Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paris

• 06-02-2008 5:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,305 ✭✭✭

Hi ya, I am looking to suprise the girl with a trip to paris. i have found cheap flights heading off in april is the plan but I wonder could someone tell me what a nice hotel would be and centrlly located. also do you think 2 nights is enough?

thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭mikehn

nope you need three nights.
    We stayed in the Hotel London, nice small hotel in the Boulevard des Italians.
    Nice location near boulevard hausmann for shopping, walking distance to a lot of the sights including Louve etc.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,912 Mod ✭✭✭✭Ponster

To see Paris ?

I'd say that you need to come here 4 or 5 times for 2/3 days each time :)
    It's impossible to see everything in 2 days but just don't try and see everything :)

So....

What budget per night do you have? And is there anything you need to be near?

There is no real center of Paris. Some stay by the Eiffel Tower not realising that it's on the edge of the city, an hours walk from the geographical center of town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

2 days to see all of paris :D

it will take ye that long just to see Versailles and the Louvre and don't bring herself to the champs elysees or she will spend another day there in the shops ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭DubLegs

No you'd need 3 or 4 nights!

The latin quarter is a fantastics area to stay in. Bars, restaurants and most places within walking distance - Louvre and Notre Dame. Great buzz about the area.

I stayed in Henri Rive Gauche IV - on Rue St Jaques (apologies for my spelling). Great hotel, small and comfortable with fantastic location to the RER (main line to airport) and the metro.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 314 ✭✭Hawk Wing

You'd need 4 or 5 3 day trips to see most stuff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

I'm off to Paris with the boyfriend next week and we're staying in this place, called the Hotel des Mathurins. The price was pretty good, cos it's usually expensive but if you play around with dates you can get a good price. It's beside Boulevard Hausman too and looks pretty handy to get around from there. I'll give you a proper review of it when we get back ;)

Stargal wrote: »
    I'm off to Paris with the boyfriend next week and we're staying in this place, called the Hotel des Mathurins.

Very close to a major shopping area and almost next door to Paris's largest whiskey shop :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 154 ✭✭babyguinnessfan

Stargal wrote: »
    I'm off to Paris with the boyfriend next week and we're staying in this place, called the Hotel des Mathurins. The price was pretty good, cos it's usually expensive but if you play around with dates you can get a good price. It's beside Boulevard Hausman too and looks pretty handy to get around from there. I'll give you a proper review of it when we get back ;)

Stayed here only a few weeks ago! Rooms a little small I thought but really modern and clean so no complaints there. There is an english pub called The Cricketer just next door to it. Stargal - just to let you know that if you want a cheap delicious huge meal with atmosphere and friendly staff try a restaurant literally just around the corner. When you go out the door of the hotel turn right and immediately right again. I can't remember the name of it but it serves southwestern French food and has loads of dried chili strands hanging all over the place. Was a brillliant find!

Really handy location too. Short stroll to Champs Elysees (Place de la Concorde side).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,626 ✭✭✭Stargal

Stayed here only a few weeks ago! Rooms a little small I thought but really modern and clean so no complaints there. There is an english pub called The Cricketer just next door to it. Stargal - just to let you know that if you want a cheap delicious huge meal with atmosphere and friendly staff try a restaurant literally just around the corner. When you go out the door of the hotel turn right and immediately right again. I can't remember the name of it but it serves southwestern French food and has loads of dried chili strands hanging all over the place. Was a brillliant find!

Really handy location too. Short stroll to Champs Elysees (Place de la Concorde side).
    What are the odds? :) Glad to hear that it's nice; some of the reviews I read of it said that the rooms were a bit small too, but tbh they look lovely and I'm pretty short anyway so it should be grand!

Thanks for the recommendation for the restaurant - it sounds nice so we'll have to go there.
    Ponster wrote: »
    Very close to a major shopping area and almost next door to Paris's largest whiskey shop :)
    Excellent. I do like my whiskey :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,469 ✭✭✭Pythia

Hey,

Can anyone recommend a nice hotel in central Paris that costs less than e150a night for a double room. We want two nights over a weekend (Fri - Sun or Sat - Mon) in May or June.
    Any personal experiences would be great!

Had a look on Tripadvisor but nothing stood out.
    Thanks!

http://www.hoteldenesleparis.com/

Great 1-star hotel. Can't get more central. Each room is decorated differently. €70-€100 for a double. Bookings only via phone meaning but worth it (English spoken).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭seaner

i'm heading to paris at the end of april with my other half for 3 nights.
    We've been there twice before and LOVE LOVE LOVE it.
    This time around we're staying at Hotel De Banville.
    I got 3 nights, with breakfast and return Aer Lingus flights for €750 all in.
    Think I got a pretty decent deal!
    Also the hotel has got pretty decent reviews on trip advisor. (its #29 of 1762!)
    There are so many great things to do in Paris and the city as a whole is really geared for it.
    Would also recommend this restaurant for a really great experience:

La taverne du Sergent Recruteur (we go back each time)

its so great. And so reasonably priced. staff make you feel so welcome. and the foods not bad either!! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭sambora

Best Western Elysees Bassano is a lvoely hotel

seaner wrote: »
    La taverne du Sergent Recruteur (we go back each time)

its so great. And so reasonably priced. staff make you feel so welcome. and the foods not bad either!! ;)

Not to mention in one of the most romantic parts of town !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,429 ✭✭✭brettmirl

Quick tip for anyone heading to Paris in the next few weeks...the catacombes are closed for renovations...just in case you had planned a trip out to see them!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,006 ✭✭✭Baggio

can never figure the attraction of Paris,,,full of dog ****e and ignorant people....do yurselves a favour......stay on the plane and go to ROME instead ;)_ hahahah

ciao'.....Baggio...