Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where is the best place to buy Amps/Guitars?

• 16-02-2008 2:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

Hey all,

I'm in the market for a new AMP and Guitar, and I've been drawn to the Roland Cube 20x and I'm still torn on what guitar to buy.
    I saw the cube on Thomann for 155 euro and all shops in Dublin are looking for 195. I'll prob go with the Thomann unless I see one s/h or closer to that price.

As far as Guitar goes, I currently play an Epiphone SG400 Korina and I want to go for something a little more professional. I'm relucant to buy a guitar from Thomann as I'd like to see and play whatever I'm buying first.

I was leaning towards the Telecaster (unfortunatly reissue as my budget is around a grand), but I was playing my mates Parker Fly mojo last night and I loved it.

Any suggestions as to a good standard of guitar, decent action, good sustain and pickups also a good standard. I want something not too heavy(like a les paul), but open to suggestions.

I look forward to you're replies.

Pukey. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,584 ✭✭✭✭Creamy Goodness

before anyone can suggest guitars to you, we need to know what type of music you play. no point recommending you a single coil strat if you're going to need sound of humbuckers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭pukeohontas

True True. I generally play Radiohead/Oasis/A bit of Blues. I've also been known to dabble in a bit of vintage Metallica/Nirvana/Slayer.
    I hope this helps.....

Don't suppose I could borrow 3 fiddy?

Pukey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭Rigsby

As far as where to buy : I bought a bass amp combo from www.dolphinmusic.co.uk Pricewise it rivalled Thomann or Musicstore. It was delivered promtly and they even e-mailed me a few days later to inquire if it had arrived. It's not every store that will do that. ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

True True. I generally play Radiohead/Oasis/A bit of Blues. I've also been known to dabble in a bit of vintage Metallica/Nirvana/Slayer.
    I hope this helps.....

Don't suppose I could borrow 3 fiddy?

Pukey

Metallica is vintage now? :eek: :(

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 23,363 Mod ✭✭✭✭feylya

Vintage Metallica...old school Metallica. Foo'!

Old School indeed. A bit of Kill 'em all, Ride the lightning, MOP etc. When they played at their best. Not Load (of Boll**x) etc. Although this is still a bit beyond me at full speed. These guys can certainly play. Hammett would be one of the best solo'ists in my book (IMO) ;)

I'll check out Dolphin Music. Thanks.

Any tips on decent Guitars that would cross the divide between Radiohead and Metallica?

Pukey :D

But I like Load...

eggle.jpg

That does Radiohead and Metallica very well. Just try and find one :p

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

feylya wrote: »
    But I like Load...

eggle.jpg

That does Radiohead and Metallica very well. Just try and find one :p

*Drool...*

That a real one?

Nice guitar. Is it an ESP? Probably a touch pricey.....

Pukey

SDooM wrote: »
    *Drool...*

That a real one?

Yes, it's a real guitar :p
    Nice guitar. Is it an ESP? Probably a touch pricey.....

Pukey

Na, that's not an ESP. This is the closest I have to an ESP:

Ran5.JPG

Anyways, that's enough bragging :p How much do you want to spend on your guitar?

Between 1000 and 1300 at most. I figure I'd walk away with something aproaching decent at that money. I've already sunk a grand into my acoustic, so this is the next step.

Pukey

feylya wrote: »
    Yes, it's a real guitar :p

Smartypants :)
    Between 1000 and 1300 at most. I figure I'd walk away with something aproaching decent at that money. I've already sunk a grand into my acoustic, so this is the next step.

Pukey

Unless you are playing very very high end gigs, this will get you a very nice guitar.

Very nice feylya. But is there anywhere that has one of these I can play before I purchase?.... I think I should feck around with it and make sure I like it before shelling out the dosh.
    Is this a heavy guitar do you know? I dislike the LP's for that reason. Which is why I was leaning towards the Parkers and Tele's....
    (by the way I appreciate you time on this.....)
    Pukey.

Instrumental on the quays stock ESPs. They may have one in stock. I'm not sure if they're that heavy. I know Bombidol who posts occasionally has or had one.

Very nice feylya. But is there anywhere that has one of these I can play before I purchase?.... I think I should feck around with it and make sure I like it before shelling out the dosh.
    Is this a heavy guitar do you know? I dislike the LP's for that reason. Which is why I was leaning towards the Parkers and Tele's....
    (by the way I appreciate you time on this.....)
    Pukey.

Some tele's are very heavy.

If you are looking for some assistants with knowledge and a goo drange to mess around with, Musician inc. all the way.

Sweet. I'll mosey on down there Monday morning and have a wee go.
    Anything else I should look at while I'm there?

Pukey

Also a big thank you to feylya and SDoom for their help on this.....
    Keep in mind this could drag on for some time until I find my 'baby'

Pukey.

No worries. Takes a long time to find "the one"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,110 ✭✭✭sei046

A Musicman Silhouette! Stupidly versatile, nice and light and has all the virtues you said you wanted.

hey all. I've been shopping around for a while now and a couple of guitars have caught my fancy.
    1. gibson bfg (1000e)
    2. fender telecaster mex.....(750e)
    3. fender strat koa with semour duncan pickups mex(700e)
    4. fender hss strat. (american) 600e. The only thing about this one is it's brown and I can't find another fender hss american 60th anniver in brown. It makes me question the authenticity of this sale. if i can't find another one like it, i can't compare price, and i probably won't buy if that's the case.

I'm leaning towards the hss for diversity of sound, and i have to say the fender mex plays pretty nicely.

Any tips on above?

Oh I tried the ESP LTD in instrumental and i found myself wanting a real one instead. but unfortunatly out of my range. so here i am...

Puke

i also bought a cube 20x on thomann a couple of days ago.....i look forward to playing with it.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭johnboy8

hey all. I've been shopping around for a while now and a couple of guitars have caught my fancy.
    1. gibson bfg (1000e)
    2. fender telecaster mex.....(750e)
    4. fender hss strat. (american) 600e. The only thing about this one is it's brown and I can't find another fender hss american 60th anniver in brown. It makes me question the authenticity of this sale. if i can't find another one like it, i can't compare price, and i probably won't buy if that's the case.

I'm leaning towards the hss for diversity of sound, and i have to say the fender mex plays pretty nicely.

Any tips on above?

Oh I tried the ESP LTD in instrumental and i found myself wanting a real one instead. but unfortunatly out of my range. so here i am...

Puke

i have the american deluxe strat hss(great versatility,with all the si switching options)i also have the baja telecaster(this also has the si switch)great pickups and vintage equipment.i would recommend both(mainly the strat)

thanks for the reply. i was looking at the baja as well. nice bloody guitar. anyway, more hunting for me. I'm still looking at fender strat, i'm just waiting for the right one.
    Oh I got my cube 20x today, it's bleedin' deadly. great sound for the size of it. My missus loves it.... :)

Pukey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seaner

Puke
    Just spotted this listed online in a shop in DunLaoghaire at €675.
    If you wanted to save yourself a few bob!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Seriously consider buying second hand.
    The value of your "new" guitar drops immeditially as you leave the shop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Afaik the Fender Koa strat is MIK.

i went back a few times to look at the fender koa, but alas it's not for me.
    As the man pointed out it's MIK. I'm trapsing thru Chris guitars at the moment. Wow, there are some beauties there. I'm holding off at the moment, but the search is narrowing slowly. Again, thanks for the updates lads. If you see something nice pop up in the region of 1000E, let me know.

Nice one,

Pukey. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,228 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

NeMiSiS wrote: »
    Seriously consider buying second hand.
    The value of your "new" guitar drops immeditially as you leave the shop.

and here is me thinking that they will hold their value for ever....:rolleyes:

Strats have gone very cheap in high street stores in the UK, you can pick up a mexican strat for around £300 pounds not sure of any other prices but i've heard the whole range has come down and Sterling isnt as strong as it has been in recent times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,848 ✭✭✭✭Doctor J

Call_me_al wrote: »

Just leave it twenty years and it will ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭boycey

Again, thanks for the updates lads. If you see something nice pop up in the region of 1000E, let me know.

What about this?
    http://www.adverts.ie/showproduct.php?product=47594&cat=all

my old guitar- its a beauty and falls in to your price range.
    Mods hope Im not breaking any rules pointing out an Adverts item?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,230 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

You can get a US strat for under €800 delivered on www.soundslive.co.uk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭NeMiSiS

Call_me_al wrote: »

Strats have gone very cheap in high street stores in the UK, you can pick up a mexican strat for around £300 pounds not sure of any other prices but i've heard the whole range has come down and Sterling isnt as strong as it has been in recent times.

What I was getting at is - there is far more value to be had in the second hand market. No need to :rolleyes:

Thanks.