Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

My little sister - What will I do?

• 04-02-2008 3:37pm

Sorry for the long post!

I haven’t spoken to my sister in over a month bar polite conversation when we were babysitting and it all started a few days before xmas
    Bear in mind while I’m not talking to her she looses all the privileges of a big sister as in extra money, takeaways in mine, use of my gym, lifts to places etc etc etc

A bit of background
    She is 17 and growing up so its normal however she is thoroughly spoiled and self-centred I have put it down to her age and my parents going extremely easy on her regarding money and being allowed away with anything even if it worries the hell out of them. She has been a professional athlete since 9 but has been injured the last 18 months but is generally let away with murder as a result
    My brother and I have spoken to her and my parents, we see her out every weekend and have told them to try and ease up on letting her go out and be a little stricter in following on where she does actually be …They haven’t paid attention

I had bought a gold top before xmas sometime in November and planned to wear it for xmas day I bought jeans and jewellery too to match just to be nice presented when visiting family etc
    My sister had done the same she bought a silk dress got jeans from BT and shoes from Morgan she is 17 so she is a lot more into her looks and she has been working in BT the last year so this has made it a lot worse.
    Thurs before xmas she was in my house and I was trying to pack for when I would be staying in my boyfriends and parents over xmas and I had my clothes laid out the next day I went to pack everything and the gold top was missing I asked her had she taken it , she said no and said I had loose it somewhere in my room I said it to my mother also she had said the same I am scatterbrained a little but I searched high and low and in the end bought a new outfit which was such a pain before xmas
    A week later I seen a picture on her bebo and she had worn the top out on the Friday 21st
    I was sick that she had done something like that to me especially since i asked and said to her I was upset it was gone and the major inconvenience before xmas at finding another top to wear( I work 2 job and 1 is in retail) I brought it to my mother and told her to deal with it and get the top back as I would end up killing her
    She swore blind to my mother that the top belonged to her friend and my mother believed her even after I showed her the picture it went on for 3 weeks every day I went in the house my mother asked me to make up with my sister (who didn’t even care that I wasn’t speaking to her) I pointed this out and I got more angry as time went on as she had told my cousin and her best friend that she did take it and didn’t understand whey I was going so mad.

To prove to her I was dead serious in my anger I went down to the house and demanded she give me back my ID as I needed it, she refused and said she has lost it I demanded to my mother she get it back my mother couldn’t as my sister doesn’t have any respect for her authority. she had a big fight with me and involved my mother. She and my mother went up to the her friends and got the top from her
    (I know my sister got rid of the top to her friends as I was staying in the house all xmas week)
    To go the length and prove I was lying she sowed different labels onto the top and this sickened me further, my dad and brother seen right through it and told the pair of them to just quit it but I still wanted the ID
    I knew she hadn’t lost it so I told her I would go to the place she frequents regularly and tell them her real age and report my ID stolen
    My parents thought this was awful of me to think of doing despite she’s only 17 saying she’s works so hard in school every don’t take her one night out away from her I mean WTF they are adults!

She went mental and started apologising I did it anyway I spoke to the bouncer and said she was 17 and that she was a regular and he knows me so he knew she had even been down there with her
    I said she had been letting her studies go so just to bar her till she was legal and that I hadn’t even known she was using my ID as she never was asked for Id when with me
    She went a few more times In Jan and was let in no problem I knew she would be barred eventually though , during the whole month after the initial threat to get me to change my mind about getting her barred as soon as she was getting in she didn’t care whether I was speaking to her
    She was barred on Friday night as she was heading in to the place for her two friends birthday
    This resulted in her crying to my mother
    I seen her Saturday night her best friend rented a hotel room and she had gotten really drunk. I arrived at 11 and her friend told me to send her home I spoke to her which was pointless she started crying saying I had ruined her life /social life (She is 18 in 2 months BTW so not a long wait)
    But after an hour of sobbing she realised what was done is done and she had tried to use my ID on Friday to get in which drew attention to her and caused her to be barred
    I put her in a taxi and called my parents told then she was on her way home
    I called to see had she arrived safe and she hadn’t arrived but I found out from her mates her mate she went back to a bloke she’s seeing house which resulted in my parents getting worried and I just told them she where she was , She hasn’t been grounded or I didn’t think she was even given out to

I am at a loss, She isn’t speaking to me and my parents and her friends think I was harsh in getting her barred
    I am still angry at how she thinks she can get away with treating me like this
    Any advice or should I just leave her to grow up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 FagFury

Leave her to grow up. Just distance yourself from her. Be polite to her when you visit your parents for their sake but certainly don't go out of your way for her. Re you clothes, I take it you don't live at home? Just make sure you don't let her into your house again, or at least if she does visit don't leave her on her own. She is obviously not to be trusted and she will yet learn the hard lessons of life in time.

You and she may have a relationship as she matures. For now, don't let anything she does upset you any more, it is all out of your control. As your mother lets her away with everything, and she is the parent, leave her to sort out any problems she gets herself in to.

Don't close the door on never having a relationship with her. I used to fight all the time with my sisters when growing up. Its only as we got older that we started getting on much better.

Let her learn from her own mistakes. They may be harsh, but they're her mistakes to make. If she doesn't learn from them, she won't grow up.

Don't beat yourself up about this any more. At least you know your father and your brother see right thru her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 972 ✭✭✭moco

Just leave her alone. I can see why you're annoyed about the top, but as for the rest it seems like you want to control her. As you said, she's nearly 18, just let her get on with her life instead of trying to get her barred from places out of spite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

Reading all that i'm glad I have brothers.
    Any advice or should I just leave her to grow up

As the previous posters said, leave her be. Let her make her own mistakes and keep her away from your stuff. If she has stolen once and lied about it she can do it again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭Mazeire

TBH OP, it sounds like you were also letting her get away with murder for ages and only got concerned when her prima donna behavior directly affected you. You can't expect her to act all mature and reasonable when you suddenly pull in the reigns after letting her walk all over you for so long. I can't believe that you and your family are so blase about letting an underage girl go out drinking and clubbing every weekend! Whats wrong with ye? You do know that if she had drank herself in to alcohol poisioning and your ID had been found on her you would have been in serious trouble with the Gardai?

Yes I do realise this but I havent lived there for 18 months and I don't have much juristication when it comes to advising my parents on this and believe me I have tried ... its not worth the trouble anymore really.
    I have always asked for a level of respect off her given all I do for her.
    I have raised hell to get it back to no avail.
    My parents think she doesn't drink that much so they are ok with it. I am glad she is barred from going to our local place as much as its reputation is for 16 year old girls. I don't care if I'm called controlling in doing what I did
    It was for her own good as well as my own!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭Rattlehead_ie

Smiley: I had a good friend who was in a v v v similar situation, thinking bout it almost makes me think your a friend :p but anyway. My advice to her and to you is the same. Leave her be, cut contact with her for a while and let her grow up. She will eventually grow up and come back to you and your friendship / bigger sisterness. Sometimes and I know its harsh, but sometimes young teenagers at that age need a slap to reality and that normally teaches them / wakes them up to the world (helps them mature as well).

I would suspect that after a month or two even when she is 18 and legal she will still want her cool older sister around and realize how immature she was being. Hold in there :)

As with the parents thing thats also familiar to my friend and to be honest again harsh, the slap the teenager gets usually slaps the parents :) I'm sure your parents love your sis to bits but they probably have lets laid up a bit on how strict they are in comparison to you or your bro. Let them make the choices point them at points and give advice if you can about maybe places she shouldn't be going people she shouldn't hang around with, but give it to them as advice and dont get upset or annoyed if they don't listen 90% of the time they probably wont

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

The apple doesn't fall too far from the tree.

Yes I do realise this but I havent lived there for 18 months and I don't have much juristication when it comes to advising my parents on this and believe me I have tried ... its not worth the trouble anymore really.
    !

I'm not saying that you have any real say so in what she is and is not permitted to do. Thats your parents territory. But you gave her your ID willingly so she would be able to go drinking and you gave her extra money as well without which she probably wouldn't have been able to afford to go drinking a lot of the time. A lot of the crap she causes is down to you enabling her and giving her the tools to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

What i have done myself in this situation (little sister playing up and wanting to be treated like an adult etc), is just to let her grow up for a while. She will soon see the error of her ways, it may take 6 months but she will apologise for her behaviour to you. My sister was 17 when she moved out, she still lives away from home but knows that carrying on like that won't get her anywhere but being blanked out until she gets some cop on.

Again, just leave her be...

and SetantaL, i really don't think that post is useful tbh, but i'll reply to it anyway. She has not lived with her sister for at least 18 months, do you REALLY think her sis could be exactly like csg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,523 ✭✭✭✭Nerin

hmmmm thats a tough one.
    on one side people see you as controlling,the other side though is she deserves some punishment, although it is kind of a bit late imo.
    the fact your dad saw through her lying and your mum didnt, maybe its your dad you should talk to. there needs to be rules even when shes 18, because it seems like shes heading down a bad road and ending up being a be-atch.
    did you get your ID back? if not keep trying! as someone pointed out you really don't want her getting in trouble and bringing you down with her.
    im so glad i'm an only child :D

I gave her the ID when she needed it , she never used to drink heavily and still doesn’t buy drinks in said bar as she drinks beforehand and goes out at half eleven I have been out with her loads and I deemed her responsible enough to have it , taking it off her was my punishment to her for her treatment towards me and also to pull her in… She has mocks coming up and her LC to study for

I give her money as she does go overboard on the clothes etc so I’d give her taxi fare to get home or money to come the flicks or Eddie rockets with me the usual things that big sisters or brothers do
    She does the odd bit of cleaning for me too (but no more)

I gave her the ID when she needed it , she never used to drink heavily and still doesn’t buy drinks in said bar as she drinks beforehand and goes out at half eleven I have been out with her loads and I deemed her responsible enough to have it , taking it off her was my punishment to her for her treatment towards me and also to pull her in… She has mocks coming up and her LC to study for

I give her money as she does go overboard on the clothes etc so I’d give her taxi fare to get home or money to come the flicks or Eddie rockets with me the usual things that big sisters or brothers do
    She does the odd bit of cleaning for me too (but no more)

Ok. I'm going to say this one more time.
    YOU willingly gave an underage girl ID tro get alcohol. After she had been getting ratted before hand no less.
    You really cant get mad with your parents for having the blinkers on as you clearly have a fine set on yourself!

SetantaL wrote: »

I don't welcome that statement , you sound like my mother
    Far be it for me to set an example from what i took from parenting Its their job to guide and set an example
    I'm not an angel but I'm independant and living out of home in a good permanent job at 22
    I never acted like her at that age (although I did at 20) and theres 5 years in the difference to us
    What stage did she think she can replicate my attitude?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,798 ✭✭✭Mr. Incognito

Again, just leave her be...

and SetantaL, i really don't think that post is useful tbh, but i'll reply to it anyway. She has not lived with her sister for at least 18 months, do you REALLY think her sis could be exactly like csg?
    I don't welcome that statement , you sound like my mother
    Far be it for me to set an example from what i took from parenting Its their job to guide and set an example
    I'm not an angel but I'm independant and living out of home in a good permanent job at 22
    I never acted like her at that age (although I did at 20) and theres 5 years in the difference to us
    What stage did she think she can replicate my attitude?

Okay- I actually thought that was very apt but I'll spell it out for you.

Your sister is 17- you are expecting behaviour that doesn't match a 17 year old's mentality. Your sisters behaviour is based on the boundries that have been set for her by your parents, boundaries that you are trying to re-define for her relationship between you two. You seem to use your mother as a mediator. You wanted to be looked up to by your sister- Earn it. "Cool" big sisters don't freak out over a top, don't get "mommy" to get it back and don't go around town getting their siblings barred from their locals over something so petty. You both need to grow up, she's 17 what's your excuse?

She was the one I went to upset it was gone, after i searched everywhere a second time i knew she took it
    I went to my mother only after being throughly frustrated.. I had said it to her and tried to guilt her into confessing, I searched her room and also asked her friends (who said yes she took it)
    If she lies to me barefaced what other route would i be expected to take other than physical violence :D

Its wasn't the fact it was just a top its was new, it was for an occasion, she stole it , didn't admit when she was caught, only when threatened did it turn up, then with different tags on it to try and make me think I was wrong and when i said I wanted the ID back the top was handed back no q's asked and i was told the ID was gone I mean FFS I have only so much patience
    I know her mentality and she is much more smart and is much more cunning that to think this was the right way to act towards me.
    Regarding her behaviour I expect more respect than she gives my parents which is none really and I have more than earned it. I am and have been very good to her in the past

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

OP you're only mistake was getting too involved. From what I can see, she is a spoiled, disrespectful bitch. The kind that are all too common these days. Once you found out what she did you should have just made a mental note not to trust or help her again (unless it was a serious situation of course). Now you're left looking like the bad guy (which must be frustrating) but there is nothing you can do about that. Don't act negatively towards her in the future, don't act positively either. Just be polite and remember what she's like.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭chump

I wet myself.

But seriously the OP
    Bear in mind while I’m not talking to her she looses all the privileges of a big sister as in extra money, takeaways in mine, use of my gym, lifts to places etc etc etc
    She is 17 and growing up so its normal however she is thoroughly spoiled and self-centred I have put it down to her age and my parents going extremely easy on her

And then proceeds to write an essay on herself.

Get over it coolsmileygirl - your sister is a 17 year old with a bad attitude.
    Have you ever been a 17 year old with a bad attitude or been friends with a 17 year old with a bad attitude?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,390 ✭✭✭Stench Blossoms

You shouldn't have given her the ID in the first place.

Baaaaad big sister.

Your sister sounds like a little scumbag stealing clothes from you. I'd ignore her till she grows up and cops on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭fuzzywiggle

You're the one that needs to grow up.

It's plain to see that you are just so unbelievably jealous of your sister to the point of rage. And you can't even see it. You cannot stand how she is being treated because you weren't treated the same by your parents (i.e being spoiled etc.)

So you actually went and tried your best to get your sister, your own flesh and blood, barred from a pub? Somewhere she has a laugh and enjoyment with her friends and is only 2 months away from turning 18 (as opposed to just turning 17, I could possibly understand your point then)

And I don't believe you ''needed'' your I.D all of a sudden. Well maybe you did, but I'm reckoning you took it back in spite.
    My parents thought this was awful of me to think of doing despite she’s only 17 saying she’s works so hard in school every don’t take her one night out away from her I mean WTF they are adults!

Yes, they are sensible mature adults. Unlike you.
    I am still angry at how she thinks she can get away with treating me like this

What exactly has your sister done? Took a top of yours is it? Wow yeah, she's treating you really really awful.

With sisters like you who needs enemies.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Just as a matter of interest OP, what ID did you give her? If it was just an age card I wouldn't worry too much about it, you're probably causing yourself more stress over something that's not worth it, as you said she'll be 18 soon. If it was your passport though, that's more serious! What if you want to go on hols? It's like 50quid or so for a new one and can take a few weeks to go out. Maybe talk to your Dad quietly and see can he talk to her and get her to give the ID back? If that fails, just have a root around her room someday when she's not home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,503 ✭✭✭✭jellie

OP the thing is you cant be your sisters friend and parent and sister all at the same time. its not your job to punish her, its not up to you when she goes out. youre behaviour seems very inconsistent, you give her money & your id when it suits, then take it back to punish her.

i understand that youre worried about her behaviour but you need to be careful here, youre getting stuck between her & your parents & from the sounds of it your parents (or your mother at least) are blind to everything & are far too easy on her. but youve given them your opinion & theres not much more you can do, ultimately its up to them whether she goes out/stays in/whatever. I do understand a bit cause my mother treats my 16 yr old brother a bit like that. hes had some problems and its like shes afraid to punish him in case she upsets him. but i know to stay out of it, i give her my opinion if she asks but shes going to do what she wants about the situation in the end.

i think youre best to stay out of it where possible

sar84 wrote: »
    OP the thing is you cant be your sisters friend and parent and sister all at the same time. its not your job to punish her, its not up to you when she goes out. youre behaviour seems very inconsistent, you give her money & your id when it suits, then take it back to punish her.

i understand that youre worried about her behaviour but you need to be careful here, youre getting stuck between her & your parents & from the sounds of it your parents (or your mother at least) are blind to everything & are far too easy on her. but youve given them your opinion & theres not much more you can do, ultimately its up to them whether she goes out/stays in/whatever. I do understand a bit cause my mother treats my 16 yr old brother a bit like that. hes had some problems and its like shes afraid to punish him in case she upsets him. but i know to stay out of it, i give her my opinion if she asks but shes going to do what she wants about the situation in the end.

i think youre best to stay out of it where possible

More than once I've been asked to call her see where she is, ask her where she was last night etc etc Jesus I could go on! I am constanly asked or complained to about her behaviour
    She did something similiar to my mother with a pair of shoes last summer my mother had bought them for a wedding and she wore them to redz on a monday night! :O
    My mother constantly asks me to "parent her" so I guess I have taken it upon myself I can't do it all the time though
    You're the one that needs to grow up.

It's plain to see that you are just so unbelievably jealous of your sister to the point of rage. And you can't even see it. You cannot stand how she is being treated because you weren't treated the same by your parents (i.e being spoiled etc.)

So you actually went and tried your best to get your sister, your own flesh and blood, barred from a pub? Somewhere she has a laugh and enjoyment with her friends and is only 2 months away from turning 18 (as opposed to just turning 17, I could possibly understand your point then)

And I don't believe you ''needed'' your I.D all of a sudden. Well maybe you did, but I'm reckoning you took it back in spite.

Yes, they are sensible mature adults. Unlike you.

What exactly has your sister done? Took a top of yours is it? Wow yeah, she's treating you really really awful.

With sisters like you who needs enemies.

I'm not jealous as my parents showed the same kind of blase attitude towards me, I just waited till I was a lot older to take advantage of it. I wouldn't have said I was spoiled but I never ever wanted for anything and I had my own money from 14 onwards.She is demanding through and through!
    Yes I needed it I had told her before xmas I did, I just paid 25euro for a drivers license and I want to leave it in my car instead of carrying it around
    I know I sound like a bitch but believe me she is worse

Toots85 wrote: »
    Just as a matter of interest OP, what ID did you give her? If it was just an age card I wouldn't worry too much about it, you're probably causing yourself more stress over something that's not worth it, as you said she'll be 18 soon. If it was your passport though, that's more serious! What if you want to go on hols? It's like 50quid or so for a new one and can take a few weeks to go out. Maybe talk to your Dad quietly and see can he talk to her and get her to give the ID back? If that fails, just have a root around her room someday when she's not home.
    Its an age card, I want it as I always loose things and my license isn't something I want to loose again
    It is mine and lent it to her to get this local place , she has just assumed it is hers.
    OP you're only mistake was getting too involved. From what I can see, she is a spoiled, disrespectful bitch. The kind that are all too common these days. Once you found out what she did you should have just made a mental note not to trust or help her again (unless it was a serious situation of course). Now you're left looking like the bad guy (which must be frustrating) but there is nothing you can do about that. Don't act negatively towards her in the future, don't act positively either. Just be polite and remember what she's like.
    QFT! I'm just hurt over it all I thought we had a good relationship I go out of my way for her with favors and her friend all the time (her best mate treats me like her big sister)
    orla wrote: »
    You shouldn't have given her the ID in the first place.

Baaaaad big sister.

Your sister sounds like a little scumbag stealing clothes from you. I'd ignore her till she grows up and cops on.
    I know , :( but she was tee total untill six months ago when she had to give up her training and since then I have watched her
    I guess I underestimated how much I could trust her

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 32,865 ✭✭✭✭MagicMarker

I think the two of you need to grow up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I'm not jealous as my parents showed the same kind of blase attitude towards me, I just waited till I was a lot older to take advantage of it. I wouldn't have said I was spoiled but I never ever wanted for anything and I had my own money from 14 onwards.She is demanding through and through!

Without meaning to sound offensive, this sounds like you are saying that you are so much better than her, and you want us to clap you on the back for it.

I know I sound like a bitch but believe me she is worse

Do you realise how childish the above sounds?

TBH, at 22, you're still very young yourself. I know from arguing with siblings that there is never a way to win an argument with grace. Just step away from her and stop adding fuel to the fire. Be the adult. You might be surprised at how she will react if you act mature.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭daiixi

dudara wrote: »
    TBH, at 22, you're still very young yourself. I know from arguing with siblings that there is never a way to win an argument with grace. Just step away from her and stop adding fuel to the fire. Be the adult. You might be surprised at how she will react if you act mature.

Have to agree with this. Step back, let her make her own mistakes and let her and your parents deal with it. You're her sister but you don't have to be her friend and you most definitely do not have to be her carer. And keep your things to you in the future. Don't let her get her grimy mitts on anything.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

Its an age card, I want it as I always loose things and my license isn't something I want to loose again
    It is mine and lent it to her to get this local place , she has just assumed it is hers.

You can just go down to the Garda station and tell them yours was lost, or tell them it was stolen or whatever and they'll sort you out with a new one, it's less than a tenner I think.

I know it won't bring your original one back, but at least you won't have to bring your d/licence or passport out with you when you go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,679 ✭✭✭Daithio

You both need to grow up. It's weird that a 22 year old and a 17 year old still have to use Mummy to sort out their disagreements and problems. I think I must have been 10 or 11 the last time I ratted a sibling up to one of my folks! You're the older sister so you should be setting the example. If you start being sound to her and stop acting like a child I'm sure she'll more than likely replicate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

[QUOTE=Death Sentence;55050405

do you REALLY think her sis could be exactly like csg?[/QUOTE]

actually, yes. Younger siblings will often mimic their older brother or sister behaviour, and stylings.
    They see them as role models.

So its entirely possibly that CSG and her hedonistic ways have been learnt by her sister.

Perhaps the OP should stop whinging, since it appears that she pretty much put all the cards in her sisters hands and now has a 'do as i say, not as i do' attitude.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 CoolSmileyGuy

All you flamers/"fuzzywiggle's" of this post have no idea at all... if you read into CSG's orginal post you can see that her little sister has decieved her and turned her entire family against her through blatant lies and deceit...you really have no clue.

How would you react if someone you loved and did anything for (such as loan an old ID to) lied through their teeth and turned direct family members against you...?

Ruined your relationship with your family....?

From the sounds of it fuzzywiggle it's plain to see that you are just so unbelievably jealous of CSG to the point of rage. And you can't even see it that she has suffered and come here to look for assistance/support..only to have the likes of your not-so-goodself flame her posts with personal insults.

...:confused::mad::(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,739 ✭✭✭✭minidazzler

What age is your brother? Should he have not kicked the ****e out of her BF?
    Generally when young girls go over to their BF's house it indicates the BF is a fair bit older than her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,068 ✭✭✭Bodhisopha

Give her space and quit playing "mommy" with her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

All you flamers/"fuzzywiggle's" of this post have no idea at all... if you read into CSG's orginal post you can see that her little sister has decieved her and turned her entire family against her through blatant lies and deceit...you really have no clue.
    She gave her sister her ID so she could get drink and as others have pointed out didn't bother doing anything about her sister's behaviour until she was directly affected. I don't think anyone is having a go at CSG, just enlightening her as to why her sister isn't going to listen to anything she says.
    My original advice stands, let her do her own thing. She'll grow up eventually. But do get your age card back off her before she gets you into real trouble.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,395 ✭✭✭Marksie

Minidazzler: while you posed it as a question rather than a suggestion. Violence is not advocated in this forum. Thats a warning

How would you react if someone you loved and did anything for (such as loan an old ID to) lied through their teeth and turned direct family members against you...?

Ruined your relationship with your family....?

From the sounds of it fuzzywiggle it's plain to see that you are just so unbelievably jealous of CSG to the point of rage. And you can't even see it that she has suffered and come here to look for assistance/support..only to have the likes of your not-so-goodself flame her posts with personal insults.

...:confused::mad::(

You're right. The op's relationship with her family is suffering as a result of her sisters behavior. But it was the op's enabling of her sister that helped to cause this behavior in the first place. To be honest if i was in the op's parents position i'd be more than a little peeved at the OP doling out parenting advice when the op is giving her sister ID to go out on the lash.
    OP you need to accept responsibility for some of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 CoolSmileyGuy

I understand what your saying, but what has happened here is that CSG's parents do not take control of the situation purely to give themselves an "easy life"...they bow to their youngest daughters every whim purely to avoid a confrontation with her.

CSG's parents arent peeved over what she has done, CSG's parents are annoyed that they now have to deal with this youngsters attitude themselves.

No offence intended towards your folks ofc CSG...nobody wants a problematic life....

but still they are her parents and therefore the responsibility rests with them and not you.

Albeit if my younger sibling did something like this to me when I was 22, I would have served him some sweet revenge in a similar fashion.
    There needs to be a lesson taught here....a lesson of respect..and if the parents who are biast wont do it...then who else better suited to do it than the older brother/sister.

My experience is something similar....
    I have a younger brother, he is 1.5 years my junior, whilst growing up in the family home my brother had a really nasty attitude all the way up to the age of 25+...and my parents would go out of their way to avoid confrontations with him purely to give themselves the easy life...
    He got anything he wanted, was spoiled almost so as to keep him sweet..

as he got older things became more sinister with him, but he played upon his attitude from hell to avoid my parents saying anything to him..

anyway to cut a long story short, I noticed things about his behaviour and what he was doing in his past time, and brought it to my parents attention...them..being them..wary of his fiery attitude did nothing...nada..

and now my younger brother is in serious trouble with the law due to their lack of parental control.

CSG's situation rings similar in my mind...not only could letting her continue to get her own way be wrong..it could ultimately be harmful not just to the sister...but to all concerned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭smurfbaby

CSG,

I know exactly how you feel, having a very selfish younger sister myself. It used to wind me up when I saw how selfish she was and the way she treated my parents, but I soon realised that, to be honest, it was none of my business.

I know you were only trying to help her, and that you feel it's very important that she studies for her LC etc. It's the benefit of hindsight, being 22 now you probably have all sorts of advice to give her. But can you remember when you were 17 if someone tried to tell you what was best for you?

Similarly, can you understand why she is so upset for being barred from the local pub, however good/bad your intentions? I'm not advocating underage drinking, but I know when I was 17 I would have been devastated if someone put an end to my social life like that. Yes it's only for 2 more months, but to a teenager that probably seems like a lifetime. And being self centred, she probably feels that you are out to ruin her life.

Leave her be. She'll grow out of it. And in the meantime, don't put yourself in any situations where she can take advantage of you. And DONT get your mother involved in the argument again, you are both old enough to sort problems without telling mammy, and it just weakens your arguement to bring a parent into it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭Dragan

Without meaning to sound harsh your are giving out about your family going really easy on your sister when i take it from your post that you gave her your I.D so she could illegally enter clubs and pubs and drink?

Pot/kettle situation me thinks.

Stop blaming everyone else and start to look at the role your own hand played in your sisters behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

Hello CSG

You have every reason to be angry regarding the top as her behaviour goes well beyond the usual sisterly 'borrowing' of clothes and is not on. You are well within your rights to withdraw her privileges for this. You are also perfectly entitled to set your own limits in terms of what you will put up with from her which are different to those that your parents will suffer.

It's not your job to be her parent and your mother is wrong to try and place you in that position. You however cannot expect your parents to live up to your standards - they have decided on a laissez faire policy and that is their prerogative.

I don't see much (morally) wrong with you giving her your ID. There is a world of difference between facilitating a 17.5 year old to drink responsibly in a pub and supplying a 14 year old with some flagons to go knacker drinking! I certainly helped my little brothers in similar ways at that age - it's an elder sibling largesse that is yours to give.

Just a few points worth remembering:

Your sister has had to (I assume) give up her sport which obviously was a big part of her life.

She has only just started drinking - we all take time to learn how to deal with it properly and make a few mistakes along the road.

She's doing her Leaving - and is under (what for her is) serious pressure.

She's still only 17.

All this means she is going through some serious changes and is going to get it wrong on occasion and her behaviour isn't always going to be perfect. Part of your responsibilities as the elder sibling is to set her straight when it does go tits up. Sometimes you need a stick and sometimes a carrot.

I don't think I would have used as big a stick as sabotaging her social life but there is little you can do about that now (and as she turns 18 soon the damage isn't massive).

I'd be most worried about the trouble she went to in stitching the tag onto your top before returning it - it shows a really weasel-like attitude to avoiding the consequences of her actions that could land her friendless if she's not careful.

As to where you go from here; I'd insist on an apology for her behaviour, but don't be too slow to re-instate her privileges once it is forthcoming.

Finally you are both adults now - so try to sort any future disagreements amongst yourself and not drag your parents into it.

Jabus - that must be my longest post ever :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,682 ✭✭✭deisemum

Hello CSG

You have every reason to be angry regarding the top as her behaviour goes well beyond the usual sisterly 'borrowing' of clothes and is not on. You are well within your rights to withdraw her privileges for this. You are also perfectly entitled to set your own limits in terms of what you will put up with from her which are different to those that your parents will suffer.

It's not your job to be her parent and your mother is wrong to try and place you in that position. You however cannot expect your parents to live up to your standards - they have decided on a laissez faire policy and that is their prerogative.

I don't see much (morally) wrong with you giving her your ID. There is a world of difference between facilitating a 17.5 year old to drink responsibly in a pub and supplying a 14 year old with some flagons to go knacker drinking! I certainly helped my little brothers in similar ways at that age - it's an elder sibling largesse that is yours to give.

Just a few points worth remembering:

Your sister has had to (I assume) give up her sport which obviously was a big part of her life.

She has only just started drinking - we all take time to learn how to deal with it properly and make a few mistakes along the road.

She's doing her Leaving - and is under (what for her is) serious pressure.

She's still only 17.

All this means she is going through some serious changes and is going to get it wrong on occasion and her behaviour isn't always going to be perfect. Part of your responsibilities as the elder sibling is to set her straight when it does go tits up. Sometimes you need a stick and sometimes a carrot.

I don't think I would have used as big a stick as sabotaging her social life but there is little you can do about that now (and as she turns 18 soon the damage isn't massive).

I'd be most worried about the trouble she went to in stitching the tag onto your top before returning it - it shows a really weasel-like attitude to avoiding the consequences of her actions that could land her friendless if she's not careful.

As to where you go from here; I'd insist on an apology for her behaviour, but don't be too slow to re-instate her privileges once it is forthcoming.

Finally you are both adults now - so try to sort any future disagreements amongst yourself and not drag your parents into it.

Jabus - that must be my longest post ever :)

I second redfacedbear's post. Just be glad it's only 1 younger sister you have to contend with, I have 7 younger sisters and the bitching and fighting over the years has been dreadful. It's the 2 younger ones that are the main stirrers. I'm a few months short of 20 years older than the youngest sister, I'd actually left home before she was born and have lived abroad and now live the other side of the country so I've generally avoided the line of fire.

There isn't one in the family that speaks with everyone and the last time we were all together was at my Dad's funeral nearly 5 years ago.

Thanks for the replies
    I've decided to distance myself:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Orlee

By leaving her be for a little while she'll soon realise the true value of what you do for her and how much you mean to her.

Just give it time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,150 ✭✭✭LivingDeadGirl

Tbh it sounds like you've spoiled her and let her away with murder just as much as your parents have. Best way to rectify it is to just sit back and leave well alone, she isn't your problem. What goes around comes around, someday she'll get a shock and realise what a twit she's been, then ye can make up. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭bored and tired

similar situation with baby sister few years back, she came into my room early on monday morning saying parents had no money on them for train ticket to college, i blearly said ya take some out of my wallet. well when i woke up my brat sister had taken a fifty POUND note out of my purse. when she came home i asked for the change as didnt mind footing the train ticket.

Sister sticks out her right foot, pulls up her jeans and says im wearing it what do you think. brat had bought new knee high boots with my money.

Well needless to say there was teeth and hair flying for quite a while and then the silent treatment. then one night she rang at 4 to say that she and her friends couldnt get a taxi home from night club, parents had refused to collect her, and it was freezing cold so could i collect her.
    i said no wheres my fifty and hung up on her. she had to wait till half 6 for a taxi, and when i got up in the morning she was dying with a hangover, really appologetic and handed me the fifty.

moral of the story. hang in there, your sister has to grow up, and will eventually ring looking for a favour, and then you say no, hang her out to dry, and if you keep doing it she will slowly get the message.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

then one night she rang at 4 to say that she and her friends couldnt get a taxi home from night club, parents had refused to collect her, and it was freezing cold so could i collect her.
    i said no wheres my fifty and hung up on her. she had to wait till half 6 for a taxi, and when i got up in the morning she was dying with a hangover, really appologetic and handed me the fifty.

TBH, this story scared me. Imagine if something happened to her because you wanted to 'teach her a lesson'

These problems with your siblings are not about trying to prove that you know better or that it's your way or the highway. That is as childish as you claim they are.

You have to stand back, and not interfere in any shape or form. Let them grow up in their own time and learn their own lessons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 226 ✭✭bored and tired

dudara wrote: »
    TBH, this story scared me. Imagine if something happened to her because you wanted to 'teach her a lesson'

These problems with your siblings are not about trying to prove that you know better or that it's your way or the highway. That is as childish as you claim they are.

You have to stand back, and not interfere in any shape or form. Let them grow up in their own time and learn their own lessons.

not talking about dublin, cork or limerick, but quite little town in middle of nowhere, where the biggest thing to happen is if the traffic lights go out. She was with her friend as they were both coming back to parents, sitting in cab office which stays open all night, to be honest i used to be more worried about what used to happen in the nightclub than in the cab office, as it was fondly called the cattle mart,. it wasnt the first time she had gotten taxi home, nor was it the first time i got woken up in the middle of the night as taxi wouldnt be around for ages.,

my problem was a blase attitude towards money that i had earned, and had given to her in good faith, which she had taken advantage of. As i said this was some years ago,
    before the introduction of minimum wage, and i was earining 125 pounds a week, so the money she took was probably the rent i was paying my parents, or for the car loan in the credit union, so it was red flag. Taxis at that time cost a pound a mile, and the nightclub was a fiver in. I grew up in the eighties my sister grew up in the more affluent 90's so, i did feel entitled to educate her a small way on the value of money, and more importantly on being nice to your big sister so she doesnt leave you freezing your ass off in the cold waiting for a taxi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭Blush_01

CSG - I can see where you're coming from. She's blatantly disrespected how flexible and generous you were to her, and the level of manipulation shown in changing the labels on the top would really be the last straw for me. But it's highly indicative of her childishness, and as tough as it is to step away from younger siblings it'll only benefit her in the long run. My sister and I still argue constantly, but she'd never disrespect me like that, nor would I her, despite both of us being supremely immature. Hope it all works out ok.

Blush_01 wrote: »
    CSG - I can see where you're coming from. She's blatantly disrespected how flexible and generous you were to her, and the level of manipulation shown in changing the labels on the top would really be the last straw for me. But it's highly indicative of her childishness, and as tough as it is to step away from younger siblings it'll only benefit her in the long run. My sister and I still argue constantly, but she'd never disrespect me like that, nor would I her, despite both of us being supremely immature. Hope it all works out ok.

That’s exactly why I’m upset also, I felt sick when I seen her wearing the top on her bebo and she looked a million dollars on xmas day. I remember even thinking proudly "god she looks so grown up and she's getting so pretty".

I felt physically I’ll when I realised what she had done , I still do and I do miss hanging with her and her mate. Its her friends birthday today (we were out for it on Saturday I mentioned in my first post) and she wanted us to do something tonight, I had to say no:(