Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Gazza taken into custody ( Mental Health )

• 21-02-2008 1:36pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/tyne/7256761.stm

Gazza held after hotel incident
    Last Updated: Thursday, 21 February 2008, 13:21 GMT

Former England footballer Paul Gascoigne has been detained under the Mental Health Act following an incident at a hotel in Newcastle.
    Northumbria Police said a 40-year-old man was detained following a report of disorderly behaviour at the Malmaison Hotel early on Wednesday.

Officers later visited Mr Gascoigne at Gateshead's Hilton Hotel after concerns were raised about his behaviour.

Police said he was not in custody and was now receiving medical treatment.

A Northumbria Police spokesman said: "Police attended the Hilton Hotel in Gateshead yesterday evening after we received a report of concern for a 40-year-old man staying at the hotel."

"The man was detained under the Mental Health Act, and no-one was injured during the incident."

Gascoigne, a former player with Newcastle United, Tottenham Hotspur, Lazio, Glasgow Rangers and Middlesbrough, was sacked after 39 days as manager of Kettering Town in 2005.

He was capped 57 times for England.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Steyr wrote: »
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/england/tyne/7256761.stm

Gazza held after hotel incident
    Last Updated: Thursday, 21 February 2008, 13:21 GMT

Former England footballer Paul Gascoigne has been detained under the Mental Health Act following an incident at a hotel in Newcastle.
    Northumbria Police said a 40-year-old man was detained following a report of disorderly behaviour at the Malmaison Hotelearly on Wednesday.

Officers later visited Mr Gascoigne at Gateshead's Hilton Hotelafter concerns were raised about his behaviour.

Police said he was not in custody and was now receiving medical treatment.

A Northumbria Police spokesman said: "Police attended the Hilton Hotel in Gateshead yesterday evening after we received a report of concern for a 40-year-old man staying at the hotel."

He was just travelling around random hotels stirring shit? Fair play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 391 ✭✭Beerlao

need more info. there's nothing really there yet to comment on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭Don1

Gazza's not mental he's just himself. He doesn't exist in the same world we do. Just let him loose in the wild, sit back and laugh at the outcome!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I just knew those shell suits would get him sectioned sooner or later....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 STEVO B

Me and the gf love gazza

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

Being sectioned seems to be all the rage of late - the rehab of 2008.

Maybe it will help destigmatise mental illness though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,834 ✭✭✭Sonnenblumen

Yeah let them loose and watch the hurt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,277 ✭✭✭✭Rb

Who?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

rb_ie wrote: »
    Who?

It's funny when you say it about the likes of Katy French but Gazza? Of course you've heard of him.

Xavi6 wrote: »
    It's funny when you say it about the likes of Katy French but Gazza? Of course you've heard of him.
    Oh, he's the guy that was at that place that time, right?

Course I remember him, sure who doesn't know that guy!

Oh, he's the guy that was at that place that time, right?

Course I remember him, sure who doesn't know that guy!

So what you're saying is over the past twenty years you've never EVER heard a single mention of him?

Chazza's brother?

If you bothered reading the quoted article it'd tell you exactly who he is in the first feckin line.

Ah here just forget it :rolleyes:

If you bothered reading the quoted article it'd tell you exactly who he is in the first feckin line.

Ah here just forget it :rolleyes:
    I'm only joking with you, was waiting for a hardcore soccer fan to see it and follow it up with "OMFG HOW THE FCK DON'T YOU KNOW WHO PAUL GASCOIGNE IS, HAVE YOU BEEN LIVING IN A CAVE ON MARS OR SOMETHING?WTF IS WRONG WITH YOU?MAYBE YOU SHOULD GET OUT FROM BEHIND YOUR KEYBOARD AND TAKE A WALK AROUND REAL LIFE YOU FCKING..." etc etc.

Well if that's the case then you're admitting to barefaced trolling

Nah.

If I did get a response like that, the person in question would be the problem, not me. Soccer on the internet is srs business don't ya know?

Nah.

If I did get a response like that, the person in question would be the problem, not me. Soccer on the internet is srs business don't ya know?

As is trolling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Lirange

Hope everyone's nutsacks survived the ordeal.

He and Vinnie Jones should be exiled to gay porn and leave the rest of humanity alone.

As is trolling
    Nah. Believe me, I know what trolling is and is not.

Besides
    1: Who gives a fck about Paul Gascoigne?
    2: Why is a soccer related thread in AH? Suited more to soccer or perhaps even Celebrity and Showbiz, but AH?

Want to talk about soccer, go to the soccer forum.

Nah. Believe me, I know what trolling is and is not.

Besides
    1: Who gives a fck about Paul Gascoigne?
    2: Why is a soccer related thread in AH? Suited more to soccer or perhaps even Celebrity and Showbiz, but AH?

Want to talk about soccer, go to the soccer forum.

Who's talking about soccer? The guy hasn't played in years so it's nothing to do with that. Only person who's included soccer in their reply has been you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

Well this thread has died a death.

Expect sales of his autobiography to rocket. Publicity stunt tbh

Paul McGrath - Amazon.com Sales Rank: #1464961 in Books
    Paul Gascoine - Amazon.com Sales Rank: #1032420 in Books

• Closed Accounts Posts: 37,214 ✭✭✭✭Dudess

rb_ie: quit arsing around.

Xavi6: if you consider it trolling, don't feed it.

Keep it on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,370 ✭✭✭Homer

Everybody sing...

There's only 2 Paul Gasgoigne's!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

As i heard this morning. "Gazza's been sent to a mental institute. Kevin Keegan is delighted to have him back"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Tha Gopher

http://www.jokefile.co.uk/numerical_order/1023.html

Legend.

http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/news/article832281.ece

This story has everything. Drink, drugs, nudity.....battery operated parrots....:D I know its bad for him but there are certain parts you have to laugh at.

Im surprised he has enough money to blow £240 night for a room and a load of coke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

OK, I feel sorry for the chap. How come no-one has pointed out the hotel he was in? The Malmaison? Isn't that French for sick-house?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,749 ✭✭✭tony 2 tone

Oh how the mighty have fallen......
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1urq4Vb0XM

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

Oh how the mighty have fallen......
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T1urq4Vb0XM

Oh dear... I could swear I was 10 when I saw that last.

The star wrote:
    He ordered uncooked plates of liver

Wtf :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

In a sense, i'm happy for the chap. I read his autobiography a few years back and many incidents he recalls scream mental health problems, yet no one bothered to try and do anything for him. They all thought he was just being 'Gazza', the cheeky chappy.

I know he hasn't lived the life of a saint, but he was an immense talent, someone who simply loved to play football, a result of which has led to severe depression in the last few years, as he has found it hard to accept that his days of playing football are over.

Plain and simple, he loved to play ball. He didn't care about money, being the highest paid, driving a flash motor, appearing in OK with the WAG, rolling around the pitch, acting like a soft lad trying to get players sent off etc. etc. In this day and age, there are few players with raw talent like Gazza and even fewer who aren't guilty of the above.

I hope this is a turning point in his life.