Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Improve everywhere freeze thing on grafton street today?

• 23-02-2008 7:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭

I read in the paper that there was supposed to be one of these at 4:00 today, did it happen? Any clips around of it?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23,556 ✭✭✭✭Sir Digby Chicken Caesar

there was a hugging thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

I was on Grafton at 4pm and it didn't seem to happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

I saw a clip of the one they did in Grand Central in New York. Everyone was taking photos (why??) and saying how cool it was.

If it happened in Dublin what do you think would happen?

janeybabe wrote: »
    I saw a clip of the one they did in Grand Central in New York. Everyone was taking photos (why??) and saying how cool it was.

Pickpocketing galore! Thats what I was gonna pretend to do for a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

A skanger would punch you in the face while you were standing still

PS - Its Improv Everywhere, rather than Improve.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭slipss

orestes wrote: »

i don't know, Grafton St has this kind of strange Bermuda Triangle thing going on, the normal laws of the universe are suspended, ever see those people covered in gold paint or glitter standing still at all times with a big hat of money infront of them, it never gets robbed. Musicians play music and no one tries to insult them. Anywhere else in Dublin and I agree with what you would think happen, but not on Grafton Street.

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Pickpocketing galore! Thats what I was gonna pretend to do for a laugh.

And the American tourists would take photos! Seriously, is the effect not lost in a still photo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,972 ✭✭✭orestes

And the American tourists would take photos! Seriously, is the effect not lost in a still photo?

Yes, but this is Americans you're talking about, they don't understand things like that. You can just imagine them showing the photos when they get home

Tourist: Look at the picture Bill, all those folks just standing still in the middle of the street, it was so strange!

Friend: Eh, it's a picture Tom, of course they are standing still

Tourist: No no no, the other people are moving, just some of them are standing still

Friend: You're making this up aren't you?

Tourist: No I'm not! I have proof that I'm not!

Friend: What proof?

Tourist: The pictures are proof!

Friend: You know it's because of people like you that everyone thinks American tourists are idiots

Yes, but this is Americans you're talking about, they don't understand things like that. You can just imagine them showing the photos when they get home

Tourist: Look at the picture Bill, all those folks just standing still in the middle of the street, it was so strange!

Tourist: No no no, the other people are moving, just some of them are standing still

Friend: You know it's because of people like you that everyone thinks American tourists are idiots

Disclaimer: Irish people might do this too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Numina

waited around just for it, it went really well, conga line of the "free hugs" people began, mid-way through they froze. They got a really good crowd from it, I specifically remember this small old guy walking straight into that abyss part thats always there between the performer(s) and the audience, and he looked really, really confused, it was pretty funny. They crowd filled out the entire width of the street, and after the 5 mins were up, they got a massive round of applause. It was pretty cool.

I had only heard about this from word of mouth, so around 20 minutes before this began i thought "well, it's probably on boards, so I'll go to check it out on those internet kiosks in Stephens Green Shopping Center." read that it was being minimized to 50 people however the actual figure turned out to be around 15-20. Then afterward I was trying to size it out, thinking "if they were to do this with 50 people, where would they do it?" Turned out that waiting around outside Brown Thomas was an excellent idea. probably the most popular section of Grafton St.

Anyway, as a poster was saying about messing with people pretending to be a pickpocket, a Gardai was actually telling a guy to move along because he knew he was a pickpocket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭4Xcut

I loled, literally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 FiveSpot

Grafton Street - Improv Everywhere, first Dublin event happened this afternoon between 430-435opm ( the strip from M&S to BT's ) about 150+ people froze in various ways.
    Within 15 seconds the crowd noticed and and a noticeable dip in street noise happened.
    I was mid shoe tie.
    Some sentences I heard as I froze "are we all supposed to do this" (sublime)
    "this is one of those arranged things" (astute)
    "gerrohhhadat" (true to form)

I expect pictures and youtubery to follow as there was vidcams about.

Mr Frozen FiveSpot

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    PS - Its Improv Everywhere, rather than Improve.

LOL, yeah that actually makes alot more sense, that wasn't just a typo either, everytime I've seen it I've read it as improve.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

When's the next one?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

awesome :) Luv it!

Be selective about where ye do it though, cos I'm sure there's some arseholes about who will bash/rob you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭GospelGroupie

andrew wrote: »
    When's the next one?

The Dublin Improv Movement (Facebook membership required), having only been established last weekend, taking encouragement from the success of its first experiment yesterday and taking initial inspiration from ImprovEverywhere NY, while eager to invent scenes of our own, will become increasingly more active over the coming months.

There is discussion about a "sports day" in late spring in St. Stephen's Green. Egg & Spoon races, three-legged races, etc. but also there will be random pranks throughout the city done in smaller numbers by our agents.

Potential "agents" should sign-up online on the Facebook site.

Regards,

Agent Brian

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Oooh, I love it.

Not sure if that vid up there worked or not so heres the link.

http://youtube.com/watch?v=Nttgzyx3_wo

Actually looked pretty good, some people were pretty freaked out.

Just wanted to bump this cos there's a few more Improv Everywhere videos up :)

Welcoming strangers back at airport:

Twins sit across from each other on subway... mirror each other's actions:

Such a cool idea :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

The human mirror, great idea :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,556 ✭✭✭MizzLolly

Dave! wrote: »
    Just wanted to bump this cos there's a few more Improv Everywhere videos up :)

Welcoming strangers back at airport:

Twins sit across from each other on subway... mirror each other's actions:

Such a cool idea :D

Hahaha the Airport one is sooo cool :D:D:D

Dave! wrote: »

OMG!! :eek: :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,837 ✭✭✭S.I.R

The Dublin Improv Movement (Facebook membership required), having only been established last weekend, taking encouragement from the success of its first experiment yesterday and taking initial inspiration from ImprovEverywhere NY, while eager to invent scenes of our own, will become increasingly more active over the coming months.

There is discussion about a "sports day" in late spring in St. Stephen's Green. Egg & Spoon races, three-legged races, etc. but also there will be random pranks throughout the city done in smaller numbers by our agents.

Potential "agents" should sign-up online on the Facebook site.

Regards,

Agent Brian

they phail, as they just arent funny, they dont have the calibur to pull off such a dareing act, get someon funny with some funny idea's and you'll pwn...

other wise...

ill just knick their eggs and egg them ! :cool: