Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Muay Thai boxing club nearest to Newry?

• 29-02-2008 8:30pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 9

I started thai boxing in cork when i was working and staying in it last year but im back working and living in newry, can anyone tell me or direct me to somewhere the nearest club is to newry as i wanna keep at it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ross-a-palooza

A very good friend of mine is running a small Thai Camp in Newry and if you like training hard and laughing harder he's the man for you. :D
    PM me and i can give you his number.

all the best.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 StevieYeah

yeah please i would appreciate it if you would send me his number, thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 sweendogg007

Is Gary still taking the classes in Newry Leisure Centre, if not where can you go to do this around Newry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 966 ✭✭✭RedRaven

Richie Moore has a club in Dundalk mate, Siam Dragon will give you details.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 218 ✭✭Siamdragon

Richard Moore is teaching a great Class of Muaythai in Dundalk and for a small clubs has perducing some great fighters.
    its a no trills and frills gym just good Muaythai
    contact me if you need his contact

sitjaipetch@muaythaiireland.com
    www.muaythaiireland.com

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭paddyc

hey mate as far as i know gary flack not training in newry no more... could be wrong tho...

[paddy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 slider03

ross im interested in looking for a muay thai classes in newry, do you any contact number? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 346 ✭✭Martin25

I don't have any details on the Newry class but Frankie Mc Conville is very good and teaches in Belfast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 bufferedreader

Hi I'm a student of Frankie McConville... I run a club in Newry for Frankie. Its in the Dog Pound MMA gym Monday and Wednesday nights 8 - 9.30 and Friday 7.30 until 9pm. We're not going long so its a small club but friendly :)
    Sean

Hi Sean
    Good luck with the club.Please say hi to Frankie for me.
    all the best
    Martin

I will do Martin, I've met you a few times myself, a lot of years back, how's things?

Hi Sean
    We are still training away at the club in Lurgan and having good craic as well.
    I think that you came down here with Frankie a few years back?
    Martin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 Anzer

The Thai club in the Dog Pound Newry is an excellent class , very professional and has a good following, Sean defo knows his stuff !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 ross-a-palooza

hi sorry havnt been on here in ages...Sean was the man i was talking about...really good Muay Thai and really good fun, check it out!!!

Thanks lads, Frankie is the main man tho, I just follow his crazy ways lol!!

Hey Ross how you keeping? Long time no see. How's things going down your neck of the woods?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mark561

Any idea where the dog pound gym is in Newry?

I'm looking to get started with MMA but clueless about where this place is.

Is it beginner friendly? I've no past experience.

The Dog Pound is beside Dan's Bar on the Camlough Road facing St Pauls School.

Muay Thai Monday, Wednesday and Friday.... BJJ Tuesday and MMA on Thursday (I think). Drop in and try it, see what you think yourself.

If you need more info let me know

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 Mark561

Cheers dude.

I'll check it out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Small and friendly yes,
    But also very skilled,
    Sean brought his lads down to our show in Waterford and got great results on the day,a great bunch of lads, fair play Sean and best of luck with your club.

Hi I'm a student of Frankie McConville... I run a club in Newry for Frankie. Its in the Dog Pound MMA gym Monday and Wednesday nights 8 - 9.30 and Friday 7.30 until 9pm. We're not going long so its a small club but friendly :)
    Sean

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 stoneymoloney

StevieYeah wrote: »
    I started thai boxing in cork when i was working and staying in it last year but im back working and living in newry, can anyone tell me or direct me to somewhere the nearest club is to newry as i wanna keep at it?

im not to sure if there is any in newry but the closest one i can think of is in castlebellingham, dundalk. i dont have a number for them, but the lane is called little road, and its in a big barn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 322 ✭✭j walsh

Sean

Send bufferedreader a PM and Sean give you all the info you need about the club in Newry.

Thanks John!!! :)

Yeah we are in Newry!! Need any more info give me a shout

Sean