Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pearse Street Closed

• 26-02-2008 2:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭

Just to let people know, i work on Pearse street and the top half (near Trinity has been closed). Gardai are directing people away. We were told that some of the roof of the new Naughton institute came off.

They're just chcecking the roof is ok and it should open again soon but it'll cause some traffic for the next hour or two - just be warned if you're heading that way soon.

Apparently, kildare street is also closed. A colleague walked up there to get the bus and phoned to let us know. She said a bus had crashed. Not sure about this one but it won't help the traffic around Pearse Street anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,051 ✭✭✭trellheim

Kildare St is a Farmers Protest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhojauqlauau/

Pearse Street has just re-opened, but traffic will still be a bit mad. Be warned!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

All this havoc won't help Wibbler get home :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

watna wrote: »
    http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/mhojauqlauau/

Pearse Street has just re-opened, but traffic will still be a bit mad. Be warned!!

Bad news. This article says it's going to be closed for another few hours because attempts to make it safe failed due to weather conditions.

datk wrote: »
    Bad news. This article says it's going to be closed for another few hours because attempts to make it safe failed due to weather conditions.

Hmm, well we looked off the balcony and it seemed to have been re-opened, my manager also asked the guards as he had to get to a meeting and called to say it had reopened. This was only in the last 10 minutes or so. Even if it has reopened it's not moving. Avoid if possible.

My colleague saw it happen earlier. Some glass flew off the roof and hit a car:eek: It's so sad how you welcome drama in your work day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭datk

watna wrote: »
    Hmm, well we looked off the balcony and it seemed to have been re-opened, my manager also asked the guards as he had to get to a meeting and called to say it had reopened. This was only in the last 10 minutes or so. Even if it has reopened it's not moving. Avoid if possible.

My colleague saw it happen earlier. Some glass flew off the roof and hit a car:eek: It's so sad how you welcome drama in your work day!

AA Roadwatch is now saying it's re-opened but that it's a bit mad in the area.

I'll second that. My desk looks across the river to the IFSC and cars are crawling along the quays there too (yes more than usual!:))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭HydeRoad

Three obstructions today.

First Pearse Street closed because of the part of the building collapsing.

Second the farmer's protest.

Third, some stupid woman driver in an SUV drove too close to a bus in Nassau Street and there was a small impact, holding up the whole of Nassau Street for ages while she danced around on her mobile phone...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 997 ✭✭✭Colm R

I work on Sir John Rogerson Quay, normally a rat run for drivers to avoid Pearse St. Its mental outside @ 17:05, some 30 minutes after Pearse reopened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,883 ✭✭✭Poxyshamrock

Traffic seems to be ok now

http://www.crann.tcd.ie/feed.php?cam=3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Gekko

What a joke this was. They probably closed Pearse St for fear of people claiming compensation rather than anything else if they got hit. And the building cost tens or hundreds of millions of euro to build.

I got a few hundred yards in a taxi and it cost me €10. Ended up having to get a dart across from Grand Canal Station to Connolly and then back to Pearse.

Then on my way home it took my bus one and a half hours to get as far as the N11 having left from Connolly, ie nearly 3 hours for my 45-50 mile journey back home. On a good day you can do this in an hour and 10 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,808 ✭✭✭Ste.phen

Conversely, I got a bus on pearse st just east of that building at about 6pm and flew home, seems everyone got the message about not using Pearse St but not the one about it being safe again :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,580 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Gekko wrote: »
    What a joke this was. They probably closed Pearse St for fear of people claiming compensation rather than anything else if they got hit.
    Or people could have been killed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭Wibbler

gurramok wrote: »
    All this havoc won't help Wibbler get home :D

LOL :D

Luckily (for small values of luck), I checked the AA Roadwatch site before leaving Sandyford and saw the heads up. Rather than do mortal combat at 0 km/h with half of Dublin, I opted for the M50 for my trip home to Swords. It only* took me 1 hour 45 minutes.

Regards.

* I guess I've lowered my expectations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,806 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

I noticed the close the road for safety, but not the DART line beside the building ???