Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deed poll - would you?

• 06-02-2008 9:02am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 966 ✭✭✭

Was randomly browsing the whole name changing process yesterday ... and tbh, I didn't know it was as easy to get it done. I've always hated my first name, and would probably consider getting it changed at some point.

So, who would go through with it, or would it be too hard to adjust to it ?

Would it be a normal John - James change, or would you go with something unusual like Rocky or Minty Clinch or Pighead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭shinny

GerryRyan wrote: »
    Was randomly browsing the whole name changing process yesterday ... and tbh, I didn't know it was as easy to get it done. I've always hated my first name, and would probably consider getting it changed at some point.

Ooh I dunno if I could change my name. It's as common as muck here in Ireland, but less so outside of this country. I'm happy enough with it I suppose and wouldn't really like to change it. I guess I'd feel like I'd lost a bit of my identity if I did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,339 ✭✭✭✭tman

It should be nice and easy unless you choose the soliciter that I did... fecking useless yoke:mad:
    So that's a yes....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,429 ✭✭✭✭star-pants

Wouldn't change my name - it's mine and no other name would do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I'd change it to Bertie Ahern just for the headlines:

"Bertie Ahern arrested for drink driving"
    "Bertie Ahern arrested for GBH"
    "Bertie Ahern arrested for tax evasion"
    "Bertie Ahern apologises for tax evasion"
    and most of all for
    "Bertie Ahern repays tax"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Baudelaire

I don't like my name so I've been considering doing it lately, it's supposedly a very easy process. My friend changed her a while ago and it took a day to get it sorted so I might use her solicitor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,229 ✭✭✭Susannahmia

I would love to change my surname to my mothers maiden name. However a friend of mine is doing something similar and she said that the process is proving really complicated and long. That is the only thing really holding me back.
    Baudelaire wrote: »
    I don't like my name so I've been considering doing it lately, it's supposedly a very easy process. My friend changed her a while ago and it took a day to get it sorted so I might use her solicitor.

Hmm that sounds good. was it her first name or her surname?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I would love to change my surname to my mothers maiden name. However a friend of mine is doing something similar and she said that the process is proving really complicated and long. That is the only thing really holding me back.

If your birth was registered before Sept 30, 1997, then you can take any surname or combination of surnames that appear on your birth cert. When my stepdaughter was starting secondary she simply told them and anyone else she came into contact with that her name was her mother's maiden name. She simply ceased using her father's name. And she was only 13.

Slow coach wrote: »
    If your birth was registered before Sept 30, 1997, then you can take any surname or combination of surnames that appear on your birth cert. When my stepdaughter was starting secondary she simply told them and anyone else she came into contact with that her name was her mother's maiden name. She simply ceased using her father's name. And she was only 13.

Really? What about passports etc?

Hmm that sounds good. was it her first name or her surname?

It was both her first and sirname, it was done in no time, one week I was down with her and she was one name the next week I was down and she was the other, getting use to the other name was the hard part tbh

It can all just be changed as long as you provide them with a photocopy of the name change document

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

When she applied for her first passport she gave them her birth cert and filled in the form with her mother's maiden name as her surname. It's as simple as that. We only take our father's surname by convention in this country. There is no legal compulsion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,589 ✭✭✭Hail 2 Da Chimp

MAX POWER!!!

It's the name you'd love to touch!

But you mustn't touch!

Slow coach wrote: »
    When she applied for her first passport she gave them her birth cert and filled in the form with her mother's maiden name as her surname. It's as simple as that. We only take our father's surname by convention in this country. There is no legal compulsion.

My worry is that this is my third or fourth passport. Thanks this has encouraged me a little. My situation doesn't seem as complicated now as my friends situation, her fathers name isn't on her birth cert etc. I may follow it up in the four courts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

Chesty La Rue maybe????

I'd love to change my surname, it's a very uncommon irish name, there's only 7 in the phone book and 6 of them are my family but I hate it because it's an awful name and my mum,brother and sister all have a different surname. I don't like being the odd one out!

I've been thinking about changing it for years. What's holding me back is that my grandmother and dad would be disgusted. Suppose I could just not tell them!

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I've had people change their names to mine. Seemingly it's more showbizzy.

(Note - I doubt they knew of me before hand. Wonder how they arrived at it?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,692 ✭✭✭✭OPENROAD

I changed my first name about 15 years ago on my passport, no problem at all,same on register for voting and everything else. On My passport they did enter by birth name on one of the notes pages. However I have since got a new one and this time it did not have my birth name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,159 ✭✭✭✭phasers

I hate my name, it's a real old lady name

I'm changing it the second I finish school

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

I like my first given name, so I would never change it.

I've changed my surname, and I gave myself a max power style middle name to get my moneys worth :D
    I don't like my first name, but I just couldn't change it. I'm too sentimental, I value the history behind the choice of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

Nah I like mine and any other surname wouldn't work very well with my first name. I like Max Hardcore but don't want to be associated with that freak. :) Ruairí Hardcore..nah.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭neuro-praxis

I'd be afraid of hurting my parents' feelings. My dad named me after the title of his favourite song. :) And I love my surname.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

I don't like my first name at all... Dee is ok though. Don't think I'd change it though, I couldn't imagine being called anything else.

I've been wondering if I'd change my surname if/when I got married. I like the idea but my boyfriend has an obscure greek surname, don't know if it'd suit me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

GerryRyan wrote: »

Would it be a normal John - James change, or would you go with something unusual like Rocky or Minty Clinch or Pighead?

ive changed my name by deed poll. although, ichanged my second name, rather than my first.
    i quite like my first name.

White. its a good name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 nialinho

Im not mad about my surname but id feel disrespectful towards my family if i changed it. dont like my mothers maiden name either

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,919 ✭✭✭✭Xavi6

Not a fan of my second name at all. People never get it right when I say it to them first and I'm constantly spelling it cause it sounds like a couple other more common names. But I like tradition and want to keep it going for future generations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭KINGofHEARTS

I would love my name to be ULick McGee

QUALITY

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭Shamanic

myself and my brother changed to my mothers maiden name, but we HAD to do deedpoll, they wont legally recognise it if you just change it through common usage so we were told. And the passport office would only issue our passports in my fathers name unless we got the deedpoll.
    It took about two months for us to finalise it with all the deeds and oaths and cost a small fortune.

Shamanic wrote: »
    myself and my brother changed to my mothers maiden name, but we HAD to do deedpoll, they wont legally recognise it if you just change it through common usage so we were told. And the passport office would only issue our passports in my fathers name unless we got the deedpoll.
    It took about two months for us to finalise it with all the deeds and oaths and cost a small fortune.

How much was it if you don't mind me asking? I'm assuming you went through a soliciter? From your experience do you think a soliciter is necessary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,367 ✭✭✭✭watna

the dee wrote: »
    I don't like my first name at all... Dee is ok though. Don't think I'd change it though, I couldn't imagine being called anything else.

I've been wondering if I'd change my surname if/when I got married. I like the idea but my boyfriend has an obscure greek surname, don't know if it'd suit me...

Papodopolous?!

I'm not a big fan of my first name but it's me now and i couldn't imagine being anything else. I think I'd take my bfs surname too. It's an indian surname but has been anglicised which is boring. How cool would it be to have an irish first name and a really long hindu surname. people would remember me anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭Rob_l

Huhhhhhhhhhhh
    People dont like their surname's :confused::confused::confused:
    Why what for what has your name ever done on you unless your called hitler I see no real problem for anyone

I love everything about me and will be changing nothing!

Shamanic wrote: »

This is not true if your mother maiden name is on your birth cert you have the right to use it you are only assigned a christian name on it all it then gives is your mother and father surnames it never states which yours is

Rob_l wrote: »
    This is not true if your mother maiden name is on your birth cert you have the right to use it you are only assigned a christian name on it all it then gives is your mother and father surnames it never states which yours is

The only problem is I have been using my fathers name on all legal documentation for the last 19 years. That is my worry. Would that make a difference?:confused:

yes that does make a difference!
    You would need to jump through legal hoops now to change it, bad luck for you!

yes that does make a difference!

So it's the deed poll route for me so!

or just get married to a man whose surname you like :D
    We can narrow the field a bit if you tell us which particular surnames you do like?

:D:D:D

or just get married to a man whose surname you like :D
    We can narrow the field a bit if you tell us which particular surnames you do like?

:D:D:D

This is even the year you can propose to the guy so its even easier, no need to thank me just doing the good deed is enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,179 ✭✭✭FunkZ

I wouldn't change my name... but if I did it'd probably be the best name in the world.

Carlsberg!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭Shamanic

well nthat the advice we were given on the name change front.

It cost us 750 each and then the price of changing passports too and lost hours in work from going to banks and revenue to show documents.

Its not a whole lot when you look at it but the charge for the office charge is only 30 so its quite a hike.

Yeah you need to get a solicitior to write up an affidavit and you need to swear and sign in front of them and witnesses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,060 ✭✭✭Niamho!

ive never really liked my name....and like Shinny said, when it somes to telling Foranges my name or English Customers on the phone i usually get a "Wha!?" :mad: but i just couldnt be arsed changing it even if it did Bother me that much.

One of the girls in my job has a lovely name, very unusual but her nickname is Crap (Shortened Version of her Full name) she HATES her name (So she says) but i dont think she's go ahead with it either. Maybe we could Swap....

Niamho! wrote: »
    ive never really liked my name....and like Shinny said, when it somes to telling Foranges my name or English Customers on the phone i usually get a "Wha!?" :mad: but i just couldnt be arsed changing it even if it did Bother me that much.

One of the girls in my job has a lovely name, very unusual but her nickname is Crap (Shortened Version of her Full name) she HATES her name (So she says) but i dont think she's go ahead with it either. Maybe we could Swap....

Same advise as I gave already in this thread Ms ****** if you dont like it april propose to whomever has a name you like, marriage, name change, jobs a good un

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭echosound

Don't think I'd bother changing my first name, as a) I like it and b) it would take faaaar too long for me to start responding to it instinctively.

However I already have changed my surname (took husband's) and after roughly a week of going "huh?" when people addressed me by my married name (eg delivery guys ringing asking for "mrs x" and me telling them they had the wrong number) I got used to it fairly quickly.
    I now have the opposite reaction -when someone refers to me by maiden surname I go "huh?"
    Even though my married surname is a very common Irish one, I doubt I'd change it as there's too much fun to be had with thinking up unfortunate names to go with it for future offspring.

If I were to change completely it'd be something utterly ridiculous just for the fun of it.

My husband is in the position of using his second name instead of his first (good ole catholic ireland, a priest refused to baptise him using his parent's choice of name due to it not being a saint's name :rolleyes: so they christened him "random name - actual name") and it can be a pain when dealing with offical channels remembering to refer to himself as his official name.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,467 ✭✭✭Wazdakka

MAX POWER!!!

It's the name you'd love to touch!

But you mustn't touch!

My name is so close to that its not funny.

So that would be a resounding NO I'M NEVER CHANGING MY NAME and the mere question suggests that you are trying to steal mine.... Back.. No touch...

Good heavens two twelve hour days with no sleep in between seems to have made me mad O.o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Id change my name to Popov-Alium Androppov.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,606 ✭✭✭Jumpy

Or Ahmed Iminnagheybah