Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Essential Kit for Night Skirmish

• 14-02-2008 2:09pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭

Tomarrow night I am doing a bit of a night skirmish. I am just wondering, what is the essential piece of kit that i need other the my AEG, Ammo, mask. And also is nightvision worth using, im particularly targeting anyone who did night ops and had nightvision.
    Regards,
    Popanddrop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭zero19

Pink camoflague

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Popanddrop wrote: »
    Tomarrow night I am doing a bit of a night skirmish. I am just wondering, what is the essential piece of kit that i need other the my AEG, Ammo, mask. And also is nightvision worth using, im particularly targeting anyone who did night ops and had nightvision.
    Regards,
    Popanddrop

Where is this skirmish? Can others attend? Is it on private property? etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭Mweelrea

Dr_Pepper wrote: »
    Where is this skirmish? Can others attend? Is it on private property? etc.

Sounds like its just him and a few mates doing it Dr.Pepper.
    Cork hasn't got a skirmish site yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Layers of clothing. Food. Water, lots of water. A hat. Strongly advise a Full face mask. Torches.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Popanddrop

Thanks for the advice lads, keep it coming and ya its just a private skirmish but I might be able to squeze in a few people.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

and dont forget to inform the garda, when and where, and the time's you are playing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 212 ✭✭monksavage

A big torch taped on to the end of your gun and blind the bastardss!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Avoid lasers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,984 ✭✭✭NakedDex

That's a bit extreme isn't it? Would you like it if someone blinded you on a skirmish field at night?

A torch is a good idea but I'd only use it for emergencies. If you can, get hold of an IR filter for it. It allows you to look at things like maps without destroying your natural night vision. It also aids nvg use.

NakedDex wrote: »
    That's a bit extreme isn't it? Would you like it if someone blinded you on a skirmish field at night?

Old skool man. The Iraqi`s dont use have night vision! Keep it mil sim dude!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

red tape over the lens of the torch will do. if not red see through selophane wrappers work a treat!!! cos you need the light to shine trough the tape..;)

monksavage wrote: »

What are you talking about? Why and where'd Iraq come into it? If you want to keep it MilSim then everyone should have NVG. It's common as muck now and standard issue in many units. You can get Gen4 on ebay now for God's sake.

Yes the gardai are informed, its on private property and a great distance from any public/vechicles/houses, Thanks for the concern though. Thinking of also doing a indoor building match maybe aswel tomarrow but not in house its actually one of friends which is being built but is not furnished or plastered yet. Ya I would defo use a IR filter for a torch thanks for the ideas lads, should be a blast tomarrow and Im also having a day skirmish so it will be none stop from 11am on, woohoo:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭c-90

if your using iron sights or even the ones on top of the steyr scope paint the back of them with tip ex or if you can glow in the dark stuff so they can be seen easily in the dark and some thread incase your patrolling your team members can hold on to the thread and not get lost, try to use night vision only and not lights because youll be listening more than looking.

:cool::cool::cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 57 ✭✭Utreg

NVG's are nice but not that essential. They do mess up your own eye's nightvision a bit.
    I have a monocular and you'll get one big pupil and one small one which is a bit funny but you get used to it.
    Its a shame we are not allowed NV scopes in Ireland... :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,052 ✭✭✭Dr_Pepper

Popanddrop wrote: »
    Yes the gardai are informed, its on private property and a great distance from any public/vechicles/houses

Great to hear of responsible airsofting in the public's hands.
    Keep up the good work.

Thanks again guys you have all been a big help.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

A dazling lamp would be class.
    Team up with a SAW gunner and lie in wait. On goes dazling lamp, aaaaannnnddd SPRAY!!

Batteries are a bit heavy though :(

ya i know I have one.

Arcto wrote: »
    A dazling lamp would be class.
    Team up with a SAW gunner and lie in wait. On goes dazling lamp, aaaaannnnddd SPRAY!!

Batteries are a bit heavy though :(

That's a very darkside tactic though. I know I wouldn't like to be wandering a dark, slippy field with partial to no sight for any length of time. It raises all kinds of safety concerns. If I thought we would be allowed to do that I'd have attached stoboscope bulbs to PIR sensors and planted them around the base during the last night game to blind and disorientate anyone who came near the base. However I didn't because I put myself in the mind set of the person who'd trip them. It'd be a fairly darkside tactic to do to someone and would not win you any friends or kudos from anyone.

What are you talking about? Why and where'd Iraq come into it? If you want to keep it MilSim then everyone should have NVG. It's common as muck now and standard issue in many units. You can get Gen4 on ebay now for God's sake.

I doubt very much that it is standard issue in many units. Not everyone whats to be an American airsofter!

Apparently its pretty common even in the Irish defense forces. Though its not as useful as you would think. Apparently using it in active mode exposes your position to others using night vision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,612 ✭✭✭bullets

NV destroys yer natural nightvision.

I've had several gen 1 night vision equipment.
    Gen one is Crap without an additional IR source to illuminate for ya.
    Usually the IR source is Visible and Red when it should be totally inviable
    to the naked eye.

If ye want to see in the dark then take one trusty mini Sony mini camcorder
    and strap it onto yer AEG. Some camcoders have a IR leds and are sensitive
    to IR light and have a night filming mode which is actually better than
    Gen 1 Night vision equipment. Flip out the LCD screen while gaffer taped
    to your AEG and you can watch what the camera is seeing without having
    an NV monocular or head gear pressed up against yer eye.

Irish site for NV gear :
    http://www.nightvision-ireland.com/
    ~B

I doubt very much that it is standard issue in many units. Not everyone whats to be an American airsofter!

It's nothing to do with being an American airsofter (whatever the hell that's supposed to be), if you want to keep a night op stirctly and totally MilSim you'll need real-cap mags, nvg's for all (Gen3-I or higher) and plenty of flares, IR lamps, IR flares and trip-activating devices.
    Flashing a torch in someones face isn't MilSim. None of what you're saying is cohesive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,758 ✭✭✭Stercus Accidit

Gen 2 is gen 1 without the need for additional ir isnt it?

I dont remember, but gen 2 costs a couple of grand.

Gen2 is high hundreds to about the 1k mark. Gen 3 is split into 3 categories (I, II, III) and depending on the type can be a few grand to about 12k. Gen4 then is lottery money.

Just got back from the night skirmish, I must say the nightvision was definetly worth bringing because even though there was a bit of moon, we were in a forest so there was hardly any visiblity. The battles last 1 hour a piece and we got 3 of those it. Did go through that many rounds onlt 250 because I was semi-auto and since I was using my new JG Dragunov I was picking people off accuratly at ease. Only got hit only as well when I peeked over a ditch to take a shot. Those who had shotguns there were doomed from the beginning as they had very small mags and reloading in the dark became risky for them because then someone would just open up on them. One of the is now getting a AEG after seeing just how much they would help them. Have to go up to the forest early in the morning because the deal we made with the farmer whos son was skirmishing tonight is that we would retrieve and discard any BB`s we could fing which I guess is fair enough because there is no skirmish site in Cork yet and certainly no sign of a night match which turned out to be a huge success. Thanks to those that gave advice to me, it came in very handy.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Tomazas

bullets wrote: »
    If ye want to see in the dark then take one trusty mini Sony mini camcorder and strap it onto yer AEG. Some camcoders have a IR leds and are sensitive to IR light and have a night filming mode which is actually better than Gen 1 Night vision equipment. Flip out the LCD screen while gaffer taped to your AEG and you can watch what the camera is seeing without having an NV monocular or head gear pressed up against yer eye.

~B
    Well here I cant agree with you, I have Sony camcorder with IR led (camcoder is about year old, so maybe newer models are better equiped witch I doubt) and is good for nothing in pitch dark, I wouldnt go skirmishing for sure.

Does anyone use tracer bb`s when night skirmishing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,425 ✭✭✭Fidelis

Use biodegradable BB's!

Can you get biodegradable tracer bb`s?

Excel Bio Tracer BBs

I presume they're biodegradable.

Tomazas wrote: »
    Well here I cant agree with you, I have Sony camcorder with IR led (camcoder is about year old, so maybe newer models are better equiped witch I doubt) and is good for nothing in pitch dark, I wouldnt go skirmishing for sure.

Thats passive then.

Fidelis wrote: »
    Excel Bio Tracer BBs

I presume they're biodegradable.
    Definely going to order some of those because I will be doing alot of night skirmish`s in the very near future(hopefully this weekend)

I just saw that AirsoftEire.com do them too. Probably cheaper than ordering them from RedWolf :)

They may not even be biodegradable though, it doesn't mention it there. It could be a description for how the BBs glow?

They are biodegradeable. They glow by using a tracer unit, either in the form of a suitable tracer magazine or a tracer silencer such as the the Marui Tracer Unit. They strobe UV light over the bb to charge them as they leave the barrel. They do not work as anything other than regular bbs without the use of this tracer unit.

Also remember, tracers look cool and are handy for aiming, but they work both ways. It makes it very easy for someone to see where you're shooting from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

That's a very darkside tactic though. I know I wouldn't like to be wandering a dark, slippy field with partial to no sight for any length of time. It raises all kinds of safety concerns. If I thought we would be allowed to do that I'd have attached stoboscope bulbs to PIR sensors and planted them around the base during the last night game to blind and disorientate anyone who came near the base. However I didn't because I put myself in the mind set of the person who'd trip them. It'd be a fairly darkside tactic to do to someone and would not win you any friends or kudos from anyone.

War is hell.

Wait, Rephrased to be airsoft friendly:

Airsoft is hell

(DISCLAIMER: Airsoft may not actually be the biblical interpretation of hell. You retain your statitory rights)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Arcto wrote: »
    War is hell.

Wait, Rephrased to be airsoft friendly:

Airsoft is hell

(DISCLAIMER: Airsoft may not actually be the biblical interpretation of hell. You retain your statitory rights)

Take it to Christianity please ...;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3 felchspoon

actually they do but we wont quibble and some of it is better than coalition forces, granted not all insurgents have these but enough to make it a real threat.

red light (ie a red filter or just use a red permement marker over the lense) mini cylumes (light sticks for you ravers) different colours so you can identify teammates on the back of webbing/hats