Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RAG Week

• 09-02-2008 1:31am

As most people know RAG week is on from the 18th-23rd of February. This year, however, both GMIT and NUIG are holding their ones in conjunction with each other. I presume people know the stories (someone urinating in the Cathedral holywater).

Not only are the 2 RAG weeks together, it also is going to coincide with the Novena that is taking place. It's going to be a messy one.

What are yer opinions on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,529 ✭✭✭Im_No_Superman

As most people know RAG week is on from the 18th-23rd of February. This year, however, both GMIT and NUIG are holding their ones in conjunction with each other. I presume people know the stories (someone urinating in the Cathedral holywater).

Not only are the 2 RAG weeks together, it also is going to coincide with the Novena that is taking place. It's going to be a messy one.

What are yer opinions on this?
    I was told by afew people that the NUIG rag week was moved as the gaurds called over there and asked the student union to move it as they were concerned about how messy it could get. Whether thats true or not I dont know. It is madness having them both on the same week imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

Cancel both thb.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

as someone who actually attends NUIG (as opposed to those who say they do but only turn up for rag week), i couldn't give a sh*t, i'll be too busy with course work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭Shinto

you lucky b**tards, i'd love to be in Galway for a Double Rag Week .....its been years since the last double whammy.

But it's a bad idea to have it with the Novena, too many crowds and two very different groups (Rag Weekers and Novena people) colliding together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

ARGINITE wrote: »
    Cancel both thb.
    i couldn't give a sh*t, i'll be too busy with course work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 847 ✭✭✭Proxy

Is there any need for a rag week anymore? It doesn't raise money anymore (except for publicans and promoters), its just people getting locked. For a week. it brings nothing but bad news, bad reputation for both colleges, injury, student bankruptcy (for lack of a better term) and god knows what else happens/spreads.

Most students get locked 1-3 times a week as it is, so its not as if they need a friggin' "blowout" session like this anymore. Even if some are just finished exams or semesters, whatever... they'll go out anyway. I'm a postgrad now so i'm starting to sound like a bit of a fogey, but even from first year I thought Rag Week was crap. It was 3rd year till I learned that it actually originated from "Raise A Grand" week.

In short: Get rid of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Fracture

I've heard that the gmit rag week is being held back 1 week, and it was the guards who were told this by the gmit. If it is both on in the one week its gonna be just mental. I'd consider going away on a 2 week holiday for it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭Fionn MacCool

wtf is a Novena?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

wtf is a Novena?
    Some sort of christian rag week, only instead of students its elderly women and instead of alcohol they got the lamb of god

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

Well they're not quite on the same week as the Novena it runs from the 11th (Today) to the 19th (Tuesday) and the NUIG RAG week starts on the 18th the Monday.

I'm not sure if the GMIT RAG week is going ahead that week but the NUIG certainly is. As for the begrudgers fcuk them. Let the students have there blow out what's Race Week but RAG week for adults and I never here anyone complain about that. There is a full list of activities on RAG week that never happen during the rest of the year and to be fair the Students Union have made more of an effort in the past 2-3 years than they did before.

I'm post-grad now and I still think that RAG week does a service. I know when I was an undergrad I always liked RAG week as all my mates from all different courses were going out at the one time rather than a few here and there. Also if people think all the students are out every week wait till they see the crowds on RAG week. I know I used to save up and go out 2 to 3 times on RAG week including one all day session. I would never do that on a normal week. I'd just have to make sure that I worked it around lad times and I was fine.

RAG week also provides a dividing line between messing about and serious study. Things always got serious for me and many of my classmates after RAG week; revision, study and books out from here to exams.

Got this email today about stuff thats on RAG week from the SU
    2. R.A.G. Week 2008

Saturday 16th February

11am Bucket Squad – The bucket squad hit the streets of Galway to shake their
    money makers. Give generously and you shall receive a pressie! The bucket squad will
    also be on Campus all week long searching for shiny coinage.

Sunday 17th February

College Bar: Republic of Loose and Kanyu Tree Tickets €15.

Monday 18th February

12pm – 4pm Inflatables – Bounce your head off for only €2 in the Sports Hall
    with inflatable Twister, Human Demolition, Gladiator Joust and Laserquest.

2pm Scavenger Hunt – Use your powers of persuasion to beg, borrow and ….gather
    the items on the list with a €500 first prize up for grabs thanks to City Bin.
    Register your team of two in the SU now for €10.

3pm Jock Walk – The Jocks in their jocks (and lab coats) will be strutting their
    stuff around Campus to get you to part with your cash.

College Bar: DJ Byrno, Big Generator, No Banjo, O2 Headphone Disco (aka Silent Disco
    €5).

Tuesday 19th February

10am Triathlon (Leisureland) – A 5km run, 10km cycle & a 500metre swim. Are you
    tough enough? Sign up Weds 13th, Thurs 14th and Fri 15th at 1pm in Smokeys. €20
    minimum must be raised to enter the competition.

12pm – 3pm Galway Bay FM Baycaster – The Jimmy Norman show will be broadcasting
    live outside Áras na Mac Léinn.

12pm – 5pm Galway United FIFA 2008 Competition – In association with Squareyes a
    FIFA 2008 competition will be running in the Sports Hall with the winners competing
    against Galway United players. Big prizes up for grabs. Register in the SU for
    €5.

1pm Auction – The inaugural auction for college staff (and their deep pockets!)
    will be held in the Aula Maxima Lower. List of lot items and limited number of
    tickets €5 available from the SU. There will also be a raffle. Auctioneer for the
    day will be Paddy Flynn of Galway Real Estate. Tea & Coffee (sponsored by Campbells
    Catering) and sandwiches (sponsored by College Bar Catering) are included in the
    ticket price.

7.30pm PJ Gallagher, Comedian & Support – O’Flaherty Theatre Tickets €10 from
    the SU. Now with added raffle!

College Bar: DJ Ferg, Buck Taylor & Band, The Saw Doctors (Blackbox €15), Japanese
    Popstars.

Wednesday 20th February

11am Mile of Euros – We will be attempting, with the help of ArtSoc and you, to
    create a mile of euros in the foyer of Áras na Mac Léinn.

12pm – 4pm Papa John’s Pizza – Papa Johns will be serving up pizza slices
    outside Áras na Mac Léinn with 50% of sales going to the RAG week charities.

1pm – 3pm Parish Games – Do it for the Parish! Register your team of six (three
    men and three women) in the SU now. Entry fee is €30 per team with a top prize of
    €600 up for grabs. Events include: Tug of War, The Big Relay Race, The Welly Toss
    and the Slow Bike Race all on College Park (by the tennis courts).

3pm Remote Control Car Racing – For a €2 entry fee you can burn it up on the
    tennis courts with the winner taking home the car.

College Bar: DJ Paul Hannon, Pat Fitz (You’re a Star), Champions League, Tightrope

Thursday 21st February

11am – 5pm 5 A Side Soccer Competition – Gather your motley crew of five and get
    down to the Sports Hall to compete for the honour, the glory and the €500 prize.
    Team registration in the SU €40 per team.

12pm – 4pm Papa John’s Pizza – Papa Johns will be serving up pizza slices
    outside Áras na Mac Léinn with 50% of sales going to the RAG week charities.

Remember all proceeds from the Students’ Union RAG week events will go to the RAG
    week charities: Ability West www.abilitywest.ie <http://www.abilitywest.ie/&gt; Galway
    Simon Community www.galwaysimon.ie <http://www.galwaysimon.ie/&gt; Share a Dream
    Foundation www.share-a-dream.com <http://www.share-a-dream.com/&gt; and Chernobyl
    Children’s Foundation International www.chernobyl-international.com
    <http://www.chernobyl-international.com/&gt; . This year we want to raise €15,000
    for charity which would equate to €1 per student so please give generously!
    Tickets for events in the College Bar are already on sale from the ticket desk in
    the bar from 12pm to 3pm each day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,719 ✭✭✭ARGINITE

GMIT rag week is running at exactly the same time as NUIG.
    Time to avoid the pool of puke that town will become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭Sols12

Gotta love rag week you couldnt beat it with a stick!!
    The coverage of rag week isnt all bad, as last year alot more was raised than previous years! Altough i think its not gonna get good coverage at all with the novena still on the monday and tuesday!

Que the tutting from old woman as i pass the cathedral twisted at 2 in the day!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Asbad wrote: »
    ARGINITE wrote: »
    Cancel both thb.
    i couldn't give a sh*t, i'll be too busy with course work.

Rag week lost its way years ago. It's nothing more than a drink fueled pukefest. Having the two on together is asking for trouble. I wouldn't be surprised if the guards did ask for one to be changed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

haha gotta love the Irish culture, we give people an excuse (a week's worth) to drink - "here have a week to drink! not that ye needed one but have it anyway!" hehe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

The manager of my apartment complex is organising extra security because of RAG week. From some of the above posts I'm anticipating trouble.

I'll be locked away in my room anyway trying to finish off my assignments, etc, so hopefully it wont bother me.

This is my first time in Galway for RAG week. There was always a great buzz around the UCC campus for it, with outdoor gigs, etc, all day. Will it be much the same in NUIG? I'm not into the whole going out with the mad crowds thing but seeing as I'll be in college anyway it'd be nice to have a good atmosphere.

janeybabe wrote: »
    Will it be much the same in NUIG?

no. all that happens is people get blind drunk in the clubs that open during the day. nothing out of the ordinary except it starts a bit earlier...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

A poster raised a good point there about Race Week. There was far worse things happening in Galway last Race Week compared to Rag Week 07. The city's elders would do well to realise that students who are here 9 months of the year spend more than those who come to town for a week in July..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 83 ✭✭AdamantApproach

Comparing Race Week to Rag week is nonsensical. Race Week is a major sporting event. Rag week is nothing but a piss up.

For a rational thinker, Rag week is impossible to defend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Ruadan

every year i hate rag week more and more, so many drunken morons with no idea that the week is supposed to be about charity, ask most people will they be donating or if they know what charities are involved and one gets a blank stare.

This year i find myself living in a house that will have 20 odd boggers attending various colleges accross the country coming to spend a week pissed.
    i loathe rag week and the way it speaks about our generation, so many idiots in college, the future of this little dump of a country to look forward to.

So obviously all the people who will be out having fun next week don't post here.

Ah well...

Alot of people here a little uptight and/or jealous they are too old for RAG week. "It's all change since my day sunny we'd go down for an ice lolly at 1.30 on a Friday and be back in college for 3. Tuppence a pop it was in those days"

Let the undergrads of today have there fun. It will probably effect you very little.

Why was this moved to NUIG when it has more to do with Galway as a whole than anything else.

kevmy wrote: »
    So obviously all the people who will be out having fun next week don't post here.

Ah well...

Alot of people here a little uptight and/or jealous they are too old for RAG week. "It's all change since my day sunny we'd go down for an ice lolly at 1.30 on a Friday and be back in college for 3. Tuppence a pop it was in those days"

Let the undergrads of today have there fun. It will probably effect you very little.

Im in final year n ill still b getting sloshed! But just because i get sloshed doesnt mean im gonna puke my ring out and cause anyone else harm! Bring on the sunshine!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭toiletduck

I'll try and head out for one night, too much work to do :(

kevmy wrote: »
    Alot of people here a little uptight and/or jealous they are too old for RAG week.

i wouldn't say that. better priorities maybe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

Comparing Race Week to Rag week is nonsensical. Race Week is a major sporting event. Rag week is nothing but a piss up.

For a rational thinker, Rag week is impossible to defend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,005 ✭✭✭✭Toto Wolfcastle

So what's the story with this weekend lads? Will is be extra busy in town because RAG week is next week? Or will it be a normal weekend? My sister is visiting and wants to head out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 976 ✭✭✭Glenman

I see the two saw doctors gigs for GMIT & NUIG for next Monday & Tuesday at the blackbox are slod out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25 sekelly

Ruadan wrote: »
    every year i hate rag week more and more, so many drunken morons with no idea that the week is supposed to be about charity, ask most people will they be donating or if they know what charities are involved and one gets a blank stare.

This year i find myself living in a house that will have 20 odd boggers attending various colleges accross the country coming to spend a week pissed.
    i loathe rag week and the way it speaks about our generation, so many idiots in college, the future of this little dump of a country to look forward to.

15000 students....if everyone gives €1 then it should be a success??

Pitty i am on work placement in Mayo( of all the places) but i took friday off work so i can go out thurs nite....any craic happening on the thurs nite?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

if anyone here is genuinely concerned RAG week losing its way and want to help out with an event contact me. if anyone wants to help out ect with a slave auction in the bar at 4 monday pm me. theres no point complaining and not doing anything about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Twin Lance

spinandscribble, whats a slave auction? It doesnt by any chance have anything to do with raising money for nurses does it? Because I vaguely remember a nurse friend signing me up for some form of auction in the bar and I dont like the sound of slave auction :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 464 ✭✭redmosquito

First time in about 6 years as a student or otherwise that I wont be doing the full RAG week this year :(!!
    Think im gonna do Sligo on tuesday, spin down to galway on wednesday evening and probably head out for a while, then thursday, 10AM, full steam ahead!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,000 ✭✭✭spinandscribble

Twin Lance wrote: »
    spinandscribble, whats a slave auction? It doesnt by any chance have anything to do with raising money for nurses does it? Because I vaguely remember a nurse friend signing me up for some form of auction in the bar and I dont like the sound of slave auction :D

nope its an artsoc/psych soc event. 4 pm in the bar, monday, if anyones interested in watching or bidding.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Far too much work for rag week to be on the plan. :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭bugle

could someone please list what kinda events are expected for this years rag week? im gonna try and make it out for tues, thurs and friday.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,110 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Think they have sent mails around with that stuff in em, checck yo inbox.

who said i was a student!!!

:D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

missing rag week cos in final year... does that make me a boring sod im usually a party girl just have so much to do!! :(

Nah same, might go one night...

bugle wrote: »
    who said i was a student!!!

:D:D:D

I posted the SU email on the first page of this thread. Thats basically whats going on around NUIG this year. Other stuff will be happening around town and out GMIT but I've no info to offer on that.

cheers ill have a look.sure there will be a good buzz around anyway.

ragweek seems to be outdoing itself once again from what i hear. is it true that the Gardai closed off an area of Newcastle to residents only?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,484 ✭✭✭JIZZLORD

come on lenny, there's only one way to find out. i'll meet you there in half an hour

went to the silent disco last night in karma, not bad not bad!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭The Queen

The first night I could go out was last night, and I lost my licence :( :mad: Is there anything Friday night?

If anyone was out last night, and found a licence, pm me!!

What happened with all the headsets from the silent disco after? Anyone else caught up in the craziness that was the hole in the wall on Monday-day?

they took a deposit of 10 euro beforehand, so id say the majority of the headsets were returned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 341 ✭✭nicolaonfire

I spent like 90% of my time in The Hole In The Wall, can't beat it, especially on rag week