Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Public places/public toilets

• 02-03-2008 2:39pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭

What's the story with public places and their toilets? Are they allowed to post notices saying that these toilets are for customers use only?
    If its a public place it should be public toilets.
    I went into a cafe today and i do often eat there but just not today. Went in to use the toilet and some foreign 1 with barely any english pulled me for it. Fair enough i just said ya ok and started to walk out, but then she went on about i didn't even ask to use the toilet. By this time i was ready to slap her. I mean it is a public place and its not as if i went into a fancy restaurant where u might expect it, and i do often eat there (not any more though). And to be fair there was only 2 toilets male and female. And the notice was only on the females toilet which was already taken, so i used the mens without the notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

lisajane wrote: »
    What's the story with public places and their toilets? Are they allowed to post notices saying that these toilets are for customers use only?
    I went into a cafe today and i do often eat there but just not today. Went in to use the toilet and some foreign 1 with barely any english pulled me for it. Fair enough i just said ya ok and started to walk out, but then she went on about i didn't even ask to use the toilet. By this time i was ready to slap her. I mean it is a public place and its not as if i went into a fancy restaurant where u might expect it, and i do often eat there (not any more though). And to be fair there was only 2 toilets male and female. And the notice was only on the females toilet which was already taken, so i used the mens without the notice.

It wasn't a public toilet it was one owned by the privately owned cafe and intended for customers. It sounds like the waitress was a bit rude about it but you did not have a right to use their facilities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

Public toilet? On a private premises?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Thats not public, it's private property, and the proprieter probably reserved the right to refuse admission.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

On a decency level, she should have let you. Especially since you were a regular customer.

However, on a legal note, I'm not sure. it is private property, which means that they can refuse admission if and when they please. However, there is something in the back of my mind that says that you're supposed to let someone use a toilet if they ask. Obviously, if they're going in to shoot up or leave drugs for collection then that's a different story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

Went in to use the toilet and some foreign 1 with barely any english pulled me for it.

Oh I cant wait to see how this thread pans out....

Id have told her that its considered polite in Ireland to allow people use the toilet. Particularly regular customers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

Next tim u got the runs.. go there .. buy a coffee.. use the toilet.. miss the bowl and walk out with a smile.

Your friend will be the one to clean it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,257 ✭✭✭SoupyNorman

I think its reasonable to refuse admission if you did not purchase.

Pubs and Cafés in close proximity to bus stops have it quite bad. Why should proprieters give free passage to their facilities when they will have to clean and restock the loos without renumeration in the form of custom.

Next time.....look her straight in eye and tell her you'd piddle on the floor if she doesn't let you through ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

I was touchin cloth as they say one Saturday morning and went in to a well known establishment to take a dump.

Place was almost empty and the barman challenged me with "Where are you off to Bud"

Now I could have been a potential customer so I says I'm off to take a crap in the jax.

"Them is for customers only" he says,"We don't provide the toilet facilities for the general public"

Uh right,says I, set me up with a pint,I'll pay you later and have her when I am done. "Four thirty" says yer man and in I went,dropped the kex and top decked the kip with a particularly ripe foul smellin evacuation.
    Wiped up and whizzed out a side door and away into the distance.

Geezers like that need to be taught a lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

I was touchin cloth as they say one and in I went,dropped the kex and top decked the kip with a particularly ripe foul smellin evacuation.

Masterful use of the english language :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Oddly, Dublin City Council appear to agree with you.

Oh, Oh, I know. Pubs are public houses and are public places. \o/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 508 ✭✭✭SW81

I was touchin cloth as they say one Saturday morning and went in to a well known establishment to take a dump.

Place was almost empty and the barman challenged me with "Where are you off to Bud"

Now I could have been a potential customer so I says I'm off to take a crap in the jax.

"Them is for customers only" he says,"We don't provide the toilet facilities for the general public"

Uh right,says I, set me up with a pint,I'll pay you later and have her when I am done. "Four thirty" says yer man and in I went,dropped the kex and top decked the kip with a particularly ripe foul smellin evacuation.

Classy guy.

Yeah, you'd think he wouldn't use the "Bud" thing on me.

Any thanks for the support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭source

Okay this might be covered elsewhere in law but according to the Public order act,
    a public place includes:
    Any Highway
    Any outdoor area to which at the material time members of the public have or are permitted to have access, whether as of right or as a trespasser or otherwise, and which is used for public recreational purposes.
    Any cemetery or courtyard
    Any premises or other place to which at the material time members of the public have or are permitted to have access, whether as of right or by express or implied permission, or whether on payment or otherwise, and
    Any train, vessel or vehicle used for the carriage of persons for reward.

This would make restaurants and bars and cafe's public places but only on payment for products or services. I am open to correction on this but it seems about right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,039 ✭✭✭✭Kintarō Hattori

4Xcut wrote: »
    On a decency level, she should have let you. Especially since you were a regular customer.

The OP doesn't eat there anymore and has said it's been a while since he was there so she was well within her rights to refuse him.

eo980 wrote: »
    The OP doesn't eat there anymore and has said it's been a while since he was there so she was well within her rights to refuse him.

She didn't say any such thing....She said she eats there often just not today or ever again.

Clearly the waitress was just trying to vent on her, there was no need to call after her when she had already made her point.

If I saw that happening I wouldn't go back to the esablishment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

I didn't say its been a while since i was in there. Was in there last week. What i said,i wouldn't go in there anymore after today. And im not male

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

What, a McSh1t wasn't good enough for you? Pfft.

Moonbaby wrote: »
    She didn't say any such thing....She said she eats there often just not today or ever again.

Clearly the waitress was just trying to vent on her, there was no need to call after her when she had already made her point.

If I saw that happening I wouldn't go back to the esablishment.
    I didn't say its been a while since i was in there. Was in there last week. What i said,i wouldn't go in there anymore after today. And im not male
    and i do often eat there (not any more though).

Yep my apologies I misjudged the context. Apologies.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Boohoo OP - learn to use the jacks before you come out. If you don't have control of your bladder then use the real public jacks and don't give me whinging and moaning like a little girl if a cafe doesn't want you stinking up their premises without even buying a single cup of coffee.

If you can't tell - I used to work in a coffee shop and had to deal with self-righteous sods like yourself all the time who would give out to me if there was someone in the toilets - as if it was their very own private jacks or something. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,392 ✭✭✭TequilaMockingBird

If you run your own business (a small shop, in my case), why should you have to clean up after other people? 99.9% of people would respect the premises and leave it as they find it, but its the 0.01% that ruin it for everyone. If anyone came to my shop, and asked, I would just say it was out of order, after my previous experience.:eek:

This is a matter for your local Council/Corporation, you pay your taxes, there should be facilities for basic human needs in an urban area.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Yeah... that's the thing. You weren't just using the toilets without buying anything, you were also trying to use the mens toilet.

AnonoBoy wrote: »
    Boohoo OP - learn to use the jacks before you come out. If you don't have control of your bladder then use the real public jacks and don't give me whinging and moaning like a little girl if a cafe doesn't want you stinking up their premises without even buying a single cup of coffee.

If you can't tell - I used to work in a coffee shop and had to deal with self-righteous sods like yourself all the time who would give out to me if there was someone in the toilets - as if it was their very own private jacks or something. :rolleyes:

Someone just begged the Karma administrators for a set of unresponsive kidney stones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

Exactly why scumbags usually are not allowed use the bathroom where I used to work. Barman saw what you were straight away. If you had asked politely as many a person has to to me, 99% will let you use them.

:o:o

Must remember that, thanks for the heads up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

If my taxi fare comes to 9.90 and I hand your man a tenner, Im within my right to demand my 10 cent change.

I dont bother. Because Im not a cnut like that.

Waitress lady ought to take note.

Tha Gopher wrote: »
    If my taxi fare comes to 9.90 and I hand your man a tenner, Im within my right to demand my 10 cent change.
    Of course you are.

I dont bother. Because Im not a cnut like that.

Waitress lady ought to take note.

Why are you quoting me? I'm lost.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 585 ✭✭✭lisajane

AnonoBoy wrote: »

I wasn't the one giving out to the waitress.