Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Arts-Which one?

• 06-02-2008 9:14pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭

Howya al' im prob 80% certain im goin to Nuig next September,i was just wunderin could neone tell me what arts is like,which one is the most interestin etc.....cheerz!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

what do you mean which one is the most interesting? subject? specific course? you're talking about an entire faculty here, it's hard to give advice unless you're being a bit more specific.

things i can say: arts is big. very big. that is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

There is no one 'art' like you have a range of subjects to choose from. If youre planning to do Arts Id suggest you look a bit more into what it actually entails, ie look at your cao handbook!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

sorry bout that,i meant to say which subjects in the omnibus entry course are interestin like say,psychology or i.t,for instance because im tinkin of pickin them but just lookin for sum feedback

• Closed Accounts Posts: 934 ✭✭✭C-J

Youll get a chance to sample them all once you arrive in college so the ones you put down at the moment arent really important. I dont do arts however so amnt sure so youll have to do more research into it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,158 ✭✭✭donmeister

oh ok,cheers of the help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,676 ✭✭✭genericgoon

Don't do English. :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

C-J wrote: »
    Youll get a chance to sample them all once you arrive in college so the ones you put down at the moment arent really important. I dont do arts however so amnt sure so youll have to do more research into it

those introductary lectures are of feck all use. i suppose it depends on the lecturer, but most are just trying to sell their course and don't give a true indication as to what the subject entails.

Psychology in particular is very different to what most people expect going into it. At one stage i was fairly hell bent on doing it but after a while the novelty wore off... it's all just a pseudo science with notions of grandeur tbh. there is the biological aspect of it i suppose. some people love the neuro chemistry, axons, NTs and all that but not for me... it was the behavioural and cognitive that attracted me to it at first, but i just couldn't stomach it to do it fulltime.

I'm actually doing the IT. it's piss easy tbh, not much is expected of the Arts students. I like the programming side of things, but it doesn't agree with some people at all. and the course in general doesn't do enough. if you have a healthy interest in IT though i would suggest doing a specific course on it rather than Arts. the majority of those who continue it seem to just take it as a second subject. although the ability to have studied it along with another subject isn't too bad, but only as long as you like the other subject.

the best advice i suppose is to try and talk to people who are actually doing the subjects you're interested in. that's probably the best way of getting a general idea of what's involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,096 ✭✭✭LadyMayBelle

I had a look at the handbook a few days back, and I see you can do regular arts, then Arts with film or drama of a few other subjects into a fourth year. Wish I's that when I started...actually I wish I avoided Arts altogether..might have lessened the amount of doors I have to open to get anywhere in the career world today..
    English is boring as crap in first year, you go to college envisaging opening your mind and instead any bit of interest is crushed into a small pile of medieval garb...gets slightly better as you move on, but only because you get to choose modules..
    SocPol was grand, part boring, part fine..
    Psych..failed:)
    History...if it's your thing........

I can go inot more details if you wish, I promise it wont be all doom and gloom..but note I left in 2003 and still havent really gotten on the career ladder..