Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mechanical Engineering at UCD

• 08-02-2008 5:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭

I'm getting old now, 28 this year, and have been stuck in a crappy job since i finished school. I think its high time i got on with something i've always been interested in.

The only 3rd level education i got was a night course in a completely unrelated subject about 5 years ago.

Has anyone here done this in UCD or similar? I'm worried that after 9 years alot of it would be way over my head especially as biology was the only science subject i done for the leaving.

How "practical" would i need to be? I've not had much cause for using my hands except odd bits of DIY for the wife and bits on cars etc so theres not much experience there which might be a problem?

Any opinions or guidance?

From what I've heard about it, the first few weeks are basically revision from Leaving Certificate. But as for the labs, you wouldn't exactly be building cars while you're there :). (before I'm pounced upon, there might be some possibility of it happening)

There will be a learning curve but a lot of others would be in the same boat.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

I wouldn't worry about the lack of a lot of practical experience - the course is very theoretical. How are you on Maths? That would probably be the most important subject. Followed by Physics maybe... But there's plenty of help availabe if you get stuck - not many students seem to take advange of all the oppertuinities there are. UCD have a Maths Support Centre for example, where you can go if you think you need a hand - free grinds basically.

If you didn't do honours maths for the leaving or think you've forgotten almost everything, maybe have a look at some recent leaving cert past papers just to see the level you'd need to be at.

Past Leaving Cert papers can be found at www.examinations.ie

The UCD Adult Education Centre do a course for people with very little Maths or Science knowledge. It will bring you up to Leaving Cert standard. Check out the webpage here: http://www.ucd.ie/adulted/courses/ex430.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭chris85

Go for it man. Ive heard good things about the UCD course. Bear in my mind that the maths in engineering is not easy. You need to have some aptitude for maths in order to do well.

The course is based more on theory than the IT's (I like the practicals so i'm in an IT) but there is good facilities but there is not as much hands on working with machinary and such.

At the end of it the degree you have is very good. An engineering degree allows you a variety of career options.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,320 ✭✭✭Chet T16

Hmm, maths. I like maths, i didn't do particularly well in the leaving with a C at pass level but that was more down to laziness than my own ability. I looked at some of the higher level papers there and it was well beyond me but it has been a long time. I've just come across this: http://www.kilroyscollege.ie/course.php?courseid=48 I wonder is it worth forking out for?

I have no set career path in mind so the versatility of this is another of the appeals to me

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 1,852 Mod ✭✭✭✭Michael Collins

You need at least a C3 in Higher Level Maths to get into a UCD Engineering course. It's hard to know how Kilroy's College go about teaching the course, but if you were motivated enough, you could teach yourself. It would be good practise for the kind of work you'd need to be able to do for the degree itself. You could also supplement your own study with a few grinds as well, if you were having trouble with some parts. To me that would be the best approach - since while teaching helps a lot, eventually you just have to sit down and do it yourself.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 7,486 ✭✭✭Red Alert

I would agree with MC above - I did grinds in 6th year in Maths which were probably more useful from a motivational point of view than anything else. When you're getting up early on a saturday morning to do them you do take them seriously and try to get the best out of them.

The maths exam at the LC is difficult but it's generally not too tricky with practice. The key is that you lay the foundations - learn things like your trigonometric identities, formulae, and all the set pieces like proofs. The matrix questions tend to be easy and there's not much they can do to them.

There's some heavy maths courses in engineering for the first three years and another one in final year for some (like EE). First year tends to be pitched just a little higher than leaving cert, whereas in second year and third year a lot of new stuff comes in. That's where a really good foundation in the basics will work wonders.

Thanks for that. Going by what you both say i'm going to go with the kilroy maths course to lay down the basics.

As a mature student i can apply without the exam results but at least i'll have the option to retake the leaving cert next year if needed

I missed the application deadline for this year but hopefully they'll be accepting late applications from the CAO so fingers crossed!

I think that kilroy course would be a waste of energy. I think you'd be better taking a study skills course.
    You forget that as a mature student you have distinct advantages over other students. You have a drive to suceed in your course and a work ethic to keep your head down. Without fail the mature students I have seen in uni are more successful.
    Your going to have alot of resources to help you catch up with the maths once you get to UCD. TAke advantage of them and you'll be grand.

AFAIK mature students apply to the college directly, they don't go through the CAO. I could be wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭crisco10

well i am a final year mech engineering in UCD. first year basically consists of Higher level leaving cert maths, physics and chemistry with about 20% more material added at the end. alongside these you get introduced to things like thermodynamics, materials etc. then in 2nd yr u move away from that to more engineering stuff...its fun! practical side, dont worry. they pretty much assume everybody has little or no practical experience of anything....

Moonbaby wrote: »
    I think that kilroy course would be a waste of energy. I think you'd be better taking a study skills course.
    You forget that as a mature student you have distinct advantages over other students. You have a drive to suceed in your course and a work ethic to keep your head down. Without fail the mature students I have seen in uni are more successful.
    Your going to have alot of resources to help you catch up with the maths once you get to UCD. TAke advantage of them and you'll be grand.
    I never thought of it that way, i was focusing on the negatives of being a mature student without realising the advantage i'd have! I would really like to be prepared before starting anything which is why i'm keen on the kilroy course.
    AFAIK mature students apply to the college directly, they don't go through the CAO. I could be wrong.

The website goes around in circles but 99% of courses go through the CAO
    crisco10 wrote: »
    well i am a final year mech engineering in UCD. first year basically consists of Higher level leaving cert maths, physics and chemistry with about 20% more material added at the end. alongside these you get introduced to things like thermodynamics, materials etc. then in 2nd yr u move away from that to more engineering stuff...its fun! practical side, dont worry. they pretty much assume everybody has little or no practical experience of anything....

Excellent, not one hit of a horror story in there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭fits

I think it mightnt be a bad idea to do the leaving cert higher maths exam, just to get that good foundation. Maths ability and a bit of cop on is all you need for the course in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,323 ✭✭✭crisco10

Chet T16 wrote: »

Excellent, not one hit of a horror story in there!

yeah, i have enjoyed it! if u want im sure i could dig up a first yr past paper or two and post a question or two. i will warn you however, that first has changed since i did it due to the horizons thingy.
    also we had a mature student in our class in first yr who had to drop out cos it was more work than he thought..he had a family and stuff which just put too much time pressure on him...

I think if i was to see the questions without learning anything first i'd be put off so no thanks!

We've no kids yet so time won't be an issue. My intention would be to fit work around the course not the opposite.

My wife is studying in UCD at the minute with a year to go on her postgrad course so i'll have her for study support etc which should be a great help

I think if i was to see the questions without learning anything first i'd be put off so no thanks!

We've no kids yet so time won't be an issue. My intention would be to fit work around the course not the opposite.

My wife is studying in UCD at the minute with a year to go on her postgrad course so i'll have her for study support etc which should be a great help

Thats good you will have the support of a working person, will really help.

The course is hard enough in relation to other courses out there but with a bit of effort it aint as bad you get a really good degree.

Go for it man :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭fits

Just bear in mind that the course really is full time. 9-5 Monday - Friday, and you'll have to study/do project work outside these times.

It will be quite difficult to work part time as well (but not impossible).

When i said "fit work around the course" i meant i would fit in work if i could, if not so be it. It won't really be a problem

The more i talk about it the more annoyed i get for missing the Feb 1st cutoff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

You might want to consider DIT's Preliminary Engineering course:

http://www.dit.ie/DIT/study/undergraduate/programmes08/dt020.html

It's a one-year course pitched at people who wanted to do an engineering degree but didn't have higher-level maths, science etc. I'm not familiar with it myself, but it might be a good first step to a full degree.

When i said "fit work around the course" i meant i would fit in work if i could, if not so be it. It won't really be a problem

The more i talk about it the more annoyed i get for missing the Feb 1st cutoff!

Contact the dept. head at UCD and see if there is any way around it.

Totally, the rules can be bent a bit for mature students.

I got word back today from the mature students admin and they won't accept late applications.

I have emailed them about the access course mentioned above, maybe they'll squeeze me in there. I didn't realise before but it seems if you do the access course you're guananteed a place on the degree course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 744 ✭✭✭Darren1o1

I got word back today from the mature students admin and they won't accept late applications.

I have emailed them about the access course mentioned above, maybe they'll squeeze me in there. I didn't realise before but it seems if you do the access course you're guananteed a place on the degree course

I believe there is a preliminary engineering course at DCU also, it might be worth looking into.

http://www.dcu.ie/engineering_and_computing/eng_foundation.shtml

Also it allows entry into all degree programmes.

Hey,

Sorry for bringing such an old thread back up but i just wanted to post an update for anyone that may have come across this thread in the same circumstances as i was in.

I took the UCD access course last year (finished this april) and loved every minute of it. I needed to get 60% overall on the course with 70% in Maths for Engineering to get a guaranteed place on an engineering degree course. I came out with 86% overall and 98% in the Maths and last week accepted my CAO offer for the Engineering Omnibus in UCD (my first choice)

I can't recommend the Access course enough for anyone wanting to go back (or i my case just go in the first place!) to full time education.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,641 ✭✭✭Turbulent Bill

Hey,

Sorry for bringing such an old thread back up but i just wanted to post an update for anyone that may have come across this thread in the same circumstances as i was in.

I took the UCD access course last year (finished this april) and loved every minute of it. I needed to get 60% overall on the course with 70% in Maths for Engineering to get a guaranteed place on an engineering degree course. I came out with 86% overall and 98% in the Maths and last week accepted my CAO offer for the Engineering Omnibus in UCD (my first choice)

I can't recommend the Access course enough for anyone wanting to go back (or i my case just go in the first place!) to full time education.

Congratulations, great to hear of a success story like this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭alan4cult

Well done, I wish you the best of luck! Excellent results you got there! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Gear9992

I too am interested in Mechanical Engineering, but I'll be doing my leaving next year.

Just say if you got a job as a mechanical engineer after you got your degree, what kind of job would you be looking at?
    Would it be like designing engines, machinery, stuff like that?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'm in the same boat, am 29 and sick of my career choices to date. I'm off to Australia for a year in a few weeks, but once I get back I'll apply for the Engineering Access course. I get the impression that Mech Eng gives a good groundings in the basics and is a degree that can be very useful no matter what area of engineering you're interested in for instance I'm interested in aeronautical and vehicle design and testing. I know there's a course in UL for that, but the job prospects aren't fantastic in Ireland. Best to have a degree that gives you a few options.

In an ideal world i'd be off to do Automotive Engineering in Swansea but with a wife and a baby due at christmas that just not going to happen!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Ger Curtis

Hi All

I am a second year Mechanical Engineering student in an IT college and have survived 1st and 2nd year. Maths and Energy are demanding subjects so I went online and bought secondhand text books which saved me a lot of frustration and hair pulling. IT colleges are continous assessment based and frequently this equates to 30% of the overall marks per subject. Good presentation and sound research ( online text books) will get you good results in your projects. Its nice to have 15-20% of your marks in the bag! End of year exams make up the remaining 70%. Online tutorials are invaluable, engineers are generous with their time and knowledge. College seems very daunting and make no mistake there are easier things to do, but engineering is a worthy challenge. Lectures run at 28 hrs a week and as much again for study on your own to really understand the basic principles or the questions to ask. I fell behind in first year a lot of my time trying to find answers mostly maths, I should have asked lecturers more questions and looked for more worked questions and answers.
    Age is not an issue this is out weighted by your work rate and your study stamina so to speak. Ask the younger kids in the class questions they always have the answers and when it comes to revision and notes etc you can repay their help. Avoid the vessel that makes the most noise! Back to college is a great opportunity and not to be missed, it does open doors and minds. I hope I can encourage you to take the leap by saying I was 46 when I went back to education and my leaving cert was very poor. I have enjoyed every minute of my last two years in college. Ever upwards and onwards good luck in your decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭muboop1

Hey lads,
    Im a third year in UCD engineering. BUT i'm a chemical. Having said that, first year is common, my gf is doing mech and my best mates are in mech.

Basically i have a good idea of it(from the horizons point of view)

First year is exactly like the other guy said originally.

A load of LC stuff with more thrown in at the end. The papers didnt really change those years for most subjects. So everything he said is accurate. In fact, i never learned any of the new stuff at the time... A lot of the papers leave you open to a choice. Do 4 out of 6 or 4 out of 5 questions and the sort.

The course itself it time demanding. But totally do-able. The mature students i see in my classes today actually do better then the average student, i suppose it is due to being more grounded, less hungover(engineers are fierce drinkers in UCD)

What is you goal in UCD if you don't mind me asking? Just to obtain the degree and see where you go from there? Further education in an area that interests you? or a specific job?

muboop1 wrote: »
    What is you goal in UCD if you don't mind me asking? Just to obtain the degree and see where you go from there? Further education in an area that interests you? or a specific job?

Further education in an area that interests me. I've said before that i'd be happy to finish the course and go work in mc donalds. Obviously thats not my goal :)

In doing the omnibus i'm leaving myself open to any of the disciplines after the first year but i do think mech is where i want to go because its closest to automotive engineering. Having talked to my wife recently a move to swansea next year isn't to be discounted so i may get my automotive engineering degree yet!