Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Need some help with education

• 18-02-2008 9:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭

Hey guys Im a bit desperate here and would like any help you can give me
    heres the problem
    my nephew turned 16 last month. Hes always liked my airsoft guns but his mother was never too happy about it he had a small cheap and nasty springer untill he bought an mp5. he brought the hk over to me as the charger was broke so I gave him a cheap springer to tide his love over for airsoft till i charged the battery for him, just got a call from my sister saying he was taging some of the kids on his road :eek: :( :mad:
    What do I do now as I was going to bring him to hrta to each him how to use them properly but im not so sure now I was also going to give him the forms for the IAA but now I dont think he is mature enough to join let alone have an airsoft device.
    I know he will get another one from his friends but does anyone know any kind of site that has experiences of the dangers of bringing an airsoft device outside in an uncontrolled enviroment are displayed? or anyone have wise words of encouragement. ive alraedy shined up the boots for the proverbial kick in the ass but I know its not enough.
    Its a touchy subject at the moment so maybe pm me any advice so it wont be all over the papers.
    thanks guys sorry for making your monday worse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,806 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

kick his ar**in to next week, he's a child

im 16 and dont go firing it at people, he shouldnt be allowed near an aeg imo

dangerous to himself and others.

what did his mother say about him firing at people?

if mine found out i would never attend a skirmish again she would kill me

if he injured someone with that he would likely be facing an assault charge tell him that

sorry if this is offensive :o

:cool::cool::cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Ok ...

... You really could have done this by PM bro but since its out in the open I'll give you some advice.

Take the stuff from him, if he isnt mature enough to use it responsibly he shouldnt have it. Tell the parents of his friends to take their kit from them too since, as you have implied, they will give him a new one. Its not being nasty and if the parents are concerned that its because the kit is dangerous you can put them in contact with the IAA and we will set them straight.

The kit wont cause physical harm, but it will upset people and thats not on. especially right now with the Liz McMahon thing.

An airsoft is like any other toy or sporting device. Used by an dullard bad things will happen. Don't give Timmy the lego if all he does is stick it up his nose and wind up in A&E ... common sense.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭Masada

maybe a trip to HRTA is just what he needs to see how others do it., then he might be more interested in doing it right.,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭hawkeye1000

i agree with hivemind. if he is not mature enough at 16 to handle an airsoft gun, then they should be taken off him. he is lucky the gardi were not called by one of his friends parents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

vtec wrote: »
    maybe a trip to HRTA is just what he needs to see how others do it., then he might be more interested in doing it right.,

If he shoots at people in the street would he abide by the proper rules at HRTA?
    Would he admit he's been hit etc...
    If at 16 he's not mature enough to have common sense then he's not mature enough to own an aeg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Make sure he understands that assaulting someone with an airsoft gun = 10 year mandatory prison term. Airsoft guns when used in a crime are treated as real firearms.

And there is a possibility of ERU shooting your brother who to them would appear as a crazed gunman running around in public.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭IRISH RAIL

Dont worry Im not offended by anyones responce I do agree with ronan I did ask replies by pm but maybe being in the open isnt so bad as it will show how the rest of us feel about this
    all airsoft equipotment has been taken off him but I cant control his friends and thire mothers approaches like my son wouldnt do that

maybe a word with the local community gaurd might help get him to pay a visit scare the living shi out of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

I wonder if its time to buy an IAA black van with no markings ...

can we put a red stripe along the side :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Oh dear.

Oh dear oh dear.

Oh dear oh dear oh dear.

Slap around the back of the head for starters would be a good way.

I often shoot my friends to piss them off but its in a controlled invironment (my drinking shed/clubhouse) and i take upmost saftey mesures (never above the waist) :D

Maybe you could keep all his gear and bring it with you on game days to HRTA untill your sure he wont repeat that kinda behavour.

And not to sound condecending (seeing as i cant even spell corectly i dont have the right) but you should probably keep an eye on him at HRTA too to make sure he takes his hits.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

IRISH RAIL wrote: »
    maybe a word with the local community gaurd might help get him to pay a visit scare the living shi out of him

Be careful with that....that could escalate beyond your control.

well im keeping his gear anyway hes not allowed anything in his mams house anymore (score one for me )
    slaps and kickings shall be mooted out on a regular basis.
    and if I ever caught him not taking hits its 3 in the ass from 15 feet
    maybe he doesnt deserve to go to hrta ive lost a lot of respect for him now

Bring him to HRTA and 30 of us will be happy to show him what it feels like to be shot with airsoft AEG's. I'd say 5 minutes of demonstration should be enough...

Note: I am not being serious. We (airsofters) wouldn't actually do anything like this. It was said in jest.

On a serious note, yeah, be careful about going to the guards. They may decide to press charges.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

hey, Im 16 and even when me and my friends do private skirmish we follow the exact rules of HRTA , Gun unloaded, on safety, in gun case, there was a guy that one day had a shotgun slung around his back when we made our way to the skirmish site, we just told him f off it he wasnt going to take it seriously, we even have a rule that the batteries should not be in the guns until the skirmish starts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Organise a trip to mount joy, show him how they live and what the prisoners are like.

And a little reminder of how the law treats assault with what looks like a firearm.

Emphasise he may end up there, very easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,401 ✭✭✭shortys94

Do the bb's hurt more than paintballs?

Getting hit in the hand with a paintball was the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

Rabbit: i know you meant that in jest, but less of that sort of comment please, some people may not pick up on the sarcasm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

shortys94 wrote: »
    Do the bb's hurt more than paintballs?

Getting hit in the hand with a paintball was the worst.

no, airsoft devices fire at a maximum of 1 joule, by comparison, paintballs fire at 11-17 joules, plenty of info in the stickies if your interested in finding out more

kdouglas wrote: »
    Rabbit: i know you meant that in jest, but less of that sort of comment please, some people may not pick up on the sarcasm

Fair enough. Post edited.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭Dar

Sure, bring him up to HRTA I'm sure he'll have a blast. But if he's not responsible enough not to act the fool with an AEG then take it off him. Lock it up and only let him use it for skirmishes until he learns some responsibility.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,258 ✭✭✭Cheeky monkey

You should probably show him this video..... Then this

NOT FOR PEOPLE WHO DONT LIKE BLOOD AND MISSING TEETH!
    http://sequoiaairsoft.com/img/bbdamage2.jpg

Oh and dont forget to mention to him that the first tooth is gonna cost about a grand to replace, the rest I believe I heard will be around the 150 mark if they have the chipped part off the tooth otherwise it'll probably cost something like 400 because they are gonna have to stick a crown in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭N.O.I.P.

I'd say have a chat with Nonex, a temporary ban from HRTA (length to be agreed between yourself, his mom and Nonex). Once the ban is lifted, IF and only IF he has proven that he won't act the muppet bring him to HRTA where a special briefing just for him will have been prepared.

*Emails R.Lee for suggestions* :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭Evolute

Kick him a punch to the teeth :p
    Then sit him down say sorry for the above hehe
    and tell him if he can't get a bit of common sense and be responsible then he is not allowed play with adult toys:p