Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So Who's Coming To Breffni On Saturday?

• 26-02-2008 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭

Cavan vs. Dublin. How many of ye are making the trip down lads??

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Would like to make the trip but all accomodation booked out. Looks like there is a big crowd travelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 311 ✭✭Skyhater

Game is being shown live on Setanta.... Good to see a Div2 game being shown.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I should be there... The true blues to win by a comfortable scoreline of 1-15 to 0-11. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,742 ✭✭✭blackbelt

I should be there along with Flukey,not sure about Nalced but Popebenny should be up from Tipp and his mates from Dublin.One or two of my friends should be going too.Not sure how we are getting up but I might drive up.

The Dubs to win by 6 points IMO.:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 238 ✭✭GalwayDub2

I wont make it up on sat night :mad: Will deffo be able to watch it on Setanta though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,461 ✭✭✭popebenny16

blackbelt wrote: »
    I should be there along with Flukey,not sure about Nalced but Popebenny should be up from Tipp and his mates from Dublin.One or two of my friends should be going too.Not sure how we are getting up but I might drive up.

The Dubs to win by 6 points IMO.:D

One of the mates being Mullet, BB. Havent figured out how I'm getting there, and yes, Mrs PB16 has not been informed yet so this is all up in 'tair, but I am driving and if I go via Dub I can pick ye all up in my bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,255 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Skyhater wrote: »
    Game is being shown live on Setanta.... Good to see a Div2 game being shown.

Cavan do draw a crowd.... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

We'll be there Lemlin.

Popebenny wrote:
    Mrs PB16 has not been informed yet so this is all up in 'tair,

You can tell her on Sunday. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,715 ✭✭✭Nalced_irl

Ill wait and see if i get paid by tomorrow. If i do i might make it up but if not it would be unlikely. Ill let yis know asap.

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Ill wait and see if i get paid by tomorrow. If i do i might make it up but if not it would be unlikely. Ill let yis know asap.

And here was me thinking you were a true blue Dub fan ;)

A trip to Cavan is about €16 return on the bus. Match ticket will be about ten or fifteen euro. That's probably less than all of those championship tickets you managed to afford for Croker last year :D

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 235 ✭✭Mullet

Lemlin wrote: »

A trip to Cavan is about €16 return on the bus. Match ticket will be about ten or fifteen euro. That's probably less than all of those championship tickets you managed to afford for Croker last year :D

Last bus back is 8pm so unless your driving you would have to fork out for a nights accomodation but every were is booked out so peoples options are limited

Are there none of our country cousins travelling to see their teams play in the league? It seems we are the only county that travel to league games in large numbers.

I'm not so sure if I'll be able to drive up myself now....the joys of being a poor student without his own car but if I can I will unless me and Flukey can hitch a lift from you Popebenny.Bus service to/from Cavan is piss poor.Anyway,I'm working at 4am Sunday but will be going up hell or high water.I'll be going into work locked thats for sure,straight from the pub.Thats dedication for you.

1.Bus service to/from Cavan is sh1te.Last bus back to Dublin at 8pm.There is no way we'd go up and watch the first half and leg it back to the bus station.As Mullet said,there is no accomodation available.I'd say a large crowd are coming up from Dublin alright.(I may have to revive this thread as proof come the championship)

2.What will be the student rate for a ticket?...hope yee Cavan folk at the turnstiles aren't stingey.

3.Might be less than his spending on matches for Croker last year but circumstances can change.I'm sure Nalced will try his best to make it up or maybe he's saving to go to all the matches in Croker in advance.:D

Sorry Nalced hasn't posted in a while.I forgot the password for that profile.:D:D:D

Im out of work tho Lemlin so its still a fair bit for me. If we can sort out a lift i will be able to go id say. bb, you have my mobile number so when you know the story, give us a buzz and hopefully i shall be gracing the terraces of Breffni also :)

Plans are well advanced now, so while some won't make it, there will definitely be Dublin representation from this board in Breffni Park.:)

Look out Cavan, here we come. :D

Ill be gracing my sittingroom couch to watch it on the box instead but hopefully a good match will be on the cards. Flukey and BB, enjoy the day and dont drink too much ;) Hopefully ill see yis later on tonight for a few beverages.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭Saibh

cavan to win by 2 points!!

cavan 0-5 dublin 0-5

first half nearly over

Fairly horrible conditions for a game. Id say the lads are getting good and wet in the terrace tonight somehow!

plenty of drinks in the pubs after... :D

Not the best game of footie i have seen by a long way. Alot of mistakes on both sides. The weather would have played a part in that tho. Could have been closer but after the goal Cavan started to lose the head a bit. Had their attempt straight after gone in it could have been an interesting last 10 mins also.

another typical Dublin League performance. when they were bothered they got going and won it, despite the conditions, interesting how they didnt switch Henry despite the roasting he was getting.

Cavan were first to a lot of ball, were very committed and seemed like a team with pride and determination.

Ref let a lot go in first half and decided to yellow card anyone who looked crooked at each other towards the end, which sort of ruined things given the conditions.

Nalced_irl wrote: »
    Fairly horrible conditions for a game. Id say the lads are getting good and wet in the terrace tonight somehow!

As we left a somewhat overcast mild Dublin,we were in high spirits.Having crossed the border into Meath,the weather suddenly deteriorated going through Dunshaughlin,Navan.The weather was still bad as we got to Cavan.

After finding a parking space with relative ease,we descended on Breffni with the rain in our faces.We entered the stadium where upon we paid our entrance fee and given a 50s style cinema/bingo docket and faced another turnstile to produce the said docket.

The rain kept coming like a hose on spray and the wind was terrible.There were more Dublin supporters there than Cavan fans but they seemed to be louder.Conditions were terrible and we didn't expect great quality football.

With a shaky first half,it looked a bit dodgey but the lads chipped away at Cavans surprising 4 point lead..4 of the 5 were frees mind you.I thought Shane Ryan stood out the most throughout the match.Good to see Whelan come back and catch a ball 10 seconds after being introduced.

Breffni is large pitch,nice facilities but the weather didn't help the cause or do the stadium any justice.The rain stopped periodically at half time and started again when the second half started.Much better 2nd half from the Dubs.Solid defense.

However,we didn't play well and kicked stray balls into Cavan.This is the third time runnning we have done this.We did it against Westmeath,Longford and now Cavan.We'll take into account the horrible conditions though.It would have been far from their best on both sides.I thought Cavan made better use of the conditions and the referee in the first half.Lot of bookings on the Cavan team in the 2nd.

After seeing out the Dubs win reasonably comfortably,we turned and got out of dodge (Cavan) :p Having put on speedy legs,we sped down the road to the shopping centre where we parked.The car roared once we got past the roundabout and we never looked back.:) Having had a really good run,the car stopped for the first time in Navan.Interestingly enough,the weather was worse when we crossed the border into Meath again.After seein the Fingal County Council,we let out a sigh of relief.A good night was had by all even though we got p1ssed on.

Did you go to the game Lemlin...what did you think?:D:D:D

He's gone quiet, as predicted. Not a good night for Cavan. A Dubliner even won the draw for the Cavan hurling board raffle. :D

Did you go to the game Lemlin...what did you think?:D:D:D

maybe he met the cavan manager donal keoghan who runs the imperial bar!:D

Ciarán Whelan made his return to the Dublin team in the second half. The Dublin team and fans were delighted to see him. The Cavan team were also delighted to see him. He had hardly arrived on the pitch when several of them jumped on him.

Flukey wrote: »
    He's gone quiet, as predicted. Not a good night for Cavan. A Dubliner even won the draw for the Cavan hurling board raffle. :D

Nah, just busy recuperating from a pretty bad hangover. In all fairness why would I be quiet, I fully expected Dublin to team. Cavan are a poor team and a poor team need a good manager to pull off shock results, and Cavan have far from a good manager.

Pity about the weather. There would have been a far bigger crowd at the match had we had today's sunny weather.

Cavan were poor and, as always, relied too heavily on Johnston. The backline did well and at least it looks like it may be sorted. Now we just need to get another decent forward or two and we could make a stab at making an Ulster semi-final and perhaps a few games in the back door like 2005.

Dublin still don't look like a team capable of winning the All-Ireland. I'm glad Cavan are playing teams like them though because it'll give the team vital experience coming into the championship to be playing quality sides like Dublin, Monaghan and Cork.

The biographical post was hugely entertaining btw Blackbelt, as good as ever :P

Ciarán Whelan made his return to the Dublin team in the second half. The Dublin team and fans were delighted to see him. The Cavan team were also delighted to see him. He had hardly arrived on the pitch when several of them jumped on him.

He was also happy to get to know Cunningham by hopping on him.

And where have we seen a team giving a player a welcome like that before? 2001 and the Dubs gave Maurice Fitz a fine welcome in Thurles I think. I suppose its okay for the Dubs to try and intimidate a player coming onto the pitch but not Cavan?

Pity about the weather. There would have been a far bigger crowd at the match had we had today's sunny weather.

The real fans came out though, some from a good way away.

I wouldn't call Dublin to Cavan a long trip. Some people do it every day of the week Flukey. Its about two hours at most, and that's with bad traffic.

As far as that goes anyway, there are nearly as many Dubs in Cavan now as there are Cavan people, ye are being run out of your own county, but that's one for the politics or cultural forum ;)

Nah, just busy recuperating from a pretty bad hangover. In all fairness why would I be quiet, I fully expected Dublin to team. Cavan are a poor team and a poor team need a good manager to pull off shock results, and Cavan have far from a good manager.

Cavan were poor and, as always, relied too heavily on Johnston. The backline did well and at least it looks like it may be sorted. Now we just need to get another decent forward or two and we could make a stab at making an Ulster semi-final and perhaps a few games in the back door like 2005.

Dublin still don't look like a team capable of winning the All-Ireland. I'm glad Cavan are playing teams like them though because it'll give the team vital experience coming into the championship to be playing quality sides like Dublin, Monaghan and Cork.

I wouldnt be able to comment on the All Ireland with regards to Dublin just yet. They are in an experimental phase at the moment i think so the players we see on the pitch at the moment wont neccessarily be the same come the championship. As ive been saying for the last few years, i think we are almost within touching distance of it but there still seems to be something missing. The ball into the forwards was terrible yesterday for one. Id say more than 50% of the ball went straight into the hands of a Cavan defender. Alot of handling errors however that was on both sides due to the weather. Henry was simply run rings around for the game. Certainly not his best effort. B Brogan is looking better every game and i think he could really lift the team come the champo.

Funny you say that,I fully expected Dublin to team too even though we didn't play like a team at times.We are not Cork and we do team without quarrel or BS.:D:D

Yes,pity about the weather.I missed the opportunity to have some banter with the Cavan sunshine supporters.The terrace (opposite the stand) where we were mainly consisted of Dubs.On the terrace behind the goal on the N3 side,was nearly all Dublin.Lots of Dublin flags blocking the view of the scoreboard at times.Seems that most of the noise Cavan made came from the stand and even that contained a lot of Dubs.I'll miss the argument i have every summer with you about Dublin sunshine supporters.I guess Saturday night was the night you found out that 6,000 (or more) true Dublin fans turned up at Breffni when a lot of Cavan fans were guilty of no-showing.I would have been embarassed for my county's showing if I was from Cavan.

Its funny how you go on about your backline and how it "may" have been sorted.Against Monaghan,that back-line was torn to shreds and conceded 2-12,slipped a lead and lost to Armagh and again last night were exposed.Hannon and Fannin are the only two regulars in the Cavan defense.Otherwise,that back line is so subject to changes and rotation that there is no consistency.Thats far from sorted I can tell you.However,they did play well being first to a lot of ball in the 1st half.Looks like Keoghan doesn't know what to do in that department and is simply throwing the dice a la Benitez.

Dublin don't look like a team capable of winning an All-Ireland?This is some U-turn you have made since the Summer.Do I think we are...yes.Do I think we will win it in 2008...its a high possibility but I can't see anybody touching Kerry and Monaghan and Derry look dangerous as they had been last year.Its still very early in the season.We just came into March and have blooded new players in the past 7 weeks such as Fennell,McManamon,McMahon,Murray,O Mahoney and co.I see this new crop of players as the guys that can be called on in a semi-final from the bench to contribute.Fennell is warming up to take Ciaran Whelans place when he goes and if you have seen him,you'll know he's a hot prospect for the future in Dublin.We're not playing particularly great but we're still getting the right results and I'm confident that as the league goes on,we'll see better performances against Monaghan,Armagh and Meath.

I'm glad that you found my "autobiographical" post entertaining.I can guarantee you it didn't nearly match the entertainment value we derived from last nights match.:D:D:D

BB, to be fair its obvious that Lemin tried to type "I expected Dublin to win" but his mind would not allow him to physically type out the word, hence Team. Could have been "mother" or "Jung" but still, you know.

As for another biographical BB post, well, Lemin, you don't have to suffer his texts. All I can say is that he feels more secure in a Dublin urinal than a Cavan one :D

As for the match...... well, as donegal showed us last year (sorry Smashie) you cannot tell who will win the AI in Feb/March and to me when Dublin actually decided they wanted to win, they did, very much like a heat in the track races at the Olympics.

Funny you say that,I fully expected Dublin to team too even though we didn't play like a team at times.We are not Cork and we do team without quarrel or BS.:D:D

Yes,pity about the weather.I missed the opportunity to have some banter with the Cavan sunshine supporters.The terrace (opposite the stand) where we were mainly consisted of Dubs.On the terrace behind the goal on the N3 side,was nearly all Dublin.Lots of Dublin flags blocking the view of the scoreboard at times.Seems that most of the noise Cavan made came from the stand and even that contained a lot of Dubs.I'll miss the argument i have every summer with you about Dublin sunshine supporters.I guess Saturday night was the night you found out that 6,000 (or more) true Dublin fans turned up at Breffni when a lot of Cavan fans were guilty of no-showing.I would have been embarassed for my county's showing if I was from Cavan.

Its funny how you go on about your backline and how it "may" have been sorted.Against Monaghan,that back-line was torn to shreds and conceded 2-12,slipped a lead and lost to Armagh and again last night were exposed.Hannon and Fannin are the only two regulars in the Cavan defense.Otherwise,that back line is so subject to changes and rotation that there is no consistency.Thats far from sorted I can tell you.However,they did play well being first to a lot of ball in the 1st half.Looks like Keoghan doesn't know what to do in that department and is simply throwing the dice a la Benitez.

Dublin don't look like a team capable of winning an All-Ireland?This is some U-turn you have made since the Summer.Do I think we are...yes.Do I think we will win it in 2008...its a high possibility but I can't see anybody touching Kerry and Monaghan and Derry look dangerous as they had been last year.Its still very early in the season.We just came into March and have blooded new players in the past 7 weeks such as Fennell,McManamon,McMahon,Murray,O Mahoney and co.I see this new crop of players as the guys that can be called on in a semi-final from the bench to contribute.Fennell is warming up to take Ciaran Whelans place when he goes and if you have seen him,you'll know he's a hot prospect for the future in Dublin.We're not playing particularly great but we're still getting the right results and I'm confident that as the league goes on,we'll see better performances against Monaghan,Armagh and Meath.

I'm glad that you found my "autobiographical" post entertaining.I can guarantee you it didn't nearly match the entertainment value we derived from last nights match.:D:D:D

Apologies for the typo, I meant to say win as you know yourself.

The reference to the weather was that 15000 were expected for the game but alot did not turn up because of the poor weather. It was referring to Dublin as well as Cavan supporters because I know several people from both counties who didn't bother attending because of it.

And how exactly will you miss the argument about Dublin's sunshine supporters? You just saw proved my point there, 6,000 supporters (that's your stats) turn up for a game an hour down the road. Yet you'll have more than ten times that fighting for tickets come the Championship in Croker. And, as I've said above, I'd expect alot of Dub supporters at a game in Cavan. I see more Dublin jerseys in my local past Virginia than I do Cavan ones. Sure it was almost a home game for ye. As one Dub fan commented to me recently, she misses "Dublin football" in the Summer because she wouldn't go near Croke Park and the 'fans' in it. Her words, not mine.

Yes, I said it "may" have been sorted. Hence I am agreeing with exactly what you have said. It doesn't look ready for the Championship but at least it looks to be getting there. Thanks for agreeing with my point. As for rotation etc, that's mainly down to injuries and hopefully it should be sorted come Championship, I didn't say it was at any point.

I think Dublin can challenge. I said that last Summer. I also said they had to change a number of things if they wanted to win the Championship. Have they changed any of those? Perhaps some but not enough.

Pillar is still there and I have no confidence in him. The same backs are still struggling and aren't up to All-Ireland level. And yes, young players may be blooded but will they be used in the championship. Very few will and Dublin will trot out with the same twelve or so players, along with one or two new additions, that they start the Championship with every year and that haven't been good enough (as a team might I add, several are good enough players) for the past seven years.

Why Collie Moran is still playing is still beyond me. And, as I said last Summer, why are players like Dec Lally on the panel? What's the point of bringing him on for thirty seconds at the end? He's been on the panel for three or four years at least now and hasn't made the breakthrough. Why is he still there?

The same problems that were there are always going to stay until the management is changed I think. That's why Dublin will challenge for but won't win the All-Ireland IMO.

And Blackbelt, how you found that game highly entertaining is beyond me. It was pretty dreadful fare in some terrible weather.

And how exactly will you miss the argument about Dublin's sunshine supporters? You just saw proved my point there, 6,000 supporters (that's your stats) turn up for a game an hour down the road. Yet you'll have more than ten times that fighting for tickets come the Championship in Croker.

Im hoping this doesnt take the usual route to becoming a Just About Dublin thread but i have to say the above is no arguement. Take tonight. Manchester United playing a Champions League Knockout game. There were probably hundreds of thousands looking for tickets for that. When they go to play an away game against Derby do you expect that the same numbers will look for tickets? Is anyone who doesnt attend that match a sunshine fan? The simple fact, and it goes for all counties is that the league is a smaller affair and so not everyone will go to the games. Add to that the fact that championship games are on early whereas league games are late evening which means travel is affected a huge amount. Come the championship if Cavan get to play in Croker, do you not think a huge amount more will be looking for tickets to that also?

As for Dublin not being good enough yet for an AI, you could well be right but i think that can only be established closer to the championship.

Okay for the typo,I was just making fun.

I know people who didn't bother/couldn't turn up and they were from both counties.One of them being my lecturer from Cootehill who said all week he was going up from Dublin and then didn't due to the weather.All the Dubs I know that couldn't make it was due to the problem with transport or other reasons other than weather.

I know most of the Dubs weren't from local areas in Cavan.Accommodation had been booked out for weeks and that further prevented some people going up.Cavan is not one hour away.We made it back to Dublin in an hour and a half or hour and 40 and that was with no heavy coming back.

All I can say to those who didn't bother turning up because of weather is shame on them.As far as the argument about sunshine supporters is concerned,thousands of Dublin fans going up for a league game in terrible conditions and out-attending the home county says a lot.Dublin get singled out every championship for this somehow and you are one of those who come on to argue it.I fully acknowledge that Dublin does and always will have sunshine supporters but this BS which is spouted about Dublin and their away travelling fans is nonsense and I think you can now say that the turnout by the Dubs fans last Saturday served as proof.

I'll fully expect a lot of Dubs in Crossmaglen for the Armagh match.

As for your point on me agreeing with you,that wasn't the point because I wasn't agreeing with you.I think there is no "may" about it.I'd expect to see a completely different Cavan back line or a rotated one that will differ a lot from last Saturday in the next games.Fair enough,you lost against the best teams in the league but if I were you,I'd wait until the Meath and Roscommon games.Aside from injuries,given the resources Cavan have,there has to be some consistency with the defenders they have.Shuffling a full back into the half back line is throwing the dice.

If Dublin are to win the Championship,its because they played like a team and kept their head in tight games.Pillar knows how to win Leinsters and quarter-finals but his main downfall is bringing on players who have either not had enough experience or have not played much in the league.Taking off Mossy Quinn and replacing him with Vaughan in 06 was a dreadful error.Vaughan had not played so much in the league and championship.Last year Cosgrove was brought on for Jayo as I remember.Another disasterous tactic that didn't pay off.

However,Pillar may see his errors on reflection and actually come up with a plan instead of waiting for the situation to arise.St Vincents being in the Club Championship will actually advantage the whole intercounty setup.Mossy Quinn who is well established is getting a lot of games while Vaughan has fitted into the Dublin mould.Instead of having one of them being inexperienced,we now have two well experienced players.Ger Brennan has to get his place in the team now.He'll fit in very well in the back-line and may be a solution to our problem we encounter in defense sometimes.

My main concern in defense is David Henry at the moment.Cahill is out injured until Friday and Paul Griffin is away on hols.Two regular backs out of commission and one not playing to his potential at the moment.I have a good feeling that defense line will improve drastically.

As for the match,well it may not have been the best quality football in crap conditions but the way both teams fought for the ball and scores was the real entertainment and I enjoyed it even if we didn't play particularly well.

Did you go to the game?