Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Planning Refusal - Favourable Objection??!

• 27-02-2008 10:59am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭

My engineer just phoned me this morning and adv me that my application was refused, however it may be a favourable objection as they only objected to the actual house design.
    I have yet to receive the detailed planners report, however my eng. adv me that the report says that the front protrusions to the house and in proportionate roof height to the front wall is not suiting them!!
    So I gotta get the report and hand it over to my architect who will hopefully try and amend it to suit their requirements.
    Then I resend the application....

who's to say they won't come back and find something different wrong? especially if it lands with a different planner!

any advice on this matter?

Should I try get in contact with the planners and hold a meeting to see exactly what they want?

This is my 1st attempt and 1st refusal..!

It's not as once thought imaginable but I'm still refusing to get any hopes up with this crowd.

ps.

This crowd is Meath Co.Co. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

This could of been avoided by a simple (and free) pre-planning meeting. You could of flagged this without ended up with a negitive site history.
    As it stands, a PPM is a must now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭zod

is there a formal way of getting a pre-planning meeting, I've been getting a bit of a run around from the people in the planning office wrt setting up a meeting, is there an official request method?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 887 ✭✭✭kormak

I've been advised by quite a high up politcian that I should never attend pre-planning meetings!
    she was also able to tell me exactly what the planners told me, however I had everything ready to roll and rather spending another few hundred on an architect, I thought I'd wait and see what the council's reaction would be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Ignore the politician. They also take credit when permission is granted even thought they weren't involved.

Put it in writing to the planning office. They are obliged to give you a meeting.

• Subscribers Posts: 42,171 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

kormak wrote: »
    I've been advised by quite a high up politcian that I should never attend pre-planning meetings!
    she was also able to tell me exactly what the planners told me, however I had everything ready to roll and rather spending another few hundred on an architect, I thought I'd wait and see what the council's reaction would be.

perhaps thats your problem right there.

Any architect worth his salt should at least make an effort to assess what type, scale, bulk and height of a building is suited to particular sites.

So... my best advice now is:

Try get a meeting with the planners as soon as possible.
    Can this appointment be made by phone call or do they require a written request?

Also:

Hold off on the architect until I know exactly what they want..

The planner cannot legally talk with or meet you within the four week period between notification and final.
    During that period the application is still 'live' as an option to appeal is still open.

But definitely have a meeting after this period, and bring your architect...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

So... my best advice now is:

Try get a meeting with the planners as soon as possible.
    Can this appointment be made by phone call or do they require a written request?
    smashey wrote: »
    Put it in writing to the planning office. They are obliged to give you a meeting.

Ahem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 206 ✭✭250882

You can apply in writing to the LA for a pre-planning meeting. You should have an architect for the pre-planning and ideally they should attend.

My personal advice would be apply in writing, bring your architect let them fight the case and dont open your mouth during the meeting (A bit harsh but I've seen it so many times where the client chirps in with a helpful comment like "we used to go swimming on this site before it dried up" that can doom the application from the start).

The planner should not dictate the design. they can only enforce the particular countys design guidelines. I've tackled planners over this before and they have agreed that if they have no architectural background they should not comment on good architecture (I do however agree that they should do everything in their power to enforce the county design guidelines as they make a lot of sense).

To me its like an NCT tester failing your car because he thinks the upholstery is a naff colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭bauderline

I was dealing with Cavan CoCo, phoned the planner, met with him about a week later, had a chat with him and showed him a number of house designs, discussed ridge height etc...

A few months later I got PP for 1.5 over basement, no problems.

I cannot stress how worthwhile it is taking the time to speak to them and determine what they think is acceptable. Saves time and heartache... a real no brainer !!!

b.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭mrbig

In my experience the planners take little or no notice of this type of objection, the style of your house may not be to their taste, the best thing to do is to make an apointment and go and talk to them, I had a meeting and showd the planner three diferent style of house and argued the merits of each, I got planning permission on the first go(south meath)
    look at the planning history in your area online and compare the objections and refusal history, before I applied I found that on average most people gave up on the first refusal most people that persist get planning eventualy.:)

My engineer just phoned me this morning and adv me that my application was refused, however it may be a favourable objection as they only objected to the actual house design.
    I have yet to receive the detailed planners report, however my eng. adv me that the report says that the front protrusions to the house and in proportionate roof height to the front wall is not suiting them!!
    So I gotta get the report and hand it over to my architect who will hopefully try and amend it to suit their requirements.
    Then I resend the application....

who's to say they won't come back and find something different wrong? especially if it lands with a different planner!

any advice on this matter?

Should I try get in contact with the planners and hold a meeting to see exactly what they want?

This is my 1st attempt and 1st refusal..!

It's not as once thought imaginable but I'm still refusing to get any hopes up with this crowd.

ps.

This crowd is Meath Co.Co. :confused:

Politcians know feck all when it comes to planning. We recently got a letter in the door from the local councilor who prepared an objection to an appartment block on behave of the residents nearby. It was asking to sign and return.

Disregarding the fact that this glorified petition holds less weight than a actually individual letter, her objections based on knowledge of the planning system was laughable. She had 5 main objections.
    Two were totally wrong. Regarding the application. (site notice, land)
    One was a civil matter not planning. (Right of light)
    And another was a real reason, that held no weight. (17 extra cars in the area, this is beside the LA/DoEs development of a new centre, few thousands houses.

The one legit reason, was that appartments are not in keeping with surround two story houses. No- brainer,

My point is that politcians have an inflate idea of their knowledge of the system. Anyone that says never get a PPM is a tool. End of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭archtech

Not sure what way the Council operate their pre-planning meeting for rural housing in Meath. In South Tipp, it is generally a forum type thing with a number of potential applicants in attendance together rather than a one to one discussion with applicant and planner. Fairly general thing and very often does not go into specifics like individual house designs. Can be a waste of time.
    A one to one pre planning is the only way to go when it comes to discussing the individual house design for the site, bring photos of the site and surrounding area etc. In an idea world the Planner should visit the site too.

Any designer worth their weight would have reviewed the council's polices and designed the house accordingly, addressing the site's features and development plan requirements.

I really am beginning to believe my architect is largely responsible for not knowing more about the county development plan and how a house like he produced would be deemed too 'suburban' for a such a rural area !
    They have also commented that my local needs documentation could be a bit stronger in evidence, even though I supplied more than enough bank stmts, school records, Parish records, etc....
    I just spoke to the planning and they advised me that I cannot speak to the planner till March 26th???!!
    There needs to be a 4 week cooling off period!
    what load of bull****...

I really am beginning to believe my architect is largely responsible for not knowing more about the county development plan and how a house like he produced would be deemed too 'suburban' for a such a rural area !
    They have also commented that my local needs documentation could be a bit stronger in evidence, even though I supplied more than enough bank stmts, school records, Parish records, etc....
    I just spoke to the planning and they advised me that I cannot speak to the planner till March 26th???!!
    what load of bull****...

see post:
    sydthebeat wrote: »
    The planner cannot legally talk with or meet you within the four week period between notification and final.
    During that period the application is still 'live' as an option to appeal is still open.

what load of bull****...
    Its not a coolinf off period, the application isn't final yet. It is open to objections and it is live. This was alreay mentioned on this thread.

edit. em, snap

I'm not judging but how much imput into the house design did you have.
    If the proposal for the elevations was the architects call then definately they are to blame, the design guidelines are brief but they are hard to get wrong, vertically emphasise windows, traditional features, blend the house into the landscape etc.

If however you made the call on the house type then...............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Why didn't the PA send a Request for Further Information? Thats the norm in Cork when the planners aren't happy with a design.

Spoke with my architect who's well pissed off with them on this one...

in fairness, some of the features they're refusing is bull****!
    hexagonal sun rooms, disproportionate wall to roof ratio, bay windows, etc...
    then you drive around the area and see houses with all these features and more???!
    I understand that these are within the county guidelines but it's one rule for one and one for another!
    I'm gonna try meet the planner, bring my architect and try negotiate some sort of agreement.
    hopefully we can come up with something more boring that takes their fancy...! :rolleyes:

thanks for all your advise and opinions.
    I have been reading them even though If I appear to re-iterate questions you have answered!!

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Why didn't the PA send a Request for Further Information? Thats the norm in Cork when the planners aren't happy with a design.

That's exactly what my architect said as well.
    He reckons it should not have been refused in this matter but a request for further info made...

Spoke with my architect who's well pissed off with them on this one...

in fairness, some of the features they're refusing is bull****!
    hexagonal sun rooms, disproportionate wall to roof ratio, bay windows, etc...
    then you drive around the area and see houses with all these features and more???!
    I understand that these are within the county guidelines but it's one rule for one and one for another!
    I'm gonna try meet the planner, bring my architect and try negotiate some sort of agreement.
    hopefully we can come up with something more boring that takes their fancy...! :rolleyes:

thanks for all your advise and opinions.
    I have been reading them even though If I appear to re-iterate questions you have answered!!

not wishing to sound in any way downputting but.

what youve described above is almost exactly what your architect should not have included in the 'design'.....

the argument that:
    then you drive around the area and see houses with all these features and more???
    is a non-argument. the council will always that they will not repeat the mistakes of the past.

features such as splayed bay windows in a non-gabled context, hipped roof over sun room, too much roof to wall ratio etc..... tend to complicate elevations and create fussy forms.

simplicity does not necessarily mean 'boring'..... the talent of your architect does...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,545 ✭✭✭✭muffler

I agree entirely with syds points.

Did your architect even suggest to you at the outset that you may have problems with this particular design?

Again back to my original point. Who designed the elevations? you or your architect (not much of an architect if they are pushing out that sh!t)?
    those points you mentioned would be an immediate further Information around here and request for change of house design at least, if not a refusal. That is not architecture that is creating a rectangle and adding elements in a Mr. Potatohead fashion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭archtech

Totally agree with the last posters.
    He reckons it should not have been refused in this matter but a request for further info made...

It's about time Planning Authorities started refusing application for poor design or design that doesn't reflect the County's rural design guidelines, if the Planning Authority is serious about implementing its guidelines. They have to start somewhere, its unfortunate that you were one of those that it effected.

Your designer, should have been familiar with the council's guidelines and should have advised you that your design may not be acceptable, if s/he was any good, if you were not prepared to listen, well that's your problem.
    hopefully we can come up with something more boring that takes their fancy...!

Good design isn't boring and most council's rural guidelines leave loads of scope for, far from boring houses to be designed.

Here is a pointer in the direction of good designs, that can also be simple, suitable for rural surroundings.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_designs#Episode_list

Have a flick through them. Bare in mind that they are not all good. Some are poorly designed, abd others while good will nor suit a rural context.

But there are a number of farmhouse, country house, local sourced houses in there that are good. Simple forms to the outside, good layouts inside.

Don't get bogged down in the external. The inside is more important, you will spend more time here. You wouldn't buy a flashy car with a tacky interior, or sexy shoes that weren't comfortable (ladies excluded).
    Work with a suitable form, and concentrate on a great interior

not wishing to sound in any way downputting but.

what youve described above is almost exactly what your architect should not have included in the 'design'.....

the argument that:
    is a non-argument. the council will always that they will not repeat the mistakes of the past.

features such as splayed bay windows in a non-gabled context, hipped roof over sun room, too much roof to wall ratio etc..... tend to complicate elevations and create fussy forms.

simplicity does not necessarily mean 'boring'..... the talent of your architect does...

The plans were bought online from a brochure as we felt we wanted to test the water first as it were to see how they'd react before splurging out on thousands of euros and end up getting nowhere.
    However the architect is based in Meath and he's very much aware of the guidelines they look for....
    But equally appreciates that you're entitled to have some elements kept within reason.

when you say the council will always make sure that they will not repeat the mistakes of the past.:
    The houses I refer to are brand new houses in the same area, not even a year or two old???!
    surely that's not the past??
    I take all your points on board lads and I'm prepared to do what they want within reason to get this house built...

Mellor wrote: »
    Here is a pointer in the direction of good designs, that can also be simple, suitable for rural surroundings.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Grand_designs#Episode_list

Have a flick through them. Bare in mind that they are not all good. Some are poorly designed, abd others while good will nor suit a rural context.

But there are a number of farmhouse, country house, local sourced houses in there that are good. Simple forms to the outside, good layouts inside.

Don't get bogged down in the external. The inside is more important, you will spend more time here. You wouldn't buy a flashy car with a tacky interior, or sexy shoes that weren't comfortable (ladies excluded).
    Work with a suitable form, and concentrate on a great interior

points duly noted... thanks.
    I have a very fussy mrs though, who i'm still trying to convince of the above points ^.

Here's the thing folks.

My architect is more than eager to attend any meeting with me and the planners.
    He understands there's guidelines to be followed, i.e. the cork design rule book.
    But he also feels certain aspects that I was refused on is downright stupid.
    How and ever the plan did have hipped roof over sun room and bay windows which from reading your posts now feel that my designer could have at least warned me about these features!!
    He feels that we should sort out the roof, even off all the eaves in the house but at the same time we should meet them half way. i.e. keep the sun-room in some form and possibly the front protrusions.

Do you think I should simply attend this meeting and agree 100% with whatever the planner suggests ? after all.... they are dudes who do the granting!

or/and

Allow the architect to negotiate certain aspects of the design, meeting them "half-way" in some sense?

points duly noted... thanks.
    I have a very fussy mrs though, who i'm still trying to convince of the above points ^.

Here's the thing folks.

My architect is more than eager to attend any meeting with me and the planners.
    He understands there's guidelines to be followed, i.e. the cork design rule book.
    But he also feels certain aspects that I was refused on is downright stupid.
    How and ever the plan did have hipped roof over sun room and bay windows which from reading your posts now feel that my designer could have at least warned me about these features!!
    He feels that we should sort out the roof, even off all the eaves in the house but at the same time we should meet them half way. i.e. keep the sun-room in some form and possibly the front protrusions.

Do you think I should simply attend this meeting and agree 100% with whatever the planner suggests ? after all.... they are dudes who do the granting!

or/and

Allow the architect to negotiate certain aspects of the design, meeting them "half-way" in some sense?

You really dont want to end up with a mix-n-match or architectural styles. Your house should not be designed 'by committee'.

The house should be designed to fully reflect the vernacular architecture. As above posters have stated, the Cork Rural design Guidelines is an excellent starting point for design.

You stated you purchased the plans online.
    What did your architect do for you?? did he redraw theses plan with some changes??

As far as i know there is no web site that sells 'vernacular architectured' plans for certain areas of ireland.. ie vernacular in Galway is different from vernacular in the midlands etc.. Ive only ever seen with the word 'irish' in the title of one web site, and some of the plans available on there are not what planners would consider good design.

You really dont want to end up with a mix-n-match or architectural styles. Your house should not be designed 'by committee'.

The house should be designed to fully reflect the vernacular architecture. As above posters have stated, the Cork Rural design Guidelines is an excellent starting point for design.

You stated you purchased the plans online.
    What did your architect do for you?? did he redraw theses plan with some changes??

As far as i know there is no web site that sells 'vernacular architectured' plans for certain areas of ireland.. ie vernacular in Galway is different from vernacular in the midlands etc.. Ive only ever seen with the word 'irish' in the title of one web site, and some of the plans available on there are not what planners would consider good design.

To be honest, I bought the plans quite early on in my application was somewhat oblivious to alot of this stuff.
    He did make changes but these were changes I wanted and not changes that might be appropriate for houses for this particular county.
    I'm guessing he should have at least pointed these things out to me at least and let me decide, but he didn't.

p.s you haven't answered my question?!

Look up the design guide in Cork co co's web site and that will give you an idea as to what type of house design will be acceptable

The local guidelines here in Donegal are very much the same and can be viewed here

muffler wrote: »
    Look up the design guide in Cork co co's web site and that will give you an idea as to what type of house design will be acceptable

The local guidelines here in Donegal are very much the same and can be viewed here

Cheers, do u have a link to the Cork Guide, I'm trying to find it here on the site (without success)
    I believe it can be bought for 20squids in Easons?

Cheers, do u have a link to the Cork Guide, I'm trying to find it here on the site (without success)
    I believe it can be bought for 20squids in Easons?
    Here you go

It is very very rare to get a house REFUSED on design. It usually comes in the form of an FI question or at least a planning condition that revised elevations be submitted. I know that certain LA planning depts are starting to take this approach and quite frankly I agree.

It seems obvious to me that your particular council are taking this action for a reason. If it is a statement on the part of the planner or the department then there will not be a halfway point as this particular application is probably in the limelight already. Forget your half rate architect, find a design that is NOT the same as the ones around you that you keep reffering to. For this application to be granted you will have to play ball with the planner. For Gods sake you know the reason it was refused!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Find a real architect that will DESIGN you a house that is either contemporary or traditional that will still fill your brief. If you are adventurous you can still have an interresting design without tacky add-ons.

If we all had the same approach as you the only cars on the road would be totota corollas, sensible and boring.

muffler wrote: »

excellent.... thanks!

250882 wrote: »
    It is very very rare to get a house REFUSED on design. It usually comes in the form of an FI question or at least a planning condition that revised elevations be submitted. I know that certain LA planning depts are starting to take this approach and quite frankly I agree.

It seems obvious to me that your particular council are taking this action for a reason. If it is a statement on the part of the planner or the department then there will not be a halfway point as this particular application is probably in the limelight already. Forget your half rate architect, find a design that is NOT the same as the ones around you that you keep reffering to. For this application to be granted you will have to play ball with the planner. For Gods sake you know the reason it was refused!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Find a real architect that will DESIGN you a house that is either contemporary or traditional that will still fill your brief. If you are adventurous you can still have an interresting design without tacky add-ons.

If we all had the same approach as you the only cars on the road would be totota corollas, sensible and boring.

Take it easy there....
    I appreciate everyone's advice, but you just sound like you have a chip on your shoulder mate!
    I have at least two friends who have totally different architects and have been "refused" yes refused on the very same grounds that I was.
    One has since been granted his permission using the same architect to begin with, the other is still in waiting...
    so there you go, that's somewhat proof that even though different people are taking different approaches all striving towards the guidelines, the council are still willing to pull people up initially on design aspects.
    Anyway, I started this thread looking for advice on the issue I have, I didn't start it to have someone come in and almost take an aggressive stance towards me.
    Thanks everyone for your knowledge.
    Mods you can delete this thread now if you wish, in case someone has a hernia....

Sorry if I came across harsh (and appologies to all toyota corolla drivers). The office I am in doesnt design standard houses and we have a high success rate in planning because of it. I personally stay out of the design process but I know that the planners are a lot more approachable to us because our designs are site specific and because we wont apply for planning unless the site is suitable.
    As you've probably seen from my previous rants I hate standard houses because they are destroying our countryside and you now have the oppertunity to design a house that will add to the scenic value of your area not detract from it!!!

Sorry if I came across harsh (and appologies to all toyota corolla drivers). The office I am in doesnt design standard houses and we have a high success rate in planning because of it. I personally stay out of the design process but I know that the planners are a lot more approachable to us because our designs are site specific and because we wont apply for planning unless the site is suitable.
    As you've probably seen from my previous rants I hate standard houses because they are destroying our countryside and you now have the oppertunity to design a house that will add to the scenic value of your area not detract from it!!!

I'm an absolute novice in the whole design, planning game etc...
    (in case you haven't noticed!)
    However I am learning more and more every day.
    I would build any house to make it fit in with the landscape, I just didn't realize my plan had such a "suburban" look to it.
    I'm gonna change my plan now to suit whatever the planners want.
    However I don't feel I should just drop something like a sunroom seen as the countryside is littered with them!!
    I'll probably have to square it off and maybe even off the roof to make it look like it's more part of the house...
    this is where the negotiations come into play i guess?!

Most people are more comfortable with the standard generic house as they think a contemporary house is too big or too expensive or just too mad for them. but in reality you could vastly improve the house with simple design changes like making the windows more vertical, putting in sloping soffitts instead of boxed gables, using timber instaed of Upvc, and most importantly (and often overlooked) landscaping the site. dont put it on top of the hill, shelter it with trees and planting all around the house not just the back and sides. There are some fantastic looking houses in the Cork Design guidelines that the planners could not refuse, try and fit your floor plan into one of those.

It is very very rare to get a house REFUSED on design. It usually comes in the form of an FI question or at least a planning condition that revised elevations be submitted.
    I would say it varies from one PA to the other and it depends on the individual planners. i have seen them granted/refused/F.I'd/conditioned here in Donegal. If your firm does work in every local authority area in Ireland then you have the right to make that staement but if you are talking about dealing with only a couple of them then you should state so and not be making wild sweeping statements that may or may not have any relevance to the OPs situation.

Forget your half rate architect, find a design that is NOT the same as the ones around you that you keep reffering to. For this application to be granted you will have to play ball with the planner. For Gods sake you know the reason it was refused!!!!!!!!!!!!!. Find a real architect that will DESIGN you a house that is either contemporary or traditional that will still fill your brief. If you are adventurous you can still have an interresting design without tacky add-ons.

I think you need to take a deep breath and bear in mind that the OP has clearly stated that he is new to this and looking for advice. He hasnt come here to be put down.
    Sorry if I came across harsh (and appologies to all toyota corolla drivers).
    Yes you were harsh and no need for the jibes.

The office I am in doesnt design standard houses and we have a high success rate in planning because of it. I personally stay out of the design process but I know that the planners are a lot more approachable to us because our designs are site specific and because we wont apply for planning unless the site is suitable.
    So your firm looks at the site and if its not suitable for your type of design you wont touch it.? have to say thats a first for me.

You hate "standard houses". Well I have news for you - some people love them and again its down to interpretation of "standard". If these so called standard houses are destroying our countryside then surely you should direct your rants at the people responsible - the planners and not at someone who is new to all of this.

Can I just ask all of you here to be a wee bit more sympathetic towards users here who are posting looking for a bit of help or advice. Advice can be given and points made in an amicable fashion.

Thanks Muffler...

I posted on here last Summer when I was at the very early stages of my planning application and I have to say it was a little less hostile back then!

Thanks Muffler...

I posted on here last Summer when I was at the very early stages of my planning application and I have to say it was a little less hostile back then!
    Yeah I recall that.

I can understand that each and everyone of us have our own pet hates and of course we all have the odd bad day too and that definitely includes myself ;) and while I dont want to be seen as being harsh or nit picking in this thread I do want to request that the regular contributers here be a wee bit more subtle in their approach when replying to genuine queries from users like yourself who are looking for some plain old simple advice.

Folks,

I just spoke to the planner who refused my application.
    He advised me that although I wasn't going to appeal his decision but rather adjust the design accordingly, I would have to ring him close to the 4 week end date and arrange a meeting.
    Alternatively after 3 weeks I could email him computer generated images on one or two plans as well as sending in plans after 3 weeks and he'd be able to advise me on them.
    I spoke to my architect who's gonna draw me up one or two images/plans but is still eager to have a meeting with this guy.

what advice can anyone give my situation :confused:

Folks,

I just spoke to the planner who refused my application.
    He advised me that although I wasn't going to appeal his decision but rather adjust the design accordingly, I would have to ring him close to the 4 week end date and arrange a meeting.
    Alternatively after 3 weeks I could email him computer generated images on one or two plans as well as sending in plans after 3 weeks and he'd be able to advise me on them.
    I spoke to my architect who's gonna draw me up one or two images/plans but is still eager to have a meeting with this guy.

what advice can anyone give my situation :confused:
    That looks a wee bit more positive. I have found that if you can arrange to meet the planner on site then it goes a long way to sorting put any outstanding issues. Like you said get a couple of drafts prepared first and work with the planner and certainly not against him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 -unlaoised-

hi kormak,
    as the planning application was only refused on the house type, i'm sure you could email him plans etc and get the new application kick started that way.
    otherwise you will need to wait for the next available pre planning clinc in meath.
    The dates, times, and locations of the March, 2008 Clinics are as below. The telephone number of the
    Area Offices is also given to enable persons ring up to make an appointment or to have the local needs
    form sent out. The web address is www.meath.ie.

Kells, 046 - 9240076/9240064, Thursday 27th March, 11am to 1pm

Trim, 046 - 9431239/9431682, Wednesday 12th March, 10 am to 12.30 pm

Dunshaughlin, 01 - 8011100, Wednesday 5th March, 10 am to 12.30 pm

Duleek One Stop Shop, 041- 9880700/8, Thursday 27th March , 10 am to 12.30 pm

Navan, 046 - 9097000, Thursday 27th March, 10 am to 12.30 pm

I would imagine the above clinics are full, you will need to keep an eye on the meath co co website for next available clinic and book in as soon as you see it. they fill up pretty fast!

Cheers lads,

I advised my architect to draw up a couple of new designs and to stick to the guidelines as much as possible.
    If I feel they're worthy enough I might email them onto the planner and also try get a meeting with him the following week.
    I would like to sit down and meet him with my architect and hammer out the best possible approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Villain

Just one small point to remember, depending on the council you are applying to and the number of planners etc pre-planning meetings won't always turn out to be what happens.

E.g Carlow County Council have an open hour every Tuesday for pre-planning meetings first come first served. I attended one last year with a front elevation and site map. I was told that design looked good and there shouldn't be any problems. The only thing they said was to make sure the ridge to ground height was below 7m. So I went with a design which hade a ridge height of 6.9 and guess what one of the conditions of my planning was? Reduce ridge height to 6.5m

Just be careful not to take as gospel what is said in pre-planning meetings.