Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford/Enniscorthy BJJ ???

• 10-02-2008 9:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭

Anybody know if there is BJJ in the Wexford/Enniscorthy area?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,759 ✭✭✭✭dlofnep

think there may be.. ill ask my judo instructor. hes from up that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭vasch_ro

ther is a next Generation club in Arklow just opened....if thats any good

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭Gorman

Thanks lads, is there a contact/website for the club in Arklow?

Also, I recall someone said there was a club in Enniscorthy - anyone know of this? There has to be a club somewhere in Wexord...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,190 ✭✭✭cletus

I think all info for the arklow club is here Gorman

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055213299

Gorman wrote: »
    Thanks lads, is there a contact/website for the club in Arklow?

Also, I recall someone said there was a club in Enniscorthy - anyone know of this? There has to be a club somewhere in Wexord...

I did also hear something about Enniscorthy, I'll let you know when I know buddy. You're welcome to pop down and train with us in Waterford anytime too.

Gorman, there is submission wrestling on in the waterfront leisure centre.

I'll pop you my instructor's details in a message just incase you need anymore info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 zenboy

there are groups doing no gi bjj in both enniscorthy and wexford.I can only speak for the wexford group as enniscorthy is not my responsibility.You are more than welcome to drop down to the presentation school gym in wexford town any tue 7.00 pm.There is no instructor but we learn from each other doing a lot of isolation sparring for specific goals.Training is for 1.5 hours.Two of us training for around 2 years the rest are novices.

Thanks for responses lads!

I'll be home this summer (Enniscorthy area) and I'm usually itching to roll after 2 weeks. Wexford and Waterford are close so I should get a chance to drop to one or hopefully both.

Zen - I'll send you a PM to get your email address, so I can get in contact around that time.

Cheers again!

BTW any Enniscorthy BJJ lads here??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 duplicators

Noel McHugh has clubs in Dublin and Wexford town. His website is www.eastcoastjujutsu.com. Im fairly sure that he is teaching BJJ in Wexford and anyone that has trained with him is always very impressed. It may be a different club to the one zenboy is talking about but if you contact Noel he'll fill you in on the location of clubs in Wexford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 zenboy

we do train at Noels club in wexford town but he doesnt teach the bjj himself ,its just a few lads with an interest in grappling at the back of juijutsu class learning from each other.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭burtyburr

There is a mixed ma club on davit road. It not purely bjj but there is a lot of rolling at end of class. There are also two polish lads with a sambo background there and they are pretty cool to train with. All the info here www.wexmma.com or just pm me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭David Jones

I have a couple of guys from Enniscorthy training with me on Wednesday nights, they have a traditional background but want to do BJJ. There are plans for me to teach a seminar down there on a future Sunday. Charles Flemming heads up Next Generation in Arklow which just opened in January, PM me and Ill give you his number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭celt2005

Thanks for responses lads!

I'll be home this summer (Enniscorthy area) and I'm usually itching to roll after 2 weeks. Wexford and Waterford are close so I should get a chance to drop to one or hopefully both.

Zen - I'll send you a PM to get your email address, so I can get in contact around that time.

Cheers again!

BTW any Enniscorthy BJJ lads here??

If you are in Wexford on June 7th, go to the Steve Morris Seminar, with WEXMMA

celt2005 wrote: »
    If you are in Wexford on June 7th, go to the Steve Morris Seminar, with WEXMMA

I'll be around from june 22 - july20, so unfortunately I won't be around for that seminar.

Enniscorthy & Wexford are probably the easiest for me to get to, I'll be in contact with the lads at www.wexmma.com as the summer gets closer.
    I have a couple of guys from Enniscorthy training with me on Wednesday nights, they have a traditional background but want to do BJJ. There are plans for me to teach a seminar down there on a future Sunday. Charles Flemming heads up Next Generation in Arklow which just opened in January, PM me and Ill give you his number.

David, thanks for the info, I'll send you a PM soon. Maybe we can get everyone together for a roll during the time I'm in Wexford/Enniscorthy?

It's great to see BJJ is taking off in wexford and the southeast. Three years ago there was absolutely nothing in the area (as far as I know). I suppose it reflective of Ireland in general.

Thanks again for all the responses!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭celt2005

I'll be around from june 22 - july20, so unfortunately I won't be around for that seminar.

Thats a pity, only time I have went down the sticks in the last 5 years was for funerals !!! , but I would,nt miss this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭burtyburr

I'll be around from june 22 - july20......
    Look forward to having you down.Just mail us when you around....I will get the lads to brush their hair and wear clean cloths:D

burtyburr wrote: »
    Look forward to having you down.Just mail us when you around....I will get the lads to brush their hair and wear clean cloths:D
    Lovely stuff, I'll bring the soup and sandwiches, maybe some fig rolls if yis are lucky ;)

bumping this to the top..

Does anyone know if there's people still getting together in Enniscorthy to do bjj?