Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Namdaemun destroyed in fire

• 11-02-2008 5:03am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭

Very sad, police think somebody did it.

http://joongangdaily.joins.com/article/view.asp?aid=2886052

6-century-old National Treasure destroyed in fire

February 11, 2008

Namdaemun, Korea’s No. 1 national treasure and a major tourist attraction in central Seoul, crumbles in fire overnight, though more than 100 firefighters strove to put out the fire which police suspect was caused by arson. By Kim Tae-seong

A fire engulfed a six-century-old gate in the heart of Seoul overnight, with police suspecting it was caused by arson.
    The wooden structure on the top of the stone gate was burnt down several hours after it caught fire late Sunday.
    The blaze appeared to be under control at one point, but it flared up again a few minutes later, spreading quickly as firefighters tried to
    salvage what they could.
    The landmark, officially called Sungnyemun, or "gate of exalted ceremonies," was the southern gate of the walls that surrounded Seoul during the Joseon Dynasty (1392-1910).
    It currently serves as a gateway to Namdaemun market, a traditional market that has been operating for centuries.
    Construction of the gate began in 1395 and was finished in 1398 during the reign of King Taejo, who founded the Joseon Dynasty.
    The structure was renovated several times, most recently in 1962.
    The oldest wooden structure in Seoul, the gate was designated a National Treasure in 1962.
    Police officials are still trying to find the cause of the fire, but believe it was arson.
    A taxi driver who reported the fire told police investigators that he saw a man in his 50s go up the stairs to the gate shortly before the blaze started.
    The loss of the national treasure is expected to lead to severe criticism of the Cultural Heritage Administration, the government office in charge of maintaining cultural and historical artifacts,
    including national treasures.
    Firefighters said there were only eight fire extinguishers at the six-century gate. The incident comes less than three years after the country lost to fire one of its oldest Buddhist temples,
    Naksan Temple, along with the temple's bronze bell, also a National Treasure, in April 2005.
    Effort to restore the 1,300-year old temple continues and is expected to cost over 10 billion won ($10 million).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

Well at least Ballymun is still ok!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭monosharp

Jrad wrote: »
    Well at least Ballymun is still ok!

Not funny man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭Jrad

monosharp wrote: »

Not funny man

Sorry Dude!

Jrad wrote: »
    Sorry Dude!

I never got to see it :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,438 ✭✭✭livinginkorea

'Restoration of landmark gate to take up to 3 years'

Restoring the Sungnyemun, the 610-year-old national treasure which was destroyed by an overnight fire, is expected to take up to three years and cost about 20 billion won, an official at the Cultural Heritage Administration estimated.

The landmark gate, standing in the heart of Seoul, was reduced to ugly twisted beams and ashes. The gate, better known as Namdaemun, was designated as National Treasure No. 1 in 1962.

Police have yet to determine the cause, but suspect an arson attack because of witnesses' statements and two cigarette lighters found inside the structure. No one was injured in the blaze.

"Though we have yet to discover the exact scale of the devastation, the restoration work will take two to three years," said Kim Sang-gu, a senior official at the CHA. "In 2006, we drew a real-size blueprint of the Sungnyemun as part of our efforts to establish anti-fire systems for major wooden cultural relics, so we can technically restore the archetype of the gate."

President-elect Lee Myung-bak visited the scene of the inferno yesterday, and expressed deep sadness over the collapse of the national treasure.

"(Namdaemun) was a symbolic cultural heritage of our nation; its devastation aches the hearts of the citizens," said the grim-faced Lee.

The fire broke out at around 8:50 p.m. on Sunday somewhere between the first and second levels of the landmark gate. At about 2 a.m. yesterday, the two-tiered wooden structure collapsed.

Police and firefighters are criticized for having failed to promptly respond; they apparently feared that the ancient gate could be damaged by anti-fire efforts.

According to a taxi driver, an eyewitness, the gate was set ablaze about two minutes after a man presumably in his 50s climbed up the stairs to the wooden part of it.

The government held an emergency meeting yesterday, presided over by Prime Minister Han Duck-soo.

During the meeting, it was decided to set up a task force to coordinate the efforts of all parties concerned in ascertaining the exact cause of the fire and restoring the landmark. Administration members spoke of the need to check and strengthen safety measures to protect all the national treasures.

The presidential transition committee also called on investigating authorities and relevant agencies to get to the bottom of the case and take proper measures to deal with it.

"I feel sorry to our descendents for failing to protect the gate. The incoming government needs to check related policies and systems regarding the management of such cultural gems," said Lee Kyung-sook, the committee chairwoman.

Police yesterday launched a full-scale investigation into the fire. However, they have yet to determine the exact cause of the fire, and are leaving open all possibilities.

"We questioned three witnesses, but some parts of their accounts clashed with one another. We also analyzed images from four closed-circuit televisions installed around the gate, but failed to secure the scenes of a suspect moving up the Sungnyemun," said Kim Young-su, head of the Namdaemun Police Station which is handling the case.

He added, "The exact spot and cause of the fire will be verified after the results of the forensic investigation come out."

Police are also looking into whether there was any negligence by those in charge of maintaining the gate. They questioned security guards and supervising personnel.

Experts say that the fire was likely caused by an arsonist, as the flames were first seen from the second floor of the wooden structure where there were no electrical illumination devices. Also, some firefighters found two cigarette lighters at the scene.

By law, anyone who sets fire to a nationally designated cultural relic could face a jail sentence exceeding three years.

Lawmakers criticized authorities for failing to timely and systematically react to the incident to salvage the landmark gate.

"(Authorities) were quite at a loss while I was watching the gate engulfed in flames for five hours. I was wondering whether any national system, in general, functions properly," said Sohn Hak-kyu, the new chief of the United New Democratic Party.

"Since this was presumably an arson fire and people seem to blame the fire department's misjudgment in putting out the fire, we need to thoroughly verify the cause and draw up measures to prevent the repeat of such incident," said Kang Jae-sup, chief of the Grand National Party.

A palpable sense of frustration prevailed among citizens in Seoul regarding the devastated landmark.

"Opening Namdaemun to the general public, the authorities had only six fire extinguishers, which shows how neglectful they were in managing our precious relics. At around 11 p.m. on Sunday, the overall shape of the gate remained pretty intact, but their late response to the fire and the failure to coordinate the efforts of all parties engaged in extinguishing the fire reduced the gate to rubble," said Kim Jae-min, an office worker in Seoul.

"Watching the scene of our best landmark on fire, I felt like one of my close friends was burning alive. Rather than passing the buck, we need to check anti-fire plans once again to prevent another precious treasure from disappearing again," said Shim Gyu-in, a college student in Seoul.

By Song Sang-ho

(sshluck@heraldm.com)

It's annoying that this is not the first time either that inadequate measures haven't been taken to protect their national heritage. The oldest temple burned down 3 years ago, a pavilion was burned down a couple of years ago in Suwon by some drunk and again in Suwon a couple of months ago a group of kids burned a huge section of grass beside the city walls looking for their fecking phone! Man the government here really have to get their ass in gear and get some security. They have to take some pride in their country and start getting a decent sprinkler and security system. It's really shocking. Koreans are so angry about this. The only thing that was saved was the sign (in Chinese).

I understand Jrad's response. It's in Korea and doesn't affect him. But nevertheless how would we all feel if our beloved Book of Kells was destroyed? Indeed a part of our culture would seemingly vanish in an instant. Pride would go out the window. I think you can understand that this issue can make people a little sensitive on the matter. I was just trying to get a disussion going.

If I come across any more news then I'll post it up.

LiK

monosharp wrote: »
    I never got to see it :(

The Irish Embassy is right there beside it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭frany

Oh my god. I heard the news on Korean net yesterday morning.:(
    I'm so sad to hear that. That was the National treasure No.1 of Korea
    and one of the 4 gates to get into Seoul.
    Thanks for posting the news from Korea.:)

Seems that they have caught somebody...

http://edition.cnn.com/2008/WORLD/asiapcf/02/11/skorea.landmark/index.html

SEOUL, South Korea (CNN) -- Police have arrested a 69-year-old man in connection with a fire that destroyed Namdaemun, South Korea's oldest wooden structure and a national treasure, a police source tells CNN.

Policemen stand guard in front of the debris of the Namdaemun gate in central Seoul on Monday.

The suspect was identified only by his last name "Chae" and has been arrested previously for arson, according to the police source.

Police officials questioned Chae late Monday after discovering clothes and a bag at his home similar to those described by witnesses, Yonhap reported.

Witnesses told police they saw a man appearing to be in his 60s near Namdaemun with a backpack and a ladder, according to Yonhap.

Police also found a bottle of paint thinner they suspect was used in Namdaemun's destruction, Yonhap reported.

Chae was the arsonist who in 2006 set ablaze part of a royal palace in Seoul listed as a World Heritage site, Yonhap cited police as saying. At that time, he received a suspended jail term, Yonhap reported.

Chae was detained at his home in Ganghwa Island west of Seoul late Monday after checking witness accounts against their records of arson convicts, according to Yonhap.

The fire that destroyed Namdaemun started around 9 p.m. Sunday and burned for hours.

More than a hundred firefighters poured water on the more-than-600-year-old structure, trying to save it.

The gate has stood at the center of Seoul, having served as the main entry point into the capital centuries ago, and is considered a national symbol to Koreans around the world.

The gate survived Japanese invasions in the 16th century and the 1950-1953 Korean war, Yonhap noted.

The Namdaemun's destruction comes less than three years after a fire destroyed one of South Korea's oldest Buddhist temples, Naksan Temple, and its bronze bell, also a national treasure, Yonhap reported.

The Irish Embassy is right there beside it.

Never being to the Embassy either man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Crazyk

Thanks for yr lament guys.
    I've just seen the picture of some tourists in Korea with destroyed Sungryemun(the real name of Namdaemun). With big big smile and with "V sign". Don't wanna mention about their nationality. U guys are totally different, Appreciate that.

By the way, the arson was angry with Korean government. Coz, he thought the reward for reconstruction of his house wasn't enough and he complained to Gov several times of that. Gov didn't do any. So, finally he got anger and did it. Even he was thinking of setting fire to a transport.. What a shame.

Crazyk wrote: »

By the way, the arson was angry with Korean government. Coz, he thought the reward for reconstruction of his house wasn't enough and he complained to Gov several times of that. Gov didn't do any. So, finally he got anger and did it. Even he was thinking of setting fire to a transport.. What a shame.

Yes but he did it before and they didn't do anything about it. It was their mistake. Now the new president wants us (those living in Korea) to pay for the new treasure! I don't think that's right. I think the goverment should pay because it's their mistake not to have security at the countries number 1 national treasure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Crazyk

Yes but he did it before and they didn't do anything about it. It was their mistake. Now the new president wants us (those living in Korea) to pay for the new treasure! I don't think that's right. I think the goverment should pay because it's their mistake not to have security at the countries number 1 national treasure.
    I absolutely agree with u. Course it's Gov's fault. But, is the arson not guilty then?
    And, do u really have to pay that? I understand it's kinda donation. So, it's up to you. But what's the difference between Gov's money and nation's money. Is not tax our money? If Mr. Lee pays everything, then it's different.

I am sure he's stupid. It's Gov's and his mistake for sure(about the arson, not having proper security). But, have we really cared about our treasures? After the incident of Changkyung Place did we really think about it? It's all nation's fault, I would say, yes including me.

Apart from that, I totally agree with u that the donation of reconstruction shouldn't be forced. Mr. Lee shouldn't have said that. It has be spontaneous by people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 seeshell

oh my god its really terrible... that was a really beautiful gate...

Crazyk wrote: »

Apart from that, I totally agree with u that the donation of reconstruction shouldn't be forced. Mr. Lee shouldn't have said that. It has be spontaneous by people.

That's what I am worring about. If he forces people to pay then we will surely have to pay for the stupid canal from Seoul to Pusan which in my opinion will be a waste of tax payers' money. Imagine if the government said we will built a canal from Belfast to Cork! People wouldn't be happy. This new Korean president (born in Japan) is only for the rich. House prices will sky rocket now because he has passed a law basically saying there is no cap on house prices in Korea. Anybody who owns their house and wishes to sell and charge a hell of a lot more than previously. Even the key money will go up. Suddenly my 100 million won doesn't seem so great :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭frany

That's what I am worring about. If he forces people to pay then we will surely have to pay for the stupid canal from Seoul to Pusan which in my opinion will be a waste of tax payers' money. Imagine if the government said we will built a canal from Belfast to Cork! People wouldn't be happy. This new Korean president (born in Japan) is only for the rich. House prices will sky rocket now because he has passed a law basically saying there is no cap on house prices in Korea. Anybody who owns their house and wishes to sell and charge a hell of a lot more than previously. Even the key money will go up. Suddenly my 100 million won doesn't seem so great :(

I heard Even Koreans feel regret for picking 2MB
    as Americans do about the president Bush!
    (2MB is his nickname on internet which is made by Korean internet users)
    Some Koreans say the brain of the president, Lee Myongbak has only
    2 megabites space and it means he is stupid.
    shame.......