a deposit let me know and I will organise it with you.

Matt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 134 ✭✭clg23

Sounds good,

St. Margaret's Golf and Country Club has already hosted three international tournaments. It consists of big thrilling holes, magnificent broad fairways, neat par threes and very true greens that all adds to make a superb golf club.

In addition to the brilliantly designed golf club, the club has a lot in the offering as far as indoor activities are concerned. A modern clubhouse features newly refurbished men's and lady's locker rooms, luxurious dining hall and pub facilities are equipped with two wide screens, on which players can watch pros play after their own round.

The pro-shop carries everything that a golfer needs. From a wide range of top brand clothing and rain gear, to balls, gloves and other accessories. In addition to that, supreme practice facilities at St. Margaret's assists players in warming up on two natural grass driving ranges, one with indoor mats available for rainy weather. Not to forget two 18 holes practice putting greens that helps in getting you in flow before you start your round. The restaurant and pub facilities help you in having a light mood after a relaxing round of golf.

I will more than likely be playing will let you know for sure in near future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,361 ✭✭✭f22

I hope the place is in better condition than the last time I was there. Never seen a so called quality course in such a bad state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭Adiaga 2

I played it for the first time a couple of weeks ago. Having read a few bad reports on here about it, I wasn't sure what to expect. Have to say I was pleasantly surprised. I really liked the course lay-out and it was in great condition for the time of year. I was on the lookout for grass-cuttings and spotted some on one hole I think but otherwise greens, fairways, tees, bunkers - all great. The rough was about 4-5inches and tough but that's how it should be. Well worth the €35 mid-week early bird green fee. Don't think I'll be able to make this boards event but reckon it's a great venue for all levels. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭MBC

April 12th doesnt ring any bells with me so DEFO stick me down Graeme. If ya need the €50 up front no probs just pm me.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Mister Sifter

Cheers for the responses so far lads. If people can try and give me a yay or nay by lunchtime monday, i'll get onto Margarets then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

Thanks for the good work-count me in. Like the others, if you need a deposit.PM me and I can sort it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Just comin back to this thread expecting it to have 30+ replies.
    Can't believe that some of the more mouthy people on here have not said that they will participate! All the talk of rules and golf knowledge by some other posters on here and none of them want to shape up with a few half strangers that have a common love for this game!
    Come on chaps. Lets get the rag out and get a few names onto this list so we can get this day off the ground........

Matt

I have to agree. Pretty poor response so far. Hopefully it picks up in the next day or two.

So far, just three definites...

Matt Santos
    MBC
    Kaiser Sose

(other possibles Matt Santos' two friends, CLG23, F22)

Pretty poor considering there have been more than 1,750 views between the two threads.

The unfortunate thing is that if we don't get a certain number then the price goes up as we were getting a special deal.

Anyway, i'll give it until Monday lunchtime and make a decision then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 384 ✭✭badbrian

Graeme

I applaud your endeavour - many have suggested and I am not sure if any have succeeded in setting up Boards outings. I would be interested myself only that I am not sure how able I would be after recent op. I have played St Margaret's twice and both times I thought it fabulous. And 50 notes on a Saturday seems like a sweet deal.

If I were organising it myself I would get people to pay the money down, if not to you then to the club, to encourage participation. If they could not turn up, someone could pay them for their spot. I had to organise an outing in work and more than I expected cancelled (which led me to think not all were unavoidable) and that can make it very awkward when you need a certain amount to get a better rate.

The very best of luck and if I am better at the time I might even be looking to take a cancellation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

I'll go lads, sounds like good fun. Count me in.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

Will try to go too, but need to check a couple of things over the weekend before I can confirm...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,839 ✭✭✭Hobart

Put me down for this Graeme. If you need CC details or the money sent out to you just PM me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Howdo ,

Yeah stick me down too . I'm off 20 so hope thats not too high for you boys !!!

Mick.

• Subscribers Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭PhilipMarlowe

I will confirm for this now if it's still on the go, sorry wasn't online earlier. Let me know what to do with the payment etc...

The lack of interest means that we can't avail of the cheaper offer. With the numbers we have we now wouldn't get a discount and the cost would be 60 euro per head.

That's one option. The other would be that the folks who are interested could make up to fourballs and play a cheaper course in and around the same area.

Interested to hear everyone's thoughts.

Fair enough, silence speaks volumes i suppose.:)

Thanks to those few who showed an interest, but unfortunately it doesn't look like this is going to happen. Quite disappointing, but at least we know now that the interest isn't there for a boards golf day.

To the posters who i PMed about the alternate golf outing, this outing is now also scrapped. Thanks to the 1 of the 8 of you who actually bothered to give me a reply.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,384 ✭✭✭Kaisr Sose

:(
    Sorry to learn the golf game is off, and the alternative outing too.
    Thanks for all the work you have put in to this Graeme. Its never easy being the organiser and even harder when doing so remotely through a medium like this.
    RIP the notion of having Boards.ie Golf day/ Society

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 727 ✭✭✭C.O.Y.B.I.B

Sorry Graeme ,

Hadnt actually checked my messages in a couple of days . I'm still interested in general . I saw from online teetimes that the is 4 Ball comp in St Margarets on Paddys day 45 pp . I cant do that particular one , but a suggestion might be to try and get a team or 2 for future events with all the open weeks coming up . Only prob is that it rules out non GUI golfers .

I think this day out might be worth a go again in a month or two when the weather is better . Of my regular 4 Ball , I'm the only one who plays Oct. - April . A lot of fairweather golfers out there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

mscull wrote: »
    Sorry Graeme ,

Hadnt actually checked my messages in a couple of days . I'm still interested in general . I saw from online teetimes that the is 4 Ball comp in St Margarets on Paddys day 45 pp . I cant do that particular one , but a suggestion might be to try and get a team or 2 for future events with all the open weeks coming up . Only prob is that it rules out non GUI golfers .

I think this day out might be worth a go again in a month or two when the weather is better . Of my regular 4 Ball , I'm the only one who plays Oct. - April . A lot of fairweather golfers out there

That's a good point actually - don't let the idea die a death altogether lads. I think once the first one is over with, it'll become a regular more popular thing during the golfing season.

As a wise man once said - you can never be in too many golf societies :)