Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2 million reasons to play

• 06-02-2008 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭

"2 Million reasons to play....
    It takes an honest person to admit that money isn't everything but it takes a fool to pass up the chane to win $2 Million! We are giving you the chance to turn $2.50 into $2 Million - now thats an exchange rate and a half.."

I realise sites will present events on ipoker in a positive light and would expect them to use a bit of poetic licence, but to say that you have a chance to win 2 million is at best taking the p1ss and at worst an outright lie.

What it should say of course is that you have a chance to win a share of the $2million prize fund(1st prize probably about the $200k mark)

Do PPP think its customers are morons?

And yeah I probably should have something better to do ;) but it irriates me when I see this kinda thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭pok3rplaya

luckylucky wrote: »

Well... in all fairness this is probably aimed at the tournament players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

pok3rplaya wrote: »
    Well... in all fairness this is probably aimed at the tournament players.

I lol'd :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

I don't want to insult certain people employed by PP who read this forum, but I regard the advertising of PP as a whole to be probably the most crass, juvenile, and inappropriate within the whole gambling industry in this part of the world. I cringe when I pass their billboards or see their ads on TV.

The point is that PP as a whole quite obviously think that their customers are morons judging by the pitch of their ads, and they are probably dead right too. I feel sorry for whoever is stuck in the PPP marketing department being forced to adhere to a policy of "Pad Parkinsonism" in their marketing copywriting. "Jaysus us Irish are all mad, gambling is such a larf, we've a bonkers offer!!! ;););)"

But I suppose a hook is a hook.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,163 ✭✭✭Slash/ED

What is this tournament they're advertising anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭Plan_D

Dunno. Are you? You seem to be in the know. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Ste05

Plan_D wrote: »
    Dunno. Are you? You seem to be in the know. :p
    Just ignore him.

Keep up the trolling and you won't be long for this forum.

Ste05

Ste05 wrote: »
    Just ignore him.

Keep up the trolling and you won't be long for this forum.

Ste05

How was that trolling?

tbh though if you look hard enough you can win 3 million.

Actually thats a good question. Can you really win 3 million? PPP mailed me on that.

How was that trolling?
    On this forum, calling someone a moron is trolling. End of that discussion.

Actually thats a good question. Can you really win 3 million? PPP mailed me on that.
    No you can't win $3m! If anything it's a guaranteed prize fund of $2m, which will be divided between the top 10% of finishers usually.

I'll give you the benefit of the doubt that you weren't trolling there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 403 ✭✭Lex

It was a mis-communication within PPP. It was spotted back in early Jan when we launched the promo and sent the emails. The site has been accurate since then.
    ...by giving you the chance to win a slice of $2 Million.

http://www.paddypowerpoker.com/tournaments/two-million.php

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭sikes

PPP marketing has always been aimed at those who enjoy primary school yark jokes. Im pretty sure you could put any eight year old lad in charge of marketing and you wouldnt notice the difference.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

in fairness they did come up with the term finnvasion

nicnicnic wrote: »
    in fairness they did come up with the term finnvasion

I just googled the word Finnvasion, read the blurb of their offer to Finns, reads thus:

"Are you going to be part of the Finnvasion of Ireland in May 2008? We are giving all Finnish players the chance to participate in an exclusive live tournament that pits an elite poker team from Finland against a team of boisterous Paddy’s."

Oh us boisterous, drunken Paddies! Do you think their marketing department is actually rather clever with their strikingly frequent misspellings and grammatical errors? An 8 year old actually wouldn't write "Paddy's". I reckon their illiteracy must be a clever ploy to make their idiot customers feel more comfortable. "I'm not gambling on fecking Ladbrokes, with their immaculate spelling and post primary school grammar, Paddy Power is de site for me".

How else can its frequency be explained?

And I am aware that I may be being a bit ungenerous. But such constant copywriting errors are getting ridiculous with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭BigCityBanker

lol, your gonna love our Valentines promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭luckylucky

How was that trolling?

No I agree it wasn't trolling, however it was moronic. Perhaps you are from the PPP smart comments department :p

Lex wrote: »
    It was a mis-communication within PPP. It was spotted back in early Jan when we launched the promo and sent the emails. The site has been accurate since then.

The website is accurate but the email that was sent out just this Tuesday wasn't. Granted the chances are that it's some new starter in PPP who sent out this mail and probably thought "er sher I'll put this in the best possible light, the thickos will never notice". ;)

Ok being a bit unfair maybe, I realise it could be a genuine error or lack of thought etc etc but don't think it's a good idea to let poker sites think they can just get away with typing up any old marketing blurb even if it's totally inaccurate, just felt like pulling ye at PPP up over it this particular time. Other than that I like to see all the Irish online poker sites do well including PPP.

<3 Hotspur.

That is all.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

PPP are total media whores, I don't think anyone should be surprised by anything they do to blow their own trumpet, such as the upsidedown hoardings at the ireland game last night, probably just to get some internet discussion going, which I am nicely giving them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

lol, you're going to love our Valentines promotion.

FYP :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

I dont know. Whats to say on the final table that someone doesnt knock a whole bunch of players out in the one hand:).

LOL, he still only wins first prize. He won't get 2nd, 3rd, 4th and so on, just because he knocks them out....

**shakes head disappointedly** rounders, rounders, rounders.... when will you ever learn... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

LOL, he still only wins first prize. He won't get 2nd, 3rd, 4th and so on, just because he knocks them out....

**shakes head disappointedly** rounders, rounders, rounders.... when will you ever learn... :rolleyes:

Oh yeah, jasus!. :o i could make excuses like im just in etc. Im just an idiot:).

Sportsbook mentality for all the marbles!.

Sorry lucky. i was being caustic :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭Macspower

looks like marketing worked!! If they had send correct details there would be no discussion here now....

Any publicity is good publicity!! and here I am keeping it bumped for them... while they snigger away in the background :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

I was just about to start a new thread but it'll fit nicely in here..
    Is the paddy power "paddy first" promotion meant to be a joke?

ok previously they had to give the last qualifier standing a world series package,which was a nice touch,now you've got to win the irish open and they will buy you in for 5 years,as if you wouldn't be able to afford it?!?

On the off chance that a ppp qualifier does win it it's probably worth 15 entries for the publicity alone...
    If the "paddy last" was gonna have to go surely they could have come up with something a little more appealing.

As has been said already paddy powers advertising is truly cringeworthy and embarrassing considering all the players that travel from overseas for this event....begorragh an begosh...only a matter of time before liam flood has to wear a leprechaun suit and the chips will be in the shape of a shamrock....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,435 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

ok previously they had to give the last qualifier standing a world series package,which was a nice touch,now you've got to win the irish open and they will buy you in for 5 years,as if you wouldn't be able to afford it?!?

On the off chance that a ppp qualifier does win it it's probably worth 15 entries for the publicity alone...
    If the "paddy last" was gonna have to go surely they could have come up with something a little more appealing.

As has been said already paddy powers advertising is truly cringeworthy and embarrassing considering all the players that travel from overseas for this event....begorragh an begosh...only a matter of time before liam flood has to wear a leprechaun suit and the chips will be in the shape of a shamrock....

Liam Flood won't be happy with you for giving them the idea. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

I dont play on the site but had a look at this promotion -

"If you are the last paddypowerpoker.com online qualifier standing at the 2008 Irish Open you will earn yourself a buy–in to the 2009 Irish Open main event. However if you actually go on to win the tournament outright we will buy you into the Irish Open main event for the next 5 years."

I think it's definitely not as appealing as the Paddy Last ... but it's not that bad either is it? Personally if i won 800k i'd buy a house outright and it's very possible in a few years time i'd be very grateful for a free entry into a 4k tourny!!

As for the advertising, i sincerely doubt they are the only Irish company to (over)play on the Oiiiiirishness of the company, and they have more reason than most with "Paddy" in their company name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭dannydiamond

i was sent loads of e-mails about this,free entry for next year was never mentioned if that's the case s'not so bad so....

I would love to see Liam"fk off i'm busy" Flood wearing a green pointy hat though...

I think it's definitely not as appealing as the Paddy Last ... but it's not that bad either is it?
    If you have to sign an exclusive sponsorship deal, yes it is pretty bad. If they're just going to give you the 5 Buy-Ins's with no strings attached, it's pretty good. But the chances of that being the case are about 0.000000001%

I'd also check that by playing in the IO after qualifying in a feeder tournament or whatever you're not bound into this deal. I'm not sure what happened last year, and it's probably too late now anyway, IIRC, you got entered into the Paddy Last thing only if you wore PPP clothing or something, but I'm open to correction.

But, if someone did end up winning the thing and they are semi-articulate and reasonably presentable, they could make some decent money on Sponsorship, certainly more then 5 Buy-In's to the Irish Open.

Id like to thank everybody for ensuring that this thread stays at the top. It has been noted by the PPP staff and your efforts have been appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭Requiem4adream

You'd know more than me on this 1 but i presume most sponsorship deals are 1 year things? I cant imagine anyone bar the superstars like Negreanu getting mega-long-term deals; so it's still not a bad offer as whoever wins it most likely wont be a sponsored player in 3/4/5 years time. I'd guess the priority for 99.99999% of people playing an IO satellite is to try make a seat in the main event, these side-incentives are just a tiny carrot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭Hitchhiker's Guide to...

bump

• Subscribers Posts: 32,858 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

so tempting to lock.......

Id like to thank everybody for ensuring that this thread stays at the top. It has been noted by the PPP staff and your efforts have been appreciated.
    5starpool wrote: »
    so tempting to lock.......

As the OP I say go 4 it :)

just a few points

- As the IO is falling in the same week as St Patricks day we did discuss dressing Liam Flood up in a green suit. However, we decided against it. Instead we are flying in some midget actors from the US, dressing them as Leprechauns and arming them with Shilelagh. They will be acting as ushers for the course of the IO.

- We will not be using Shamrock shaped chips - we just didnt think if it and we havnt enough time to procure sufficient quantity.

- In order to qualify for Paddy First you must wear the designated clothing. Last year it was a rather fetching bowling shirt, this year you must wear this

Macspower wrote: »
    looks like marketing worked!! If they had send correct details there would be no discussion here now....

Any publicity is good publicity!! and here I am keeping it bumped for them... while they snigger away in the background :rolleyes:

In general I'd agree with you Mac but I dunno, the 'oh jaysus begorrah, sher aren't we mad' marketing might bring attention to PPP and be positive but perhaps BCB's made a faux-pas also in making his sniggering more visible. Have a feeling that won't make boardies rushing to play on PPP ;)

You'd know more than me on this 1 but i presume most sponsorship deals are 1 year things? I cant imagine anyone bar the superstars like Negreanu getting mega-long-term deals; so it's still not a bad offer as whoever wins it most likely wont be a sponsored player in 3/4/5 years time. I'd guess the priority for 99.99999% of people playing an IO satellite is to try make a seat in the main event, these side-incentives are just a tiny carrot.
    Well I wouldn't know that much, but I'm not talking about all the people that qualify whether they should take the deal or not or if it should deter people from playing (obviously it shouldn't that chance of winning the fecking thing are so tiny!). But if someone like yourself won the IO, I'd say you could get a better deal then 5 IO Buy-In's?? It's a stupid debate really but as everyone here knows we like a good old PPP bashing every now and again and it's been a fair while since we had one. Although BCB's just not being very compliant... :p Get PPP-Pit Boss back I say, at least she argues and pretends they're not just marketing themselves ... :D

Also BCB I much prefer that outfit to last years Bowling Shirts... Will you be wearing it yourself?? :D

Also Bump!!

Have a feeling that won't make boardies rushing to play on PPP ;)
    PPP know we're not their target market. They get people who lurk and who don't like the boards folk and so will play there out of spite, because "what do they know anyway!!" and the fish that follow the marketing and certainly never come in here.... So it really doesn't do much good or bad for them IMO. Anyone that knows about value and getting your monies worth, doesn't play on PPP anyway, apart from the odd Sat or whatever. i.e. the vast majority of boards users.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,362 ✭✭✭Hitman Actual

LOL. It's like all the people who hate Phil Hellmuth, but then promote him endlessly by always posting about how much they hate him.

Get PPP-Pit Boss back I say, at least she argues and pretends they're not just marketing themselves ... :D

BCB isn't putting up enough of a fight. What's the point of baiting PPP if they aren't going to fight back? It would be sad to lose this venerable tradition here. Suit up Nikki for battle, once more unto the breach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

If I suit up for battle I shall do so in the rather fetching latex number BCB has advertised.
    See how seriously you take our marketing then!

Anyhoo.. there is nothing for me to argue against really. If you don't like our marketing then grand. The email was a bit misleading about the $2M and I apologise but it certainly was not planned to be as you can see from the website.

I hereby pretend that we are both marketing ourselves and that generally poker promotions are created by the team behind poker not PP general marketing. Perhpas we are a bit odd but the general rule is that if we dont think its amusing its a non-runner.

Personally I see nothing wrong with having a laugh and taking the lighter tone to our marketing line. We see ourselves as an entertainment company. PPP are Irish.. shelaylees (sp) me arse we are hardly a bunch of foreigners trying to cash in on the mythical mystical secrets of the forest.

So anyway David's you must try harder to rile me if it is a PPP-PB tantrum you seek!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

Ill happily rake $1000 on PPP if you dress Liam "the postman" Flood up in a leprechaun costume for the whole week.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 914 ✭✭✭PPP-Pit Boss

By the way... in order to alleviate your pp marketing woes we have decided to employ boards representaion in the form of ionapaul. So now you may feel free to bash him at will.

At this rate PPP will be entirely manned by you boardsters it would indeed appear that you are taking over the world.. (of poker).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,860 ✭✭✭ditpoker

By the way... in order to alleviate your pp marketing woes we have decided to employ boards representaion in the form of ionapaul. So now you may feel free to bash him at will.

At this rate PPP will be entirely manned by you boardsters it would indeed appear that you are taking over the world.. (of poker).

congrats paul!! nice one!! :D