Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Airsoft being attacked on irish military boards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭Puding

There problems with the use of uniforms are well founded there point has already been covered hear in the last week or so, and there well founded problems with the use of uniforms have been addressed by the aii. I do not see airsoft as being attacked directly (thought some do find it a bit funny but you get that across the board, you normal get a lot of criticism from people in the military but i also know a number of people from the military who enjoy airsoft its a case of each to there own) i think there more criticizing the uniform use.

(reading thought it ago its rather good read and balanced it kinda cover most of the view in regard to airsoft good/bad, and there opinion of the uniform law and enforcement is even slit among themselves)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

Ugh ... Just my two cents but its probably best to leave them the hell alone. Let them bang their chests etc.

We have done everything we can to put a stop to it and the IAA has stated it will start reporting people etc for breaking the law (as any citizen should) - fighting with them will only cause unnecessary friction and draw further attention to what is, lets face it, a rather unfortunate problem within the airsoft community.

We should let how we deal with the issue speak for us rather than kicking ass and taking names (which more than a few of you are capable of doing ;) ).

Edit:

I have read through a number of the posts and as far as I am concerned its the same stuff we have heard everyday for the last few years. The Ghosts and Contractors I feel a fair bit of sympathy for since they are getting slated for the T4BB thing but I still say they did a great job (if a little ahead of its time for the audience and organizers of the T4BB proper). Its really not worth responding to anything in there since its ground we have covered before and more than that, regarding the Irish DPM wearers ... any slagging they get is richly deserved for breaking the law in the first place.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 812 ✭✭✭Blazher

any slagging they get is richly deserved for breaking the law in the first place.

Agreed!

What ever way you look at it, We "Airsofters " Were in the wrong. Lets be man enough to say so and leave it be!

People just need to face the fact and let it die now, people understand now that IRISH DPM is a no no! as it always has been, If people really want to see this sport get as big as it can then people need to do thier bit to help,

Its only a small thing to ask of the community, We all need to play are part,

DO NOT USE IRISH DPM PLEASE!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 698 ✭✭✭BFSL

Ugh ... Just my two cents but its probably best to leave them the hell alone. Let them bang their chests etc.

I have to agree, just let it drop, most PDF and RDF guys are sound, but you will get the warlords, I know, I served in the PDF.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

Blazher wrote: »
    Agreed!

What ever way you look at it, We "Airsofters " Were in the wrong. Lets be man enough to say so and leave it be!

People just need to face the fact and let it die now, people understand now that IRISH DPM is a no no! as it always has been, If people really want to see this sport get as big as it can then people need to do thier bit to help,

Its only a small thing to ask of the community, We all need to play are part,

DO NOT USE IRISH DPM PLEASE!

I wonder how well it is being stressed to members of the RDF that you cannot wear your uniform while not on duty, or on the way to and from duty. This message seem to be not being communicated in a clear manner.

Thanks barry.

I've been unmasked!

To re-iterate to our new-found freinds:

We have no issue with the sport of Airsoft. Many IMO members partake in the sport.

We have issue with the use if Irish Defence Force property.

The laws are there to prevent IRA types (to be regarded as proper enemies) from pretending to be legitimate soldiers. The laws are not changing because of that.

Don't mind the detractors. Just take off the Irish Army stuff and play on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭-=AIR=-

Hi lads ! Lots of things in Ireland i like, but lots i don't understand, as about Iris DPM whay it is illegal to use them in airsoft sites?I am from Lithuania and i praud of my Country , it is nothing to stop me using Lithuanian Flag ant patches when i playing airsoft , becos airsoft is sport of HONOR , so whai Irish DF so angry about that if lads wearing DPM at airsoft sites ? In my opinion it is bad view!If lads wonna by Irish solders whay thei must weare german camo whit zimbabve flags ????

This is just my mind's !

Its due to our history of terrorism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Have to say, I absolutely agree with you on that one.

Dont know weather this was mentioned before but theses clowns were on the radio a while ago dribbling on about how its not dangerous and you cant hurt anyone with them.

If thats true then the correct term for the stuff they use is....................TOYS!!!!

So what we really have here is adults ( for the most part from what I saw at the salute show last year) dressing up as soldiers and playing with TOY GUNS!!!!!!!

In my oppinion there are 2 types of people that play with TOY GUNS, children and adults who may not firing off all cylinders.

If they want to indulge their freakish facination with firearms go buy a copy of guns and ammo and hide in the toilet.

As for serving members of the DF doin it, RDF i can maybe understand cause we have to admit, we dont get anywere near the amount of tactical training we'd like. But serving PDF lads,,,,, I think their a cause for worry!!!! especially when they tell you that their leaving the army cause they, quote..""didnt get to shoot anyone but in airsoft they do""
    Maybe its just as well theyve left!!

EDIT: I dont really need to say anything.
    Sad thing is i own an airsoft gun, but only shot cans on my back wall, and the occasional skanger.

Seems to be alot of these type comments over there also. Shouldnt someone eplain to them that wearing DPM clothing your not suposed to is bad but assaulting random "skangers" with toys (that are treated as firearms when used in an assaulting manner) is just fu(king insane?. Another bloke went on to say he uses it to shoot his neighbours cats!?

Whos REALLY doing the bad thing here?

Arcto wrote: »
    EDIT: I dont really need to say anything.

Like I said:
    Don't mind the detractors. Just take off the Irish Army stuff and play on!

And spudula is in the minority. By his reckoning, re-enactment groups and paintballers should be frowned upon. There's a whole section devoted to military equipment shows on IMO, so relax. Disagree with him, play on and show some pride in your country by shunning people wearing Irish DPM airsofting.

Edit: commendations to most-if not all- of ye who agree with the banning of Irish DPM from Irish airsoft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Disagree with him, play on and show some pride in your country by shunning people wearing Irish DPM airsofting.

I dont wear irish dpm when im airsofting. Id love to, but alas its against our govourning bodys rules and Irish law.
    I think site owners should refuse admission to people wearing Irish DPM, just like they would refuse admission if you were drunk.....or trying to use an over 1J airsoft gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,094 ✭✭✭trellheim

I wonder how well it is being stressed to members of the RDF that you cannot wear your uniform while not on duty, or on the way to and from duty. This message seem to be not being communicated in a clear manner.

For the record :

[ the regulations ]

Uniform shall be worn by members -
    (a) when on military duty, and
    (b) when proceeding to and from parades or other military duty.
    (2) Uniform may be worn by members -
    (a) when attending Church Services;
    (b) when attending social functions promoted under State or official military auspices,
    or promoted by recognised Welfare Committees of the Defence Forces;
    (c) on such other occasions as may be permitted

Ok, but the problem is that people don't know its illegal as opposed to just being against regulations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 797 ✭✭✭Spetzcong

I think it's about time the Irish military got to attack something ;)

Nah just messing, the law regarding Irish DPM is quite clear and it has no place on a skirmish field, the lads in the PDF and RDF put real effort and hard work into earning the right to wear those uniforms, and have every right to not want to see people running around 'playing soldiers' in them especially when wearing them without authorisation is illegal in the first place.

As far as the sport of airsoft just being full grown men running around playing with toys is concerned, all I have to say is:

Yeah, so what? Since when is what I chose to do with my spare time anyone else's business?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 243 ✭✭doubletap

the rules about not wearing DPM any time except on official business is drummed into recruits from the start. if you were to check on the ones who are wearing it you will find most are ex RDF/PDF who didn't hand their kit back when they left.

the dept of defence should go round to all the building sites and confiscate the DPM that the workmen are wearing, it really P****s me O** that navvies are wearing DPM Kit and those in the Reserve are finding it almost impossible to get new kit issued.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,679 Mod ✭✭✭✭Rew

Lets not drag up whats done and dusted...