Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Too good to be true?

• 20-02-2008 8:34pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭

I've spotted a major mistake on internet just now. Won't go into too much detail but if I do place this bet and it comes up, can the bookmaker void the bet at a later stage?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

they'll pay.

will you pm me it after you have a go please?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭Peckham

...and me please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

If it's a major mistake they don't have to pay.

P.S Pm me :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭hefty_langer

PM here also if ye don't mind...

spread the love, man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭m.j.w

Me to please

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,415 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

OK, my bet's on. Have PMed frank. Can't see this coming off to be honest but have to try. Will PM you lot now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 627 ✭✭✭fatgav

i want in!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 Ed Cummins

me too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,225 ✭✭✭wba88

if its with PP count me in plz!

Collie D wrote: »
    OK, my bet's on. Have PMed frank. Can't see this coming off to be honest but have to try. Will PM you lot now.

worth a go anyway

by the way to answer your initial question (and not to try and get brownie points so you pm me the bet soon :) ) speaking as a former law student, one thing i learned for sure in that course is that no bookie has to pay you in any bet should they choose not to. for business reasons they do, but they have a legal right to keep ur stake and tell you to sod off if they like.

Afraid it's not with PP. Have PMed you all bar last two, Will PM now, If anyone didn't get the message, PM me now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,151 ✭✭✭Thomas_S_Hunterson

oooh me too!

fatgav wrote: »
    by the way to answer your initial question (and not to try and get brownie points so you pm me the bet soon :) ) speaking as a former law student, one thing i learned for sure in that course is that no bookie has to pay you in any bet should they choose not to. for business reasons they do, but they have a legal right to keep ur stake and tell you to sod off if they like.

Oh, I'm aware that bets aren't legally standing obligations but surely they can't hold the stake? Must be void therefore a refund of stake?

Cheers collie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

It's fixed now.

I doubt they will pay out, hope they do though, let us know Collie, gl!

Betting was suspended and market corrected. Hope you got on in time

its 10/11 now sure with handicap. thats a better price is it not

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 434 ✭✭Derek Zoolander

they generally claim palpable error...i once spotted something on pp stuck a goof few quid on and received a mail within the hour offering me my stake back or the bet at revised odds

m.j.w wrote: »
    its 10/11 now sure with handicap. thats a better price is it not

sure is

fair play to ya op good spot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Mezcita

Bookies are under no obligations to pay out on obvious errors. "Palping" is where they refuse to pay out on mistakes and has happened to me plenty of times.

That said, they can't just take your stake because you have placed a bet on an error. Its not exactly good for business.

Likely that the bet will be voided and you will get your money back.

wba88 wrote: »
    sure is

No, it's 10/11 the right selection. Don't get stung They've corrected the error

wba88 wrote: »
    sure is

so the bet hasnt been changed hs itnot?

sorry got mixed up

Sorry for being stupid but I dont understand what the mistake was

I don't even have a credit card, usually just pay cash into my account when I fancy a bet. Was gonna stick some cash in today but was in a rush after work so had to get mate to use his account. Anybody gey on? I only spotted it because I fancied Manley with the 3.5 start

m.j.w wrote: »
    Sorry for being stupid but I dont understand what the mistake was

Basically they gave the wrong player the headstart and the odds were a lot higher than the straight win.

For example, Lyon were about 2/1 before kick-off tonight. They are now 1-0 up so imagine PP offered 5/1 in running for them to win. The probability of the win occurring has increased but so too have the odds.

Gotcha, read the pm wrong. Good luc with it anyway!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Well how did ye get on????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,259 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

What was the bet?

They cancelled the bet...ah well, anything's worth a try.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

And the mistake was in what event/sport?

bigkev49 wrote: »
    What was the bet?
    And the mistake was in what event/sport?

They had Phil Taylor at 3/10 to beat Peter Manley tomorrow night which is fair enough I suppose. But the handicap betting gave Taylor a 3.5 leg start at 4/5

unlucky collie D. thanks for the share

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

pm me aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 126 ✭✭roakey

just noticed that it was yesterday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 30 alannologo

a bookies has the right to correct a blatant price error that is obviously a mistake which will be highlighted in there rules

unlucky collie D. thanks for the share

Well Boyles saved us a lot of cash there. Manley beat Taylor 8-3 :eek:

Covered the handicap easily. Taylor, unbeaten in the competition since its birth a few years ago up until four weeks ago has now lost three out of four