Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

grindhouse

• 08-02-2008 8:01am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,981 ✭✭✭

Jesus I've wasted hours of my life before but this was just the biggest stinking pile of crap I have ever seen.

When did Tarentino stop trying ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,905 ✭✭✭User45701

i didnt like planet terror but i thought that Death proof was very funny.
    i liked the extended edition of death proof as well.

Speaking of tatanteno when the hell is inglories bastards comming out? "off to check imdb..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

I liked them both, planet terror more so. I got more laughs from planet terror and so many things were OTT. And a machine gun for a leg; priceless. Death proof was also very good but my one complaint is it was too long and slowed too much in the middle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Tanabe

Personally, I loved both films but I am very enthusiastic about Tarantino's work. I found alot of his humour in nearly every scene, the 'missing reel' and cinematic style trailer's before the 'feature film' etc, etc.

He is a very wacky guy in himself but when he gets together with Rodriguez the wackiness is tenfold.

I watched Grindhouse last year when it was first released in the US. When asked about both films, I strongly advised anybody who is not a big fan of either of the two director's to give them a miss as I knew they just wouldn't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Regardless of the overall quality of the films I object to them as being referred to as 'Grindhouse'! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 82 ✭✭Mister Fister

Death Proof, absolute rubbish! ive always said this about tarantino: he should be strung up and slapped silly for some of the howlers he throws together. Nearly every movie he has done has to much dialogue, is to long and/or just silly (kill bills for instance). And does anyone else think hes just a sleaze? Death proof for instance, its like 2 1/2 hours of girls talkin bollox to one another just so as he can ogle away behind camera. :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

I wasn't wild about Death Proof but thought the concept was great.
    Planet Terror was the most fantastic film ever made.
    Gore, guns, zombies, machine gun leg, silly action, lots of laughs, awesome soundtrack and machete.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 931 ✭✭✭c0y0te

utter utter sh1te :(

I thought death proof was lazy, self indulgent and pretty pointless. I get the whole 70s pastiche but really, at this point in the game... so what? Why bother?

As for planet terror - oh I just don't know where to start with that one. It took pure willpower to see it through to the end.

And what is it with Tarantino that he keeps doing a 'Hitchcock' and appearing in cameos? I mean - it's not like he can act or anything.

He hit paydirt with Dogs and Pulp, but since then it's been a steady slide downhill into blandness and worse, pointlessness.

Avoid at all costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,555 ✭✭✭✭AckwelFoley

seen both of them on pirate months before they were released.

The downside was they were both terrible movies..

The upside, i didnt pay for them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,241 ✭✭✭Vic Vinegar

Agree with most of you on Tarantino, he annoys the fcuk out of me now. Death Proof was pretty ****e, who wants to see a fat chick do a lap dance? not me that's for sure.

I thought Planet Terror was class though, over the top nonsense but seriously entertaining! the only part I didn't really like was the cameo from Twatantino...... did I mention he annoys me? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,273 ✭✭✭Morlar

Far as deathproof goes I thought the music was outstanding - this is a big part of any tarrantino movie and this one is 1st rate on that front.
    Stunt work first class though I have to say the entire movie seemed to be built around the novelty premise of having an actual stuntwoman play a leading role and thus the added shock factor of looking at the screen going 'omfg thats actualy the actress and that is dangerous as ****!'

The dialogue got incredibly grating - specially the Eli roth part thats on the soundtrack. I am slowly coming to realise that this guy actually can not write realistic dialogue to save his life. I did think he was the master of it but he really cant write dialogue for toffee. Its just been going downhill from reservoir dogs imo.

Character and plot wise - I liked it.

Russell is massively underrated and I was glad to see him in a more challenging role like that.

Some of the choices - ie making him seriously nasty per the

'This car IS Deathproof - however You've REALLY got to be sitting in this seat to get the advantage'

before giving her a grisly death - also the skidding wheel over the other girls face and then the overall creepiness of him and rosario scenes also him and the lapdance girl's friends outside the bar.

Take that with the completely pathetic 'crying like a little girl' at the end and you have a nice original well rounded if creepy, pathetic, psychopatic character that was a bit memorable.

My favourite scene in the entire movie is when at one point he turns looks dead into the camera with a smile as if to say - 'watch this'. That was brilliantly funny. I remember watching that and thinking ok here we go.

Vanishing point has always been one of my faves but even I was sick to death of the gushing talk about it in this movie. Overall if theres ever a shortage of 'cool music put to grislydeath scene' movies he is the man to go to - for well rounded interesting movies not so much though this one was a 7 out of 10 imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,130 ✭✭✭✭Karl Hungus

I enjoyed Grindhouse. Planet Terror and Death Proof were great for what they are, and the upcoming Machete looks like it's going to be fun as well. I know I used to jump on any opportunity to bash Tarantino, but honestly, I genuinely enjoyed Death Proof, even if it was massively flawed.

As a throw-back to the 70's though, I think Rob Zombie did a much better job with The Devil's Rejects.

I think Rob Zombie did a much better job with The Devil's Rejects.

Now yer talking. I watched that again the other day and he hit the nail on the head with that one. Soundtrack to visuals, edits and all the added graininess/visual effects to give it a rockford files type 1970's look to it. That and haloween prequel I thought were very very impressive. The only part of Devils rejects that ticked me off was the acting from the mother character which I though was a bit short of the mark. In every other way a bit of a modern classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,955 ✭✭✭rizzla

I really enjoyed Planet Terror, never bothered with Deatproof as I really don't like Tarantino and readin the comments on here, I'm kinda glad I passed on watching it.

Planet Terror was fun flick filled with gore, comedy and some really great dialogue.
    The part where the girls arms are numb and tries to open the car door only to slip :eek: really had me wince.

Morlar wrote: »
    Now yer talking. I watched that again the other day and he hit the nail on the head with that one. Soundtrack to visuals, edits and all the added graininess/visual effects to give it a rockford files type 1970's look to it. That and haloween prequel I thought were very very impressive. The only part of Devils rejects that ticked me off was the acting from the mother character which I though was a bit short of the mark. In every other way a bit of a modern classic.

It had quite a few flaws mind you, so I wouldn't really call it a modern classic, I thought the ending
    Freebird
    was a huge cheeseball. Pity Karen Black didn't return as the mother as well, you're right about the new actress. And the use of CGI in some scenes was rather poor, I know Rob wanted to do all the effects old-school style, and that the CGI was because of time constraints, so it's a pity about that.

Still, I think it had some of the absolute best "I know I shouldn't laugh, but I did anyway" moments in any film I've seen recently... The whole
    Don't ya like clowns? Aren't we ****in' funny?
    scene for example! :D

Still, I think it had some of the absolute best "I know I shouldn't laugh, but I did anyway" moments in any film I've seen recently... The whole
    Don't ya like clowns? Aren't we ****in' funny?
    scene for example! :D

I went with laughing my ass off at that part hehe.
    The freebird part didnt put me off tbh. The cinematography (far as I remember the camera follows the cars path on down the road and out over the desert) made up for it. Also it kind of made the ending a bit more easy on the viewer after the previous 1.5 hrs of sensory assault - a more hardcore bullets into heads exploding heavy type deal might have been too much of a downer to end the movie on I spose.

Galvasean wrote: »
    I object to them as being referred to as 'Grindhouse'! :mad:

Let me elaborate. If you had to spend about 5million making a Grindhouse flick you failed.

Or if you set out to make your film a Grindhouse film by not shooting scenes so it appears that they were lost then you have also failed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

ok i loved deathproof, it was OTT, fun, funny, and the car chase scene was fcuking fantastic!! the way i have looked at it (and all the comments back it up) it is a love it or hate it movie! theres no real middle ground, the big tarantino fans (like me) loved it! i find it weird that people who say "i hate tarantino..." then go on to badmouth the movie.......if you dont like the man DON'T SEE HIS MOVIES!, if you are a tarantino fan, you will like it, simple as! one of kurt russels best roles IMHO!

i never saw planet terror so i cant comment!

if you dont like the man DON'T SEE HIS MOVIES!,

Ah, but then people would say, "Oh my God you have to see The Tarintino movies, theyre deadly etc."
    And it definitely wouldn't be fair to say you didn't like a movie without even seeing it. Damned either way.

uve gotta see my poiint tho, people who have seen tarantinos movies and hated them....still decide to see his new one, what do they expect? for him to change his style and everything about him for his new movie, so they'd like it? gimme a break!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

What are you talking about? In this world of ****ty movies, DeathProof was a rare break in form to provide some decent entertainment for once. For me, it gets two thumbs up, and kicks asses. And the chick doin the lapdance wasnt fat, I thought that was pretty hawt. And the stunts, I mean c'mon. What more do you want? Zombies?
    I like zombies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭acri

I had the pleasure of watching Grindhouse in it's original format.

Planet Terror was great cinema. How did you not enjoy the **** out of that film? It makes no apologies for what it is. Balls out action, with some witty dialogue and edits. I loved it. I giggled like a little schoolgirl during the hospital scene. You know the one.

I think Tarantino might have been going for an Audition buzz with Deathproof. Y'know, bore the **** out of you for the first hour, and make the last fifteen/twenty minutes as exhilerating as possible. That's what I got from it anyways. Some of those shots during the chase scene were heartstopping. Still, pretty meh.

/SIZE][SIZE="2"][[/SIZE][EDIT][SIZE="2"]
    Also, the short ads during the intermission between the two films were a stroke of genius. I heard Rob Zombie was doing Thanksgiving before Grindhouse bombed.

acri wrote: »
    I think Tarantino might have been going for an Audition buzz with Deathproof. Y'know, bore the **** out of you for the first hour, and make the last fifteen/twenty minutes as exhilerating as possible. That's what I got from it anyways. Some of those shots during the chase scene were heartstopping. Still, pretty meh.

Are you freakin' serious!?

I don't mean this as an insult, but if what you took from Audition was that it tried to bore you for the first hour, then you completely glossed over much of the film, and didn't pay any consideration to the plot details as they unfolded. Now, I liked Deathproof. It's simple and unassuming in it's premise, but there was a whole load of superfluous and unnessicary dialogue involved.

Audition is a much deeper film than anything Tarantino has ever produced, there isn't a wasted shot in it, and the story unfolds with an initially slow, but quickening pace, it's a work of art and is far less simple a tale film many take it for. Audition has far more in common with a film by Alfred Hitchcock than it does the B-movie hacks that Tarantino apes with Death Proof, being much more an introspective into themes of recurring violence and it's consequences (As we see Asami is clearly a victim herself, suffering at the hands of her father, and even then her wheelchair bound father appears to have also been a victim) and how it repeats itself.

It's not simply a case of violence for the sake of it, and I blame the misrepresentation of the film, because it is at it's core a slow burning thriller, and people expecting a horror film (Which Audition is not) are simply left lacking, it's a much more layered film akin to A Clockwork Orange.

acri wrote: »
    I think Tarantino might have been going for an Audition buzz with Deathproof. Y'know, bore the **** out of you for the first hour, and make the last fifteen/twenty minutes as exhilerating as possible. That's what I got from it anyways.

I haver half a mind to call up Takashi Miike and tell him you said that*. If you found the first hour of Audition boring... words cannot describe.

*He doesn't speak much English so i might be wasting my time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,788 ✭✭✭ztoical

Are you freakin' serious!?

I don't mean this as an insult, but if what you took from Audition was that it tried to bore you for the first hour, then you completely glossed over much of the film, and didn't pay any consideration to the plot details as they unfolded. Now, I liked Deathproof. It's simple and unassuming in it's premise, but there was a whole load of superfluous and unnessicary dialogue involved.

Audition is a much deeper film than anything Tarantino has ever produced, there isn't a wasted shot in it, and the story unfolds with an initially slow, but quickening pace, it's a work of art and is far less simple a tale film many take it for. Audition has far more in common with a film by Alfred Hitchcock than it does the B-movie hacks that Tarantino apes with Death Proof, being much more an introspective into themes of recurring violence and it's consequences (As we see Asami is clearly a victim herself, suffering at the hands of her father, and even then her wheelchair bound father appears to have also been a victim) and how it repeats itself.

It's not simply a case of violence for the sake of it, and I blame the misrepresentation of the film, because it is at it's core a slow burning thriller, and people expecting a horror film (Which Audition is not) are simply left lacking, it's a much more layered film akin to A Clockwork Orange.

+1 couldn't have worded it better myself

I did enjoy tarantinos earlier films. I thought his big strength was the dialogue [the scene at the start of pulp fiction between Tim Roth and Amanda Plummer is a great example] but I hated Kill Bill. Thought the story was blah and could have been saved with some really great dialogue but it never came. I went to deathproof with that still in my head so I was pleasantly surprised. Its not great but its not awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,673 ✭✭✭✭senordingdong

The dialogue was weird but carried a cetian charm to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

The budget for "grindhouse" was over 60 mil so I imagine it cost a lot mroe than 5 mil.

QT is amongst my favourite directors and he's a big inspiration to me but you have raised an important point there. It is pretty self indulgent, even pretentious, to spend 30 odd mil to make a grindhouse movie and when you make that movie around 2 hours long that is also taking the piss.

I did enjoy DP and it captured the flavour of the old exploitation flicks perfectly for me but the more I think about the above two points, budget and feature length, the more I think QT needs to take a step back and take stock of where he is at and get back to making the likes of RD, PF and "the criminally underrated) jackie brown.

Having said that it was incredibly refreshing to see a return to real old school stunt driving and the rejection of CGI. Tarantino also tried to something different and fair play to him I say. People complain about seeing the same sort of **** all the time and then when someone tries something against the grain as soon as it doesnt come off perfect they line up to take shots at them. Oh and C0y0te how the fvck could you think his films are bland?

Babybing wrote: »
    Having said that it was incredibly refreshing to see a return to real old school stunt driving and the rejection of CGI. Tarantino also tried to something different and fair play to him I say. People complain about seeing the same sort of **** all the time and then when someone tries something against the grain as soon as it doesnt come off perfect they line up to take shots at them. Oh and C0y0te how the fvck could you think his films are bland?

word perfect analysis!! completely agree wit you!