Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quel Disastre!

• 25-02-2008 10:43am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭

Ugh, Im currently stranded in Nice Aiport. In Nice for a few days break and never set my watch/fone to french time. Had a flight home at 10am this morning. Left at 8am for the airport, got there at 8.30am and found it strange that the check in desk wasnt open. Then I remembered the time on my phone/watch was Irish time. Doh :(

So now Im after payng €400 to fly home at 3 with Aer Lingus. This fooking interweb and ****edup keyboard (the letters are all over the place and the numbers need caps on) is after costing me €10 for an hour! Im feeling some way between laughing and crying. I dont know which.

Au revoir and all that :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

That's not very.... Nice!!!!
    *Gets coat RUNS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,851 ✭✭✭Glowing

Click Alt+Shift to get the EN keyboard settings ......

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Ha! :p

Bloody foreigners and thier funny time.

Mike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

Zut! alors! mon dieu! le chat mange le pamplemousse! prends moi maintenant!

em... Sorry to hear that. *pat pat* Azerty keyboards do suck a whole load of balls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭LadyJ

Sh!tbuzz tbh....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

Glowing wrote: »
    Click Alt+Shift to get the EN keyboard settings ......

Im just after looking..... Theres no fooking alt! And having the Q where the A should be is fierce annoying. Im just after being charged €3.70 for a can of coke. Talk about kicking you when youre down....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,182 ✭✭✭Genghiz Cohen

cson wrote: »
    Im just after being charged €3.70 for a can of coke.

If there were ever an excuse for a bloody rampage....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭Ginger

You know, if you used the autoupdate feature on your phone this never would have happened..

No matter how well you train people, they still get it wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,762 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Ginger wrote: »
    You know, if you used the autoupdate feature on your phone this never would have happened..

No matter how well you train people, they still get it wrong

Seconded. I blame Ryanair. At least the coked was cheaper than in a cinema...

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,153 ✭✭✭ronano

pft accept it and don't dwell on it,i did something as stupid few weeks ago,booked flight from bristol to dublin rather than dublin to bristol. Turned up to airport with passport in hand <\3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Ugh, Im currently stranded in Nice Aiport. In Nice for a few days break and never set my watch/fone to french time. Had a flight home at 10am this morning. Left at 8am for the airport, got there at 8.30am and found it strange that the check in desk wasnt open. Then I remembered the time on my phone/watch was Irish time. Doh :(

So now Im after payng €400 to fly home at 3 with Aer Lingus. This fooking interweb and ****edup keyboard (the letters are all over the place and the numbers need caps on) is after costing me €10 for an hour! Im feeling some way between laughing and crying. I dont know which.

bwahahahahahahahaha. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Sucks balls man. An extra €410 to the cost of a holiday? Ouch!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

least ya got a trip to Nice. who cares if ur a few hours late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,931 ✭✭✭togster

That does suck balls man. Meh it'll probably never happen to you again. I did the same thing before. Well i went to the wrong airport in a cab (50 e) then back to other airport (120 e) then new ticket 200e then i missed my connection flight (200+ e) not untill next morning so had to get a hotel room (70 e). Ball breaking but sure c'est la vie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,578 ✭✭✭Slutmonkey57b

Im just after looking..... Theres no fooking alt! And having the Q where the A should be is fierce annoying. Im just after being charged €3.70 for a can of coke. Talk about kicking you when youre down....

You're not "just after" doing anything. You "just looked" or "was just charged".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Now now! that bogger talk is grand if you are from the bog.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

Ah man, in '06 something like that happened to me and a few mates in Stanstead. We had to wait like ten hours. To top it all off my stupid friend got in a bit of trouble in the Irish bar and the security made him wait outside in the wind and rain for ****ing hours. As ya can guess most of us waited outside with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

heh heh ...Ireland on tour.

What a shower of wassicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 396 ✭✭funloving

Quel merde.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭RandolphEsq

I booked a flight to Nice for last Wed and a return flight for Sun morning for 35euro (incl. EVERYTHING). But I couldn't fly out on Wed so I booked a 1 way flight for Thurs morning instead (26.75euro for EVERYTHING). Pity I was too drunk to fly in the morning so I missed that flight. Lost 51euro in total. Ah well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,729 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Thats ok I nearly missed my flight Stateside over christmas because the timetables for JJ Kavanagh didn't use the 24 hour clock... Here I am thinking there was a 5am bus. Fortunately there was a real bus at 7, and I had already planned on getting there 4 hours before departure (I like wandering about)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

At least there were flights home. Feck it, at least you were somewhere with half-decent weather.
    I missed a flight last summer from Bucharest as I'd mixed up the going out and coming back times. there was not, needless to say, a replacement flight for many days...

Fetchez la vache.

Home just now after a bum numbing 4 hour bus journey into the bargain. Have to say, its great to have a qwerty keyboard again amongst other things. Bought an Indo on the way home and from reading it, we were pretty lucky Aer Lingus were flying at all today. Anyways, could be a lot worse. An expensive lesson in learning to set your watch and phone to the local time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

Terrible news cson, and the last thing Pighead wants to do is kick a man when he's down but "Quel disastre" is wrong. It should be "Quel Desastre" with an accent on the first e.

Now don't for a minute think Pigheads judging you or tut tutting. Mistakes happen, and to be fair you were panicking and probably out of your head with fear and worry but you know what the fcukers are like around here. Spelling this, punctuation that, wrong forum ya big eejit, you're foreign language skills are a bloody disgrace etc etc etc.

Anyway, bonne nuit mon beau petit coup de hache d'agneau.

Yeah I know, I was distressed when I wrote that thread title. Meh, it'll teach me to come on boards when I'm in a state. And of course teach me to come to the airport on time. Just one of those days. (Just after realising I also missed your 5000th Pighead, was it a corker? A detailed post incorporating the words "yore ma", "atari shaguar" and "salubrious"?)

What a fooking day, what a fooking day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Pighead

(Just after realising I also missed your 5000th Pighead, was it a corker? A detailed post incorporating the words "yore ma", "atari shaguar" and "salubrious"?)
    Ah Jesus ya missed out big time there buddy. Pighead threw out an absolute belter for his 5000th post. Spent a few days coming up with it as its not every day you reach the old 5000. Here it is in all its glory. The bit at the end about the "crappy nature of their pitch" still cracks Pighead up! Great days.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=55188062&postcount=9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭whatsgoinon

easy mistake to make their OP. A number of years ago, I was living in Madrid, mam and sister decide to come visit, after initial hooha of finding out when and what time they were arriving at, I just rocked up to the airport to check the arrival board for the (approximate) time I had been given. No flights arriving from shannon, me standing there scratching my head wondering what was going on. Wandered over to get a coffee, and have a smoke and who was sitting at the bar only mam and my sister. What a surprise says I, then got the story out of my sister about how they were lucky to be there at all.
    They had rocked up to the Air fungus desk, in shannon, tickets in hand, suitcases the works, and your man behind the desk takes the tickets, looks at them, breaks his shoite laughing, they were a full 24 hours late for their flight. As they hadn't shown up the day before, their return flight had also been cancelled, luckily there were seats available to get them home again. no extra charge though.

me, on a european weekend break, stopover in stanstead, says sure what harm will 1 more beer do... £80 for another ticket after missing the check in time for connecting flight even though i had been there a good 4 hours before hand. I was only after ringing my friend as well to say, i'll see you in a few hours...twasn't the only disaster on that little holiday either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭The Walsho

Quel dommage. Pamplemousse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭speaktofrank

Glad you got back ok OP, I don't know why you were charged 3.70 for a can of Coke, usually costs max €1 over here, unless you took it from the mini bar or something.....French keyboards are a pain, luckily hav my laptop :) And instead of waiting around, you could have got a train to Marseille or Milan and gone home the next day.
    Quel désastre and no I am not making fun of Pighead's grammar but surely it's your, not you're foreign language skills.