Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The fitness forum thinks we are a cult.

• 12-02-2008 3:50am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Hey brothers. Many greetings from sunny Australia where the beer, paradoxically, needs a jumper to keep it cool.
    I wish I understood the physics of this, I really do. But it works and life is good.
    I hope ye are all sleeping off the few tinnies / takeaway monday night combo by now. Just to let you know, that thanks to the fitness forum, we have now officially been labelled a cult.
    OK. So I was posting in the fitness forum.
    A difficult admission at any time brothers.
    But hear my side. I will let you view the thread here.
    As you can see. I was merely advocating that occasionally, a person is better off getting lumpy and enjoying himself, rather than sweating away at some gym.
    Well anyway, my inoccuous advice ( presumably a revelation to the OP ) was taken rather out of context by one of our natural enemies, fit people everywhere.
    Gentleman name of st0n3d (what were his parents thinking?) who I of course have no qualms with at all, in fact, he was quite nice in his posting:
    St0n3d wrote: »
    The chap didn't come here to become more lazy than he is now, or join any cult who say drinking is good all the time, one sit up a day works and whatever else you offer in your package..
    So as you can see, this gent has labelled us as some sort of cult. I for one agree and am mixing the special punch now.
    Who wants to invite Tom Cruise along? Hope you all have a good day and that the Jesus Comet passes by soon so we are ascended to the great steakhouse in the sky where the beer is poured by three boobed angels and God himself makes the special sauce.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭fredzer

"You know that nobody will judge your future pudginess at BGRH right? We are waiting with open arms brother. We have recipes for you. We have the right kind of dietary requirements, and a healthy love of the booze. No strict exercise regime, except the one sit up every day, involving getting up in the morning, and then lying down at night. Drinking twice a week you say? I think it's time to knuckle down brother, but we can help you with that in the ultimate virtual bar.
    See you there soon as you have given up on this good food and exercise fad. Science will prove it all wrong in the end you know.
    Science proves everything. And fat people make science.
    You don't learn that on a treadmill."QUOTE

Solid gold advice for the young lad!!!
    I'm sold Dr B, where do I sign up for this mystic and ancient "cult”???!!!:D
    Check out ston3d's advice to the young lads request for help.....I think he' be signing up too !!!

"I'm guessing hes just not properly portioned?
    Not fun having 11 stone when its in the middle region and your arms look like chou mein sticks trying to pick up a noodle.."QUOTE.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Haha. I cant believe I didnt win the guy over with my mighty rhetoric. Although the fact that he didnt reply may well mean that he has taken the night off to ponder it over a take away and some tinnies. I am sure that tomorrow morning we will have yet another convert to "the cause".
    Lets face it. We just have more fun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

dr.bollocko any more of that cr*p on the Fitness Forum and you will be infracted off this site so fast you'll end up in New Zealand with the force of my wrath.

There's a line between the two fora and when you cross it you must respect the wishes of the posters and Moderators beyond it. When I come to BGRH I don't spout on about the virtues of healthy living and forsaking water for beer (I apologies for even writing such blasphemies brothers :o) I get into the spirit of the forum. Either do the same in Fitness or get banned. The choice is yours.

And to the rest of the brothers... good morning, I come bearing breakfast...

breakfastDM1607_228x230.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,212 ✭✭✭✭Tom Dunne

g'em wrote: »
    dr.bollocko any more of that cr*p on the Fitness Forum and you will be infracted off this site so fast you'll end up in New Zealand with the force of my wrath.

You are so hot right now.
    And to the rest of the brothers... good morning, I come bearing breakfast...

breakfastDM1607_228x230.jpg

Oh my God! Can you get any hotter? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Tom Dunne wrote: »
    Oh my God! Can you get any hotter? ;)

ah man you should see her when she is all hot and sweaty;)

jsb wrote: »
    ah man you should see her when she is all hot and sweaty;)

I did - at the mods beers on Friday night with a certain Brother.

And I have pics to prove it.

Gawd that was nothing. Another couple of alcohol tainted tonic waters and I would've thrown one of ye over my shoulders and started squatting you. Sure that's how I met Mr. g'em :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Ah mods clubs there is the real cult in our midst! :eek:

Gawd that was nothing. Another couple of alcohol tainted tonic waters and I would've thrown one of ye over my shoulders and started squatting you. Sure that's how I met Mr. g'em :D

Discalimer: Just to nip this one in the bud, that last comment was intended purely in jest. I would never for a moment suggest anything untoward happened on Friday night between g'em and any of the Brothers.

Besides, I am afraid of Mr. g'em. I doubt he would be the type of chap to let disparaging comments on his fair lady go by lightly. And rightly so.

So I'm just going to stop digging a hole for myself here and get back to the bar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭Slow Motion

Discalimer: Just to nip this one in the bud, that last comment was intended purely in jest. I would never for a moment suggest anything untoward happened on Friday night between g'em and any of the Brothers.

Besides, I am afraid of Mr. g'em. I doubt he would be the type of chap to let disparaging comments on his fair lady go by lightly. And rightly so.

So I'm just going to stop digging a hole for myself here and get back to the bar. :D

Here! You'll need this rope to climb out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Oh, thanks for that Brother Tom. I was in serious trouble. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Besides, I am afraid of Mr. g'em.

Truthfully I would be more worried about g'em then Mr. G'em

jsb wrote: »
    Truthfully I would be more worried about g'em then Mr. G'em

Proper order ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

PM - now please

Too late, many a true word said in jest
    DesF wrote: »
    Oh, thanks for that Brother Tom. I was in serious trouble. :D

YOU ARE :mad:

irishbird wrote: »
    PM - now please

Irishbird, pet, you know what happens at the beers stays at the beers.

Especially when it is a mod beers.

Irishbird, pet, you know what happens at the beers stays at the beers.

Especially when it is a mod beers.
    Thanks Brother Tom.

that doesnt get you off the hook, darling :cool:

irishbird wrote: »
    that doesnt get you off the hook, darling :cool:
    Don't worry, I'm an expert in getting off hooks ;)

hmmmmmmmmm:p the less said about that the better, i think

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

This guy could have used your help
    http://www.nypost.com/seven/02092008/news/regionalnews/hangy_spanky_414490.htm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

Hey brothers. Many greetings from sunny Australia where the beer, paradoxically, needs a jumper to keep it cool.
    I wish I understood the physics of this, I really do. But it works and life is good.
    I hope ye are all sleeping off the few tinnies / takeaway monday night combo by now. Just to let you know, that thanks to the fitness forum, we have now officially been labelled a cult.
    OK. So I was posting in the fitness forum.
    A difficult admission at any time brothers.
    But hear my side. I will let you view the thread here.
    As you can see. I was merely advocating that occasionally, a person is better off getting lumpy and enjoying himself, rather than sweating away at some gym.
    Well anyway, my inoccuous advice ( presumably a revelation to the OP ) was taken rather out of context by one of our natural enemies, fit people everywhere.
    Gentleman name of st0n3d (what were his parents thinking?) who I of course have no qualms with at all, in fact, he was quite nice in his posting:

So as you can see, this gent has labelled us as some sort of cult. I for one agree and am mixing the special punch now.
    Who wants to invite Tom Cruise along? Hope you all have a good day and that the Jesus Comet passes by soon so we are ascended to the great steakhouse in the sky where the beer is poured by three boobed angels and God himself makes the special sauce.

Well everybody know you're one of the biggest cu...Oh wait...you said c..u..l..t, forget I mentioned anything...

***whistles to self***

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

Miaow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Sorry Bollocko,

it takes a lot more than one random poster to represent what us Fitness guys think of your BGRH boys! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

Dragan wrote: »
    Sorry Bollocko,

it takes a lot more than one random poster to represent what us Fitness guys think of your BGRH boys! :D

You all love us. :p