Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

That's it Nokia.... i'm done with you!

• 14-02-2008 6:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭

Bit of a rant so apologies in advance!

Ever since I owned my first Nokia phone, a Nokia 3310 (not my first phone mind - which was a Siemens C25), I have always been quick to praise Nokia phones build quality, software and general reliability.

But something has changed.. my last three Nokia phones have suffered from insufferable bugs, regular on-screen freezes, flimsy quality etc. There was a time where their phones were so reliable but my opinion of them has greatly changed.

My brother works for Ericssons and has always been praising them, and i've been in constant disagreement with him that Nokia phones are years ahead. But I just don't think that anymore!

Gonna give him a call and see can he get me a deal on an Ericssons phone.

Rant over! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

look like you do not have a 6310i, or an n800

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,295 ✭✭✭✭Basq

old boy wrote: »
    look like you do not have a 6310i
    I've no doubt the 6310i is a great phone - but it was released in 2002. It's 6 years old.. the older phones are as reliable as feck. Unlike the newer ones!
    old boy wrote: »
    , or an n800
    Why would I want an Internet tablet? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,216 ✭✭✭sharper

I have an N82 and it's perfect. Decent battery life, great camera, wifi, GPS and so on. It's a bit pricey still but that'll come down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭Stepherunie

I have to agree on the nokia thing.

My dad only gets nokias - I've replaced it for him twice in the past year, I have a sony ericsson, I only replaced it because I wanted a new model - still as good at the day i bought it despite numerous drops etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭grenache

Nokia phones in general seem to have around 240 hours battery stand-by time compared to 370 for most Samsung or Sony Ericsson phones. That said, they're still the easiest to navigate. My first couple of phones were Siemens and i miss them, i often wonder why they disappeared from the market a few years back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ablelocks

basquille wrote: »

make sure you don't get the k850i!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,126 ✭✭✭xanthor

ablelocks wrote: »
    make sure you don't get the k850i!

This comment surprises me a little. Can you expand upon it? Never had any problems with an Ericsson or Sony Ericsson before.

Nokia have been hit and miss over the years. Their market dominance means i'm stuck with them... and i'll never buy another Motorola ever again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sekelly

xanthor wrote: »
    This comment surprises me a little. Can you expand upon it? Never had any problems with an Ericsson or Sony Ericsson before.

Nokia have been hit and miss over the years. Their market dominance means i'm stuck with them... and i'll never buy another Motorola ever again.

I agree...I got the sony ericsson w800i...and i doubt i will move back to a nokia in a long time...great battery and the features are fantastic....by the way if anyone knows what max size SD card the w800i can take?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ablelocks

I was all set to buy this phone, until user reviews started coming in - particularly on avforums. Poor build quality, lots of bugs, failures, replacements and repairs on this phone apparently. A friend of mine in England has had to send hers back twice and is so fed up with it she's considering switching to samsung g600/g800 or to nokia n82

read this thread - 54 pages of mainly complaints about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

grenache wrote: »
    Nokia phones in general seem to have around 240 hours battery stand-by time compared to 370 for most Samsung or Sony Ericsson phones.

Unless you have an N95 where it's nearer 24 hours!
    (I have 5 batteries and 2 desktop chargers!)

So anyone have a recommendation of a good phone for me? Nothing too pricey!

Popeleo wrote: »
    Unless you have an N95 where it's nearer 24 hours!
    (I have 5 batteries and 2 desktop chargers!)

Did you run the firmware upgrade? Apparently it improves battery life considerably.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 422 ✭✭Popeleo

Did you run the firmware upgrade? Apparently it improves battery life considerably.

Yep, product number altered and all firmware unbranded and up to date. Battery life is a little better but I use the wifi quite a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Easy Rider

Does anyone find that the slider on the N95 8gb is un-steady, slightly loose? Is that the norm or should I bring it back?

Easy Rider wrote: »
    Is that the norm or should I bring it back?

Doesn't sound to me like it's the norm. The slider is easy enough to open, but it shouldn't feel loose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Shyboy

I've no doubt the 6310i is a great phone - but it was released in 2002. It's 6 years old.. the older phones are as reliable as feck. Unlike the newer ones!

I have gone back to the 6310i recently due to all the problems I had been having with a 6300. The 6310i is the best phone ever made in my opinion although it is lacking in a lot of features that modern phones have (Things that I don't personally use to be honest).

Long live the 6310i!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

You should have a quick chat with your brother, Ericsson haven't made phones since 2002.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,396 ✭✭✭✭kaimera

Should prolly tell him that it Ericsson not Eircssons too :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

kaimera wrote: »
    Should prolly tell him that it Ericsson not Eircssons too :P

Yeah, that to. P!sses me off big time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 122 ✭✭frankymail

Take a look at a few of these,

Sony Ericsson K550i: 2.0 Mega-pixel Camera, Blutooth. Tidy little phone with great features and reasonable priced.

Sony Ericsson K800i: 3.2 Megapixel camera, with Xeon flash, blutooth and its 3G, very good price too.

Sony Ericsson W610i: Walkman phone with 2 Mega-pixel camera,

Or the Sony Ericsson K530i is also i little neat phone with loads of features.

most of these phone above are inexpensive plus all Sony Ericsson phones come with a 2 year warranty as standard

I'd say look round the internet and shops because you choices get narrowed down soon enough as certain phones are only available on certain networks, unless you buy sim free, but then the price is significantly increased.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 108 ✭✭johnson1

the k800i is a very good phone and has dropped in price recently to €149 on prepay and free on some bill pay plans.

as for nokia , i've been selling phones for years and nokia's decline in build quality/reliability/perfomance has been extremely fast (the 6111 comes to mind) while sony-ericsson have suddenly taken over on all counts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

johnson1 wrote: »
    (the 6111 comes to mind)

ah the 6111. the greatest piece of crap ever to be inflicted on the general public

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Anyone have a Nokia 5200?

Considering getting one, never been bothered with an ipod etc, but a 2gb music player & Radio all in a phone would be handy for listening to the occasional podcast etc.

..but are they (Nokia 5200's) any use? And is the radio reception decent or sh1te?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,924 ✭✭✭eamon234

ah the 6111. the greatest piece of crap ever to be inflicted on the general public

Possibly the worst phone ever made for that reason alone I'll never buy another Nokia - also had an E65 terrible build quality and full of software faults, earpiece also went after 2 weeks

• Moderators Posts: 12,408 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

If you do consider the SE k800i I have my one for sale. Recently got a much better HTC phone so ive unlocked and unbranded my k800i. Looking for €135 with all its originals and a 1Gb memory card with it. Check it out here

Cheers lads but thinking of getting an iPhone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

indeed, the thought of it almost brings a tear to my eye, although it wasnt quite as 'special' as the CFX65, but at least siemens paid the price for that!

as far as original theme of the thread is concerned, it's pretty clear that sony ericsson is the way to go; w810i (legend), w610i, k550i, k800i are all good. the iphone idea will leave a hole in your pocket and a lot of tinkering to do; i hope he doesnt have grown-up fingers!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 25,872 Mod ✭✭✭✭Doctor DooM

Yeah Nokia's dropped alot of balls lately and Sony Erricson have been picking up alot of the slack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

The-Rigger wrote: »

Considering getting one, never been bothered with an ipod etc, but a 2gb music player & Radio all in a phone would be handy for listening to the occasional podcast etc.

..but are they (Nokia 5200's) any use? And is the radio reception decent or sh1te?

I've never had a 5200, but a few friends of mine have them and i would say they are a bit ****e, i hated the menu/navigation, the screen was crap, and the build quality with the slider wasn't great i could see it breaking if dropped a couple of times.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭MiloFoxburr

I used to be a big fan of Nokia Phones till recently I got an N91 and had tons of issues with it firmware updates fixed alot of them till the internal hdd failed. I probably would of upgraded to the N95 till Symbian decided they'd go and create Feature Packs containing updates to the OS but only release them on new devices and not make the features work on older (but capable) models. Don't think I'll pick up another symbian based phone again.

Shyboy wrote: »

I have gone back to the 6310i recently due to all the problems I had been having with a 6300. The 6310i is the best phone ever made in my opinion although it is lacking in a lot of features that modern phones have (Things that I don't personally use to be honest).

Long live the 6310i!!

what problems ?

I used to be a big fan of Nokia Phones till recently I got an N91 and had tons of issues with it firmware updates fixed alot of them till the internal hdd failed. I probably would of upgraded to the N95 till Symbian decided they'd go and create Feature Packs containing updates to the OS but only release them on new devices and not make the features work on older (but capable) models. Don't think I'll pick up another symbian based phone again.

To be fair thats not nokias fault now, is it? Sony Erricson smartphones run Symbian too.

Well, the HDD is their fault. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 96 ✭✭MiloFoxburr

SDooM wrote: »
    To be fair thats not nokias fault now, is it? Sony Erricson smartphones run Symbian too.

Well, the HDD is their fault. :)

Well yeah true, most of my Nokia phones were Symbian based though and I couldn't see myself using a Nokia phone that wasn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,123 ✭✭✭Sarn

The only problem I have with SE at the moment is that the feature set on their high end phones aren't as good as Nokia (G900 comes close). Up until recently their phones have not advanced as rapidly as I'd hoped and were not much different than the ones that have gone before.

Thankfully they seem to be addressing this somewhat with their new announced models. They are at least embracing touchscreen input and their Xperia X1 is certainly different. However I think that Nokia still gives you the most features for what you pay.

I've had my K750i for close to 3 years now and I can't fault it (apart from the joystick sticking) and the once in a blue moon camera glitch. But I'm tempted to switch back to Nokia and get an N82 or N78, the only SE alternative I see would be the G900 (in a candybar form factor). I need to check these reliability issues.

Sarn wrote: »
    The only problem I have with SE at the moment is that the feature set on their high end phones aren't as good as Nokia (G900 comes close). Up until recently their phones have not advanced as rapidly as I'd hoped and were not much different than the ones that have gone before.

Thankfully they seem to be addressing this somewhat with their new announced models. They are at least embracing touchscreen input and their Xperia X1 is certainly different. However I think that Nokia still gives you the most features for what you pay.

I've had my K750i for close to 3 years now and I can't fault it (apart from the joystick sticking) and the once in a blue moon camera glitch. But I'm tempted to switch back to Nokia and get an N82 or N78, the only SE alternative I see would be the G900 (in a candybar form factor). I need to check these reliability issues.

Very true, however for the vast majority of people who don't go for high end phones like us nerds here, SE's now offer more bang for their buck.

I must say I have an original n95 and have had virtually no issues with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Sarn wrote: »
    I've had my K750i for close to 3 years now

nokia's present mid-rangers(6300, 5310, 6233 etc.) are only now matching the spec of the great k750i/w800i. . .granted SE havent pushed on a whole lot since then (w580i is just a badly dressed, malnourished lovechild of the w800i) but for the mid-range market they havent needed to

• Closed Accounts Posts: 256 ✭✭,8,1

Yeah their newer phones have one too many crashes, even they're working with well-specced hardware. I'd say if Nokia developed their smartphone OS in-house as opposed to buying it from Symbian, their phones would be more stable today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,201 ✭✭✭quintron

Nokias E-Series are generally of a higher build quality than the N-Series. E61, E65 for example etc.
    Having said that, there are a myriad number of other things that make all current phones seem worse than their aging siblings.
    Battery life takes a hit on all colour screens obviously, most phones nowadays are more fashion focused and thus more "disposable" - they don't expect you to hold on to your model for too long as you will be tempted to upgrade within a year.
    Smartphones, in particular S60 Nokia phones do have a tendency to lock up on occasion, mainly due to ram issues and the fact that they multitask.
    Many people leave programs open in the background, and these (in particular java applications) drain the battery etc.. Having said that all the Nokias I've owned are light years ahead of windows mobile (and, er, palm I guess) in terms or software reliability. The Phone first, PDA second thing S60 has trumps all others who have phone functionality built in to their OS.
    On a hardware note as mentioned, E-Series are a lot more solid in my experience but ymmv depending on how treat the phone..
    I have used SE phones and I honestly think they are frustrating as hell to use. Nokias imho experience have a far easier user interface.
    Just me two cents...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭Easy Rider

Well I'm trying to replace my 2nd N95 8gb, all due to the slider being loose....I went into Carphone warehouse and he gave me a new phone after him saying it is meant to be that way, I noticed he had one himself and asked to have a look at it...his slider was perfect, so he said that' some are like that'......?? So what? I want one that is not like that....

Anyway he gave me a new one, but I have the same issue (just to a lesser extent) and it appears that this phone was already used as the battery was full, the default background was also changed....They had no other ones in stock, so I went to three other CPWH's....

Omni, the fella said he did not notice an issue, I said the one on display has no such issue, you can compare it....He said 'That is dummy model, so it will be solid..' I had to laugh....which I did, so I asked him to get one from stock and guess what it was even worse than mine....!

Clare Hall....The guy in CPWH said he did notice it and it should be solid, so he went in to get me a new one, none in stock...fair enough

Northside Shopping Centre....the guy pretty much said the same thing as Omni, that it should be like that, again I said what about the display models, he gave the same line, 'it is a dummy model, it will be solid??' - Anyway I asked him to put in a complaint which he did.....

So the line is, what you see on display is not what you get? So if I buy clothes off the shelf and go to the counter, they then bring out clothes with a hole in it and say 'Well what do you want? you were looking at the display model'

My Dad has the same phone and it has no such issues, only difference is he got his directly from Vodafone...I just wonder if their is a bad batch that CPWH received?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭spannerotoole

sekelly wrote: »
    I agree...I got the sony ericsson w800i...and i doubt i will move back to a nokia in a long time...great battery and the features are fantastic....by the way if anyone knows what max size SD card the w800i can take?

M2 2GB Memory Card is what you need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,611 ✭✭✭✭Sam Vimes

i doubt it'll be a problem since he asked the question in february but anyway, the w800i takes a pro duo, not an m2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,305 ✭✭✭CantGetNoSleep

The-Rigger wrote: »

Me and two of my friends had them, all of us broke the screen on them within two weeks, despite only using them normally, the screen just broke in my pocket, and the same thing has happened to a few people at work

I wouldn't get this phone under any circumstances, and this was the last straw with Nokia for me, giving Motorola a second chance at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭strecker

Bit of a rant so apologies in advance!

Ever since I owned my first Nokia phone, a Nokia 3310 (not my first phone mind - which was a Siemens C25), I have always been quick to praise Nokia phones build quality, software and general reliability.

But something has changed.. my last three Nokia phones have suffered from insufferable bugs, regular on-screen freezes, flimsy quality etc. There was a time where their phones were so reliable but my opinion of them has greatly changed.

My brother works for Ericssons and has always been praising them, and i've been in constant disagreement with him that Nokia phones are years ahead. But I just don't think that anymore!

this is a bit of a rant as well, but I shan't apologise: your rant stinks a bit... What's the point? You don't give any details! Not what phones affected you so badly, not wether they were branded or generic, not wether you can't understand the manual..
    Instead you tell us where your brother works?!!! Who cares! What phone/-s bother you, why? What did you do to solve the probs? What did or didn't nokia do, your vendor etc etc etc...

man...my party lost, democracty sucks. There, my political "rant". Informative, isn't it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,509 ✭✭✭strecker

theteal wrote: »
    nokia's present mid-rangers(6300, 5310, 6233 etc.) are only now matching the spec of the great k750i/w800i. . .granted SE havent pushed on a whole lot since then (w580i is just a badly dressed, malnourished lovechild of the w800i) but for the mid-range market they havent needed to

one flaw: the k750i was not exactly a "midrange" model on it's release! It was THE camera phone at the time... You cannot compare it to 6300... Well, you can, but it doesn't look so good :P in my humble opinion...