Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

exactly how much of a downside is it to buy a VISTA laptop when it will be used for P

• 14-02-2008 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭

Hey all, posting this here as opposed to tech as its a poker specific question.

My old Lappie is busto and i need to buy a new one quick. this means probably just going to PC world as i'm lazy. All their computers come with VISTA. my question is, how big of a minus point is this with regards to online poker/ I mainly Play stars/Full Tilt/I Poker- in that order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

None as long as you remember to tick the magic box run as administrator or disable UAC which is my preferred option

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

Its running all my pokah things fine, in general its doesn't appear to be anything as bad as people make out, a bit slow copying loads of files to backup maybe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭ZZR1100

cooker3 wrote: »
    None as long as you remember to tick the magic box run as administrator or disable UAC which is my preferred option
    At the risk of sounding lazy .. how

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

control panel -> user accounts and family safety -> user accounts -> turn user control account on/off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭58o

Thanks for the replies. Seems OK.

I was rereading the Laptop for Poker thread (think it was before christmas) and the consensus there seemed to be that VISTA was about as desirable to have on your laptop as a virus. Good to hear some more other viewpoints.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

58o wrote: »
    Thanks for the replies. Seems OK.

I was rereading the Laptop for Poker thread (think it was before christmas) and the consensus there seemed to be that VISTA was about as desirable to have on your laptop as a virus. Good to hear some more other viewpoints.

I have had my new laptop for a few weeks now and I have no problems with Vista at all. All my poker programs run fine and havent had any hassle yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I bought a new laptop last week and paid extra to get XP instead as I'd rather pay €50 then ever have to think about it. But isn't it true that with Vista you get an XP license too and can downgrade to it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

hotspur wrote: »
    But isn't it true that with Vista you get an XP license too and can downgrade to it?
    Someone please tell me this true and link me to how to do it...

I fecking hate Vista...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,895 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

I don't get all the hate, I think vista is great!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Hectorjelly

How much do you love Windows Vista? A little bit? Oh, not at all huh? Well what if you were offered the chance of winning an entertainment package worth $15,000 to spend 30 minutes of your precious time looking at why Windows Vista is just so damn fantastic? Ah…thought that might change things.

In what can only be described as an act of utter desperation to overcome Vista’s mostly negative public perception issues, Microsoft Australia has put together an online “Fact or Fiction” quiz all about Windows Vista. Every person who enters gets a certificate of completion and, if you are an OEM system builder, you get a Windows Vista Advisor polo shirt too. Ah the temptation is overwhelming and I sense the greed welling up within you.

http://apcmag.com/8017/microsoft_battles_vista_perception_issues_15_000_prize

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9 purer.than.you

Ste05 wrote: »

I fecking hate Vista...

Me too but....Vista is the future. That is why i am sticking with it. Might as well get used to it. By future i don't mean the next best thing by the way.....just it will be standard and poker sites will be adopting for it.

Bite the bullet type O'thingiy. (Says the guy with two notebooks running Xp for back up)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Ohh, I'm the same, but I'd rather stick with it once it's patched up.

I've been blaming Vista for it (who else to blame) but my computer freezes at least once or twice a day and I have to reboot it. I have still never been able to fully update the fecking thing, I've spent hours and hours following guides for how to complete the updates and still can't do it. Now all this may be because I'm a computer illiterate nonce, but I never had these problems with XP, and if you need to be an IT specialist to update the bloody thing, then I'd rather wait til they release an all-inclusive patch. (assuming it let's me install it!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,192 ✭✭✭✭KevIRL

Ste05 wrote: »

I fecking hate Vista...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 365 ✭✭mocata

Why not have the best of both worlds? There is a program called "Virtual PC"
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx
    (free BTW)

This basically boots up an entirely new computer in a window, with network support etc. So you can use this to run a virtual copy of ur xp machine with everything intact, then gradually move over to vista over the next few years as bugs are ironed out. Turning UAC off reduces security by quite a bit, esp for non-techies.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I have had no problems with Vista once I turned off the nanny state UAC thing that they had built in to stop people breaking things they didn't know existed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,263 ✭✭✭strewelpeter

5starpool wrote: »
    I have had no problems with Vista once I turned off the nanny state UAC thing that they had built in to stop people breaking things they didn't know existed.
    I'll bet Johnny Lodden wishes he hadn't turned his off :D

Seriously though while UAC seems very invasive at first (Charlie Brooker described Visita as feeling more like a satirical cartoon about infuriating bureaucracy than an operating system) , It does go a long way towards making it difficult for the less knowledgeable users, or Lusers as we snidely refer to ye as, to allow things that they would not want to have running take control of their computers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,764 ✭✭✭DeadParrot

Me too but....Vista is the future.

They said the same about Windows ME

• Subscribers Posts: 32,864 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I'll bet Johnny Lodden wishes he hadn't turned his off :D

Seriously though while UAC seems very invasive at first (Charlie Brooker described Visita as feeling more like a satirical cartoon about infuriating bureaucracy than an operating system) , It does go a long way towards making it difficult for the less knowledgeable users, or Lusers as we snidely refer to ye as, to allow things that they would not want to have running take control of their computers.
    What's this "ye" business paleface? You trying to insinuate stuffs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

5starpool wrote: »

Agreed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

Vista is the future and will be a great OS eventually... but it's not the present!!

Vista still has enough holes to park a fleet of busses...... I have a new system on order and will be putting XP on it for now...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,887 ✭✭✭Marq

OS X Leopard is the future.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 2,671 Mod ✭✭✭✭TrueDub

Macspower wrote: »
    Vista is the future and will be a great OS eventually... but it's not the present!!

Not sure M$ agree with you - word is that they're ramping up the next gen of Windows to replace Vista as soon as they can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 127 ✭✭mistabutta

just buy a mac.. and switch to windows/vista whenever you want

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

mistabutta wrote: »
    just buy a mac.. and switch to windows/vista whenever you want
    or just buy a pc and do the reverse for cheaper

Vista is grand for poker IMO, no problems with any of the software