Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

[Eve] Fleet Fights and Fitting

• 28-02-2008 12:29am
    Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭

FFF! Yes. Great thread title, go Zillah.

So I just lost another T2 fitted Crow because a hoard of Bob and lag glanced in my direction while I tried to do what I was told.

I suppose I can afford it, for a while at least, but it seems like such a total waste to fit ships very well knowing that you can be killed in the blink of an eye regardless of how well you fit or fly your ship.

So whats everyone's policies on how to fit fleet ships? Plan to lose them and go bare minimum? Load up on T2/officer/faction gear and trust that it will keep you alive? Load up on T2/officer/faction gear and still plan to lose it?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Meh, I fit up on the alliance appoved fit and go with it tbh. Lagtotallhelldeath will kill even an officer fit, so the alliance supplies best named reimbursements so thats what I go with.

If and when the alliance supplies or deploys T2 fits to their full advantage Ill go with full T2. In the meantime Ill go with whatever the alliance gives me free. At the end of the day, if you rape the enemy or the enemy rapes you depends totally on lag and/or whoevever jumps into the lag.

May be a little selfish, but **** it, Ive no incentive to bring a full T2 fitted Megathron sniper if everyone else is bringing their ****ing mission fitted Drake. ****ing hate Drakes. And their mission running pilots.

Anyhow, yeah, check your alliance reimbursed fits - fly that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,473 ✭✭✭R0ot

Depends obviosuly on a lot of things. What ship you want for the fleet. What your fleet is doing etc.

Im not a fan of inties in fleet fights, almost better going with a Stealth Bomber and nailing dictors or whatnot. If you can fly a battlecruiser you could fit it out for high damage, high tracking with about a 40-60km optimal, and be the perfect anti-support ship in a fleet fight. Ferox with rails gets really nice dps.

If you like the speed side though you could always train for interdictors, flycatcher is nice and cheap, not great speed but ok and it plays its role in a fleet fight perfectly with a dual bubble setup. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 186 ✭✭Glippo

Glippo stfu kthk -R0ot

• Registered Users Posts: 17,371 ✭✭✭✭Zillah

Soon there will be NOLOL for you anymore.
    Sand wrote:
    if everyone else is bringing their ****ing mission fitted Drake. ****ing hate Drakes. And their mission running pilots.
    R0ot wrote:
    If you can fly a battlecruiser you could fit it out for high damage, high tracking with about a 40-60km optimal, and be the perfect anti-support ship in a fleet fight. Ferox with rails gets really nice dps.

I only fly a missile Drake :D
    Though I'd of course not use a mission setup...

My rails skills are pure shite. I can fly a cruise Raven alright, but I hate battleships, they're so slow and vulnerable. I've been fecking around with Blackbirds lately to practice for the Falcon which I'll be flying in a week or two. Then I'll join black ops and spend my time not fighting in massive lag splats.

Zillah wrote: »

I only fly a missile Drake :D

My rails skills are pure shite. I can fly a cruise Raven alright, but I hate battleships, they're so slow and vulnerable. I've been fecking around with Blackbirds lately to practice for the Falcon which I'll be flying in a week or two. Then I'll join black ops and spend my time not fighting in massive lag splats.

Missile drake is good also, but stick to hitting hostile hac's and bigger support. Blackbird is nice but you tend to get alot of the smaller support picking on you and don't last long. But EW is always good. Even though your caldari might be an idea to train some gunnery. The eagle and ferox kick ass at anti-support.

Im the same on the BS front m8, raven isn't great, scorp is better but your primaried alot. Again some gunnery skills and go jump in a rokh, nice range not great damage but not horrible either. Raven although is pretty nice for cyno jammer killing with the torp dps increase and the raven gets a nice armor tank and remote rep setup so you can spider with others in gang. :D

EDIT: Also glippo keep the goon ****e to yourself here please.

Ah here, lets no be too harsh. I constantly troll Glippo, Coranor and whoever else happens to be around in the Irish channel. I expect the same in return.

R0ot wrote: »
    Again some gunnery skills and go jump in a rokh, nice range not great damage but not horrible either.

Yah, but apprently to make a Rokh worthwhile you really need T2 guns for decent DPS, and frankly its just not worth the SP investment. I'm very much leaning towards specialised smaller T2 ships these days, which while fairly uninsurable, are much more fun and easier to get around in. The amount of SP it'd take to be able to fly a decent Rohk would make me a very lethal Falcon pilot, and I'd very much enjoy the latter far more.
    Raven although is pretty nice for cyno jammer killing with the torp dps increase and the raven gets a nice armor tank and remote rep setup so you can spider with others in gang. :D

This I was willing to do, but I need to train more armor tanking skills first and there's other stuff I want more. Goons have been running large RR Armor BS gangs a lot and I was considering getting in on those, but then I'd spend hours shooting poses :/

I honestly think I might just go back to scouting in a Buzzard for fleet ops. I still have channel op on TS from the last time oddly enough...

Covert Ops are always needed. Good probing skills works well with your scouts too.

I fly an eagle on r0ot in fleet fights and stick to my dictors/hictors on Hoi although trying other ships out recently. Eagle allows me a sniper few with the bs if im taking support FC and the hictor/dictor allows roaming ability also. Dual accounting gets rather taxing though in fleet fights. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Even though your caldari might be an idea to train some gunnery. The eagle and ferox kick ass at anti-support.

Especially as the Ferox will be getting an extra turret - maybe - which will make it even better for fleet fights.

And Caldari Hybrid skills work equally well on Gallente ships for whenever you give in and join the darkside.
    I only fly a missile Drake

Im kinda meh on Battlecruisers in general - only a few Id consider worth bringing along in a large battleship fight. Drakes *can* be fitted well to do a useful job by a good pilot, but 99/100 its a cookie cutter shield extenders, hardeners and power relays setup thats just very useless/unremarkable relative to what that pilot could have brought to the party if he was flying a blackbird.

And if youre ganged with a Drake your chances of being called primary go up at least 11-13% per Drake pilot :(

Omg...i was hit with r0ots whip.. :-0 :-0, lol but he knows the story, i was there when he lost the crow, i saw him turn into a pod on my overview lol.
    Anyway lol my apologies.
    As for the OP, Anti-support Drake = Pwn! Drake > Eagle, Muninn w/e else.
    As for T2 fitting your ships, it is good, but like ya said you shouldnt be doing it unless everyone else in your fleet is, so until they do lol....dont

Covert Ops are always needed. Good probing skills works well with your scouts too.

I explore for a living :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭kyp_durron

Ferox with rails gets really nice dps.

HAHAHAHAHAH..... OH MAN .. HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

kyp_durron wrote: »

I have to agree.

EFT, all skills at 5, with a full rack of T2 medium rails, faction antimatter ammo and a full low slot array of T2 Magnetic Field Stabilisers you get a total of 275 dps.

Wuts the DPS on the new extra gun ferox gonna be?

Glippo wrote: »
    Wuts the DPS on the new extra gun ferox gonna be?

Over 9000 :|

Ferox > Drake for anti support imo

Nah Drake is better in almost every respect + it looks cool

It's a square silver box, how does that look cool?

It is better then a Ferox however. Glippo > R0ot @ fleet fits tbh. o/\o Glippo.

Not against those dictors orbiting you at speed, or intys, where as the uber tracking ferox (keep your optimal down but tracking mods all on tracking speed) and your nailing those ****ers out of space! :D

Precision Scourge
    Besides why would an inty or a dictor ever orbit an anti-support BC?

Times like this I wish I coulds shoot both of you ****ers in the face. How I miss those days :(

• Registered Users Posts: 305 ✭✭mamolian

Times like this I wish I coulds shoot both of you ****ers in the face. How I miss those days :(

Come get some! :p

Fit all my fleet ships T2, try to stick to ships that don't tend to die often.. T2 snipers/vagas/cov ops **** like that.. nice to get more than one use out of a ship :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭D

I usually go T2 guns and the rest T1/named for when I'm in a battleship (me hugs his large artillery specialisation level 5 and minmater battleship level 5 skills). If you do the whole small ship tackler thing then a basic T1 fit frigate does the job. Obviously in smaller fleet battles where there will be less lag then vaga ftw.

Edit: although I am quite bored with the vaga in roaming gangs. Half of roaming gangs seem to be made of crows and vagas these days.

You faggots are ruining my thread.