Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Haye V Macarinelli

• 03-03-2008 4:41pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭

I just realised this fight is right upon us. It is on setanta on saturday night. So how do you all see it going?
    Rumours are that haye has been hiding away and has possibly been struggling big time to make the weight. Will this effect the outcome?

P.S. any chance of making this part of the competition Poll?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭septern

IMO, due to the difficulty Haye has in making weight, Macarinelli has a good chance of winning this one.

Enzo will be fitter and stronger, and if he can avoid big shots from Haye in the early rounds he should take over in the 2nd half of the fight and win on points or late stoppage.

Its a fight I can't wait to see - I think Haye is a better boxer than Enzo M, but the difficulty he has in making weight will come against him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 863 ✭✭✭Mikel

Is it my imagination or has Haye gotten a lot bulkier in the last few years. I remember him from a few years ago, the bbc carried some of his fights, and he looked a lot less muscled than he does now.
    If so, why would he hit the weights hard and bulk up if he struggles to make the weight? was the plan to go into the heavyweight division?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,560 ✭✭✭✭Kess73

Mikel wrote: »
    Is it my imagination or has Haye gotten a lot bulkier in the last few years. I remember him from a few years ago, the bbc carried some of his fights, and he looked a lot less muscled than he does now.
    If so, why would he hit the weights hard and bulk up if he struggles to make the weight? was the plan to go into the heavyweight division?

This is his last fight at cruiserweight before going into the heavyweight ranks full time.

He has already fought at heavyweight, scoring an early knockout in his first fight at the weight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Givmenuttin

I really fancy haye to do a big number on enzo this weekend...possibly quite early. Enzo is a classic warren fighter that has fought very carefully selected opponents that are in reality average. Haye put away the top drawer mormeck in his last fight so i think its a no-brainer.

Get on haye to win by ko/tko at 4/5 with ppower its stealing money.

Granted enzo is a big hitter and i feel he needs to land on haye early to have any chance and i reckon he wont know what to do when he realises he is in with a proper top drawer fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭megadodge

As a person who likes an occasional punt on boxing matches, this is one I wouldn't touch with a bargepole !!

There is absolutely no possible result that would surprise me in this fight - and that includes going the distance.

If I thought that Haye was strong at the weight I would fancy him but I just can't see him getting that huge body down AGAIN without affecting his performance. After the Mormeck fight he said "never again" as he struggled so badly with the weight, so how is he going to be any better this time ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,380 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Actually, going the distance is the one result that would surprise me. I think if it goes beyond six rounds Maccarinelli becomes favourite to win by late stoppage. it will be funny if, after predicting Haye to win by ko, this is how it it pans out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭theone

even with the weight drain haye still wins imo.

macranelli isn't as good as Mormeck and look what haye did to him.
    even the Mormeck knockdown wasn't really a knockdown it was 50/50 he slipped on a bit of foam on the side of the ring,his legs still wobbled a good bit though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

i think that enzo is being undervalued by some people here,i fancy this to go all the way.

Paddy Power has is at haye 4-7 and enzo 5-4.If haye struggles at the weight its there for enzo to take it.

Do we read anything into Haye's crazy/secret preparations i.e. not letting journos even know where is is training etc.
    He looked really good against mormeck but was adamant that the weight was too hard to reach.Hope its a great fight.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

Anyone got a rough time of when the fight will start?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭ODD-JOB

look how bouncy that ring is !!!!
    looked like a water-bed feature there for a second.
    Wait till the light heavy's get in.

Would ye be tightening up them ropes there at all ?:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,450 ✭✭✭evil_seed

is the fight pay per view or is it on setanta 1? whats the story?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭hatedajacks

PPv,Free till hr before fight

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭delrun

Cheers ODD-JOB..Great stream!! Like watching Enzo boxing and would love him to win but Haye is class big time!....:rolleyes: C'mon Enzo !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,056 ✭✭✭~Marky~

Its free on Setanta Ireland and not pay per view..I am watching it now :D

That was quick its all over

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭The Artist

hayes done it ko 2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭delrun

Wow - What a Dig! Watch out folk for DAVID HAYMaker in the Heavy Weights!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

He sure did a job on him alright. Did the ropes keep Mac up right before that barrage that finished it though? If so, should the ref have stepped in and given him a count at that point?

hayes got enzo in the corner and bam enzo gets up wobbly ref stops it all over great stuff!

posing with his belts now wow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭RealJohn

Having seen the end again, the ropes didn't keep Mac up, he kept himself up using the ropes, so the ref was right to let it go on. Fair play. That's why he gets to do the job and I don't. :o

2 a piece..... peter looks tired

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

Fair play to Haye, he backed up everything he said. Feel bad for enzo though. Still he has a lot to fight on for, maybe pick up one of the vacted belts and fight IBF champion Cunningham, he can still clean up the division.

I hope Haye does well in the heavys, i know he doesnt have the best chin but his style is just what the division needs.

Haye will clean up the heavyweight division! The only heavyweight he may have a problem with is Klitschko.

joepenguin wrote: »
    Fair play to Haye, he backed up everything he said. Feel bad for enzo though. Still he has a lot to fight on for, maybe pick up one of the vacted belts and fight IBF champion Cunningham, he can still clean up the division.
    /QUOTE]

yes, macca is a good fighter it's just he had never met someone with Haye's power before. he'll bounce back!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Anyone cathe the super feather clash between Mitchell and Johannson?

What a great fight!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,004 ✭✭✭Big Ears

walshb wrote: »
    Anyone cathe the super feather clash between Mitchell and Johannson?

What a great fight!!!!

ya a fantastic fight(as expected) , Mitchell was winning easy while boxing and moving but then wanted to sit down on his shots more and got involved in a war . I had Johanneson 77-75 up at the start of the 9th , and a lot of credit must go to Mitchell for getting back to his boxing and then finishing his man when he had him hurt .
    Mitchell will never progress onto true World level though , however I had expected he wouldn't even reach European.......I may have to revise that now .

With that said I'd fancy Gulyakevich against him .

As for the main fight.........when a fighter has as much power as Haye , it's just a matter of time before someone puts him away or he puts them away .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57,368 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Big Ears wrote: »
    ya a fantastic fight(as expected) , Mitchell was winning easy while boxing and moving but then wanted to sit down on his shots more and got involved in a war . I had Johanneson 77-75 up at the start of the 9th , and a lot of credit must go to Mitchell for getting back to his boxing and then finishing his man when he had him hurt .
    Mitchell will never progress onto true World level though , however I had expected he wouldn't even reach European.......I may have to revise that now .

With that said I'd fancy Gulyakevich against him .

As for the main fight.........when a fighter has as much power as Haye , it's just a matter of time before someone puts him away or he puts them away .
    The turn around in the fight was unreal. After 6 rds I didn't think Mitchell was gonna' make it home and thought Carl would break him. Mitchell is a lovely box-puncher and where he found that extra gear after taking a lot of shots is extraordinary. I'm thinking that Mitchell broke Johannson from a few wicked body shots. Johannson's energy just drained in a matter of seconds. One second he's full of beans and the next he's struggling hard.

Haye did his job and I was never really sold on Enzo to begin with. I think too
    much was made of his so called power. Haye is a sussy bet really and I agree, he gets you or you get him, is the scenario really.....

walshb wrote: »
    The turn around in the fight was unreal. After 6 rds I didn't think Mitchell was gonna' make it home and thought Carl would break him. Mitchell is a lovely box-puncher and where he found that extra gear after taking a lot of shots is extraordinary. I'm thinking that Mitchell broke Johannson from a few wicked body shots. Johannson's energy just drained in a matter of seconds. One second he's full of beans and the next he's struggling hard.

Oh it was definitely the body shots that did it , he had worked the body a lot early on but then abandoned it for the middle rounds . A right hook to the body in the 9th then seemed to have Johanneson reeling , and after a second right to the body(where he looked very uncomfortable again) he was there for the taking and Mitchell obliged in flooring him and then putting him away .

Mitchell v Burns would be the fight I'd like to see now , and then against Foster jnr if Foster can get revenge on Derry Matthews down at feather(which he probably won't) . A fight with Gomez would be pointless I think , but probably the most likely . Fights with Fehintola , Bell or Castle would be a waste of time too . So unless he fights a few of them in quick succession(just to get the Londsdale belt for keeps) I'd like to see him take on Burns , Foster jnr(should he win) , Kirakosyan and then Gulyakevich .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭King of Kings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭raven136

funniest part of the fight was the look on joe calzaghes face when enzo was stopped,almost pure disgust and then to see enzo calzaghe reprimand him on live tv for not following the plan.Felt sorry for the guy but Haye is class and working with the calzaghes will only make enzo a better fighter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭joepenguin

I tuned in just as mitchell looked as if he was going to go, cant remember the round, 4th maybe? id say it was a cracker from the first round

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭IT Loser

Haye looked good, but this is Cruiser.

He was rocked and cut by Fragomeni {a 5'9" stubby little dude} and was floored by Lolenga Mock {never heard of him either} and he was flat out stopped by Thompson {of course that video can't be found on youtube!!!}

No chance at Heavyweight I am afraid. His skin also seems to open at the slightest insult.

PS...Is Steve Bunce the most crass racist piece of **** ever to appear on TV??

IT Loser wrote: »
    Haye looked good, but this is Cruiser.

He was rocked and cut by Fragomeni {a 5'9" stubby little dude} and was floored by Lolenga Mock {never heard of him either} and he was flat out stopped by Thompson {of course that video can't be found on youtube!!!}

No chance at Heavyweight I am afraid. His skin also seems to open at the slightest insult.

PS...Is Steve Bunce the most crass racist piece of **** ever to appear on TV??

He was cut by Fragomeni but not rocked......infact not even nearly .

He was indeed floored by Mock(I have heard of him) , which is worrying as Mock is only a Super-Middleweight . However Haye is the only man ever to stop Mock(who's fought at a decent level) .

Haye was stopped on exhaustion against Thompson , he had bitched Thompson around the place for 4 rounds but punched himself out and was stopped(on his feet) and head reasonably clear because he didn't have the energy to hold his hands up and was backed into a corner(where his corner threw in the towel) .

His skin cuts easily as he is tight at the weight , this won't be as much of a problem when he moves up . He has only been cut twice though , once against Fragomeni and again at the weekend when part of the same cut re-opened .

Wasn't that hard to find the Thompson fight :http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DhWh3tN5s4M

Haye will be vulnerable at heavyweight , but he'll have the power to knock any heavyweight out and the speed and accuracy to deliver the blows to do it .

Bunce is terrible , it's a joke how he has a job .