Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bray People Airsoft Article

• 20-02-2008 1:49pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭

This was printed in this week's issue of the Bray People.

People in Bray will soon be able to purchase air-guns and replica firearms once a new shop opens its doors fr trade at the Egan Centre complex on the Dargle Road.

Go tactical Ltd. a carnew based company which has already been selling such weapons online, plans to open the new shop withing 3 weeks, prompting concerns from locals who feel it's inappropriate.

Customers will be able to purchase imitation shotguns, rifles and pistols, all for use in a growing sport called airsoft. it involves participants shooting 6mm pellets at each other in an activity similar to paintball. the airsoft weapons are not as powerful however and their use is not covered by legislation which would necessitate their approval by local gardai.

the manager Peter Sharpe, has moved to reassure parents that he will be enforcing a strict over 18 policy so his weapons will nto end up in minors hands.

There is still concern however that the weapons may be used in criminal activity and locals have been quick to voice their disapproval

well guys, any thoughts on the article?

:cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 189 ✭✭Harlequin Wolf

This information has been in a few newspapers, the IAA are handling it so don't let it get to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,171 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

This information has been in a few newspapers, the IAA are handling it so don't let it get to you.

but this is the paper from the the town it will actualy be opening in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Same story, the terms weapons and airgun used, this is why we dont call them weapons, so the media can be corrected.

I notice the articles are all practically the same, barely deviating from one another, bar the phrasing.... kinda how I did my college essays wink wink.

Ah low level journalism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

blay1 wrote: »
    but this is the paper from the the town it will actualy be opening in

yup - we're aware of it, (a few of the committee members even live in the area) responses have been drafted and sent to the offending parties. we'll give more info as we have it.

cheers for keeping the eyes open anyways. ;)

extremetaz wrote: »
    yup - we're aware of it, (a few of the committee members even live in the area) responses have been drafted and sent to the offending parties. we'll give more info as we have it.

cheers for keeping the eyes open anyways. ;)

no problem :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,469 ✭✭✭weeder

heh i didnt know they were currently based in carnew, thats just down the road :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

To me it looks a bit better than most of the bigger newspapers, its more informative and doesnt use cheap puns to criminalise airsoft. It tries to explain what airsoft is(granted they called them weapons/airguns) and mention about not selling to anyone under 18. It doesnt say they WILL be used in crimes just that some people fear they will be.
    It seems like a fairly balanced article, if that is the full article.

yeah the full article is there

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Timmy-C

Cool :)

I live roughly 10 minutes, maybe even less from there and have been looking for an Irish retailer which sells spring powered airsoft guns.

Would love an airsoft shop to open locally. Better say goodbye to any money I had hoped to save :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Timmy-C wrote: »

I live roughly 10 minutes, maybe even less from there and have been looking for an Irish retailer which sells spring powered airsoft guns.

Would love an airsoft shop to open locally. Better say goodbye to any money I had hoped to save :D

Are you 18 if your not you will not be able to purchase anything from them

springers? i wouldnt use one as a backup to a backup airsoft. :p

watse of money tbh except as collectors items

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

watse of money tbh

They are nice as collectors items if you cant afford the proper replicas.

Arcto wrote: »
    They are nice as collectors items if you cant afford the proper replicas.

thats true :D

post edited to that effect :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭BFSL

weeder wrote: »
    heh i didnt know they were currently based in carnew, thats just down the road :p

They weren't the shop is just registered to the owner, the shop is new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭FlimFlam

I was at a large gaming event over the weekend, in which 150 people played computer games in a local community centre for about 48 hours. One of the people running the event was shooting his airsoft rifle up in the balcony area. At one point he was firing over the heads of the people down below.

It is people like this who will cause airsoft to be banned in Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

FlimFlam wrote: »
    I was at a large gaming event over the weekend, in which 150 people played computer games in a local community centre for about 48 hours. One of the people running the event was shooting his airsoft rifle up in the balcony area. At one point he was firing over the heads of the people down below.

A Responsible person would have called the gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,295 ✭✭✭SniperSight

Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    A Responsible person would have called the gardai.

Thats really an unfortunate situation, and seems like it presents a catch 22 situation.
    On one hand you call the Gardai, he gets arrested/ cautioned etc. But that only feeds the bad reputation that some people give airsoft by giving them a bad example to use against descent airsofters.
    On the other hand, you dont call the Gardai on that idiot, and he doesnt learn and airsoft STILL gets a very bad rep!

I suppose however that calling the Gardai is the right thing to do and who knows may prove to the Gaurds that there are alot of decent airsofters who dont want airsoft equipment used in that way(for obvious reasons). I know I'd call the Guards if I saw such a thing or at least tell the person to stop acting the maggot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Thats really an unfortunate situation, and seems like it presents a catch 22 situation.
    On one hand you call the Gardai, he gets arrested/ cautioned etc. But that only feeds the bad reputation that some people give airsoft by giving them a bad example to use against descent airsofters.
    On the other hand, you dont call the Gardai on that idiot, and he doesnt learn and airsoft STILL gets a very bad rep!

I suppose however that calling the Gardai is the right thing to do and who knows may prove to the Gaurds that there are alot of decent airsofters who dont want airsoft equipment used in that way(for obvious reasons). I know I'd call the Guards if I saw such a thing or at least tell the person to stop acting the maggot.

Yup, calling the guards would be 100% the right thing to do. It is illegal, and someone could have been hit in the unprotected eye. Also, if we were to try hide and illegal use of airsoft AEG's from the guards then what would that say about us? We'd be no better than those breaking the law.

Sounds like a complete arsehole.

Is that assault in this country, intimidation and the likes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭mcgovern

The thing to remember though that an arrest like that is heaven for a journo.
    Airsoft and computer games, the cause of all evil in the world, so it would make the papers and it would say something like "Man shoots friends will airsoft gun after gaming session", go on to villify airsoft and video gaming, and never mention that it was a responsible airsoft player that reported the incident.

It would be worse to let that sort of sh1te continue.

At what point does a non-airsofter decide to use this as a point in a campaign to ban airsoft guns, citing the lack of action by members and the IAA.

Definitely a double edged sword but, personally I would have had a chat with this guy, and god love him if he told me to **** off, id be on to the guards to have a little chat with him instead.

We have to follow the letter of the law, hiding a problem wont make it go away.

AFAIK the IAA stance is not to defend people who abuse airsoft, but to actively encourage that they are punished, they cant have any other stance and remain respected, let alone ignore a crime.

Id be interested in a reply on this matter from the IAA, just for clarity in my own mind, though maybe thats for a different thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭extremetaz

Motosam wrote: »
    AFAIK the IAA stance is not to defend people who abuse airsoft, but to actively encourage that they are punished, they cant have any other stance and remain respected, let alone ignore a crime.

Id be interested in a reply on this matter from the IAA, just for clarity in my own mind, though maybe thats for a different thread.

couldn't have put it better myself.

the bottom line is that anyone brandishing an airsoft device in such a fashion as could cause any other person to feel intimidated is committing assault - this runs all the way from walking down the street with it in your hand to leaving it uncovered on the back seat of your locked car.

In such instances, the gardaí may be notified, the device should be confiscated and subject to the actions of the reporting party, the person liable may be charged with assault.

In such instances, the IAA will entirely back the any actions taken by the gardaí regarding the person responsible for the device.

The ONLY possible exception to this case is where the person responible for the equipment is observed moving devices to or from a vehicle - in this instance, there may be a case for genuine mistake - but bear in mind that by proper code of practice, devices should be covered at all times and at no point viewable by any member of the public including during transport to or from a vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

FlimFlam wrote: »

Someone should have called the cops. Simple as that. And if it made the papers, fine. Nothing you can do about that, but at least the law would have been followed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭major sims

citizens arrest , if indeed this possible ,if not and you have intrest in seeing the sport grow then why was this person thrown out and or reported ....an garda also play airsoft , it might not be such a negative to report people who behave in this manner ...we all who have a keen intrest in this sport have a duty of care in helping it to grow

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

I think the ideal situation would have been if the gobsh*te had been reported to the guards by an IAA member. That way not only does the muppet feel the wrath of the long arm of the law, but the IAA can counter any bad press by saying that it was infact a responsible airsofter and a member of their own organisation who reported the incident to the authorities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Spetzcong wrote: »
    I think the ideal situation would have been if the gobsh*te had been reported to the guards by an IAA member. That way not only does the muppet feel the wrath of the long arm of the law, but the IAA can counter any bad press by saying that it was infact a responsible airsofter and a member of their own organisation who reported the incident to the authorities.

Too bloody right. Hear hear. :)

watse of money tbh except as collectors items

Yeah, suppose. I just love springers 'cause they look cool and it's just so satisfying cocking them :p

And back to the main subject, take a look at this:

This page has pretty much everything about that shop and what the local people are saying about it.

And this page states that children as young as five can buy airsoft guns. Now, there is no law stating otherwise but children as young as five are hardly going to be permitted to purchase such items by their parent, guardian or by the store owner himself. But the local people act as if they do not entirely understand this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭Alvin T. Grey

Bugger that. What the heck is a child the age of 5 doing with that kind of money? Dealing cocaine in preschool or something?

Oh, hang on. Fassaroe is just around the corner.

I withdraw my question.:D

lol, That's a bit harsh. I know a few people from there and they're not bad at all.

But I suppose, it is a good point :p

lol, That's a bit harsh. I know a few people from there and they're not bad at all.
    But I suppose, it is a good point :p

it is THE worst estate going, the owner will not get a living with that shop if

he opens there :p

... Yeah :p Just most of the people give it a really bad name, some of them are ok... But it is true that he wont really make much money because I doubt he'd sell it to dodgy lookin' people and I'd say most people would go to the M.I.A.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Lads, no need to start making comments about a particular area, keep it on-topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

kdouglas wrote: »
    Lads, no need to start making comments about a particular area, keep it on-topic.

In all fairness fassaroe is a kip hole sorry had to say it

I would be very worried if a child at the age of five could buy one
    Although i really would like to see this shop open and get somebody under 18 going into it and see if they are actually selling to over 18s only then again i would like to see it with all airsoft shops in the republic