Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which of these amps to get?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭Bob in Belfast

Easy get the micro cube.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

Well, the small tube amps can be really quite loud. For the price, the Microcube or DA5 are much more versatile and usable at low volumes. 5 watts tube still needs to be cranked to get any juice out of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

And the stock valves on the baby amps tend to be awful, well going by the ones that were in my champion 600, i changed them out almost straight away and the improvement in tone was substantial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

Yea I've heard about that, I might just settle with the micro cube... Its more in my price range at the moment and I'm loving some of the features on it like the recording and the tuning fork.

I'll prolly save up for a decent tube amp for jammin with the lads and just mess with the cube.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,291 ✭✭✭-=al=-

I want a legacy :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭Paolo_M

I got a HB GA5 and you do need to fully crank it for the tubey sweetness to come through which is a little loud for bedroom level. I personally fitted pentode/triode switch, a HT fuse to protect my OT, new JJ tubes and modified the tone circuitry to get a real nice overdriven Marshall sound at bedroom level. Not blowing my trumpet but it is incredible tone, real JCM800 sound!!

If you don't fancy getting you hands dirty with all of this I'd say go for the Cube every time.

I wouldn't say the stock tubes are awful though, the come with SovTek which aren't bad and as there's only one power tube you don't need to worry about matching.

Krsnik87 wrote: »
    Opinions and other suggestions are more then welcome!

http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_da5.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/harley_benton_ga5.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/epiphone_valve_junior_epajr_gitarrencombo.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/gretsch_g5222_electromatic_compact.htm

http://www.thomann.de/ie/roland_micro_cube.htm

Looking for an amp for my room and this is what I've narrowed it down too. I'm leaning towards the epiphone valve junior combo but from what I've read the harley benton is the exact same amp only a different shell (dunno if I trust that).

Just looking for something small that sounds good.

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 636 ✭✭✭pug_

I was going to post a similar question, but what I was wondering is would it be better to wait for the new Micro Cube to be released or just get the current one? Will I be waiting long, or is it due out soon?

[EDIT] One last thing before I completely hijack the thread, has anyone any experience of these...

http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_ac30.htm
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_classic_rock.htm
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_metal.htm

I like the idea of being able to practice quietly with a something like this, but if the sound quality is woeful then I'll not bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Krsnik87

I thought the current one was the 'new' one no?

Maybe it is, it'd be great if it were, but the one on thomann looks completely different to this one...

http://www.roland.com/products/en/MICRO_CUBE_RX/features.html

Is it just an old picture/description or something?

[EDIT] Oops I've just found the RX on Thomann so now I'm wondering which is better, and is the RX worth the extra €100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,993 ✭✭✭Johnny Storm

pug_ wrote: »
    I was going to post a similar question, but what I was wondering is would it be better to wait for the new Micro Cube to be released or just get the current one? Will I be waiting long, or is it due out soon?

[EDIT] One last thing before I completely hijack the thread, has anyone any experience of these...

http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_ac30.htm
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_classic_rock.htm
    http://www.thomann.de/ie/vox_amplug_metal.htm

I like the idea of being able to practice quietly with a something like this, but if the sound quality is woeful then I'll not bother.

They are headphone-only which is a pisser.
    This yoke
    http://ampuplugnplay.com/
    is more like what I thought the Vox things were like, like. ;)

Well headphone only is grand for me, I was thinking of getting one of them for sitting in front of the telly without disturbing my better half and without having to move amps, and cables etc from the other room. Not for serious practice or anything, just for messing around is all, that's what the Micro Cube is for.

So have you tried them, and are they any good sound wise?

I haven't tried them or TBH ever even seen one. FWIW They just dont seem to be good value to me.
    e.g. if you're going the headphones route, for €99 you could have a pocket POD.

Pocket pod you say.. Investigates....

I'm pretty new to all this, so I'm still trying to figure out what's useful and what's not.

Well, I think 99 out of 10 cats would recommend the existing Microcube for a home practice amp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,906 ✭✭✭DeadSkin

Well, I think 99 out of 10 cats would recommend the existing Microcube for a home practice amp.

+1. Only got one last week and tis mighty :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Rustar

Make that 100 out of 10 cats. :)