Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Email Scam?

• 04-02-2008 8:48pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,259 ✭✭✭✭

Never seen this one before

Dear Friend,

In the early Nineties to 2002, while my Partner, Mrs lui, a former top
    executive in Bank of China was still working at the Kaiping sub-branch of the
    bank of China as a manager, China-linked stocks boomed on the Hong
    Kong bourse.
    Because of this boom, many of us mainland Chinese decided to set up so-
    called "window" companies to speculate in stocks and real estate in
    Hong Kong--
    China's window on the rest of the world. As you may be aware, bank of China is
    the worlds largest lender after HSBC, hence my friends and I, managers
    too,set-
    up a few window companies and borrowed monies to ourselves using these
    companies knowing our positions would ensure that this was not discovered.
    Initially this was done to make more money from the boom.

Bank of China accountants carried out a routine check during October
    2001 and a
    loss of US$485 million was discovered. The accountants initially thought that
    the computers at the bank had gone defective, my partner immediately
    knew there
    was a problem and made arrangements to leave China for good after some other
    top executives were found out.

Some other top Executives deposited most of the money in their names in some
    banks in China and so far about 75-80 million US dollars has been
    discovered by
    local authorities in China.

http://www.businessweek.com/magazine/content/02_05/b3768065.htm

Because of the hit from Bank of China while my partner was still in China, an
    arranged funeral was held for my partner after she had deposited
    $44,500,000.00
    with DBS Bank, Taipei Branch, Taiwan . And $83,500,000.00 with International
    bank of Taipei now Sino Pac bank which is my bank i work with. I need you to
    assist me in pulling this money from the two separate banks mentioned above. I
    want you to know that Bank of China is not aware of these monies in
    these banks
    mentioned above because my partner did not deposit the money in these banks
    with his name.

My partner is still very much alive and this fund cannot be claimed until a
    next of kin is brought forward. My suggestion to you is that I will
    like you as
    a foreigner to stand as the next of kin to my partner so that you will be able
    to receive his funds and for the money be pulled out from my bank and out from
    my country. We really have limited time left to pull this money out from my
    bank; this is why I need your assistance to pull the money out.

If interested I want you to send me your complete names, permanent residential
    address, phone numbers and your occupation.

Do reply me through this email address below for confidentiality purpose

shufyang1008@yahoo.com.hk

Sincerely,

Shu.F.Yang

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,818 ✭✭✭Gauge

Looks like a fairly standard phishing email to me, only instead of a Nigerian prince it's a Chinese bank executive...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Dear Friend,
    Delete

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,155 ✭✭✭the dee

Melion wrote: »
    If interested I want you to send me your complete names, permanent residential
    address, phone numbers and your occupation.

That's a dead giveaway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166 ✭✭catyb20

I have got 3 of those e-mails in the last week! And the way i see it, why don't they e-mail from the confidential e-mail addy in the first place! Feckin eejits!! Complete chancers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

what does the sender plan to get out of this anyway.

identity fraud?

DIRECTOR,DEBIT CARD DPT.
    SPECIAL PAYMENT SCHEME
    CENTRAL BANK OF NIGERIA
    Telephone: +234-8035262336

Attn:SIR/MADAM,

YOUR PAYMENT VIA HSBC-VISA DEBIT CARD

Account normalization of your banking details has been delayed by
    International Monetary Fund (IMF) and Financial Services Authority.
    This has made it necessary for your payment to be programmed in to HSBC
    Corporate Visa Card. The total fund in question is Ten Million, Five
    Hundred Thousand United States Dollars .

Central Bank of Nigeria working relationship with HSBC London has
    concluded to issue you a CORPORATE VISA CARD where your payment will be
    uploaded. This will now enable you either download your payment at any
    ATM Machine or at your bank.

Therefore, call me immediately so that I will direct you properly for
    details, confirm your private phone number so that I can as well call
    you.

Call me if you have any question.

Regards,

DR. IGNATIUS IMALA
    DIRECTOR,BANKING SURPERVISOR
    DEBIT CARD DPT
    (SPECIAL PAYMENT SCHEME)
    CENTRAL BANK OF NIGERIA

Another variation of it!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,539 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

It's all "bourse" to me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

I got one from Yasser Arafats widow the other day!! :D

Will post it here if I can find it. T'was a good read!

PLEASE HELP ME Dear sir/madam,
    I am Mrs. SUHA ARAFAT, the wife of YASSER ARAFAT, the Palestinian leader who died recently in Paris. Since his death and even prior to the announcement, I have been thrown into a state of antagonism,confusion,humiliation,frustration and hopelessness by the present leadership of the Palestinian Liberation Organization and the new Prime Minister.
    I have even been subjected to physical and psychological torture. As a widow that is so traumatized, I have lost confidence with everybody in the country at the moment. You must have heard over the media reports and the Internet on the discovery of some fund in my husband secret bank account and companies and the allegations of some huge sums of money deposited by my husband in my name of which I have refuses to disclose or give up to the corrupt Palestine Government.
    In fact the total sum allegedly discovered by the Government so far is in the tune of about $6.5 Billion Dollars. And they are not relenting on their effort to make me poor for life. As you know, the Muslim community has no regards for woman, more importantly when the woman is from a christian background,hence my desire for a foreign assistance.
    I have deposited the sum of 22.5 million dollars with a Financial firm in Africa whose name is withheld for now until we open communication. I shall be grateful if you could receive this fund into your bank account forsafe keeping and any Investment opportunity.
    This arrangement will be known to you and I alone and all our correspondence should be strictly on email alone because our government has tapped all mylines and are monitoring all my moves. In view of the above, if you are willing to assist for our mutual benefits, we will have to negotiate on your Percentage share of the $22.5,000,000 that will be kept in your position for a while and invested in your name for my trust pending when my Daughter, Zahwa,will come off age and takefull responsibility of her Family Estate/inheritance.
    Please note that this is a golden opportunity that comes once in life time and more so, if you are honest, I am going to entrust more funds in your care as this is one of the legacy we keep for our children.
    In case you don't accept please do not let me out to the security and international media as I am giving you this information in total trust and confidence I will greatly appreciate if you accept my proposal in good faith.
    Please expedite action.

Yours sincerely, Mrs. Suha Arafat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

> SAMSUNG ELECTRONINC INC. HQ.
    > SEOUL, KOREA.
    > You have been selected for a cash prize of 710,000.00GBP from Samsung
    > Electronics Promotion held to emulate our numerous customer worldwide
    > Your win batch number (UDA/MA07/EUR) falls within the European
    > Winning Category.Contact Our agent who will immediately commence
    > the claims process to facilitate the release of your funds to you.
    >
    > Name: FLOYD JOHNSON
    >
    > Email: samsung.promoagent@yahoo.co.uk (Tel:+447045704723)
    >
    > You are advised to contact your assigned agent with the following
    > details as soon as possible to avoid unnecessary delay.
    > Your Name:
    > Country:
    > Batch Number:
    >
    > Thank you for being part of this promotional award program.Our special
    > thanks and gratitude to Jong-Yong Yun (CEO) Samsung Electronics Inc.
    > and his associates.
    >
    > Yours Faithfully,
    > MARK NAKATA.(Promotion Manager)

Iv'e recentley won a substantial amount from Samsung Eletronics no-less. I'm still going through the process of providing my bank details etc. so they can transfer the funds. Cant wait

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,772 ✭✭✭jameshayes

I got some 'money' donated to me from mirco-soft a few weeks ago - but I forgot to send my bank details to them to claim my millions

jimbo78 wrote: »
    Iv'e recentley won a substantial amount from Samsung Eletronics no-less. I'm still going through the process of providing my bank details etc. so they can transfer the funds. Cant wait

I think these are hilarious! Since when do the likes of samsung use yahoo addresses??? :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 someuser90

everyone on this thread has won the mexican lottery, just send me a western union transfer of €1000 to honest albert of nigeria, to claim your £42,000,000 prize

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭Jimbo

Ya know, someday someone is going to get a legitimate email from a widow trying to access her billions or from a multi-national lottery organisation telling you how to claim your win and your not going to believe them. Isn't it better to believethese emails in the off-chance it's actually legitimate?

http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=372Ah0Z_L1w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Is it wrong that I'd like to get one of those mails just to rip the piss out of the scammer ala 419eater.com... random example

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭DingDong

Lads I think your all wrong this is a sweet deal and I for one am getting in on it:D.

Is it wrong that I'd like to get one of those mails just to rip the piss out of the scammer ala 419eater.com... random example

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

That is brilliant!