Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Timeframe...

• 14-02-2008 9:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭

Hey guys,
    Heading off RTW in June and am kinda anxious about the amount of time we have and dividing it well!
    We are starting off like such:

Singapore 5 days
    Malaysia 10 days
    Thailand 30 days
    Laos 7 days
    Cambodia 7 days
    Vietnam 10 days
    China 14 days ((possibly gonna cut this bit out cos of the expense of China))

Oz + NZ 7 months in total
    South America 2 months exscorted tour...

Its really Asia were worried about cos once we get to oz we will have a better idea of monies and wether or not we like certain cities etc etc!

Money wont really be an issue, we have €15k each ( after tickts visas insurance etc ) and are planning on working in Oz + NZ

Dont want to rush asia but dnt want to be staying there with nothing to see or do cos we have it all done...

What you think?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 627 ✭✭✭Jugs82

Just back since Oct from a similar trip although we didnt get to Sth America.

I take it that your landing in Singapore - 5 days is alot of time for Singapore, but if your landing there, maybe you want to relax for a while. Its also a bit more expensive than other SE Asian countries. The city is cool enough, little India is nuts but fun :D and a good place to stay

10 days in Malaysia is more than enough,Kuala Lumpar and the Cameron Highlands are both highly recommended but if your worried about time, its do-able in 7-8 days.

Not sure if your planning on bussing or getting a train into Southern Thailand but if i was you id fly into Bangkok from KL - theres alot of unrest in Southern Thailand, better off avoiding it!

30 days in Thailand, lots to do alright - the islands, Bangkok and Chiang Mai :) Bangkok is great but it takes a little getting used to.. Khoa San Rd. is backpacker central but the area around it is nice, also, you'll get more value staying in Guesthouses away from there - i based myself here and would recommend it

Airasia are a godsend for cheap flights, check them out - handy for getting to the islands and Chiang Mai, the buses can be an experience ;) of course flying saves you a day (rather than 16 hours on a bus)

That said, do get the bus to Laos from Bangkok or the boat from Chaing Mai from Luang Prabang - Capital is nice, Vang Vien is crazy and not for everyone, Luang Prabang is beautiful and worth a few days. Also the 4000 Islands down south are brilliant, no electricity, laid back vibe, class!! but you need more than 7 days - Laos is class and worth at least 2 weeks - also it takes time getting around as the roads are not stellar and buses take forever...

Itenary could be Chiang Mai - Luang Prabang - Vietianne - Don Det (4000 Islands) - Cambodia

Cambodia, your grand in 7 days - Phnom Penh and Siem Reap for Angkor Wat then on Saigon

Vietnam in 10 days if your planning on getting to Hanoi and into China isnt possible - its a big country with lots to see - Saigon - Nha Trang - Hoi An - Hue - Hanoi -Halong Bay - my favourite country

Feel free to PM me with any questions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,171 ✭✭✭Neamhshuntasach

You're Asia one seems okay. You can get a train from Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok. It takes about 40 hours and you get your own sleeping cabin. Only costs about 50 dollars. And it's a great experience. But if you have a flight already i guess that's no use to you.

Most people use Thailand as a base and then venture into Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos. You're time looks about right. Foe me personally 7 days was pushing it in Laos. Just be aware that you can not cross in to Cambodia from Laos. There is no legal border crossing. But i heard a rumor that you can do that now so it's worth researching before you go if the above is your linear route. You could also easily spend more than 30 days in Thailand. Especially if you wanted to take in the north and Chill on the islands in the south. On the money issue for SE Asia, you will survive on 20 euro a day. Thailand is cheap, a little more expensive in the south by Thailand's terms. Cheaper elsewhere. And Vietnam, Cambodia and Laos are even cheaper. But remember there are no ATM's in Cambodia. So bring money with you. I heard there is some now but you must have a local account. Not sure about that.

Australia and New Zealand are grand for time. You'll be able to work for a few months and comfortably travel around and see everything. I've never been but it is just as expensive as Ireland over there apparently.

The only thing that seems rushed to me is the South American part. 2 months is a very short time to see such a huge continent with so much to see and do. I know you are going with an organized group and that is the optimal way to see the more in shorter periods of time. But they are very rushed and you don't get the chance to interact with many people outside your group. So you miss out on the craic in the hostels with independant backpackers. You also have to move on from places that you may want to spend more time in.

To me it looks like a sound enough plan. you will have well enough money to last you the time especially with you working in OZ.

You're Asia one seems okay. You can get a train from Kuala Lumpur to Bangkok. It takes about 40 hours and you get your own sleeping cabin. Only costs about 50 dollars. And it's a great experience. But if you have a flight already i guess that's no use to you.

Defintely an option but Air Asia from KL to BKK would save time and actually cost less
    ust be aware that you can not cross in to Cambodia from Laos. There is no legal border crossing

Went from Southern Laos into Cambodia without any issue.. got bus from Paske to Border, got Visa and arrived in Phnom Penh afew hours later
    For me personally 7 days was pushing it in Laos

Definetly agree that 7 days is pushing it in Laos..
    But remember there are no ATM's in Cambodia. So bring money with you. I heard there is some now but you must have a local account. Not sure about that.

There are ATM's in Cambodia, quiet plentiful too!! No need for a local account, just Cirrus or Maestro ATM Card, i had no issues with my AIB Card

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

hey you gguuuyyysss!!
    thank you so much!!! over jugs saying about the unease in south thailand (i had heard this before too!) i think we'l fly from KUL-BKK!
    we'll defo keep around 2 weeks - 18 days for Laos im hearing really great things about it!!
    Would ye recommend China? For the sheer fact that its probably one of the countries we wont be visiting on our holidays in the future!
    And safety wise, were ye ok? I know that you gotta keep your head on your shoulders ((stands no matter where you go really eh!)) but overall did ye feel safe? Had a email from a mate of mine the other day from Thailand saying his phone got robbed from beside his pillow as he slept!!
    He could be over-ezaggerating though!

Jugs82 wrote: »
    Went from Southern Laos into Cambodia without any issue.. got bus from Paske to Border, got Visa and arrived in Phnom Penh afew hours later

Definetly agree that 7 days is pushing it in Laos..

There are ATM's in Cambodia, quiet plentiful too!! No need for a local account, just Cirrus or Maestro ATM Card, i had no issues with my AIB Card

It seems things have changed since i was there in 2005. There was not one ATM in all of Cambodia. Well i didn't see one and so everyone was saying.

Back then you could not legally go into Cambodia from Laos. But as i mentioned above i heard that has changed. I'll be back in that region in 2009 at some stage. Will be interesting to see how things are different.

Also you mentioned in your first post that you'd need 2 weeks for Laos but then you agreed with me that 7 days is pushing it. For me the Mekong river was the best craic. There wasn't much else to do. When i'm back there i want to go further north near the China border to the hill tribes.

Mekong was brilliant, really enjoyed the trip down to the Mekong Delta in Vietnam, stayed with a family for afew days, highly recommended

Anyways, enjoy your trip Supermouse and Neamhshuntasach, 2009 isnt all that far away :D

supermouse wrote: »
    hey you gguuuyyysss!!
    thank you so much!!! over jugs saying about the unease in south thailand (i had heard this before too!) i think we'l fly from KUL-BKK!
    we'll defo keep around 2 weeks - 18 days for Laos im hearing really great things about it!!
    Would ye recommend China? For the sheer fact that its probably one of the countries we wont be visiting on our holidays in the future!
    And safety wise, were ye ok? I know that you gotta keep your head on your shoulders ((stands no matter where you go really eh!)) but overall did ye feel safe? Had a email from a mate of mine the other day from Thailand saying his phone got robbed from beside his pillow as he slept!!
    He could be over-ezaggerating though!

I didn't find Thailand a dangerous country and any of my mates that have been there never found it dangerous either. Of course there will always be theft and crimes of opportunity due to the huge amount of tourists.

And also souther Thailand is grand as a whole. It's just certain provinces. But the conflict has been going on for years. It's only making it's way to western media now when it began to involve muslims. Don't go into Pattani or Yala if you want to avoid it. Phuket and Samui, etc are nowhere near any violence.

I didn't go too far into China. It was more so just because i was so close to it when in northern Vietnam. You can get a train from Hanoi to Beijing in 2 days i think. And it's not that expensive. China was okay, i'd like to see more of it. But didn't meet many people who spoke English and sometimes people appeared hostile with foreigners. Nothing confrontational, just their attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 793 ✭✭✭supermouse

You could also easily spend more than 30 days in Thailand. Especially if you wanted to take in the north and Chill on the islands in the south.QUOTE]
    We only said 30 days for the fact of the visas - maybe it may be worth paying that little bit more to stay for the extra few days.
    We really are in 2 minds about china - theyre not ment to have fantastic English and its supposed to be expensive but id say it would be amazing!! especially because we'll hit it around August time with the Olympic Atmosphere! We'l probably have to camp on the subway !!! :):)

And guys how did ye prove ye were leaving the countries? As in when we land in SIN the only way we will be granted our tourist visa is if we show proof of leaving the country to continue an onward journey. Were thinking of just going online and booking some kinda train / bus to take us to Malaysia and then when we get there either use it or scrap it and stay longer and use another way of travelling between the 2. What ye think? Will this be ok ?

Again, thanks so much!!

You get 30 days free entry into Thailand as far as i remember. All you have to do is get an exit stamp on way out of Thailand into Laos or any other country. And then come right back in and get another 30 days. Or you can just wait till you are going to be re-entering Thailand again. That's what i did. So it shouldn't cost you any extra. But if you overstay your 30 days you will be fined.

Hong Kong is the only really overly expensive part of China. You can manage on about 25 euro upwards a day depending on what you want to do. I've a friend living in China and he said that outside the big cities you can go for days without seeing other backpackers or finding anyone to speak English with. So you can get well off the beat track there. I don't think i'd like to be there during the Olympics. To me it seems like it would be the one time China would become a little more western with all the spectators and tourists flocking there.

Usually booking a train or a hotel in another country for a date within your visa limit for you current country should suffice as proof of onward travel. It has worked for me in central and south America and i was told by the United States embassy that it will work for them too as i'll be in that situation later this year. And if you happen to be traveling on a RTW ticket usually that is proof enough that you intend to leave the country even if your next flight falls outside your visa limit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 nialinho

Jugs82 wrote: »
    Mekong was brilliant, really enjoyed the trip down to the Mekong Delta in Vietnam, stayed with a family for afew days, highly recommended

Anyways, enjoy your trip Supermouse and Neamhshuntasach, 2009 isnt all that far away :D

Could you tell me about how you organised that stay with a family? Interested in doing something like that myself when im there in may