Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How's life?

• 28-02-2008 9:52am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Was thinking last night about things that have happened to me over the past 5 to 8 years or so. I've had some rough times, and some brilliant times... and other times I was just 'sailing through' and can't really remember much.

I think everyone goes through stages in life.... patches, if you will. At the moment, I'm going through a very happy patch, for many reasons.
    It's lastest for the past year and a bit, and I hope it continues. I know tougher times will be ahead, but I'm trying my best to enjoy the good times.

Now, I don't mean the 'I'm having a bad day' kind of thing. I mean, what's your feeling at your currently situation and outlook in life?

Are you at a very happy stage?
    Are yee just 'grand'?
    Is life a bit of a struggle, but ok at the moment?
    Or you going through a bad patch, waiting for things to get better?

What are the main factors that influence you to assess how you are?

How's Life? 90 votes

Life is feckin fab at the mo!! Livin each day with a smile :)
    0% 0 votes
    Ah sure, it's grand...
    26% 24 votes
    It's ok... surviving by, and hope things improve
    30% 27 votes
    Bad patch at the moment. Hope improvements come rapidly
    21% 19 votes
    Life is like an atari jaguar... you never know what option your gonna get
    22% 20 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I am very happy - starting out on a grand adventure in life :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

My general feeling about life at the moment is apprehension.....in a good way though I think....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

The word I would use is "optmistic" rather than "happy". As in coming out of rough patch and moving towards happier times.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭funk-you

Had a really rough 4 months recently but the last month things have been looking up so i'm fairly happy.

-Funk

Good at the moment but could be better I suppose . Love life is a mess! Other then that I couldn't be annoyed about anything else. Looking forward to Pighead's post :)

LadyJ wrote: »
    My general feeling about life at the moment is apprehension.....in a good way though I think....

Nice 1 on the forum missy ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,196 ✭✭✭Crumble Froo

heh, kinda like the happiness thread. im pretty happy with life at the moment. im settling into my new life ok, i seem to be making some good friends, my boss seems to hold me in some sort of positive esteem, and my relationship with my partner is still strong, so on all those levels, im very very happy.

on the other hand, i have really good mates at home, im already losing touch with. which sucks the fat one, big time. so im ecstatically happy one moment, but all it takes is a song, or the smallest reminder, and im remembering the peeps at home, and half wishing things were different.

KaG1888 wrote: »
    Nice 1 on the forum missy ;)

Oh cheers!

*life happiness increasing* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

I've got a 2 litre of coke, a few packets of nik naks and lots of cigarettes.
    I'm quite satisfied.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

I would say it's just about OK, teetering on the happy side of the fence. No particular reason as to be honest any specific aspect of my life is perfectly good, but I have been feeling crappy the last few days for no apparent reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭kittensoft1984

yeah im good at the moment.

still unsettled but i'll get there though :)

I was walking thorugh work yesterday and thinking to myself life was just brilliant at the moment exactly the way it is
    Nothing has changed today but I have a sad feeling for some reason, I just need sleep though

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

KiYap! Glad to be kicking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭mang87

I don't really know, to be quite honest. Never really stopped to think "how is my life right now? "

I supposed its pretty good. In college, doing what I want to do. I get to be lazy and sleep in all the time and just generally be a waster and do nothing. Which is ****ing fantastic. :D

4 hours round trip traveling to college every morning(only monday to friday though!) is a bit depressing, always feel knackered tired when I get home. But that just gives me more of an excuse to relax and do nothing.

On a scale of 1 to 10, I'd say maybe a 7 or 8 D:, I'm not doing much, but I could be doing a lot less, if you get me.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

ah sure parts of my life a great and then other parts are a bit scary and worrying but mainly good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

Had a bad down patch for a while (mainly work related) and because we were saving and weren't going out or doing anything. I was extremely low for a while. This is picking up though, I only have a few weeks left in work and then I'm moving to NZ via 3 weeks in Malaysia. I'm raelly excited and can't wait to get away. I've always loved Dublin and defended people giving out about it (mostly on boards!) but I have to say in the last few months I've realised I'll be glad to get away from it for a while. There's a lot of bad things I've noticed recently so I think I need to live somewhere else to miss Dublin a bit.

Friends/Love life is always very steady and makes me happy so I'd say overall I'm very optimistic!

It does go in patches though. Times when you're miserable, times when you're happy and times when your just meh... it's the meh times that are worst, just coasting along. It's horrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I'm so board, stuck in a small town at the top of my small ladder. Hopefully these new red pills the doc gave me will kick in soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭Jigsaw

Life has been a downward spiral since 2002. This trend continues despite my best efforts. No sign of anything changing. Any happiness felt tends to be fleeting and transitory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭ashisback

lifes great

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Pessimistically optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 880 ✭✭✭HAPPYGIRL

The-Rigger wrote: »
    Pessimistically optimistic

It means your totally indecisive. :p

Ya life is grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Grand here, a bit sick for the first few weeks of naught eight but the last few days have been brilliant. Some holidays planned this year with the wife and get some things done around the house, all is well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I'm content.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 591 ✭✭✭sidneykidney

For the first time in over 10years,i think i can honestly say life is going good,and i hope it will continue on this upward spiral. Health issues held me back for to long now that i am back to full strenght i am making the most of life.:)

Ruu wrote: »
    Some holidays planned this year with the wife

Wife? But...I thought..... *cries* :(

*Happiness decreasing*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭Hellm0

Life for me is great at the moment. I've beat my goal of 100k per year by 25(I'm 22 now), I'm self employed(a long term goal for me) and I live in one of the swankiest areas of Chicago's downtown(I'm originally from Blanchardstown). Add to that I've got a very attractive girlfriend and I'm happier than a pig in s*it. That said though I did see myself being a professional writer someday and the career path I'm on is most likely going to lead me to something like a soulless corporate environment. So aside from some creative/ideological misgivings I'm doing pretty damn well.

Thanks for asking!

PS I could also do with a more regular supply of the green stuff(you know what I mean).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,942 ✭✭✭missingtime

I'm fighting the apathy with an axe and a plucky demeanour.

Other than than, I'm leaving my ****ty job tomorrow. Huzzah!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

I'm busto.

FYP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Papillon87

End of 2006 until now has been pretty damn awful for me in many respects. Not to be melodramatic or anything, but I have basically witnessed most things in my life deteriorate or completely fall apart and it has had a huge impact on my confidence and general disposition. I'm hoping things turn around soon.:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,648 ✭✭✭jezza

God now lifes not too good right now, i think i may be dying or something, and your name really didnt help. :(

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Good enough, happy out, much better than a couple of years ago.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 13,425 ✭✭✭✭Ginny

2007 all in all was a ****ty year personally and professionally, doesn't look like the new year changed much!!
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,944 ✭✭✭Jay P

I'm happy in general, not hating my life or anything, but I'm feeling kinda depressed a bit at the moment, but I think that's due to the music I'm lestening to, eg. Radiohead, ALice in Chains etc. All that very happy music ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

God made it easy on meh'! :D

great

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Alright for now. Few things to be sorted out but hopefully things will pick up.